Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

The Sauder Shoal Creek Mate's Bed in Soft White offers convenient under bed storage with two drawers. The spacious, roomy drawers feature metal runners and safety stops, as well as a removable divider for versatile storage. This storage bed offers convenience and style, and will definitely complement your bedroom decor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.305 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
35
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation89%105 out of 118reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 152 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
35
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Good value for extra storage

12/04/2012
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good bed and the extra storage is great for a small room. However, the twin mattress did not fit snug on the frame. Also, if you intend to place the top of the bed against a wall, there is a gap because there is no headboard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Good Buy

01/25/2014
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased two of these beds for my daughters. I was frustrated at first because the drawers would not fit properly. Then I realized that I hadn't constructed the first bed properly. After reconstructing it; however, the drawers fit perfectly and slide with ease. I love the option of dividing each drawer into two sections. One bed drawer did arrive slightly damaged, but I didn't want to deal with returning it. Consequently, I used white-out to try to match the botched up portion. I am considering sanding the spot and painting it again. Putting the second bed together was rather easy since I had already dealt with the trials and errors of the first bed. It came in perfect condition. I am considering purchasing a third bed for the guest room.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ca
Fitting the drawers
Posted 02/05/2014
What did you do the 2nd time around to make the drawers fit? Where do you think you went wrong the 1st time you built the bed that resulted in the drawers not fitting?
I just wanted to know so I could avoid it. I will be building this bed by myself.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Love It

09/25/2012
By ,
Bakersfield, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got a really good deal on these beds! my daughters are 4 and 7 and these beds are perfect, has storage for some clothes and is a really sturdy bed. overall it took about 1 hr and 45 mins to put both beds together. they love them!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

It's awesome. If drawers don't work adjust bracket

03/12/2014
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. Pretty. Verrrry heavy. At first the drawers would catch then we just took them out again, adjusted the bracket. The other drawer was wobbly. Did the same. Took the drawer out, adjusted the bracket. Voila!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Love it!

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome quality for the price we paid. And it looks so sharp! Love it for my little girls room:) so happy with this purchase. We actually got the bed frame, book shelf for behind the bed, an additional bookshelf and the four drawer chest shipped for under 500 dollars! There was one little knick in the dresser but it's hardly noticeable and I was honestly so pleasantly surprised with the furniture when it arrived that I didn't even care! Thumbs up!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Great price for good bed.

08/21/2013
By ,
VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I expect this bed to last for years. It has a solid particle board base (that the mattress sits on) so if your kids jump on the beds that might break it. If you have calm, normal kids then this should be fine :)
Also, the beds are about 1/4 inch longer than they say...which mattered to me b/c of how I had them in the room. I had to remove some baseboard trim so they'd fit. See picture.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Pa
Posted 02/17/2014
I love how you have the beds positioned. I would like to do that in my boys room. Thanks!
0points
Customer Avatar
Temple Hills, MD
Love the "end-to-end" look!
Posted 08/25/2013
I love what you've done with that space; the "end-to-end" approach is creative!
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Very happy mom!

02/25/2013
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these beds for my girls newly redone zebra themed bedroom and I am very happy with my purchase.My neice put both of them together for me and each one took about 2hrs and she said they were very easy.We are using the drawers for socks,panties and pj's and they hold a good amount of stuff.Everyone that has seen them can't believe they were only $139 each and came from Walmart infact my neice is buying each of her daughters this same bed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

