Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for TCL [The Creative Life] TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

TCL [The Creative Life] TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12

The TCL L40FHDM12 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV lets you enjoy the quality of full 1920 x 1080 HD resolution on a 40-inch LCD screen. The 20,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio helps you clearly view even the darkest black and brightest white. The TCL flat TV has wide vertical and horizontal viewing angles of 178-degree. So, you can place the TV in any corner of your room and get a clear view of the display. This television features a built-in digital tuner that offers the fun of watching digital broadcasts and HDTV programs. Equipped with the superior motion performance and high brightness, this digital tuner LCD HDTV becomes an ideal choice for using gaming consoles. Featuring a USB input, the TV lets you access other media contents for JPEG and MP3 playback. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the TCL 40" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.268 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation80%33 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12

Excellent value... bought 2 of them

11/24/2011
By ,
Edwardsburg Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these a few months ago and I am recommending them to a friend who wants to purchase 2. Excellent pic, sound and features. For the money I feel it's the best deal out there. Both of mine get heavy use and the only issue I've encountered with one is that when left on for hours and hours it has shut down on it's own. (this has happened twice). Pulling the plug and re-plugging the tv returns it to operating condition immediately. Lots of inputs, great sound, lots of menu options and a good picture. My only complaint is that you have to go through the menu to get to the sleep timer. Buy one and enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+135points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/07/2011
There is a known firmware issue with this set that causes it to power on/off at midnight or noon. If yours cuts on/off while using it, go to the TCL website and download the update.
0points
Customer Avatar
southern california
Posted 11/27/2011
I think you are reviewing the earlier model, FYI no need to go through the menu to set sleep timer for this tv.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12
12/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a cheap HDTV ( not saying the best) then look at the tcl brand. Sound is like most HDTV ( like old school am radio). Picture however is very good. Motion blur is not an issue. I got a dumb version but paired with a smart device like a smart blu ray you have all the internet you need. I found a ton of great reviews other places. Rumors are that the panels are made by samsung. Not saying it is good as the sony or samsung brands but..it is only just a step down. If you are on a tight budget or want a 2nd cheap tv really give this a look. I bought this on thanksgiving and it was delivered in very short order. Works fine hooked to a PC for a media center setup. If you have the right video card (say Nivida 520 series or better) it will do both video and audio over the hdmi connection.
Not sure I would use this a monitor for some video games. When you get closer than say 4-5 feet you see why it costs less.
Do the firmware update...easy to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12

amazing tv!!!!!

11/29/2011
By ,
hillsdale,mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this tv since 11/26/11 and I just love it. Was kind of hesitant about buying a brand of tv I had never heard of but the price was right and it comes with 2 year warranty. The picture is awesome, color is unbelievable, and the sound is great. I would recommend this tv to anyone. Don't have to pay high dollar for this product and still get a great tv!!!!!!!! Who says off brands can't be as good as the name brand companies. You won't be disappointed!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jefferson City, MO
TCL is one of the top three TV brands in China
Posted 12/06/2011
Actually, TCL is one of the top three TV brands in China. It is definitely a good brand to purchase. I am from China. When I saw this TV on walmart.com, I made the purchase right away. Why? This TV is $200 less than the same model sold in China. Looks like TCL is getting into the U.S market. I hope all of our American customers will enjoy TCL. Very proud to purchase this TV.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12

