Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hewlett Packard Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hewlett Packard Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

The simple style and essential features you expect from Compaq are more affordable than ever. The Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC enhances your life with full PC performance for projects and entertainment, with features like HD video support and Altec Lansing stereo speakers you find in laptops costing much more. Get integrated Wi-Fi to connect anywhere a hotspot is available. A built-in setup manager of the 2GB DDR3 SDRAM laptop walks you through this process, plus how to transfer files from your old PC, backup your data and much more. A large hard drive in this Windows 7 Home Premium laptop holds plenty of documents, homework, music, photos and videos. It's all yours now at a price so low, it's almost unbelievable. Why pay more for peace of mind? Get brand name quality, now at a price you can afford.
Average Customer Rating:
4.309 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(217 Reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
52
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation88%188 out of 213reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
52
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Stopped working after 10 months

05/22/2012
By ,
Louisville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The screen started to show white lines then it went out completely. It only lasted about 10 months. It was inexpensive, but you get what you pay for. If you do purchase it, I would think about an extended warranty. Be sure to keep your receipt and papers where you can find them. You will also need to purchase a package for Microsoft Word. It's not included.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 2 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Liked it but in broke within 2 months

05/16/2012
By ,
Orlando
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Love the laptop but its built cheaper than the previous compaq I had. Graphics card broke withing 2 months. The keyboard is cheap compared to my previous laptop. Had to send it in for warranty repairs which will take a week. Dont think this laptop will last too long. As far as features go, its great but i recommend upgrading the ram to at least 4gb for faster speed. Display is not as nice as my previous laptop. You get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 3 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

HP/Compaq customer service VERY questionable

08/09/2012
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My church bought this laptop and was told the reason it quit was because that it was only used Wed. and Sun.!?!? I've never heard of a company saying their item quit working because it wasn't used enough? Anyway, they refuse to repair/replace the item because their records say it's 2 weeks out of warranty. I might be OK with this if it wasn't a common problem, but just google Compaq cq57 not booting or cq57 cap lock blinking. Horrible company service
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
04/03/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this computer for one day and it completely crashed i had to buy a whole new computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-31points
Review 5 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Beware of HP warranty

03/07/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beware - HP will consider any defect in the screen (big black blobs which happened to me after 6 months) as being an accident caused by the purchaser and not covered under the warranty. They consider any problems like this as being caused by the user, even simply opening the laptop from one corner or the other if you can believe that. Under no circumstances should you buy this (or perhaps any HP laptop) without an extended warranty that covers accidents. Calls to HP were pointless and their best offer was to repair the screen at a price that was almost as much as the laptop. Shameful and shortsighted on their part. Look elsewhere and double check warranty!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+85points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Poinciana, FL
HP Warranty
Posted 04/17/2012
I have used HP Laptops for many many years. I have had batteries fail, keyboards with this or that key fail, the onboard mouse stop working but not once have I had the screen go bad as you describe. I am sure had you presented the problem ito HP in a dignified manner would go a long way into getting your Laptop repaired. Many person use a Laptop as if it is indestructible. Let me clue you in; Laptops will break if not handled with kid gloves as it were. So don't fret over the HP warranty, almost 99.999% of the time they, HP, will help their customers and repair and/or replace their Laptops.
+5points
Customer Avatar
california
my first laptop
Posted 03/09/2012
i just bought this laptop, and i hope it works out for me. iits not at home yet so i cant say anything about it
-8points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Bad laptop - should have researched

09/16/2012
By ,
Wilmington, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this laptop for my daughter and initially, it worked ok. After a month, the backlight quit working and had huge problems with the company trying to fix this problem. I had looked online, and apparently it is a common problem with this model - hence the cheap price. I felt bad because it was a gift and wound up getting her a monitor so at least she could use it at home. I am going to buy another one for her for Christmas, but it definitely will not be this one and I will do a lot of research. So, buyer beware - as the old saying goes, when something seems too good to be true, it usually is.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Keep your reciept

09/21/2012
By ,
LONDON kY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My friend has a earlier model of this computer and its GREAT
I however got a dud 2 in fact the first one i bought and the one i replaced it with both have a problem with there wifi connection they connect then drop the signal they will not stay connected. SO BUYERS OF LONDON KY WALMART BEWARE they must have a bad batch . I originally was going to get a different brand once i returned the first one but they were out of stock so i thought . Well i cant end up with two lemons . WRONG. I will be returning this tommorrow and heading to office depot to check there selection
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 8 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

First Time Buyer.

05/13/2012
By ,
Saucier MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just bought this computer TODAY, took it out the box, NEVER even plugged it in, and I am taking it back tomorrow, the disk drive wont open, me and 2 other people tried to open it, wont budge, going to get the same one tomorrow, and hope this is just a one time thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
-12points
Review 9 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Locked up the first day.

10/03/2012
By ,
KC MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This laptop locked up the first day. Finally got it to shut down normally. When I turned it on again, it went into recovery mode and never booted up. Left it in recovery mode for over and hour. Returned the next day.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 10 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

good if you set your computer next to your router.