After all that work the drawers overlap

09/01/2013
By ,
Wyoming
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bed took my husband who is a construction worker over 3 hours to build and the final step of putting in the drawers, they overlap in the center. It's unbelievable and I'm beyond upset about it. The bed seemed nice and was going okay even though it took forever. But now I am extremely displeased that the drawers are back to back on the center panel which makes the overhangs overlap. One drawer will never close. Ever. Unless we cut it and completely ruin it. After all that time of putting it together we are supposed to return it?! Outrageous!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Nebraska
Posted 12/12/2013
Just switch drawers! Take the drawer on the left and put it in the right slot and the drawer on the right put it in the left slot! Hope it works for you!
0points
Customer Avatar
Nebraska
Try switching the drawers
Posted 12/03/2013
If you switch the drawers they will not overlap! I bet you just have the wrong drawer in the wrong slot! When my husband first put the drawers in they overlapped as well but when I panicked he said just wait and switched them and they go in perfect! Hope that helps!
0points
Customer Avatar
Chattanooga, Tn
Same here...
Posted 11/18/2013
I have the same issue...what did you end up doing to resolve the issue? I am not a construction worker just a mom and about drove myself crazy over this.
Thanks,
Candice
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 9 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Good investment

01/17/2014
By ,
Linden, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bed for my almost 2 YO son. In reality, I bought it now because my mother will be staying with us for a while, so she has a bed to herself while my son is still in his crib.
I put it together by myself. I didn't keep track of the time because I had my two kids interrupting me the whole time! But, overall, it was pretty easy to follow the instructions and to build it. I first made sure all the pieces where there and there were no broken/scratched pieces and wiped them clean with a damp cloth. Tip: if you have a cupcake pan, use it to separate the screws, nails and other hardware and some painter's tape to label every one. Also, not every piece comes labeled. So I labeled them with more painter's tape so that I went straight to the piece I needed instead of looking at the diagram every time! It'll make your job so much easier!
As you know, these materials are very delicate and if you overtighten or miss the spot, the "wood" gives and the screws just keep spinning. It happened with a couple of them in different spots.
The base of the mattress is very fragile so be careful not to step, kneel or sit on it without the mattress because it might start to tear at bottom.
But, if you will use this bed for a preteen or a teenager, I'm sure there are ways you can make the mattress base stronger by either adding some extra support or changing the pieces for pine or other type of wood.
The frame itself seems very sturdy. The look of it is really nice. I hope it lasts for at least 3 years!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Looks & assembles as expected.

04/05/2014
By ,
North Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 14-year old daughter and I assembled this bed in a total of about 4 hours throughout the day at a leisurely pace.
Once home with the box (store pick up), we opened it in the van and carried individual pieces into the house without difficulty. Everything went together perfectly per the directions (complicated enough to require reading, e.g., multiple fastener types, etc.) with no missing or damaged parts. (Hint: upon opening, count and sort parts into paper cups, and use a magnetic head screwdriver to help avoid dropping/loosing screws. Having assembled particle board furniture before, I knew to handle it very gingerly, guard the corners, don't over tighten fasteners or step on pieces, etc.) It took some patience with the drawer glide adjustments to get the drawer fronts to line up properly and fit flat against the bedframe. You don't get a lot of tries with this because the particle board will disintegrate after about the 3rd time you put the screw in the same hole. The drawer sides attach to the drawer fronts with slotted plastic brackets, so there is some adjustment there for drawer squareness and drawer face left/right placement relative to the drawer sides.
The installed drawers only take up half of the width of the bed (They could have put a row on both sides). Fortunately, the mattress board is supplied in two halves cut lengthwise, so we screwed one down over the drawers, but not the other. On the lose side, we drilled a pair of ~3/8" holes about 6" in from the side and 5" apart--one pair toward the foot, one pair toward the head (about 3.5' apart). We threaded cording down and up through the pair of the holes and tied it sturdily to make a cord handle. With the mattress off, you can grab the 2 cord handles and lift the lose side as if it were hinged down the centerline of the bed. Voila-- access to a half a bed's worth of storage! I think it's sturdy enough to last through 2-3 openings per year for change of seasonal clothing, etc. It wouldn't be convenient or sturdy enough for every day access.
I can sit on the bed with her lying on it and it seems sturdy (together we weigh 200 lb). The mattress board (particle board) is supported around the edges with particle board strips and crossways in the middle (No center lengthwise support). I would expect the top and bottom half of the mattress board to sag after 8 years or so, especially if the user weighed 200 lbs. If you have carpet, assemble it on the exact spot you want it to sit. This storage bedframe is as advertised and at great value at the best price found ($129 March 2014).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Falls Apart!

