Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Duck Brand Duck Brand Cotton Water Heater Blanket

Duck Brand Duck Brand Cotton Water Heater Blanket

Keep your water heater well insulated with this Cotton Water Heater Blanket. This Water Tank Blanket fits most gas, oil and electric water heater units. Units with a capacity of up to 60 gallons can be covered with this Cotton Water Heater Blanket. Save on the cost of your gas utilities by using this Water Heater Insulation Blanket.
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation79%11 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Duck Brand Cotton Water Heater Blanket

Simple Installation Made Difficult

01/17/2012
By ,
Richmond, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The blanket was so compressed in the packaging that it could not be flattened for a straight cut. The tape would not adhere to the blanket and not enough was included to install the blanket on a 40 gallon water heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Duck Brand Cotton Water Heater Blanket

Definitely better than fiberglass

01/11/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased that I bought this over the common fiberglass blanket sold at home improvement stores. My heater had only a 1.5-2 inch gap to the wall on two sides and it took some work to squeeze it in, releasing a LOT of dust. If it were fiberglass, I would have had an itchy mess. Do still wear a mask even though this is denim.
My blanket measured almost exactly 70 in x 48 inch which just barely wrapped around my 50 gal gas heater, covering the top 48 inches, exposing the vents on the bottom foot. I did not need to cover the top, because it is gas. The tape provided was just adequate, but I had a roll of aluminum tape to secure the top. I took off one star for false advertising.
I think as big if not more difference goes to insulating the pipes in and out of the top of the heater. The amount of heat siphoning going on there was remarkable. I used foam wrap made for pipes for fire rating then wrapped with aluminum tape.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Duck Brand Cotton Water Heater Blanket

Good product, great alternative to fiberglass

09/05/2014
By ,
daytona beach,fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For covering my hot water heater this is the best choice because it is so much cleaner and easier to cut than fiberglass. Not difficult to use, and there was plenty of tape in the package. One suggestion; cut the tape in smaller pieces and be gentle with it - the first piece I cut was too long, I took off the paper backing and it curled on itself, only got to use half the piece. My fault not the product's fault.
The only problem is it does not fit the water tanks as it says, but none of them do, I don't know what kind of water tanks manufacturers measure, but all these blankets are the same size and none of them fit the tanks. I had to use 2 blankets, I used one entire blanket and cut the second one in order to cover the whole tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Duck Brand Cotton Water Heater Blanket

No muss

02/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good quality product from a known brand. Installation was easy with no problems that the old itchy fiberglass versions have. There was plenty of material to cover my 50 gallon tank with about a 2-3 inch overlap. The only reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 was because the tape that came with it was extremely thin and tore easily and was extremely difficult to separate from the backing. Well, at least getting it started to release from a corner. Luckily, I had some foil tape on hand that was at least twice as thick to reinforce the seam and help with the attachment to the top of the tank.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Duck Brand Cotton Water Heater Blanket

so good, buy two! (seriously - buy two)

02/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this blanket saves you money, re-uses an otherwise discarded resource, and isn't unpleasant to deal with - what more could you ask for?
regarding complaints that one blanket is not big enough to cover a standard water heater: that's true. i've used these blankets to wrap both short and tall 45 and 50 gallon tanks, and one blanket won't cover completely. you'll need to buy two.
it's also true that this blanket is the exact same size as all the other water heater blankets on the market, so you'll have to buy two no matter where you get them.
oh, and it's nice that the manufacturer includes tape with the package - one less thing to realize you need in the middle of the project.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Duck Brand Cotton Water Heater Blanket

Value

01/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to put on. After putting on, woke up the next morning with warm water without allowing the water time to heat up. Can't wait to see how much of a difference my heating bill is.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Duck Brand Cotton Water Heater Blanket

Not the size it states-cut too short!

12/10/2013
By ,
Kentucky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had purchased the first one only to see that it is cut very, very short on one end. Goes from 63 inches to 75 inches it will not reach evenly around heater to cover correctly. Reordered another one and it is cut the exact same way. It would leave a 12 inch gap when installed around the bottom. Don't know how you cannot see it is not cut to the right length on both ends when manufactured! I would give zero stars if possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Duck Brand Cotton Water Heater Blanket

the duck is the man

12/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Duck Brand Cotton Water Heater Blanket

Bigger and thicker than I thought it would be.

11/27/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It cut to size very easily with scissors. The only negative is that the adhesive tape that came with it would not stick to my heater - only blanket and when removing backing it tended to curl into itself and was not easily uncurled. We will see if it saves me some money on my utility bill
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Duck Brand Cotton Water Heater Blanket

will not make thengrade

11/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is to small, to short and not long enough. does not match the size printed on package. will take two units to fit a 50 gal. heater
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Duck Brand Cotton Water Heater Blanket

enjoying

11/08/2013
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are enjoying this water heater blanket. It was easy to cut to fit around pipes and controls. The only problem we had was there was not enough tape.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Duck Brand Cotton Water Heater Blanket

really great!

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
really great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Duck Brand Cotton Water Heater Blanket
07/09/2013
By ,
pocahontas ar
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a bit hard to get cut to size but seems like it will work good
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Duck Brand Cotton Water Heater Blanket
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5