Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hewlett Packard Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hewlett Packard Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

The simple style and essential features you expect from Compaq are more affordable than ever. The Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC enhances your life with full PC performance for projects and entertainment, with features like HD video support and Altec Lansing stereo speakers you find in laptops costing much more. Get integrated Wi-Fi to connect anywhere a hotspot is available. A built-in setup manager of the 2GB DDR3 SDRAM laptop walks you through this process, plus how to transfer files from your old PC, backup your data and much more. A large hard drive in this Windows 7 Home Premium laptop holds plenty of documents, homework, music, photos and videos. It's all yours now at a price so low, it's almost unbelievable. Why pay more for peace of mind? Get brand name quality, now at a price you can afford.
Average Customer Rating:
4.309 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(217 Reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
52
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation88%188 out of 213reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
52
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Best laptop ever!!

07/29/2012
By ,
Roxboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this laptop because I dropped my 14 inch dell by accident which I only had for a year. There were some parts still working in my dell laptop, so instead of buying another "top of the line" laptop I decided to get the Compaq. My old dell computer had four gigs of memory, therefore I moved it to my compaq. My compaq is the speed of lighting! Not to mention it is very quiet unlike my Dell and the webcam doesn't malfunction like my dell did it works at the speed of a click. Just the other week I played a blu-ray movie in it and the picture and sound quality was beautiful this laptop comes with HD quality. WIN WIN WIN! I usually don't write reviews for products, but the compaq deserved it. So if you aren't sure about getting a cheaper laptop, I would recommend you try it for a week or so and see if you like it. It works for me, and I am a full time college student. Not to mention the battery life is AWESOME. I could go on and on!!! I'm done!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 2 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

It Works For Me

06/23/2012
By ,
Everett, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this laptop on a limb - I think Its the daredevil in me! I was in walmart just browsing around - had no intentions on buying a computer/laptop when I walked into walmart that day but I saw it for an amazing price and picked it up - so glad I did. I'm not a high techy person. I am a normal internet shopping, everyday emailing, social networking and picture sharing person. I don't download music or movies on this laptop - I have a desktop for the heavy stuff. I just needed something that I could carry and still be able to social network, shop and email on the go. And it works fine! I also let my kids watch their dvds on it which is great AND I had this laptop for 5months now and I just discovered its built in camera - how cool is that?! So if you're a pretty basic computer person and don't need it to create award winning tunes and videos I think this could work. I love my laptop and I loved the price that I paid for it as well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 3 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Price vs work computer

04/04/2012
By ,
North Central Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped for a everyday computer for work and moblie internet. But my budget is under 380.00 just for computer. I shopped Wal-Mart store. I shopped Best buy Office Depot and Target. No luck for a good deal. So I shopped the dot coms. Amazon WalMart Target ebay. The Next day after shopping Wal Mart sent me an email with the BUNDLE priced just right. I checked the bunble deals and this is what was in the deal .... ( same comper that was 298 at black friday) I got everything I needed just for my Computer budget total 308 computer ,plus mouse stick & bag and taxes all under 369 ! How does it do work wise? Great Picks up wifi quick. regular internet work just as easy as in home office. Games just fine for what I play. Photo storage works great also. My next addition will be GoPro camera. .... Over a great buy and a great laptop for the price !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Review 4 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This has been a decent laptop so far.

03/01/2012
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read many reviews where a product is cut down because the buyer didn't read the specification. For instance, one bought a desk top and when they got home discovered it didn't have wireless, duh, it was stated in the specification that it didn't have wireless.
So, I am rating this laptop from a hardware perspective and not because Windows 7 is slightly different from XP and requires some time to learn and also I am not comparing it to a $1,000 laptop that has more bells and whistles.
I was looking for a basic unit because I don't play game and only store pictures, I don't play movies nor do I need other high powered graphic.
My old laptop, a Thinkpad T20 is/was working fine but XP will be out of style soon so it was time to move to Windows 7 and of course that in itself required new hardware. In this unit I have sufficient memory - 2 GB - a 320 HD, a DVD that burns, and a sufficient number of USB ports (3). Wireless, Ethernet, a card read, and a camera so I can watch myself type. I found a neat utility that can be configure to allow the touch pad to be disable if a external mouse is attached. This is an HP product even though it labeled Compaq and has HP utilities installed. Battery life is very good. So, for a basic laptop with a very nice display and a price that is almost unbelievable, I'm a happy camper!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+386points
Review 5 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Just What I Wanted!!