Great TV for the price

12/11/2011
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my mother to replace her 32 inch CRT. I had done a lot of research online before purchasing this. TCL is a Chinese company that provides displays for Samsung. So I figured the screen quality had to be good if Samsung is willing to use them. I was not disappointed, picture is great for the price... will you find better out there? yes, but not for this price... probably not for 200 dollars more. The sound quality is a very pleasant surprise, I had planned on it being bad and having to buy a sound system but the speakers actually sound really good for an LCD TV. They are on the bottom and front facing. The TV has all the connections you would expect. A few on the side and most in the back, 3 HDMI's not 2. I did the firmware update at their website right away so I haven't had any problems with it turning off on it's own.
Now some cons... the actual plastic casing on this is decent looking but not the highest quality(expected though). Every time you turn the TV on it displays the TCL brand name on the screen and it takes a few seconds before it actually starts displaying what you want. Also seems to be slow switching video inputs and resolutions. Going from an HD channel to a SD channel or reverse takes a couple seconds for the screen to adjust its settings.
Overall... My mother is very happy with this TV and so am I. For a 40 inch 1080p LCD TV around 300 dollars I couldn't expect anything better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 5 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12

firware update

12/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought TV on Thanksgiving day and received it on Monday. Super fast shipping from Walmart. Thanks!
First the picture and sound greatly exceed my expectations. There are actually 3 HDMI inputs instead of 2 as listed in the specs. Another neat feature is auto adjustment to ambient light which is a great energy saving feature and improves picture quality. However, its default setting is "off" and the user has to go into setup to turn it on manually.
The TCL does have a glitch though: it will turn on randomly by itself once a day! Fortunately there is a firmware update on the TCL website to fix this problem. I just did the update and it remains to be seen if it fixes the glitch. I docked a star because of this problem otherwise this TV is a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 6 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12

"Super Great"

11/19/2011
By ,
northwest ,Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got one like this last summer its great,pic is super clear color is great the sound is very very good to excellent i don't think you can buy a better set at any price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+323points
Review 7 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12
12/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best TV out of the box. It has everything you will need in your bedroom. I am a technician and I work for Marantz and Denon. I have done audio for a long time, and video for past 4 years of my life. I normally don't buy any thing that i know nothing about. Sony is the BEST in video, Denon and Pioneer are the best in audio. However, before I make my decision about whether to buy an off brand TV or not, I have done a lots of research. Found out that the LCDs are made by Samsung. As a matter of fact, TCL has the full line of producing Samsung LCD and LED TVs. Alcatel was bought out by TCL and now its debating about whether to buy blackberry or not....etc.
All in all, i decided to buy this TV for my bedroom as a Christmas gift for myself, where i could watch TV and play PS3. It is currently mounted on the wall. I have to say that I am very happy with it so far. Very sharp and nice looking too. no hassle with installation. I would buy another one for my sister if she says YES.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12
12/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good TV for the price. However during the first few days of getting it the TV would turn itself on at Midnight every day. I downloaded the firmware update on the TV and since then it has not turn itself on again. If you have the same problems go to there website www.tclusa.com and get the firmware update.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 9 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12

Outstanding work-horse of a TV

12/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros:
reasonable cost
refresh rate
overall picture quality
light weight
Low power consumption
Inky-black levels
Cons:
Sound (like most)
remote
Bought this 6 months ago for my son. I didn't want to let him have it after seeing the picture quality. About 90% the picture quality of our Samsung at 1/8th the price.
Sound quality isn't stellar and the remote is cheesy but the picture quality and re-fresh rate puts this in first place amongst lower priced TV's with me. We bough a Toshiba a few months ago as Walmart was out of stock with TCL for several months. We spent $150 more and the TCL has superior picture quality.
Rock solid TV for a very reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 10 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12

THE WEBSITE UPDATE LOCATION

12/13/2011
By ,
Central California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
http://www.tclusa.com/firmware/firmwareupdate3.html
After reading several purchase review comments, I decided to add this website page reference to ease update firmware application for future purchasers.
Hope it helps. It is a simple procedure.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
+9points
Review 11 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12

For the price it's great, good for no frills hdtv

11/29/2011
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good barebones tv. No internet, no special features. Will hook up to just about anything and will give you a clear crisp picture. Not as pricey as other models and you get what you pay for. What you are paying for in this case is a clear, crisp picture, but no features. If you don't need your tv to make cake and play netflix movies at the same time then this tv is for you. Perfect for college students. Great for the play room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 12 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12

