Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Glass Star America Windshield Repair Kit

Generic Glass Star America Windshield Repair Kit

The Glass Star America Windshield Repair Kit saves you hundreds of dollars on a new windshield by repairing small cracks and chips in your existing windshield. The kit is easy to apply and results in a crystal-clear repair that cures in natural sunlight.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation44%4 out of 9reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Glass Star America Windshield Repair Kit

Simple to use, can fix more than one chip per kit.

06/02/2012
By ,
Livonia MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these kits to fix a stone chip. The package states it is only good for one repair but don't let that fool you folks. If you don't over use the resin you can get 4-5 repairs out of one kit. The directions tell you to use 3/4 of the resin tube on a chip but if you do that it will ooze down the windshield like a river. Also the sticky pad, plunger, curing sheet etc can be used multiple times. This product works well, is only $10 and the directions are easy to follow. I ended up fixing three chips and could have done more had I not overused the resin. Instead of paying $25 per chip to have it repaired by a glass company, try this first.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Glass Star America Windshield Repair Kit

Great value

09/25/2012
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great and a lot cheaper than having a windshield guy come out and repair a little chip. If you can read and have common sense, you can successfully use this kit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Glass Star America Windshield Repair Kit
10/12/2012
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product sealed the chip on my windshield, and it is not so noticeable anymore. The instructions were clear, and there was more than enough resin in the tube, so I could have repaired several chips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Glass Star America Windshield Repair Kit

I think this could have worked great but......

12/23/2011
By ,
Southern IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this kit to repair a chip in my van's windshield. The "tool" you use to clean out the pit is a cheap push pin. The steps are easy enough to follow. But on step 8 where you depress the plunger, the entire pedestal popped off the adhesive seal and sprayed resin all over the windshield and myself. Then the tip on the plunger snapped off inside the pedestal. Can't finish the job nor undo steps 1-7. I will probably have to have this professionally redone. What a waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Vancouver, WA
Flawed System
Posted 02/12/2012
I have used similar windshield repair kits in the past with great success. This time, with this product, it completely failed because the part they call a pedestal (a stiff plastic circle with a tube protruding from it) had a pin-sized hole in the side of the tube. I did not discover it until after I had already cut open the resin tube and put some inside the tube. When I attached the plunger, then I noticed the little hole for the first time. I tried to put some tape over the hole, but it still did not allow the vacuum needed for this system to work properly. All the resin leaked out and ran down my windshield. The attempt to salvage this flawed system completely failed.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Glass Star America Windshield Repair Kit

Not worth the 10 bucks

10/15/2012
By ,
Central Cal.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
followed all instructions to the letter - I still have a noticable cresent in my windshield. I was lucky that I cleaned my windshield the day of the pebble strike and place some clear tape over the chip to keep debris out till I could fix it.
The resin I scraped off of the windshield when I was finished; was the consistancy of silicone sealant - Not epoxy! I may upgrade this rating; if this stuff prevents a crack from walking across my windshield over the winter months.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Glass Star America Windshield Repair Kit

Poor Product

03/07/2014
By ,
Minden NV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I applied this product as directed. Improved the damage a small amount. I had hoped it would at least stop it from spreading, but it started to spread so I took the vehicle to a professional. Because I had used the kit, they were unable to help me much as the kit had gummed up the damage so their resin could not get where it needed to go. Before I took the car to a pro, I had emailed Glass Star asking if doing the kit twice might help. That was about two weeks ago and never got a response, so product support by mfg for consumers appears to be zero. Kit cost around $10 - the pro charges $25. If you cannot swing the extra $15 or so, go with this, but not otherwise.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Glass Star America Windshield Repair Kit
09/28/2013
By ,
Central OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Followed directions to a T - went well, takes about 1 hour to do the job, small mark still left, but glass is smooth to the touch. For $10, works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Glass Star America Windshield Repair Kit

overpriced

01/12/2014
By ,
houston texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The same product is sold at Walmart for $10. The only change is the package. Overpriced and the information provided is not accurate.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
?
Posted 02/21/2014
Isn't this the walmart website you posted on? And if i am not mistaken this is the product that is $10
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Glass Star America Windshield Repair Kit

Garbage, Don't waste your money

06/09/2013
By ,
Onset, MA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've used other kits before, this one was the worse. Don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.