Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magellan Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Magellan Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

This Magellan RoadMate GPS gives a bit extra. The Magellan 4.7" GPS is recognized as a free map update unit. Register your unit with Magellan's free Content Manager and you are entitled to one free map update. Redeem when your maps are older — a year or two years from purchase. A 4.7" screen gives you noticeably more map to view. Enjoy the larger screen size — a Magellan exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.391 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation64%41 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 111 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Great GPS

12/28/2011
By ,
Deerfield, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gps is defenetly a good value,it is a simple unit to use and very accurate, it will re-route you if you take a different route, the menu is easy to use, and the large screen is a plus, you cant go wrong with this gps, I had purchased a TomTom,but the screen was too small, so I had to return it, when I saw this Magellan 4.7" screen, I grabbed 2 of them, as I already have an older Magellan, I know this is a good gps ,and it was cheaper than a map update, very nice unit.
You cant beat Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Excellent for the price

01/03/2012
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm not sure why people are having the issues they are, but the device easily connected to my Windows 7 laptop to update the software from 4.85 to 4.90. I haven't had issues with maps being out of date or destinations being off, either. Everything has been as accurate as an older Garmin Nuvi I had and this even gives me lane assistance that my Nuvi did not. Also for those inclined, this thing runs WinCE 6.0 so it's easily hackable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Died in 4 days

12/21/2011
By ,
Boston, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 2 gps from Walmart: this one and Garmin 50lm. Just wanted to compare which one would work better for me. Well, I was pretty happy with Magellan until it did not recognized a road which was build 2 years ago. Apparently gps came with outdated maps. Moreover there was not a map update on Magellan's web site, :(. Today device just died on me. Simply did not power on.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE
12/29/2011
By ,
El Paso, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this GPS to friends and family. I recently returned to/from trip from Texas to Oregon and it worked very well. The only concern I have is the GPS voice notification of turns on and off the freeways. The voice notification only informs of these turns which only gives me less than a minute to react. Overall not bad.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

It did not work for me !!!

01/04/2012
By ,
West Central Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased the 3120MU for Christmas. It ran well right out of the box but did not recognise some addresses. The were locations that had been there for at least 5 years.
The major problem was that when connected to Magellan thru the "Content Manager" it said I needed to update the software. I followed the instructions to the letter. When it started to transfer the update to the unit it gave an error message then locked up the unit. Could not get it back to the main menu screen.
Thought it was a bad unit so exchanged it for another.. Guess what.. Exactly the same problem. Spent an hour on hold with Magellan support and never got to a tech. E-Mailed Customer Support and never received a reply.
Big Thank You to my local Wal Mart... They took the unit back with no problems and refunded my money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE
02/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a cheap GPS and this one was the best option I could find with some good reviews. I really like it. I have not used too much. I did not upgrade the map since it has the latest one. It tells you if address are on your right or left. It tells you to turn before the turn.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Never had a GPS Before

02/29/2012
By ,
Near Plymouth, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This GPS does everything I need it to do and is easy to use. Also came at a very reasonable price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

great for every day use.

02/27/2012
By ,
Springfield ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it works so good i had my sister inlaw get one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

NOT A UNIT FOR CANADIAN

01/05/2012
By ,
Vancouver, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It doesn't have a Canadian Map at all! Don't be misled by some wrong item description. I have bought one because I was misled already and finally figure the problem after I got the unit in hand. Worse part is you can't even find a Canadian Map on their website! Because it is too new! Checked with Manufacturer but doesn't help, and they don't want to do anything about it. BAD customer service too!
Defective unit, clumsy customer service, slow updated website, I would not recommend it to any Canadian.
Canadians, this unit is not for you!
May be it still can be used for guys in States, but from my experience with the customer service and refreshing rate of their website, I would doubt it too.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

First GPS experience AWFUL!

