Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqua Culture Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

Aqua Culture Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

Aqua Culture BettaView .5 Gallon Aquarium comes complete with full hood, stylish stand and divider. This compact aquarium takes up minimal space and is easy to maintain, making it suitable for an apartment, dorm or office.This aquarium kit is perfect for beginner aquarium owners as it is relatively easy to set up and install. Imagine sitting in front of your tank watching beautiful tropical fish swim gently back and forth. Having an aquarium at home or at the office is not only decorative in nature, but is known to provide therapeutic effects also, relaxing your mind and increasing your overall well-being too. Research has shown that folks who own an aquarium have better health than those who spend their time lounging on the couch watching TV. You will have lower blood pressure, sleep better, feel calm and relaxed and enjoy life more. Who would not want that!
Average Customer Rating:
3.368 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation66%25 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 42 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

Too small

11/21/2012
By ,
Owensboro, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
One gallon should be the minimum amount of water for ANY fish. Bettas will not thrive in this, especially without a heater. Do your research.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

Sometimes life hands you lemons, other times fish.

10/09/2012
By ,
Santa Ana, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found four fish at a bus stop and they were already hours into being crammed into a bag, and someone had almost popped the bag with their bike. Needless to say I needed a tank and I needed one fast and no beta cube was going to fit four fish. I have to say this tank fits perfectly three minnows (one didn't make it). They zoom from side to side and dart up and down. It fits a nice amount of rocks a small plant, and a moon rock cave (also bought from walmart but can't seem to find online). The only true issue I have with this tank is the lid. One fish, the one in the lower right of the corner of picture attached, is a jumper. I swear his little body shudders in your mind you hear "space is kita!" and up he goes. Yes, he can make it past the lid, he did yesterday. Right now I have a jar of beech nut baby food sitting on the tank cover trying to figure out a way to secure it. So it's good for small fish, but be careful with the hyper types.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

Perfect For Dorm Rooms

08/05/2013
By ,
Godfrey, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not being allowed to have a real pet in confined space, I began looking into a 10gallon tank to have tropical fish. But the price to get everything started, the rocks, filters, nets, plants, heater, thermometer, I was already spending more money on supplies for fish than books. So i settled for this inexpensive box expecting it to fail. Rocky (who was named so due to his surviving 2 full days in nothing more than a damp broken cup when I rescued him) is now thriving. He loves using the plants I got him as a hammock. Hiding underneath the overlapping leaves resting. And now that I'm back home and had the option to put him in a bigger tank, He didn't take well to it and back in his home he went. 2 years later, he's still going strong.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Aqua Culture Aquarium Gravel, Neon Rainbow, 5 lb
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

Can't Beat This Price!

02/19/2013
By ,
Wilmington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Purchased Two Of These Aquariums, Except Mine Has A Different Looking Stand Than The One Shown On The Box.
These Are The Perfect Size For My Betta Fish. My Fish Have Plenty Of Room To Swim, And Cleaning It Is A Breeze.
The Price Is Unbeatable!
Also, I Love That It Comes With An Optional Divider, Just In Case You Want Two Betta Fish In One Aquarium.
Highly Recommend This Product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

A little small but my betta loves it.

05/26/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tank is rather small but it definitely beats the small bowls they keep their bettas in at the stores. Who knows how long they've been in them. I first put my betta in a 5 gallon with 4 small tetras. After about 3 weeks he started to look puny and his fins were smaller and just didn't look as full. He was very unhappy so I picked up this small little tank for temporarily. He has been in it now for about 2 weeks and is loving it. He swims around all in there, he now follows me when I go by him, which he didn't do in the bigger tank. He's eating a lot better. He is recovering nicely. The tank doesn't have a light but to be honest I don't think bettas care too much for a light. Mine seems happier without a bright light. It's long instead of square so it gives more room to swim. Lastly it just looks nice, with a cute little stand and lid. It comes with a divider but I wouldn't recommend two bettas in here, I'd just spend 5 dollars for another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

Great Little Aquarium

04/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a tiny female betta fish, and she has this 1/2 gallon aquarium all to herself and she loves it! The value is great, and it works. This little aquarium is perfect for dorm room, bedroom, or desktop. I highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

Much too small

11/21/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tank is too small for one betta fish, never mind two. Contrary to popular belief, bettas do no thrive in tiny tanks because where they come from in the wild (rice patties of Asia) they actually have plenty of space to swim around in. The myth comes from teh fact that during droughts a Betta can survive in a shallow puddle of water. This does not mean they enjoy it, they would much prefer a larger area if possible. Thisis comparable to the way that you would be able to survive uncomfortably while living in a closet versus how muh happier you would be if you had free reign of the entire house. Please do your Betta fish a favor and give them as much space as you can! Walmart has a few wonderful 5 gallon aquarium kit you could check out! Thank you for taking the time to read this.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
 
My Product Recommendations
Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons
4.3 out of 5(129)
 
 
 
Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting
4.3 out of 5(420)
 
 
 
Penn-Plex - NuWave Tank Super Kit, 5.39 Gallons
4.5 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

