Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

The Sauder Shoal Creek Mate's Bed in Soft White offers convenient under bed storage with two drawers. The spacious, roomy drawers feature metal runners and safety stops, as well as a removable divider for versatile storage. This storage bed offers convenience and style, and will definitely complement your bedroom decor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.32 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(178 Reviews) 166
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
103
4 stars
53
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation89%159 out of 178reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
62 Questions | 186 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
103
4 stars
53
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

I like it

03/24/2012
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bed for my daughter to move her from a toddler bed to a big bed. She is four and had outgrown her toddler bed. She loves her new big bed. The drawers are big and have a lot of room. From the outside it looks like 2 big drawers but there is a spacer that goes in each drawer. So it's like you have 4 drawers. It did take a long time to put together (4 hours) I am a female and I put it together myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Good Buy

01/25/2014
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased two of these beds for my daughters. I was frustrated at first because the drawers would not fit properly. Then I realized that I hadn't constructed the first bed properly. After reconstructing it; however, the drawers fit perfectly and slide with ease. I love the option of dividing each drawer into two sections. One bed drawer did arrive slightly damaged, but I didn't want to deal with returning it. Consequently, I used white-out to try to match the botched up portion. I am considering sanding the spot and painting it again. Putting the second bed together was rather easy since I had already dealt with the trials and errors of the first bed. It came in perfect condition. I am considering purchasing a third bed for the guest room.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ca
Fitting the drawers
Posted 02/05/2014
What did you do the 2nd time around to make the drawers fit? Where do you think you went wrong the 1st time you built the bed that resulted in the drawers not fitting?
I just wanted to know so I could avoid it. I will be building this bed by myself.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Love It

09/25/2012
By ,
Bakersfield, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got a really good deal on these beds! my daughters are 4 and 7 and these beds are perfect, has storage for some clothes and is a really sturdy bed. overall it took about 1 hr and 45 mins to put both beds together. they love them!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Very happy mom!

02/25/2013
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these beds for my girls newly redone zebra themed bedroom and I am very happy with my purchase.My neice put both of them together for me and each one took about 2hrs and she said they were very easy.We are using the drawers for socks,panties and pj's and they hold a good amount of stuff.Everyone that has seen them can't believe they were only $139 each and came from Walmart infact my neice is buying each of her daughters this same bed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Great price for good bed.

08/21/2013
By ,
VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I expect this bed to last for years. It has a solid particle board base (that the mattress sits on) so if your kids jump on the beds that might break it. If you have calm, normal kids then this should be fine :)
Also, the beds are about 1/4 inch longer than they say...which mattered to me b/c of how I had them in the room. I had to remove some baseboard trim so they'd fit. See picture.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
DE
Posted 10/22/2014
I love how you have the beds set up. I don't know if I would have thought of that. Very clever!
0points
Customer Avatar
Pa
Posted 02/17/2014
I love how you have the beds positioned. I would like to do that in my boys room. Thanks!
0points
Customer Avatar
Temple Hills, MD
Love the "end-to-end" look!
Posted 08/25/2013
I love what you've done with that space; the "end-to-end" approach is creative!
+2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 6 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

It's awesome. If drawers don't work adjust bracket

03/12/2014
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. Pretty. Verrrry heavy. At first the drawers would catch then we just took them out again, adjusted the bracket. The other drawer was wobbly. Did the same. Took the drawer out, adjusted the bracket. Voila!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Love it!

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome quality for the price we paid. And it looks so sharp! Love it for my little girls room:) so happy with this purchase. We actually got the bed frame, book shelf for behind the bed, an additional bookshelf and the four drawer chest shipped for under 500 dollars! There was one little knick in the dresser but it's hardly noticeable and I was honestly so pleasantly surprised with the furniture when it arrived that I didn't even care! Thumbs up!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

After all that work the drawers overlap

09/01/2013
By ,
Wyoming
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bed took my husband who is a construction worker over 3 hours to build and the final step of putting in the drawers, they overlap in the center. It's unbelievable and I'm beyond upset about it. The bed seemed nice and was going okay even though it took forever. But now I am extremely displeased that the drawers are back to back on the center panel which makes the overhangs overlap. One drawer will never close. Ever. Unless we cut it and completely ruin it. After all that time of putting it together we are supposed to return it?! Outrageous!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Nebraska
Posted 12/12/2013
Just switch drawers! Take the drawer on the left and put it in the right slot and the drawer on the right put it in the left slot! Hope it works for you!
0points
Customer Avatar
Nebraska
Try switching the drawers
Posted 12/03/2013
If you switch the drawers they will not overlap! I bet you just have the wrong drawer in the wrong slot! When my husband first put the drawers in they overlapped as well but when I panicked he said just wait and switched them and they go in perfect! Hope that helps!
0points
Customer Avatar
Chattanooga, Tn
Same here...
Posted 11/18/2013
I have the same issue...what did you end up doing to resolve the issue? I am not a construction worker just a mom and about drove myself crazy over this.
Thanks,
Candice
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 9 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Pick of the year !!!!

