Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV

Bring home brilliant full-HD 1080p Sony picture quality with incredible contrast and sharp, vibrant images on the Sony 55" LCD HDTV . Smooth motion performance supports crisp, fluid motion during fast-action scenes. Plus you can enjoy the best possible viewing experience with a built-in sensor that automatically adjusts the screen's brightness based on your room's lighting. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sony 55" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.594 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation91%29 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV

Awesome TV!!!

01/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is Awesome, I've had for 23 days and been perfect. Better picture then my old 40in Sony Bravia. I recommend this to anyone and the pure size of this TV. Its beast in my book. I even bought the protection plan just in case, but I'm sure I won't need it. Sony products have been in my house for years and I have never had anything go wrong with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+40points
Review 2 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV

Good TV

01/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value:
I paid $998 for this TV in store so I would say to pay 1198 online would be a poor value.
Expectations:
This TV does everything I thought and hoped it would plus it even makes regular DVDs look good.
P.Quality:
As I said it even makes DVDs look good, but also we rented Captain America HDX on Vudu and let me just say this "WOW"
S.Quality:
I cant give a fair assessment on sound because I bought a sound bar (280watts) with this TV and the stock speakers (20watts) sound really dull and flat when compared.
Features:
I bought this TV not looking for apps, WiFi, or LED. So it has all of the features I could possibly want. I.E. It turns on.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+34points
Review 3 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV

Worked good for all of 22 days then DIED.

12/15/2011
By ,
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife and I purchased this TV based on past experience with Sony products as generally being reliable and good value. This TV ran for about 22 days and then while watching it one evening it just shut off and would not come back on. It was plugged into a UPS power protection device along with the DVR and surround sound system, neither of which malfunctioned. There were no power surge events while it was on at the time, and the weather that day was mild and sunny (no thunderstorms etc.) When you plug and unplug the TV you can hear it clicking like the switch is not working or as if an internal breaker is tripping. I tested the line power/voltage at the outlet with a VOM meter and it is fine. I cannot recommend this product in good conscience to anyone. buy at your own risk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Deerfield
Question for: Worked good for all of 22 days then
Posted 12/22/2011
How did the SONY handled the warranty?
THX
+7points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV

excellent tv for the money

02/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
went to buy the 55 inch vizio and it was sold out so bought this tv instead and only thing it lacked was the internet apps but you get all those with a ps3 or wii or bluray player so decided instead of waiting a week for vizio to come in went with this tv and have now had it forone week and love it the picture quality is beautiful and for a flat screen tv the sound is good too does impress much more with the soundbar package though I honestly cant find one thing to complain about so far with this tv and plan to buy another one for the bedroom now!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 5 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV
05/02/2012
By ,
Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my new Sony Bravia! It was a bit expensive but it is worth the extra money. It has a very clear picture and good sound quality. It was easy to set up but I haven't really used all of the features yet. It was far better than the LG 50" plasma I returned to Best Buy, it had a horrible glare, you could hardly see the picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 6 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV

Fantastic TV

05/29/2012
By ,
Missouri City, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this on December 27, 2011. I had returned an LG 55" that I bought the previous day, that just did not live up to any of my expectations. I bought both TVs at my local Walmart store for the same price, and they were both on sale. The Lg was a very poor product in comparison with this Sony. I have a Sony 40" Bravia that had developed a problem over the previous 14 months, with the right side of the screen showing up lighter than the rest of the picture. The LG had a dull, and lifeless looking picture, that could not be resolved with any amount of tweaking. It also had some distortion, that ran vertically down the screen, that wasn't always visible, but once it was noticed, I knew I would always be looking for it.
The Sony has an amazing picture. The colors are very vivid, and true. The skin tones are exactly like you would see at a movie theater. People look as if they are in the room with you. When hooked up to my Sony Bluray player, the results are simply unbelievable. My wife and I played Avatar, and were simply blown away. The difference between the 40" Bravia, and the 55" are incredible. I was so impressed by the picture, that I bought 175 Blurays from Blockbuster Video, as they were closing down several of their stores. I got them for practically nothing. I frankly could not see what all the fuss was about Blurays, when I only owned the 40" Bravia. I am so glad that I went back and returned the LG. This was by far one of my best investments ever. There are two negatives. This only has 2 HDMI ports, and no WIFI. I was able to connect my DVR, and Bluray player with the 2 HDMI connectors, and the DVD player with the Composite video, and my Bluray player has built in WIFI, making this choice a no brainer. I have had many Sony products over the years, and their TVs have always been stellar. It was my fault not taking my Bravia in under warranty. Do not hesitate to try this TV out, and if you do not like it Walmart will stand behind it. They were great with my situation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
+12points
Review 7 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV

