Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

The Sauder Shoal Creek Mate's Bed in Soft White offers convenient under bed storage with two drawers. The spacious, roomy drawers feature metal runners and safety stops, as well as a removable divider for versatile storage. This storage bed offers convenience and style, and will definitely complement your bedroom decor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.285 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(151 Reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
48
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation89%135 out of 151reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 177 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
48
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Good value for extra storage

12/04/2012
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good bed and the extra storage is great for a small room. However, the twin mattress did not fit snug on the frame. Also, if you intend to place the top of the bed against a wall, there is a gap because there is no headboard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Good Buy

01/25/2014
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased two of these beds for my daughters. I was frustrated at first because the drawers would not fit properly. Then I realized that I hadn't constructed the first bed properly. After reconstructing it; however, the drawers fit perfectly and slide with ease. I love the option of dividing each drawer into two sections. One bed drawer did arrive slightly damaged, but I didn't want to deal with returning it. Consequently, I used white-out to try to match the botched up portion. I am considering sanding the spot and painting it again. Putting the second bed together was rather easy since I had already dealt with the trials and errors of the first bed. It came in perfect condition. I am considering purchasing a third bed for the guest room.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ca
Fitting the drawers
Posted 02/05/2014
What did you do the 2nd time around to make the drawers fit? Where do you think you went wrong the 1st time you built the bed that resulted in the drawers not fitting?
I just wanted to know so I could avoid it. I will be building this bed by myself.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Love It

09/25/2012
By ,
Bakersfield, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got a really good deal on these beds! my daughters are 4 and 7 and these beds are perfect, has storage for some clothes and is a really sturdy bed. overall it took about 1 hr and 45 mins to put both beds together. they love them!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

It's awesome. If drawers don't work adjust bracket

03/12/2014
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. Pretty. Verrrry heavy. At first the drawers would catch then we just took them out again, adjusted the bracket. The other drawer was wobbly. Did the same. Took the drawer out, adjusted the bracket. Voila!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Great price for good bed.

08/21/2013
By ,
VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I expect this bed to last for years. It has a solid particle board base (that the mattress sits on) so if your kids jump on the beds that might break it. If you have calm, normal kids then this should be fine :)
Also, the beds are about 1/4 inch longer than they say...which mattered to me b/c of how I had them in the room. I had to remove some baseboard trim so they'd fit. See picture.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Pa
Posted 02/17/2014
I love how you have the beds positioned. I would like to do that in my boys room. Thanks!
0points
Customer Avatar
Temple Hills, MD
Love the "end-to-end" look!
Posted 08/25/2013
I love what you've done with that space; the "end-to-end" approach is creative!
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Love it!

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome quality for the price we paid. And it looks so sharp! Love it for my little girls room:) so happy with this purchase. We actually got the bed frame, book shelf for behind the bed, an additional bookshelf and the four drawer chest shipped for under 500 dollars! There was one little knick in the dresser but it's hardly noticeable and I was honestly so pleasantly surprised with the furniture when it arrived that I didn't even care! Thumbs up!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Very happy mom!

02/25/2013
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these beds for my girls newly redone zebra themed bedroom and I am very happy with my purchase.My neice put both of them together for me and each one took about 2hrs and she said they were very easy.We are using the drawers for socks,panties and pj's and they hold a good amount of stuff.Everyone that has seen them can't believe they were only $139 each and came from Walmart infact my neice is buying each of her daughters this same bed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

After all that work the drawers overlap

09/01/2013
By ,
Wyoming
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bed took my husband who is a construction worker over 3 hours to build and the final step of putting in the drawers, they overlap in the center. It's unbelievable and I'm beyond upset about it. The bed seemed nice and was going okay even though it took forever. But now I am extremely displeased that the drawers are back to back on the center panel which makes the overhangs overlap. One drawer will never close. Ever. Unless we cut it and completely ruin it. After all that time of putting it together we are supposed to return it?! Outrageous!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Nebraska
Posted 12/12/2013
Just switch drawers! Take the drawer on the left and put it in the right slot and the drawer on the right put it in the left slot! Hope it works for you!
0points
Customer Avatar
Nebraska
Try switching the drawers
Posted 12/03/2013
If you switch the drawers they will not overlap! I bet you just have the wrong drawer in the wrong slot! When my husband first put the drawers in they overlapped as well but when I panicked he said just wait and switched them and they go in perfect! Hope that helps!
0points
Customer Avatar
Chattanooga, Tn
Same here...
Posted 11/18/2013
I have the same issue...what did you end up doing to resolve the issue? I am not a construction worker just a mom and about drove myself crazy over this.
Thanks,
Candice
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 9 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Simple yet solid bed

08/05/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plenty of reviews cover the bed itself so I will focus on features that are less widely discussed - instructions and materials.
First of all, the materials for this product were well-chosen and pretty high quality, considering the price. Load bearing components were made of sturdy, durable material. Aesthetic components were made of smooth, solid material with easy-to-clean finishes. Screws and other fasteners were of good quality and plenty long enough to perform their functions without over-penetrating the materials.
The instructions were the biggest surprise for me. They were well laid out, easy to follow and included humorous text that was informational and helpful while also being light-hearted and fun. Video support was offered on more complicated sections but I never had a need to consult them.
Build took me working alone just a couple of hours. Nothing had to be redone or refitted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

very poor product

09/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
several parts were broken, very cheap made.
not happy with product at all, wouldn't recommend at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Nice Bed!

