Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magellan Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Magellan Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

This Magellan RoadMate GPS gives a bit extra. The Magellan 4.7" GPS is recognized as a free map update unit. Register your unit with Magellan's free Content Manager and you are entitled to one free map update. Redeem when your maps are older — a year or two years from purchase. A 4.7" screen gives you noticeably more map to view. Enjoy the larger screen size — a Magellan exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.391 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation64%41 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 111 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Nice unit, but only includes maps of US/PR

11/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've used a Magellan 3400-series GPS for 3 years now and looked at new alternatives to find one that locks onto satellites faster (although the old one was notably faster than Garmins of the same era) and has newer maps, including the interstate in my area built about 8 years ago. This 3120 looked like it fit the bill, especially at its low cost that was less than the map update cost for my old unit.
My impressions are good overall. I've never found Magellans to be hard to use, and this one has improved the older interface in some key areas. The touch screen is more sensitive than my old unit, which helps if you're used to using a very sensitive iPhone or similar device. The points of interest database has many useful updates, and the routing is comparable to my old unit. The "street view" way of showing ramps and the overhead signs is new to me, and I found it helpful in determining what the GPS is saying to do. Finally, I'll note that the signal lock IS faster than my old unit, and that's a welcome improvement.
On the downside, the product description says this includes maps of Canada as well as the U.S. and Puerto Rico. This is important to me, as I travel to Canada 3-4 times per year. However, the 3120 unit is a true entry level machine and includes on the U.S./P.R. maps. See the photos if you don't believe me. I'll have to return this unit because of the missing Canadian maps. If you don't need the maps of Canada, I think you'll find it tough to find a better unit with 30% of this price, especially for a new one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Pretty good GPS

12/19/2011
By ,
Colorado Springs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first GPS and is working very well. Bought it for $59.98 and was glad that Walmart gave me a refund for th price difference after I made a request since the unit price has gobe down. Initialy had a problem updating the device software but was fixed. Hopefully Walmart can show my comment on bill19073 post on how to fix the problem.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

so far so good

12/21/2011
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got it a couple of days ago with the super good price.
Use it right out of the box, no problem at all, our lcoal highway had a new exit just a while ago and it could tell. Think I could use it for quite a while before updating the map.
I had an old Magellan GPS for a couple of years already, still working fine. The only complains I had about the older one is occasionally when it gets close to the destination, it points me to the other side of the road. For the new one, have not seen the problem yet and we will see.
This new model definitely better than the older one on bigger screen, battery life, functionality, faster response time, intuitive instructions and it shows more accurate position even off street or in a parking lot.
With the price I paid, I am really happy about my purchase. Plus Walmart does have some good deals this holiday season. Keep going.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Unbeatable value, great performance, clever design

12/01/2011
By ,
Auburn, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace an old "no-frills" Amcor GPS I had that finally expired. This GPS works great, has a lot nice features like an address book and is a very clever design. One thing in particular that I like is that the power cord connection is held captive by the mounting bracket, so it can't accidentally fall out or break the mini-USB input jack. The operation is very intuitive it is easy to use, and it looks cool, too. I didn't even bother installing the free map upgrade, it seems to be up-to-date right out of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Baseline for Price

11/29/2011
By ,
Winchester, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You get what you pay for. I went from a Tom Tom XXL to this Magellan. I bought it because of the price and needed to replace my broken Tom Tom. There aren't as many features and customizations as other GPS units and the maps are in my estimation 85-90% acurate. My unit shows road where there are none, and businesses where there are none. I put in an address to test the unit and it missed the address by several hundred yards. A bit disappointing, but it gets me to where I want to go (for the most part). I would recommend investing in a higher value more sophisticated unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Good GPS for casual use.

01/09/2012
By ,
South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This replaced my 4ish year old TomTom One and overall I'm very happy with it. Works great out of the box. The main problem I had with it is there's a software update from Magellan but when you install, it automatically fails and bricks the device. It's an easy fix, you just have to find where the the update downloaded itself to and manually run it (outside Magellan Content Manager -- See Magellan support forum before updating!) then it works fine. But it was disappointing to see it fail, I hope they fix that issue with another update soon because it could turn away less computer savvy people who want to update. I think it's a bug in the Content Manager, not the GPS itself. After the fix it works great.
As with any GPS in the $70-150 price range you will have some POIs that are outdated but for the most part it seems to be spot on so far. It doesn't have all the "cool" features than the TomTom I switched from had, but it has more practical features like the auto-detour, auto-night/day mode, lane assist, and telling you what side of the road the destination is on. Usually finds GPS signal in about 15 seconds whereas my TomTom would sometimes take 10 minutes(!). Highly recommended for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

