Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

The Sauder Shoal Creek Mate's Bed in Soft White offers convenient under bed storage with two drawers. The spacious, roomy drawers feature metal runners and safety stops, as well as a removable divider for versatile storage. This storage bed offers convenience and style, and will definitely complement your bedroom decor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.313 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(134 Reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
42
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation90%121 out of 134reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
47 Questions | 164 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
42
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

I like it

03/24/2012
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bed for my daughter to move her from a toddler bed to a big bed. She is four and had outgrown her toddler bed. She loves her new big bed. The drawers are big and have a lot of room. From the outside it looks like 2 big drawers but there is a spacer that goes in each drawer. So it's like you have 4 drawers. It did take a long time to put together (4 hours) I am a female and I put it together myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Good Buy

01/25/2014
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased two of these beds for my daughters. I was frustrated at first because the drawers would not fit properly. Then I realized that I hadn't constructed the first bed properly. After reconstructing it; however, the drawers fit perfectly and slide with ease. I love the option of dividing each drawer into two sections. One bed drawer did arrive slightly damaged, but I didn't want to deal with returning it. Consequently, I used white-out to try to match the botched up portion. I am considering sanding the spot and painting it again. Putting the second bed together was rather easy since I had already dealt with the trials and errors of the first bed. It came in perfect condition. I am considering purchasing a third bed for the guest room.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ca
Fitting the drawers
Posted 02/05/2014
What did you do the 2nd time around to make the drawers fit? Where do you think you went wrong the 1st time you built the bed that resulted in the drawers not fitting?
I just wanted to know so I could avoid it. I will be building this bed by myself.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Love It

09/25/2012
By ,
Bakersfield, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got a really good deal on these beds! my daughters are 4 and 7 and these beds are perfect, has storage for some clothes and is a really sturdy bed. overall it took about 1 hr and 45 mins to put both beds together. they love them!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

It's awesome. If drawers don't work adjust bracket

03/12/2014
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. Pretty. Verrrry heavy. At first the drawers would catch then we just took them out again, adjusted the bracket. The other drawer was wobbly. Did the same. Took the drawer out, adjusted the bracket. Voila!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Great price for good bed.

08/21/2013
By ,
VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I expect this bed to last for years. It has a solid particle board base (that the mattress sits on) so if your kids jump on the beds that might break it. If you have calm, normal kids then this should be fine :)
Also, the beds are about 1/4 inch longer than they say...which mattered to me b/c of how I had them in the room. I had to remove some baseboard trim so they'd fit. See picture.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Pa
Posted 02/17/2014
I love how you have the beds positioned. I would like to do that in my boys room. Thanks!
0points
Customer Avatar
Temple Hills, MD
Love the "end-to-end" look!
Posted 08/25/2013
I love what you've done with that space; the "end-to-end" approach is creative!
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Love it!

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome quality for the price we paid. And it looks so sharp! Love it for my little girls room:) so happy with this purchase. We actually got the bed frame, book shelf for behind the bed, an additional bookshelf and the four drawer chest shipped for under 500 dollars! There was one little knick in the dresser but it's hardly noticeable and I was honestly so pleasantly surprised with the furniture when it arrived that I didn't even care! Thumbs up!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Very happy mom!

02/25/2013
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these beds for my girls newly redone zebra themed bedroom and I am very happy with my purchase.My neice put both of them together for me and each one took about 2hrs and she said they were very easy.We are using the drawers for socks,panties and pj's and they hold a good amount of stuff.Everyone that has seen them can't believe they were only $139 each and came from Walmart infact my neice is buying each of her daughters this same bed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

After all that work the drawers overlap

09/01/2013
By ,
Wyoming
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bed took my husband who is a construction worker over 3 hours to build and the final step of putting in the drawers, they overlap in the center. It's unbelievable and I'm beyond upset about it. The bed seemed nice and was going okay even though it took forever. But now I am extremely displeased that the drawers are back to back on the center panel which makes the overhangs overlap. One drawer will never close. Ever. Unless we cut it and completely ruin it. After all that time of putting it together we are supposed to return it?! Outrageous!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Nebraska
Posted 12/12/2013
Just switch drawers! Take the drawer on the left and put it in the right slot and the drawer on the right put it in the left slot! Hope it works for you!
0points
Customer Avatar
Nebraska
Try switching the drawers
Posted 12/03/2013
If you switch the drawers they will not overlap! I bet you just have the wrong drawer in the wrong slot! When my husband first put the drawers in they overlapped as well but when I panicked he said just wait and switched them and they go in perfect! Hope that helps!
0points
Customer Avatar
Chattanooga, Tn
Same here...
Posted 11/18/2013
I have the same issue...what did you end up doing to resolve the issue? I am not a construction worker just a mom and about drove myself crazy over this.
Thanks,
Candice
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 9 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Looks & assembles as expected.