07/18/2012
By ,
mars, pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
to start things off, the day i bought my laptop i took it home and plugged it in. it had nice graphics and nice speed, but the battery held no charge whatsoever. if you unplugged your laptop, it shut off. and it hasnt been only my laptop, it has been multiple people with the same model. meaningless battery. also, it barely picked up any wifi connection in my house. i basically had to stand next to the router to get any connection. but if you were to be in a different room, you would get a weak signal.
do not buy this laptop if you plan on taking it anywhere, because the battery could quit at anytime.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 11 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Cheaply made - died after one year of use

03/13/2012
By ,
Denton, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I should have known not to buy the bottom-of-the-barrel laptop, knowing that with most things in life, you get what you pay for. But this one is especially disappointing, in that I expected a $300 machine to get more than a year's worth of use. After 13 months, the motherboard and CPU are both failing, and it will cost more to repair than to just buy a new laptop. Please spend the extra hundred bucks or so and get a Dell, HP, or Asus. That's what I plan to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+29points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Charleston, SC
Compaq is HP
Posted 04/16/2012
You probably aren't aware of it, but HP owns Compaq and they source many, if not all, parts from the same place. It is unfortunate that you experienced a problem with your PC, but if an electronic device is going to fail as a result of a manufacturing defect, it usually occurs within the first 90 days. After that it is either wear, misuse, or bad luck that causes it to fail rather than something overt by the manufacturer. You didn't mention what actually failed on your PC, so I can't offer any suggestions for repair.
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Computer is bad, don't buy

10/03/2012
By ,
Missoula,MT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this computer and about three days later took it back and got a decent one. This computer was slower than my 2005 toshiba satellite and would not stay connected to my Wi-fi router.Bad bad bad bad. Don't go to Walmart and buy the cheapest laptop they sell. Spend the money, its worth it in the long run. I bought the new Toshiba Sattelite L855D-S5220 for 500 bucks. It is the best computer I have ever had and looks good to boot.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 13 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

dont even try to use this for longer than 2 weeks

08/29/2012
By ,
Ramsey, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i got this laptop for christmas 2012. Right out of the box i could see that this was made very cheeply. the battery life will tell you it has 5 hours or somthing...not even close. dont trust this for 2 hours. if you try to open 2 tabs in a browser it will take 5 minutes(no joke). i use this laptop just because it can (eventually) get what you need done( homework and browsing the internet). But once you install 1 program like skype you are screwed. it doesnt actually delete if u move it to the trash bin(our world is so eco-friendly they changed it to recycleing bin.lol) it doesnt actually delete.Overall only get this computer if you cant afford a better one like an hp.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mcfuson1974
great cheap student laptop
Posted 09/01/2012
I'm commenting for a friend in college. She bought this laptop for school. IT's a great computer for the internet and it will work great with wifi. Can watch dvd movies and can burn cd and dvd discs. NIce bright screen. It has several usb ports and a vga port for an external screen. Not a good machine for playing power hungry games but be fine for some lower end games due to the slower cpu, but on the up side it has 2gig of ram and is upgradable to 8gigs. For a full sized laptop under $300 you can't beat it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Bad Lap Top

06/12/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My parents got me this laptop for christmas. After about 6 months, this computer completely shut down when i was using it. Now it won't turn back on. And before that, I couldnt go on the internet without it taking about 5 minutes to open the web browser. It got so bad I had to resort to using the family computer for everything that had to do with schoolwork. School work was the reason my parents got me this laptop, and now I cant use it anymore. I wouldnt recommend this product to anyone. If you want a fast working laptop, dont get this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 15 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Cheap computer

08/13/2012
By ,
Ffld, CT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am using my 2nd identical computer, the 1st one I had to return to Walmart due to a defect, within 2 wks of purchase, now I am comtemplating wether to keep this one... I mean, don't wanna spoil your expectations too much, I'd recommend that if you choose to buy it, try it out and in case you don't like or trust that it will perform in the long run, then RETURN IT TO WALMART WITHIN 2 WEEKS (MAXIMUM TIME WALMART WILL TAKE IT BACK).
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

No Happy

07/16/2012
By ,
Buckeye, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It is to sensitive. When type, if you lower your hands at all, it jumps away from what you are typing. I have had to retype several reports.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
06/29/2012
By ,
thomasville, ga.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
setup is very difficult for a non-computer person. have tried everything short of calling a tech to program this comp for basic use. impossible to play games. have comps made by dell which is much simplier and user friendly. this is not.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
06/14/2012
By ,
Kernersville, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exremely slow compared to device it was to replace. Screen picture is muddy and unclear. Location of mouse trip keys inconvenient (heel of palm kept striking right key).
Size of screen and Windows 7 and size of mouse trip keys were an asset.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Computer Cursor keeps turning off.I have to reboot

06/03/2012
By ,
Chula Vista, CA.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Like I was stating in the previous satement.The computer cursor keeps turning off. And I have to reboot the computer every time. It's a pain in the BUTT.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
05/28/2012
By ,
NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was a replacement for a Compaq CQ62. The performance and speed are a step down from the 62. Overall, the CQ57 is a decent all around computer for the price. Two of the strong points of this computer are the DVD burner and the webcam.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
1-20 of 154 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next