cannot be connected and updated

12/17/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this thinking it was cheaper than updating the maps on my garmin and had a bigger screen. I was able to use it for one trip, and the large screen and quick response were nice, but then I downloaded the content manger and registered it.
Well, now it doesn't work at all. My windows 7 had problems with the device driver. The registration and map service doesn't know about this model, without trying about 10 times, so you have to wonder about the magellan internet system.
finally, the content manager said it could find it and recognized the device attached, and that there was an updgrade to the software. So I told it to upgrade, and after about 5-10 minutes, it says there is a device error and to cancel. SO I try again, and it tells me the map is already being used by another device -- what map? Do I unplug everything and try again, usually having it say the map is in use, and sometimes saying it is upgrading the software, then it fails.
the end result is that it now has a picture of a PC and the GPS, so it won't either use what it has nor will it upload the new software. Trying support is a joke, and I hung up after waiting an hour. I don't know if it is this GPS or Magellan in general, but don't buy this device since the first time you try to connect it will be the last time it will work
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Valley Alabama
Not worth the trouble
Posted 01/09/2012
I bought it as a christmas present for my wife. It did not work. After 4 hours with customer service (2 hours on hold total 2 calls) sent it in for replacement. Recieved replacement and it did not work either. Different problems but still would not work correctly. I returned it to Wal-Mart for a Garmin Nuvi and she was using it in less than an hour. Garmin is worth the $30 extra. Thank you Wal-mart for your return easy policy. Otherwise I may have turned in to that postal guy every one fears.
0points
Customer Avatar
San Jose, CA
GPS Unit stuck with same issue
Posted 12/21/2011
Even I got the same error and now GPS shows those icons without starting.
I found steps to fix this issue but I don't see the required folder which might contain the software to fix this error.
0points
Customer Avatar
tn
UPDATE FREEZE
Posted 12/19/2011
Hey there, i, like many apparently, having this problem. i luckily found a gps site where someone posted a fix. and thank god it works. temporarily turn off your anti virus and firewall.
This folder was located here for me: C:\Users\{your User name}\AppData\Local\Temp\ContentManager\update (u will have to type this in, cause it doesnt show up in the initial list.)
I opened that folder and went down the list till i found setup.
Then run setup.exe from that folder. a grey magellan wizard box opened up. follow instructions from there.
Prior to starting the update, hold the power off button until the GPS screen goes black and then power up the unit while not attached to the computer's USB port.
Then start the update, it will find the unit and complete. When the unit is detached from the PC, it will finish the update process (it takes a few reboots).
update took about 30 seconds from pc.
here is site url just in case.
http://forums.gpsreview.net/viewtopic.php?t=24617
0points
Customer Avatar
Colorado Springs
Try this fix
Posted 12/19/2011
Same thing happened to my unit. You can try this as it fixed my Magellan GPS.
1. Click start then go to control panel. Click Appearance and Personalization. Then on Folder options click Show hidden files and folders. Be sure to click on the Show hidden files, folders and drives.
2. Navigate to C:\Users\{your User name}\AppData\Local\Temp\ContentManager\update
3. Copy and past to your desktop the update folder. This is where Content Manager downloaded the GPS update to your computer. You should see a folder named Magellan_RoadMate_3120_4_90_Rel1
4. Before starting the update reset your GPS unit by holding the the power switch at the top of the unit for 10 seconds. Do not let go when the unit turns off.
5. Turn the unit on and attach it to the computers USB port
6. Go back to the folder on item 3 above and look for setup and double click on that. If Windows asks about fixing the corrupted drive let it fix it.
7. Then start the update, it will find the unit and complete. When the unit is detached from the PC, it will finish the update process (it takes a few reboots).
8. To get the Magellan Content Manager to realize the version is now 4.90 and let me perform the address book sync, I had to remove the GPS profile and then re-add it. Now I can sync the address book.
Hopefully this fixes your unit as it fixed mine. :)
Walmart please post this as this may reduce complaints and returns of the Magellan Roadmate 3120 -MU
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 8 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Out of date

11/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I already have a Garmin GPS but got this one in lieu of updating the Garmin as it is a few years old. Businesses that have been around for 7-8 years do not come up on this GPS and it tells me that EVERY destination is on the opposite side of the road that it is actually on. I figured I needed to use the free upgrade immediately to get it up to date, but it says the decide is up to date. Will be returning ASAP. DISAPPOINTED!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Wow! Unbelievable price!