04/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked at quite a few beds for my son online on Walmart.com and I gave my son the ability to tell me his favorite (because I was planning on a future order). So, he picked this bed.
I then went online and ordered it (for a surprise birthday gift for him) and we got it yesterday! Grandpa & he arrived at my house and he was surely surprised and had a nice afternoon spending that time with Grandpa, for sure.
Well, we LOVE this bed !!!!! I am very pleased with it's construction that is sturdy and NOT at all flimsy like some other makes/models. I know he cannot wait to sleep on it! We are waiting for his Slumber 1 - 8" Mattress-in-a-box to arrive today and then have to wait to actually lay on it (manufacturer gives instruction to let it sit a number of hours without any weight on it). I have the same mattress and cannot remember how many hours it is, but it is well worth the wait!
Sorry, so long of a review but I am so excited and happy about this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Simple yet solid bed

08/05/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plenty of reviews cover the bed itself so I will focus on features that are less widely discussed - instructions and materials.
First of all, the materials for this product were well-chosen and pretty high quality, considering the price. Load bearing components were made of sturdy, durable material. Aesthetic components were made of smooth, solid material with easy-to-clean finishes. Screws and other fasteners were of good quality and plenty long enough to perform their functions without over-penetrating the materials.
The instructions were the biggest surprise for me. They were well laid out, easy to follow and included humorous text that was informational and helpful while also being light-hearted and fun. Video support was offered on more complicated sections but I never had a need to consult them.
Build took me working alone just a couple of hours. Nothing had to be redone or refitted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Sturdy Bed at a great price.

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This quality of this bed is much better than I expected. I had someone else assemble it but the finished product is very sturdy. It was a bout 2" longer than I expected but it still fits and looks very nice in the room. The drawers are very spacious and open, close easily but more importantly, stay closed (which is a problem I've had with other captains style beds).
Over all, from ordering, delivery, function, quality and beauty, I'm very happy with my purchase choice.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Very good value for money

05/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this as the first big bed for my toddler. it's fairly low to the ground, so it's easier for her to climb in and out. I assembled it all by myself and took about 1 1/2 hours with little kids around trying to help.
Definitely good value for the money. it looks very nice and seems sturdy and comfortable. My daughter is happy
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Awesome bed

05/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my daughter's 7th birthday and being a single mother I was able to follow the instructions and put the bed together by myself. It did take me just under 2 hours to do it all but if you have more than one person doing the bed making you can save yourself some time by having one person put the drawers together while the other person is working on the bed itself. It could be done in less time than the 2 hours. It looks nice and went together very well. My daughter loves it too. We haven't put all the bedding on it yet but I can tell it's definitely what we wanted. The package is a bit heavy when it arrives but was easy enough to bring in the house with a little extra help. I highly recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Great bed but stinky

05/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bed is working exactly as I had hoped. I would have given it a 5 star but the off gassing smell is absolutely awful. We've had these beds for almost 2 months now and the smell is just finally starting to dissipate.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Save yourself.

05/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the other reviews and ordered two. One set about half the pieces were broken when we opened the box. The other one my husband got half together and found more broken pieces. Save yourself and invest in something better. I cannot imagine. That if these were broken in the box they would last very long otherwise.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Great bed for price

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A little time consuming to put together but still doable - daughter loves it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Good bed for the price

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to put together with 2 people. We've only had it for a short time, but it seems to be sturdy enough to last a long time in my 7 yr old's room.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Nice Bed!

06/13/2012
By ,
Memphis,TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bed for my 15 year old's "step up" for a teen/college room ( she still had a twin canopy bed). I must say that it looks great in her room and she loves it! She picked the bed out herself, and it came when expected. We put her box spring and mattress on the bed to give it more height and tucked her new comforter into the sides. The drawers provide a good amount of storage. I would definitely suggest this bed to a friend!
The only issue I had with this bed is that some of the pieces had scratches when we took it out of the box and some of the trim was a little damaged. Obviously, it wasn't enough to make me take it back, though!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

Perfect for a Girl

05/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I ordered this bed, there is no way i could of bought this bed from the store. it is very heavy. Thank you Walmart
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Shoal Creek Twin Mate's Bed, Soft White

bed

05/16/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Small,not made that great. Would be good for small child not for teenager.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 167 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next