Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Meade Bell Folding Bike Basket

Meade Bell Folding Bike Basket

Bell Folding Bike Basket installs easily and adds valuable carrying space to your bike. It attaches to most handlebars, so you can store your items close at hand while you're biking. The Bell bike basket can easily fold up to be out of the way when not in use.
Average Customer Rating:
2.35 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation35%7 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

Bell Bike Basket

07/13/2014
By ,
Santa Barbara, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FANTASTIC thing. Very simple. It collapses flat against the side of the bike too. I would get leather thongs to tie it on though, because the two belts it comes with are loose and weird.
The collapsability is totally cool. It is strong. You cold put a market bag in it easily or a very well behaved dog. Could strengthen the grip to the rack with zip ties too.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

ok for carrying light weight items

01/15/2014
By ,
PENSACOLA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ok for carrying light weight items.
I using mine on handle bars.
In addition to the straps I added another straps( an old dog collar or buy one for a 1$ at dollar tree) below the originals.
SEE MY PHOTO.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

Good idea, bad construction

03/06/2012
By ,
Austin, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of the Bell baskets as they were readily available. I have found they do not hold up to use. They would be ok if you only carry very light loads. I use mine for grocery shopping. On my second shopping trip, I had the panel connectors open up and allow my groceries to fall out to the ground, (one juice bottle rolled into the storm drain). I have tried using metal cable ties to hold the baskets together, and have had to stretch bungee cords across them to limit the stress on the connectors. This should not be necessary and would not be if Bell used strong connectors.
In the past I have used WALD fold up baskets, and loaded them more heavily than the Bells, and never had a failure.
The Bell panels seem the same as the WALD, but the connectors are cheap, lightweight metal.
I have bought the WALD baskets to replace these shoddy Bell baskets. Comparing the two side by side is like comparing a Ford focus to a Lexus...I recommend spending the extra $5 a basket and buy from WALD.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lansing, MI
Bike Basket + "Implied Warranty"
Posted 06/04/2012
I feel sorry for your experience.
There is an important concept in Law, for many years, that applies in cases like this.
Regardless of any manufacturer's WARRANTY, there is a principle called "Implied Warranty". Simply, any merchandise that presents itself to perform a function, has legal obligation to, of at least some QUALITY, work at that function.
For example, if you purchase a camera: it has presented itself to take pictures, of at least some reasonable QUALITY and USEFULNESS. It must work as a camera, and be able to make pictures of, at least, reasonable quality and use. Likewise, say, a hand-drill is required to be able to hold a drill-bit, and drill holes, etc. (within reason).
A car-jack must be able to (again, REASONABLY) lift a car-up at least the several inches required to change a tire, or insert jack-stands. If you buy a car-jack, and the first or second time you try to lift the car, AS REPRESENTED, the jack breaks, or just doesn't work, the principle of "Implied Warranty" attaches, and you are legally entitled to remedy: that falls on the person or store that sold you the merchandise.
They can't refuse you, and tell you to "take it up with the manufacturer" , or manufacturer's warranty.
If the quality of this basket is so poor that it falls-apart after a short time of simple use, you are legally entitled to get a refund, or some exchange that is satisfactory.
Take it back to the store (not the manufacturer). They are usually concerned about customer satisfaction, too, and you should not have any trouble getting a refund, or exchange. Be forceful, if you have-to.
Sorry for your bad luck... Mark
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