09/02/2012
By ,
Mt Juliet, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had an Acer Aspire 5570Z for the past 5 years and from the very first day it had a problem booting uip to the internet. I would always have to reboot at least twice, before it would attempt to connect to a network. I read a ton of reviews on many different makes and models of laptops before I came to this one. I realize it is an entry level computer so I wasn't expecting too much from it, I just wanted a dependable, fairly fast laptop. What I got was a fast, user friendly and so far dependable computer. The first thing I did was upgrade the RAM from 1GB to 8GB with Crucial DDR3 RAM. I got rid of a lot of un-necessary software that was just excess weight, installed Avast Internet Security Anti-Virus, CCleaner, Malewarebytes and Superantispyware. Several other modifications and I have a Laptop that I am extremely satisfied with. You can't beat the price for what you're getting, you can't go wrong with this one folks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Much Better than expected!

07/25/2012
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this one knowing it was a low end computer but have been very impressed at its performance and features and not so much with customer support (India).
The computer was slow and cumbersome out of the box till I removed the "Bundled" software and turned some non essentials off, then things picked up quickly.
I also updated the graphics software from the Intel site (not available from HP) which added more features and speed!
Battery life is great and I have been able to easily get over five hours to a full charge
(once I re-set the CPU fan to thermostatic control from always on) and power use is down from 29 watts when plugged in to 10 watts!
The support for an external monitor, wireless and camera also a nice surprise but the nicest thing is the keyboard which LACKS the numeric keypad....(the one nobody ever uses) which frees up a lot of space making the keyboard easier to use and much less crowded).
Overall this is a great value that just keeps on giving!
The Bad: Customer support was dismal and definitely India based as the techs were nearly impossible to understand between the thick accents and phone delay and lack of good information and verrrrry long wait times.
The second gripe is the flat black finish on the computer that shows every touch (body oils) but that is it!
Definitely what could be called a "Sleeper" product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 7 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Outstanding budget laptop!

05/12/2012
By ,
Chimacum, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We LOVE this little laptop! We have a 2-year-old iMac and a 1-year-old HP laptop, and this Compaq is faster than the HP and almost as fast as our Mac using Google Chrome browser. This is also the most user-friendly PC we have every seen, and we really like the value of Compaq design with HP components. We also love how tough it is, and it has survived daily rough handling by our two homeschooled kids. We could not be more pleased with this laptop and highly recommend it to anyone, other than a serous gamer, as an awesome budget computer. We researched extensively before purchasing and couldn't find a better value than this laptop at Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 8 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

overall its a good laptop and also my first laptop

03/29/2012
By ,
california
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i dont download anything but i do watch videos on youtube and watch movies and listen to music on youtube and cds and dvds and it works just fine an excellent value! i read one review and it said be careful with the screen so i open it from the center not the corners. i use the wifi its great i took it on vacation and got resturaunt reviews and directions. searching the web is fast enough
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+93points
Review 9 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great computer for the price

04/04/2012
By ,
Lucerne valley,ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This computer met all my expectations than some, it came with an ereader called Blio that works great, the speed is excellent and the programs load fast.
I would definitely recommend this computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+45points
Review 10 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

GREAT purchase!!!

05/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this laptop for school & it has been amazing so far! no problems or anything. It satisfies my needs for the moment. It only has starters for Microsoft Word and Excel, no powerpoint, so if you are a student purchasing this, you will have to purchase the Microsoft Office program separately. The fact that it can run with the battery and without it while it is plugged up is very convenient. I am over all satisfied with everything. A great purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:18 - 24
+16points
Review 11 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Computer!

03/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Especially for the price, you cannot beat this computer. I would buy another one in a minute. I like to attach an external optical mouse and it works great on the arm of my easy chair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+103points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Georgia
Terrific Computer ....
Posted 06/18/2012
especially for the price purchased for my daughter over a year ago still works great
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

A long lasting, cheap super buy

05/30/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this laptop for over a year now. I bought it for my 3 year old at the time and has lasted him. It is durable and he uses it every day. He drags it into many different rooms in the house so the HDD must be seated really well and well built, as my T60 laptop didn't stand the same kind of treatment day to day.
He had spilled juice on the keyboard and I ended up making use of the factory restore setting. In case anyone was wondering it worked perfectly -- many of the factory images don't come through when you need it, and this one did.
The part to replace the keyboard was very inexpensive - 10 bucks off ebay. Still runs good as new from the day I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 13 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
03/12/2012
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good over all laptop. have had it for 1 month work great just what i needed the only flaw is the right clicker broke 4 days after i got it still works but have to click in the corner of it over all very good laptop for the price!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+93points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Minnesota
touch pad
Posted 03/15/2012
The "mouse" buttons are a lever that pivots so pressing at the edge where the two levers meet is how they function. Use your thumb and press just to the right or left of the slit between them.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Beware of HP warranty