04/05/2014
By ,
North Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 14-year old daughter and I assembled this bed in a total of about 4 hours throughout the day at a leisurely pace.
Once home with the box (store pick up), we opened it in the van and carried individual pieces into the house without difficulty. Everything went together perfectly per the directions (complicated enough to require reading, e.g., multiple fastener types, etc.) with no missing or damaged parts. (Hint: upon opening, count and sort parts into paper cups, and use a magnetic head screwdriver to help avoid dropping/loosing screws. Having assembled particle board furniture before, I knew to handle it very gingerly, guard the corners, don't over tighten fasteners or step on pieces, etc.) It took some patience with the drawer glide adjustments to get the drawer fronts to line up properly and fit flat against the bedframe. You don't get a lot of tries with this because the particle board will disintegrate after about the 3rd time you put the screw in the same hole. The drawer sides attach to the drawer fronts with slotted plastic brackets, so there is some adjustment there for drawer squareness and drawer face left/right placement relative to the drawer sides.
The installed drawers only take up half of the width of the bed (They could have put a row on both sides). Fortunately, the mattress board is supplied in two halves cut lengthwise, so we screwed one down over the drawers, but not the other. On the lose side, we drilled a pair of ~3/8" holes about 6" in from the side and 5" apart--one pair toward the foot, one pair toward the head (about 3.5' apart). We threaded cording down and up through the pair of the holes and tied it sturdily to make a cord handle. With the mattress off, you can grab the 2 cord handles and lift the lose side as if it were hinged down the centerline of the bed. Voila-- access to a half a bed's worth of storage! I think it's sturdy enough to last through 2-3 openings per year for change of seasonal clothing, etc. It wouldn't be convenient or sturdy enough for every day access.
I can sit on the bed with her lying on it and it seems sturdy (together we weigh 200 lb). The mattress board (particle board) is supported around the edges with particle board strips and crossways in the middle (No center lengthwise support). I would expect the top and bottom half of the mattress board to sag after 8 years or so, especially if the user weighed 200 lbs. If you have carpet, assemble it on the exact spot you want it to sit. This storage bedframe is as advertised and at great value at the best price found ($129 March 2014).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Super Sturdy

07/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read many of the reviews so I was ready for a lot if pieces and hours of putting this thing together as well as alignment issues with the drawers. There were a lot of pieces. Absolutely nothing is already connected. Still, with the technique of organizing and becoming familiar with my pieces before beginning it took my sister and I about two hours to put this together. Another person is needed to put this together. Once all put together I made tweeks where I saw necessary due to my error and it was great. So far the bed has sustained a little over three hundred pounds on accident and a jumping four year old. I've only had it for a week but I'm highly pleased with the value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

great product

07/19/2014
By ,
st charles il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy set up
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Nice once I got it together

07/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glad I had it delivered. Very heavy, had to unload and carry each piece separately. I put it together by myself. Took a little longer 2 1/2 hours than I would have liked but very happy with product. People who complain about the drawers not fitting, need to make sure the entire bed frame is finished with boards down. That makes the bed frame squared up, then drawers fit perfectly after that. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Nice beginner bed!

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bed for childs first real bed, the only disappointment was I thought the bed had drawers on both sides.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Nice Bed!

06/13/2012
By ,
Memphis,TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bed for my 15 year old's "step up" for a teen/college room ( she still had a twin canopy bed). I must say that it looks great in her room and she loves it! She picked the bed out herself, and it came when expected. We put her box spring and mattress on the bed to give it more height and tucked her new comforter into the sides. The drawers provide a good amount of storage. I would definitely suggest this bed to a friend!
The only issue I had with this bed is that some of the pieces had scratches when we took it out of the box and some of the trim was a little damaged. Obviously, it wasn't enough to make me take it back, though!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Good bed for the price.

07/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picked these up from the store. The boxes were very heavy. You will need at least 2 people to get into your house. Directions were straight forward. It took about 45-1 hour to put together. I would recommend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Really Cute!

02/20/2012
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought 2 for the girls room. My husband put them together by himself in 5 hours. It was easy to follow instructions and all the pieces worked well.
They seem to be sturdy, we can snuggle with the kids on their beds and it is comfortable and really cute! The drawers are not super deep but wide and does the trick.
Really cute....and for the price...good choice. I would do it again...for sure!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Quick and Easy Bed

05/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for our Granddaughter to have at our house when she is here. Was super easy to assemble with my daughter, only took us about 90 minutes. Recommend having someone's help to assemble. Can't beat the price and no box spring needed so only had to purchase a mattress.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

VERY Pleased

09/16/2012
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews on this bed before I purchased this bed. I wanted 4 of these for our playroom to function as seating (like a daybed) during the day and then if our children have friends spend the night, we will have plenty of beds. Even though I read the reviews (and they were overwhelmingly positive), I think I was still skeptical as to how durable, etc. these would be. I hired someone to put them together and he did all 4 in about 4 hours +/-. They are very solid and seem to be very well made! I was even happier that this product was made in the USA! I do wish the drawers were a little deeper, but they are fine for what I will put in them. I would recommend this bed to anyone for children or an adult.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

it's just simple and beautiful !

06/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The twin bed complies with its function. It has a really white color which I loved it. Also its drawers are very secure so they can not get loosen or broken because of the heaviness you put inside it. The only reason why I gave it 4 ★ is because it was a little complicated to assemble because of the pieces did no gave so much quality, but you can really ask more for the fair price it has.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Great for the purpose.

05/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice appearance, sturdy, assembly took about four hours for the first bed, and one hour for the second. Overall good value for price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next