Great for alternative uses

02/07/2014
By ,
Canastota, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to admit, I did not buy this Aqua Culture Betta View .5 Gallon Aquarium to use for a fishtank. It is very small, the tank itself is 9 3/8 in. long, 3 in. wide and 5 in. tall and has a base, a vented lid and an insert to be used as a divider (which would give your fish about 4 1/2 x 3 inches of room). If you intend to purchase this for it's specified use, please be aware, it is a HALF GALLON tank, (0.5 gallons), that is not very big. I purchased this for my granddaughter to use with her aqua sand and sea monkeys, and I have to say it is perfect for that, we are both very pleased! Great little tank at a great little price! Thanks Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

great little tank

12/05/2011
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this tank in August, and I think it's great. The long shape gives the fish plenty of room to swim around-- more than those cube tanks that are so trendy right now. I like that it came w/a stand, too, since the raised tank is easier to see on my end table. I haven't tried to use the divider. The lid is good, since bettas are known to jump out of the water. I put some rocks and a little plant in it-- still plenty of room, but you need to buy the tiny plants. I did end up having to get a heater and thermometer (there's a notch in the lid so you can run a cord out and still shut the lid) bc it gets cold in the house. I change the water and rinse the rocks every week since there's no filter. It does great and the price can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

Great for bettas - larger & with a LID!

12/30/2011
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had many bettas. So many of the tanks/bowls/set ups you see are far too small for them - let alone a plant they may want to rest on, too. (Bettas do like to "hammock," sometimes.)
I purchased this tank for a friend who had been wanting another betta after a long while, but needed one with a cover. She has cats - and unknown to many, bettas do have a habit of jumping, as well.
It is perfect. The cats lost interest in the fish (other than just watching it now), as they quickly gave up on the ability of getting a paw in there, and it's a wonderful low maintenance tank for her home desk.
Did I mention at the price, you can't be beat?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
 
My Product Recommendations
Tetra Water Wonders Fresh Water Plant, Green Bacopa
3 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

Cute little tank and works.

08/26/2014
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cute little tank and works. I don't think it's big enough for two betta fish though, I'd just use it for one. I wish it had a light on it, I hooked up a cheap dollar tree night light up next to it to light up the tank and it seems to work pretty well. It's still a pretty good little tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

No. Too small, get something else.

06/13/2012
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Look, this is WAY too small. Stores tell you bettas don't need any room but that is a myth and a selling point. It isn't true, it's cruel, this is way too small. Please look up betta care before you put them in something this small. They like swimming horizontally so a rectangular or wider shaped tank is best, 2.5 gallons is really minimum. Don't get a betta if that is too much for you to handle. There are plenty of other tanks at Walmart, don't get a tiny torture device for a fish just to shut your kid up. Man up and buy something bigger or just forget it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

Great Tank! Fantastic Price!

03/16/2012
By ,
Salt Lake City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tank is perfect next to my desk. Since the lid is black and doesn't allow for light I removed it and attached a perch light. Also used a small bag of natural sand found in the craft/flower section - washed thoroughly. The tank is set up with live plants, a tiny clown killifish, scuds, Cypridopsis vidua and a couple of cherry red shrimp. No filtration necessary as the plants and regular water changes keep it clean. I love the modern sleek look and the size is perfect. If you're into nano tanks and micro life this is a great buy. I agree, this tank is too small for Bettas!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

Wrong Dimensions

11/20/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this thinking I was getting a 14 x 10.75 x 6.6 in. aquarium. It was for the base of a cake I was making. What I actually got was a 10.75 x 6.6 x 3.3 in aquarium. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE Walmart! Do a better job on your descriptions!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Diego, CA
Thank you for posting the correct dimensions...
Posted 06/08/2014
...i was about to buy this, because i need a tank that's atleast 14" wide.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

very low mantanice

08/24/2011
By ,
untied states, georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this for my first fish i bought 2 male Betta its low maintenance it was not a hassle to set up the divider works great it fits on my small table so i don't have to worry about where iam going to put it because it small you can fit it just about anywhere . my fish are healthy and they love it i would recommended it for first time fish buyers and for people who have a tight schedule but love fish
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

good small tank

05/16/2012
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i got this for my first two Betta fish. the divider worked well, however i do not think this tank is quite big enough for two fish. i am currently keeping a small Betta in it and he seems to like it. the only thing i would change about this tank would be to make the top of the lid clear, it does not get a lot of light into it, unless you have it so light comes in the side.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

Great for keepers of Bettas

06/01/2013
By ,
West Virgina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was excited when these came by FedEx as they offer more swimming room for my Betta than I had imagined. The narrow aquarium offers plenty of swimming and flaring and is great for the added live plants. A lot of people think it is too small for a Betta but it's really not. Breeders tend to keep their male Betta is jars until they are old enough to sell and this is a whole lot better than a jar where the poor things have no choice but to swim in circles. Yes, this is certainly an improvement over jars! I'll get getting more of these for myself and to give (with a male Betta) to a friend. Don't let anyone talk you out of getting this half-gallon aquarium - it is perfect for a male Betta.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

Bad design

07/23/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The divider came off when I open the cover lid and that means to attach to the cover lid when lifting up.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

Nice for one Betta

07/19/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although this small tank has a divider, I think being only 1/2 gal it would be too small for two Betta. It's fine for one; I wouldn't keep any fish in anything smaller- but this does just fine. I've got three betta, and wish I'd gotten this tank for all three instead of just my most recent. It's an unbeatable price. comes with a nice stand too. I bought a bag of rocks and a small plastic plant, and my betta seems very content and happy. will definitely buy another for my next betta.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Aqua Culture BettaView Aquarium .5 Gallon

Baby

06/26/2012
By ,
North Adams,Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good size for a baby betta that petco now sales but a half gallon for an adult to me is to small.Having to change water every few days is strassful on a betta.An adult betta needs at least a 2 gallon but to grow a baby betta is the best size gives it planty of room
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next