Great concept, flimsy construction

01/25/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a good-size basket, it fits a shoulder bag or daypack with a laptop, or a reusable grocery bag. The concept behind the product is also good: to be able to fold the basket when riding without an extra bag or to save parking and storage space.
However, the construction of the basket is badly flimsy. The basket walls are held together by 8 clamps in the corners, the clamps are made to be movable, to enable the folding of the basket. These clamps come easily loose when the bike is ridden on a rougher surface, breaking the basket. My basket broke within the first hour I used it on city streets, and then some more. The plastic ties that come with the basket come loose too, so I used metal paper clips to tie around the corners and fasten the basket together again. That fix has lasted.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
AL
Thank for the tip re: WALD baskets
Posted 10/03/2012
Had one as a paperboy way back in the day.
They have a folding baskt cool!
0points
Customer Avatar
Lansing, MI
Bike Basket + "Implied Warranty"
Posted 06/04/2012
I feel sorry for your experience.
There is an important concept in Law, for many years, that applies in cases like this.
Regardless of any manufacturer's WARRANTY, there is a principle called "Implied Warranty". Simply, any merchandise that presents itself to perform a function, has legal obligation to, of at least some QUALITY, work at that function.
For example, if you purchase a camera: it has presented itself to take pictures, of at least some reasonable QUALITY and USEFULNESS. It must work as a camera, and be able to make pictures of, at least, reasonable quality and use. Likewise, say, a hand-drill is required to be able to hold a drill-bit, and drill holes, etc. (within reason).
A car-jack must be able to (again, REASONABLY) lift a car-up at least the several inches required to change a tire, or insert jack-stands. If you buy a car-jack, and the first or second time you try to lift the car, AS REPRESENTED, the jack breaks, or just doesn't work, the principle of "Implied Warranty" attaches, and you are legally entitled to remedy: that falls on the person or store that sold you the merchandise.
They can't refuse you, and tell you to "take it up with the manufacturer" , or manufacturer's warranty.
If the quality of this basket is so poor that it falls-apart after a short time of simple use, you are legally entitled to get a refund, or some exchange that is satisfactory.
Take it back to the store (not the manufacturer). They are usually concerned about customer satisfaction, too, and you should not have any trouble getting a refund, or exchange. Be forceful, if you have-to.
Sorry for your bad luck... Mark
0points
Customer Avatar
Austin, TX
Get WALD baskets instead.
Posted 03/06/2012
One should not have to wrap anything around the connectors to keep the baskets together. I never had this problem with the WALD baskets, which I have had two sets of in the past, used each set for about ten years. After buying and using the Bell baskets, I am going to junk them and go back to Wald baskets, which never failed me in the past.
+2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 5 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

It's nice to have a folding basket but.....

08/20/2012
By ,
Richmond, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As others have noted, this basket is held together by these metal brackets which are basically thin strips of metal wrapped around the wire frame. The design is not rugged at all and the metal brackets will start to come undone just from the normal bumps in the road. I still say it is a worthwhile purchase, but go ahead and pick up a pack of good zip ties too. If you put zip ties around each of the brackets, they are MUCH more sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

Not what I was hoping for

05/12/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this basket was going to be worth money but now I regret buying this so much . I am very disappointed it doesn't even fold anymore. Now it just looks cheap and it is...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lansing, MI
Bike Basket + "Implied Warranty"
Posted 06/04/2012
I feel sorry for your experience.
There is an important concept in Law, for many years, that applies in cases like this.
Regardless of any manufacturer's WARRANTY, there is a principle called "Implied Warranty". Simply, any merchandise that presents itself to perform a function, has legal obligation to, of at least some QUALITY, work at that function.
For example, if you purchase a camera: it has presented itself to take pictures, of at least some reasonable QUALITY and USEFULNESS. It must work as a camera, and be able to make pictures of, at least, reasonable quality and use. Likewise, say, a hand-drill is required to be able to hold a drill-bit, and drill holes, etc. (within reason).
A car-jack must be able to (again, REASONABLY) lift a car-up at least the several inches required to change a tire, or insert jack-stands. If you buy a car-jack, and the first or second time you try to lift the car, AS REPRESENTED, the jack breaks, or just doesn't work, the principle of "Implied Warranty" attaches, and you are legally entitled to remedy: that falls on the person or store that sold you the merchandise.
They can't refuse you, and tell you to "take it up with the manufacturer" , or manufacturer's warranty.
If the quality of this basket is so poor that it falls-apart after a short time of simple use, you are legally entitled to get a refund, or some exchange that is satisfactory.
Take it back to the store (not the manufacturer). They are usually concerned about customer satisfaction, too, and you should not have any trouble getting a refund, or exchange. Be forceful, if you have-to.
Sorry for your bad luck... Mark
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

Problems with BELL Folding Baskets for bikes

02/07/2014
By ,
Tampa Bay, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had purchased two BELL Folding Bike Baskets for my 18 speed Mountain bike.
After mounting one of the Bell Folding baskets onto my mountain bike according to the instructions provided with the packaging.
With in a few minutes of riding my mountain bike after installing one of the Bell Folding Bike baskets, the whole assembly fell apart.
The whole basket device came apart. All of the clips that secure the basket together came apart allowing for the basket to disassemble.
The design of this Bell product needs to be investigated. As it does not hold its own weight, it is not able to stay assembled after installation on a bike.
This is one product I do not recommend Walmart Customers purchase due to the poor design and over pricing. This Bell product does not live up to the claims made by the manufacture.
Thank You for this opportunity to express my thoughts and opinions.
A. B.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

Flimsy

08/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I can describe this basket with one word, flimsy. It basically comes down to the metal clips used to hold the sides together. They're too thin and lightweight to hold the baskets sides together with any sort of a load inside. Ironically I bought theses baskets to put on my bike so I could ride to my brand new Walmart Neighborhood Market and haul home some groceries.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