Best TV Purchase (for Non-millionaires)

10/24/2012
By ,
Washington, DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is the best. I bought two of them. They're huge and the picture is spectacular. What? It doesn't have built in WIFI this or that? It doesn't have YouTube or Hulu built in? Who cares. I wanted a TV, not a computer. None of that extra stuff is worth the premium you pay. This TV is a bare-bones entertainment dominator. Plain and simple. I play FIFA PS3 on it and it RULES! Sure, I bet you can find a SLIGHTLY nicer picture for $2,000 or $3,000 extra, but it's not worth the SLIGHT improvement. This TV has a BEAUTIFUL picture. And for $800/$900, you can't go wrong! It rules!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 8 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV

Great T.V. as always from Sony!

12/27/2011
By ,
Chapmanville, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned this tv for a couple of months now and I have to say it is amazing! I love the quality of the picture and the sound is good too. I recommend this to anyone looking to buy a new T.V.
All of my T.V.'s are Sony and I have yet to have one fail on me and they range from 10 - 2 months old. If you want top notch picture and sound and can depend on it for a long time to come then get this T.V. you wont be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 9 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV

great value

10/25/2012
By ,
sisters, oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought one of these tv's form sears when they first came out paid $3000 for same tv. Get it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 10 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV

Great Sony TV for the price.

10/25/2012
By ,
Lindon, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this purchase. Older model, but it has nearly everything I need. Only downside to this TV for me is that it only has 2 HDMI inputs. I knew this going in, but the price is really great and just forces me to consolidate my input components. They need to be upgraded anyway. Maybe I can find a great deal on a Bravia BlueRay home theater in a box during the holiday sales to replace my BlueRay and older non-BR Bravia DVD Theater box. That would leave me a connection for my IPad still.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 11 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV

Great T.V. for anyone

07/04/2012
By ,
Mobile, Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has the most beautiful picture that I have ever seen. I am very satisfied with it. Very quick delivery and Walmart.com had the very best price on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 12 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV

Great TV for the money

10/13/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this tv on line and picked it up at our local Wal-Mart the same day. Setup was easy and the picture is bright and the detail is fantastic. The sound is better than I had expected with the built-in speakers. This 55" Sony tv replaces a RCA 42" plasma tv, which we also bought from Wal-Mart, and is perfect for our viewing distance of 12 feet to 15 feet. The 42" RCA now serves our hobby room.
If you buy this Sony 55" Bravia BX520 HDTV you will be happy you did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 13 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV

A corner of the TV came cracked but by the time I

07/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A corner of the TV came cracked but by the time I noticed it, it was already wall mounted. Great size and really nice TV otherwise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 14 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV
06/24/2012
By ,
Hemet, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Horrible TV. My boyfriend and I just bought this tv in the store and it had a great picture quality when we saw it there. When we took it home and turned it on it took 30 minutes for the picture to become visible and work properly. This happens EVERYTIME we turn it on. We are returning it for a different TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 15 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV

TV came broken.

07/06/2012
By ,
Groveland, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fed Ex delivered the TV and after paying someone to set it up for me (I'm a 73 year old widow), LCD was broken inside (but not the screen or frame). I then paid a man with a pick-up truck and his son to take it to the Walmart in Sonora. They didn't have the Sony that I had ordered on line so I had to get a Vizio, or go another 2 weeks without a TV. Walmart was very good about exchanging the TV, but I really wanted a Sony. The Vizio is O.K., but not the quality of a Sony. I have had good experience with my last two Sony TV's and really wanted another one. I gave it a 5 star rating because of past experiences with that brand.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV
10/26/2012
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My second SONY! Love the quality and price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV

Great TV just wished it had at least one more HDMI

10/26/2012
By ,
Orange County , CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needs one more HDMI port.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV
10/28/2012
By ,
Huntington Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love it a Lot
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV

Thank you Sony !

11/12/2012
By ,
appleton wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wanted a 55" have sony blueray and surround system got this tv hooked everything up (Im not tech savy either ) all I can say is WOW, AWESOME, didn't know what all I was missing, so far so good performance wise hope this will be with me for a long time love the tv movies and football enjoyment
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 20 for Sony 55" Bravia BX520-Series Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV

Easy to set up

11/06/2012
By ,
Mpls, mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice picture, great price. Easy menu setup and mounting to wall was very straightforward.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next