12/30/2011
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product on 12/29/11 I'd never had a GPS before and I really need one. WALMART sold me a returned GPS. The GPS kept saying my destination was on wrong side of road. When I went to upload the free map upgrade it told me it would not let me use my map upgrade because it was on a different device and told me to purchase a map upgrade!!! I'm so upset I'm returning it and getting a GARMIN instead. They have free lifetime map upgrades. I thought this GPS would still be worth it because the price is so nice but the device deleted all of its old maps rendering it completely USELESS. Not worth the time and money that it is. PLEASE do NOT buy this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Very cumbersom update procedure

01/09/2012
By ,
Paola, Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm taking this unit back because it simply doesn't work. This is one of those items that comes with a minimum of instructions and you are supposed to be smart enough to figure out everything online. The unit worked just okay. (made many wrong turns and some addressed wern't in the data base) before I tried to update the data base. It came with a free data base. I followed the instructions to the letter and it failed to install. This rendered the unit useless. When I tried to reinstall the map data my computer said the software was already in use on another gps and offered to sell me more software for more than I paid for the GPS itself. Stay far away from this one. A piece of junk in my opinion.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Good product for price

01/24/2012
By ,
Bay Area, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this GPS for $49 in last holiday sales and I have been using it since.
It is a no frill GPS and does the basic functionality of navigation well. However it's voice navigation is not as good as Tomtom's one which I previously had. Sometimes while driving I had to look at the map in this GPS especially at turns otherwise I might have gone beyond destination. So you get what you pay for. Overall it is value for your money.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

not a deal if it don't work

12/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked until I set up my account, hooked up the GPS and was alerted a firmware update was available and needs to be updated. Then it locked up and would not work. Magellan is no help either. Even the day it was working, the audio was so poor you could hardly understand it. Sounded like a muffled pocket transistor radio. I would steer clear of this one. Luckily WalMart has a great return policy and stands by what it sells.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Will not download FREE map update...

12/28/2011
By ,
Atlanta GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't do it!... I thought I was getting a great buy on this especially with the screen size larger than the Garmin or TomTom,,, but will not download the "free" map update. Just google "roadmate 3120-MU failed to update" and see the problems others are having on this. I get the same problem all these others are having. Got on CS phone line, after 20 minutes on hold, I hung up. Must be having a load of service calls coming in on the RoadMate line...wonder why? Taking back to Walmart for refund and get a Garmin. We have had 2 of them and they work well, no problems for 3 years on that brand. Good luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Waste of Money

02/26/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this as a replacement for my Magellan 1440 unit because it had exactly the same features but it has the new map upgrade. New 3120MU map doesn't have as many street addresses as the 1440 so I couldn't use it on my latest trip. Could not enter the Street name I needed to find. Had to use old 1440 so I guess I don't need this new unit. This thing is going back ASAP. VERY DISAPPOINTING UNIT in today's market! My daughter also bought a new 3120MU at the same time. She can't enter many Street names she needs in hers either so it's not just a problem with just my particular unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE
12/24/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Absolutely terrible! Got the unit as a gift, tried to update the software as directed on the website, and it completely locked up the unit. Now the unit wont even turn on and when I try to redo the update it locks up my computer. Will be returning asap, and will not get another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Very basic features.

01/16/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
While this GPS will get you where you are going, it has the most basic of menu options and features and doesn't even compare to my TOM-TOM. It doesn't list the total amount of miles left in a trip as you are traveling, the temperature, nor the speed limit. It will map out the route but it only displays the estimated arrival time, no way of seeing how many miles left in trip unless you re-program it displays at the very beginning of routing the trip...
on the plus side, the screen is larger than most and the image is a very clear resolutionl.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

you get what you pay for

12/25/2011
By ,
Chantilly, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this instead of buying a map update for my Garmin because it was cheaper to do so. Bad move. There are so many things this GPS does not do, primairly it does not tell you what side of the street your destination is on. It does not have a "Home" setting. You cannot make the cursor anything, but a cursor.
It's cheap and therefore very low grade.
I've returned it and have updated my Garmin map.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE
01/16/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Save your money GPS not worth it. I bought it during black Friday and used it three times or better yet attempted to use it three times. It could never locate where I was no matter where I was in NY or NJ, which defeats the point of a GPS if I dont know where am and the GPS doesnt know where I am, How do I get to where I need to be. I was wondering if it was me for a minute but I also have another friend with this GPS and they have the same problem. Anyway long story short I returned it.
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

junk

12/27/2011
By ,
Wilmington, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Addresses in my area were off by .5 miles. Downloaded the software from MagellanGPS website. It needed an update...hello I just downloaded the latest version directly from the website and it needs an update? Running the software caused 3 different computers to lock up. Eventually got the software updated and downloaded the update for the device. The "updated" wiped the memory out of the device rendering it useless. My father bought the same GPS and had the exact same results!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 58 total reviews