03/07/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beware - HP will consider any defect in the screen (big black blobs which happened to me after 6 months) as being an accident caused by the purchaser and not covered under the warranty. They consider any problems like this as being caused by the user, even simply opening the laptop from one corner or the other if you can believe that. Under no circumstances should you buy this (or perhaps any HP laptop) without an extended warranty that covers accidents. Calls to HP were pointless and their best offer was to repair the screen at a price that was almost as much as the laptop. Shameful and shortsighted on their part. Look elsewhere and double check warranty!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+85points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Poinciana, FL
HP Warranty
Posted 04/17/2012
I have used HP Laptops for many many years. I have had batteries fail, keyboards with this or that key fail, the onboard mouse stop working but not once have I had the screen go bad as you describe. I am sure had you presented the problem ito HP in a dignified manner would go a long way into getting your Laptop repaired. Many person use a Laptop as if it is indestructible. Let me clue you in; Laptops will break if not handled with kid gloves as it were. So don't fret over the HP warranty, almost 99.999% of the time they, HP, will help their customers and repair and/or replace their Laptops.
+5points
Customer Avatar
california
my first laptop
Posted 03/09/2012
i just bought this laptop, and i hope it works out for me. iits not at home yet so i cant say anything about it
-8points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 15 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

built for basic usage.

11/14/2012
By ,
SW Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this yesterday, I added RAM and it works perfectly. This comes with two GB of RAm,which is not much.you can go to a local computer shop and get used RAM cheap and they will install it for free. so for like ten bucks or less you can dramatically inprove the performance.It doesn't have all the bells and whistels as more expensive laptops, but this is perfect for college students who are non art/music majors and people who use thier laptop for basic entertainment and or for office productivity. I am an environmental science major and I use it for college but I also downloaded Civilization 5 and Halo 2 and they work very well on this machine. This can handle some new games and older games.I like the way the machine is set up, and the power plug is not bulky either. I also liek the way the trackpad and track buttons are on this machine, the only thing that i had to get use to was the keyboard. But that is just a minor thing. So if you looking for a great gift for a college student or buying it for office productivity I would just buy this laptop and go get that RAM upgrade.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Compaq b;acl 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop

07/22/2012
By ,
Northeast Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my wife. She has been using it for about 3 weeks and loves it. She added a wireless mouse, not being accustomed to the sensitivity of the touch screen mouse on the laptop. The built in wi-fi is a feature she enjoys most. Internet connection is fast and easy. Great laptop, good value, happy wife.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 17 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Presario yo!

04/02/2012
By ,
Stockton, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My new lapTOP with a celeron dual core processor and ddr3 memory works great. For the money no other dealer has a laptop at 3 hundred dollars with an intel processor. The celeron works great with 2 gig of memory, maybe four would be better. Keyboard layout is typical for all 15.6 inch laptops and I get five hours of work on one charge if I use power saver in the power tab in control panel. I can noT ask for more in value and performance.
my only negatives are two. First, to add memory, no door is present and a dealer has to take the laptop apart to add two new chips. Secondly, ddr3 memory freezes. The speed increase of ddr3 over ddr2 is neglibible. I have another similar laptop e-machine with a single core and ddr2 and it does not freeze
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 18 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
04/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This computer is perfect for everyday use. I had hoped for a little bit of a lower price since it is not top market, but the prices of laptops are skyrocketing. If you need a laptop that does not need to be a workhorse, I would suggest this one. Though it can be used as a workhorse, the original RAM installed will not be sufficient to keep up with the usage that may be required of a workhorse. That said it would be a cheaper solution to simple buy more RAM and save yourself some money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 19 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

a nice laptop

03/29/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this laptop as part of a "bundle." It was reasonably priced, it's not too heavy, is upgradeable and has a slot to read my camera memory card.
Since I went from an itty-bitty netbook with a tiny keyboard and no CD drive, this is a huge improvement!
I am quite pleased with the screen size and overall quality of the laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Richmond
WEB CAM ???
Posted 06/15/2012
Ok, so I just recieved my laptop and I'm wondering how does the webcam work? It works for skype but I cant just up and take a picture with it or take videos??? Can anyone help me ??
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

good but there are drawbacks.....

07/29/2012
By ,
Decatur, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this laptop for school in March 2011. Since purchasing this laptop, the hard drive has needed to be replaced twice already. However it may be because I keep it running, instead of shutting it down at night. So I advise buyers to shut the computer down when not using it for long periods of time. The battery needs to be replaced now after a year. When it's not plugged in the battery life is about 15 min. But on the plus side, you can find a replacement battery for under 20 bucks. There is a 1 yr warranty. Whenever I reported that my hard drive stopped working, HP sent a new one and it shipped in about 2 days. I suggest extending your warranty when your 1 year warranty is up because the new hard drive is about 80 bucks. Overall the laptop has been working great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 154 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next