02/03/2014
By ,
baton rouge
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to get a set of these beds for my girls. We have had them for a year now and they are seriously falling apart! The set up was not easy and came in a million pieces. The bottom of the drawers are falling out and the frames have cracks in them:( Cheap stuff so I guess I got what I paid for:(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Not a quality product

04/18/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Must follow detailed instructions to assemble. It took 3 hours to put it tegether. Very heavy partical board. The finish is of poor quality. The draws could have been bigger. 1/2 of the space under the bed is wasted. If I knew all that I know now, I would have purchased a wood headboard and a metal frame.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Great Deal

04/09/2014
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought 3 of these for my Grand kids...
Was pleased how nice they were...
Only complaint was how HEAVY the boxes were...had to take piece by piece out of the box
But the out come was GREAT...
The drawers were the best I have ever put together...
Sturdy and easy to assemble...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Nice Bed

04/05/2014
By ,
MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just picked this up from Walmart and put it together today. There are a lot of parts, but overall it took me about an hour and a half to put it together(9 months pregnant too!). seems very sturdy and looks just like the picture. The Drawers slide out nice and smooth and seem to have a nice amount of storage. It is just what I expected for the price, maybe a little nicer!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Nice Bed!

06/13/2012
By ,
Memphis,TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bed for my 15 year old's "step up" for a teen/college room ( she still had a twin canopy bed). I must say that it looks great in her room and she loves it! She picked the bed out herself, and it came when expected. We put her box spring and mattress on the bed to give it more height and tucked her new comforter into the sides. The drawers provide a good amount of storage. I would definitely suggest this bed to a friend!
The only issue I had with this bed is that some of the pieces had scratches when we took it out of the box and some of the trim was a little damaged. Obviously, it wasn't enough to make me take it back, though!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Some assembly required

11/13/2013
By ,
Burley, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes, the reviews are right...there is some assembly required, but it is not as bad as some of the others have posted. I bought two of these beds for my daughters. The first bed took me about an hour and a half to set up, the second one took about an hour. Very cute beds and the under bed storage is great. My girls use this as their dressers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Do not purchase!

02/25/2014
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this bed for my 16 year old niece. She slept in it 2 days and it already broke! Right down the middle of the bed. Now I have to ship it back to walmart because it is a big piece of furniture. What a waste of money and time!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Really Cute!

02/20/2012
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought 2 for the girls room. My husband put them together by himself in 5 hours. It was easy to follow instructions and all the pieces worked well.
They seem to be sturdy, we can snuggle with the kids on their beds and it is comfortable and really cute! The drawers are not super deep but wide and does the trick.
Really cute....and for the price...good choice. I would do it again...for sure!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

VERY Pleased

09/16/2012
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews on this bed before I purchased this bed. I wanted 4 of these for our playroom to function as seating (like a daybed) during the day and then if our children have friends spend the night, we will have plenty of beds. Even though I read the reviews (and they were overwhelmingly positive), I think I was still skeptical as to how durable, etc. these would be. I hired someone to put them together and he did all 4 in about 4 hours +/-. They are very solid and seem to be very well made! I was even happier that this product was made in the USA! I do wish the drawers were a little deeper, but they are fine for what I will put in them. I would recommend this bed to anyone for children or an adult.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

I like it

03/24/2012
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bed for my daughter to move her from a toddler bed to a big bed. She is four and had outgrown her toddler bed. She loves her new big bed. The drawers are big and have a lot of room. From the outside it looks like 2 big drawers but there is a spacer that goes in each drawer. So it's like you have 4 drawers. It did take a long time to put together (4 hours) I am a female and I put it together myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 107 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next