12/08/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product for a great price! Can't be the $59 for a 5" screen with one time map update. I have used Magellan products before and they work just fine. The maps are updated and have no problem getting to places. I Love the fact that it comes with a mount, car charger and all the things you need to use it out of the box. Thanks Wal-Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/19/2011
A mount, charger, and all the things you need to use it out of the box comes with ALL GPS units nowadays. It's nothing special or unique to this unit.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE
11/25/2011
By ,
Arlington TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good, fast and cheap has no problem come with a free map update it locate where u are in a minute its better than the one i had the Magellan 1440 Road mate
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

this is for the freeze up

12/19/2011
By ,
tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
UPDATE FREEZE
12/19/2011
Hey there, i, like many apparently, having this problem. i luckily found a gps site where someone posted a fix. and thank god it works. temporarily turn off your anti virus and firewall.
This folder was located here for me: C:\Users\{your User name}\AppData\Local\Temp\ContentManager\update (u will have to type this in, cause it doesnt show up in the initial list.)
I opened that folder and went down the list till i found setup.
Then run setup.exe from that folder. a grey magellan wizard box opened up. follow instructions from there.
Prior to starting the update, hold the power off button until the GPS screen goes black and then power up the unit while not attached to the computer's USB port.
Then start the update, it will find the unit and complete. When the unit is detached from the PC, it will finish the update process (it takes a few reboots).
update took about 30 seconds from pc.
here is site url just in case.
http://forums.gpsreview.net/viewtopic.php?t=24617
aside from this problem that came up, i have liked this gps a lot. there is no canada map as listed somewhere. i use this daily as i am a delivery driver.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Spend the extra $30 and get a garmin nuvi

12/06/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was drawn by the pricepoint, but you get what you pay for. This unit has no speed limit indicator like the nuvi, the "lane assist" does not do squat until you have already passed the exit you need, and you cannot customize anything like the voice or icon like you can with the nuvi. This unit is can't hang with the other units in this class. I have a garmin nuvi and it blows this thing away and it was $99. Get the Garmin.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Great Deal!

12/29/2011
By ,
Pocatello, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit last week because of it's price point and so far it has been great. It worked right out of the box and had no problem going to Utah over the Christmas weekend. I like the fact that it was easy to use and it came with all the hardware and accessories(car charger and window mount). The screenn size is great and one of my favorite feature is that when I am about to exit or hit a cross section the view zooms in...Thanks Magellan and WM Dot com for a great product for a great price. Best deal around for a GPS unit this year by far!!!
p.s don't know why you would need to update the product or plug it into a computer..you can use it right out of the box..save the one time update when you really need them in about a year or two..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Very good and useful

12/27/2011
By ,
CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this last year for Christmas and like it so much that I bought my mom one for Christmas this year. It has a nice big screen, clear graphics, and is easy to use. We've used it frequently over the last year and it hasn't let us down yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

big screen, easy to use

02/07/2012
By ,
Suwanee GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned two Garmin units over the years, and I actually now prefer this Magellan unit. It is much easier to set up, and the volume control is on the front screen which is much more convenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Excellent price

02/02/2012
By ,
Westfield IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first one I got and after two days put under the seat and forgot about it. When I moved the seat I broke the glass. This happened after only 2 days of use. I immeadiately went back on line and bought my second one. I have had over a month and love it. Just plug and use. My six year old grandson uses it every time he is in the car. Tells elevation, speed, miles left and even estimated time of arrival. When I go a backroad it recalculates the route for me. What more could you ask for only $60. Screen is 4.7" and is a good size with nice colors also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

User-friendly for all GPS, great value!

02/05/2012
By ,
Southern CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have tried Tom Tom, Garmin and Magellan GPS systems. I returned all but the Magellan for the simplicity. Occasionally a GPS will fail you - but more times than not, my Magellans have provided me with the security & convenience that one expects from a GPS unit.
I have spent more of other Magellan systems and must say that this unit is serving just me as well.
I do recommend this GPS system
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

New model,works for me

01/18/2012
By ,
Delmar,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No issues.Faster than my other gps.
Wish it came with a dash disk 3m but got 4 for $6 off eBay
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE

Great product at a low price

01/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super deal... works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Magellan RoadMate 3120-MU 4.7" GPS UNIT with ONE TIME MAP UPDATE
02/28/2012
By ,
salton sea cal.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i was really upset when we were in the middle of a trip in our rv when my old magellin quite working. weeks away from soc. sec. check, low on cash when i saw this gps listed for 50.00, i cldnt believe such a cheap gps wld work well, just getting us home and then get another magellin were my plans. it was easy opening an account, great delivery service, and then it comes...it has proven with magellin you can trust their advertisements, it is just great, i do not need to buy a more expensive one, this does everything..and of course it gets us whereever we want to go. yeah for magellin
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1 2 3 Next