Great picture

12/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV for my mom and I am very impressed with the picture quality. It is a straight forward tv and was very simple to hook up. Also very simple to use which is good for her. This TV actually has better reception then the old TV did with a Rabit Ear antenna and once again the picture quality is very good. The sound quality is average but loud and clear. This TV is awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 13 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12
11/30/2011
By ,
San Clemente
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received this TV in two days from the time I ordered it on line from WALMART. It was easy to setup and get started. It has easy adjustments for best picture and the HD picture is as good as the picture on my Sony 46" Bravia. Very happy about my purchase and I will recommend it to my friends. Great HD 1080P LCD TV at the best price I could fined of any other TV on the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 14 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12

Great price, great tv!

12/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this tv for one day but so far, I am impressed. The picture quality is great. The sound is good (not great.) It was easy to set up (no problems with assembling the stand) and one person can easily do this. I did the firmware update right away (just in case) which was very easy. I downloaded it to a usb memory stick and plugged it in to the usb port on the tv and it did exactly what the instructions said it would. I can't imagine spending $800 - $1000 for a tv, when quality and value like this is available, UNLESS you need all the "bells and whistles" for internet/gaming use (in which case I am not the right person to ask about those features.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12

Economical 40" HDTV with stunning Picture Quality

12/08/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic HDTV with stunning picture and clarity. I have compared it to both Samsung and Panasonic and at a fraction of the price this TV is amazing. I just gambled on this brand.
Since I had not heard about this brand, I was very hesitant to buy and was elated after I saw HD program on it. Set up is a breeze and the remote is simple and easy to use. This may get sold out soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 16 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12

Really amazing TV for the money

12/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV after much research. I found out that the screens are made by Samsung. I am very surprised at the quality of this TV. Sound is WAY better than a Dynex TV I purchased. The look is sleek. The picture is great and colors are very vibrant. Totally worth buying.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 17 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12
12/03/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
buyer beware this tv will probably need an upgrade downloaded from the tcl website via flash drive to tv to fix a power on glich in the software. The tv will power on at its midnight auto power on default setting right out of the box even if it says it is off. Otherwise this has been an awsome tv for the money. It has loads of accessory plugins for any possible combination you may have. The speakers are ok but I recomend a sound system if you like cinema quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 18 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12

Love It

12/05/2011
By ,
Mentor Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love it. I got it for my husband to play his PS3 on and after seeing the picture and sound it has. I took it and put it in our Bedroom. Now I have to order one for him. It only took 2 days to ship it to us. So happy with it. But with it being a brand I do not know I did get the 2 year warranty on it just in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12

Good tv for a very nice price

12/18/2011
By ,
Naples, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First i want to thanks Walmart, the first tv set they sent did break during transport by Fedex, they returned it before reaching my door, i call them on 3:00 pm Wednesday afternoon about the tv being a gift for my daughter b`day on Friday, the Fedex guy did knock on my door on Friday 11:00am with a new tv, so i show on my daughter b`day with the tv, what a service, considering than we are in the last 15 days of December, Walmart you got my business from now on, 1000 times thankyou.
The tv is what you would expect of a tv set now-a-days, nice picture, enough sound for a 20x16 room, (of course don`t expect a surround sound shaking the glass on the windows) bright picture and a good contrast, you can not compare it with a $1500 backlight led tv, but it`s more than ok for $329, if you are short on cash consider this tv, you won`t be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for TCL 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, L40FHDM12

Beautiful Picture

12/01/2011
By ,
hampton, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice TV for the price. Basic features, no wifi. Great for watching Blu-ray and antennae TV or cable. Firmware update from manufacturer at link below is required, or TV will power up by itself.
Excellent deal.
Samsung guts.
http://tclusa.com/en-us/modeldetail.html?MN=L40FHDM12
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next