06/13/2012
By ,
Memphis,TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bed for my 15 year old's "step up" for a teen/college room ( she still had a twin canopy bed). I must say that it looks great in her room and she loves it! She picked the bed out herself, and it came when expected. We put her box spring and mattress on the bed to give it more height and tucked her new comforter into the sides. The drawers provide a good amount of storage. I would definitely suggest this bed to a friend!
The only issue I had with this bed is that some of the pieces had scratches when we took it out of the box and some of the trim was a little damaged. Obviously, it wasn't enough to make me take it back, though!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Good price but cheap parts

09/04/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Disappointed with the particle board braces. Several broke in half during installation but I was too close to finishing to stop. In fact, as I slid drawer sides into grooves I saw particles shaving off of the piece.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Great for the Price

09/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As long as you take your time You'll end up with a pretty decent piece of furniture. The extra storage is what sold us. It went together easily and is solid. The drawers work smoothly. Instructions are clear and step by step.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Very good bed for the price

09/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It looks great with headboard. No problem with assemby. Was shipped on time with no defect. It only has sharp corners if you want to use it in younger kids room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Great bed for kids !

09/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It take time to build up the bed, but ones is done, it look so pretty, my son love it also have two drawer for storage whatever you want.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Looks & assembles as expected.

04/05/2014
By ,
North Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 14-year old daughter and I assembled this bed in a total of about 4 hours throughout the day at a leisurely pace.
Once home with the box (store pick up), we opened it in the van and carried individual pieces into the house without difficulty. Everything went together perfectly per the directions (complicated enough to require reading, e.g., multiple fastener types, etc.) with no missing or damaged parts. (Hint: upon opening, count and sort parts into paper cups, and use a magnetic head screwdriver to help avoid dropping/loosing screws. Having assembled particle board furniture before, I knew to handle it very gingerly, guard the corners, don't over tighten fasteners or step on pieces, etc.) It took some patience with the drawer glide adjustments to get the drawer fronts to line up properly and fit flat against the bedframe. You don't get a lot of tries with this because the particle board will disintegrate after about the 3rd time you put the screw in the same hole. The drawer sides attach to the drawer fronts with slotted plastic brackets, so there is some adjustment there for drawer squareness and drawer face left/right placement relative to the drawer sides.
The installed drawers only take up half of the width of the bed (They could have put a row on both sides). Fortunately, the mattress board is supplied in two halves cut lengthwise, so we screwed one down over the drawers, but not the other. On the lose side, we drilled a pair of ~3/8" holes about 6" in from the side and 5" apart--one pair toward the foot, one pair toward the head (about 3.5' apart). We threaded cording down and up through the pair of the holes and tied it sturdily to make a cord handle. With the mattress off, you can grab the 2 cord handles and lift the lose side as if it were hinged down the centerline of the bed. Voila-- access to a half a bed's worth of storage! I think it's sturdy enough to last through 2-3 openings per year for change of seasonal clothing, etc. It wouldn't be convenient or sturdy enough for every day access.
I can sit on the bed with her lying on it and it seems sturdy (together we weigh 200 lb). The mattress board (particle board) is supported around the edges with particle board strips and crossways in the middle (No center lengthwise support). I would expect the top and bottom half of the mattress board to sag after 8 years or so, especially if the user weighed 200 lbs. If you have carpet, assemble it on the exact spot you want it to sit. This storage bedframe is as advertised and at great value at the best price found ($129 March 2014).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Better than I expected

08/13/2014
By ,
Healdsburg ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had read the earlier reviews and was a little reluctant. At first it seemed like the drawers were going to overlap each other but then I switched the drawers and it fit better, then it looked like they weren't going to close all of the way evenly. Then I realized that the bed wasn't completely level. Once I straightened it out and put it into place it all landed perfectly.
The drawers have nifty reinforcement hardware that make it look like it is going to last longer than some cheap furniture that I have purchased and had the bottom of the drawers fall out. The hardware that comes with this unit made me feel reassured that It will last.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Very nice product for the price

08/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Almost everything was perfect.I received the package before expected date,The two drawers are big and work nicely.Looks like it cost a lot more.Easy to assemble.Now the onlt flaw I had that one of the pieces the holes were not pre drilled for the hidden locks.I had to drill myself.If you have the tools and knowledge of how to do this it is doable.I am sure if I notified Sauder they would have replaced the part.Over all great buy,very good product.I would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Really Cute!

02/20/2012
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought 2 for the girls room. My husband put them together by himself in 5 hours. It was easy to follow instructions and all the pieces worked well.
They seem to be sturdy, we can snuggle with the kids on their beds and it is comfortable and really cute! The drawers are not super deep but wide and does the trick.
Really cute....and for the price...good choice. I would do it again...for sure!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

As described, no complaints.

08/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed is a good deal for the money. It arrived ahead of schedule. Assembly took just under 2 hours and was very straight forward if you followed the directions. The box is very heavy so I had to open and carry it in pieces, so plan accordingly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 140 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next