Flimsy piece of junk

09/19/2014
By ,
SoCal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've been tying a "milk crate" type plastic storage box to the rack on the back of my bike, but I've been concerned that it not only makes me look like a weird old guy, the center of gravity might be a bit high and I've got to kludge the rear light, so I thought this was going to be a great improvement. WRONG.
The parts include a couple of brackets and screws in addition to the flimsy "leather" straps, but the instructions didn't mention them and I couldn't figure out what they were for. While I was trying to figure out how to attach it, I found that it couldn't easily be folded up and the panel connectors were already getting bent out of shape. I'm returning it and l'll stick with my Storex large file crate & keep it weird.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

Convenient folding basket

10/13/2014
By ,
Eagan, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this folding basket as a Boss's Day gift and really like the convenience of being able to fold the basket flat when not in use. It is very versatile and can be mounted to the handle bars or the back rack. The only thing we couldn't figure out was what a couple metal brackets and bolts were for and there were no instructions explaining what they were for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

Broke apart after two months

09/23/2014
By ,
Tampa, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used the basket for only two months. The instructions say that you can't carry over four pounds in the basket. The metal clamps that is used to hold the basket bended after a few times carrying a small load of food and beverages.
Last time I used it, I was carrying a few lunch meals and almost lost it when the metal clamps broke away. The metal clamps get weaken every time you unfold the basket.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

Would give it a zero if I could

11/23/2013
By ,
Wichita, Ks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Less than a month after I bought this, the basket came completely apart. Luckily there were no cars coming and I could pick up the pieces and put them in my other basket. In order to be confident that they would hold up I zip tied all the corners. That works okay, but very unsightly. I finally modified by cutting nylon webbing (the type that is used in those synch ratchet cables), weaving them around the top and bottom, and then snapping them together. Only time will tell if that works. As soon as I can I am buying something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

Great price

06/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my daughter for her birthday was a good price, and she love to put her toy puppy in it and ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

Not worth using as-provided

08/31/2013
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I customized mine after if broke 2nd use. Used galvanized, pipe clamp strapping/nuts/bolts/washers to replace all sixteen cheap original hinges. Coated bolt heads with Goop to avoid scratches. Made custom rack mounting from pannier hooks and plastic pipe (friction retention in rack frame). Rack received primary impact from a motorist, mangling his fender/saving my leg from destruction!
Rack folds flat when not in-use to avoid catching on objects. Loaded with gallons of milk/canned goods/groceries reinforced by two shock-cords under bottom. Too much trouble to customize another one but glad this one saved my leg! Beware of drivers from the rear!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

bad constructure

11/12/2013
By ,
savannah, ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought it few weeks ago.
this morning, I lost my bag. I put it in the basket, and than when i got to home, the basket was broken and my bag was gone. I spent $ 20 on it, but lost $800 (wallet, money, ipad, keys, bag, etc.)
I have never written review, but this time i though i need to do and let customers know how bad it is. Please don't buy this product. spend more money for good quality.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

Works with minor modifications

10/22/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I put one of each on my kids' bikes. Their backpacks fit perfectly, which is a big help since they don't have to carry 16+ lb. backpacks to school on their back anymore. The basket needs to be reinforced with (at least) strong plastic ties which makes it more rigid. If you intend to mount it on top of the bike rack as I did, consider a permanent mount with the same ties or buy more straps to tie it down. Overall, a good product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

modification needed

04/15/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The basket did not fit the bike rack that I had purchased so my dad had to come over and re modify the basket in order to fit on top of the bike rack. Initially they basket was supposed to be on front of the handle bars or off of the sides. Which is not a good idea as it will be in the way of the gears. My dad had to re modify it and the parts they sent to put the basket it on the bike were cheesy and my dad and I had to use a coat hanger instead.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

Adaptable bike basket

03/24/2014
By ,
Lake Elsinore
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you carry your bike around a lot on or in your veh this is a wonderful way to get the basket out of the way when loading and unloading. It folds up and/folds out within a couple seconds and a 4 yeear old kid could do it. Very practical creation for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bell Folding Bike Basket
04/08/2013
By ,
Miami Fl.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The basket was just to heavy,,,I returned it...If you are not concerned about weight,,,then its OK. This is made of heavy wire and it will be crucial in a light bike....I returned it..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bell Folding Bike Basket

Bad Item

06/11/2013
By ,
Pensacola,Fla
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bell need to take mane off this folding basket NO, No Good.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.