Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Biotene Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

Biotene Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

Average Customer Rating:
3.277 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
34
Customer Recommendation62%60 out of 97reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
34
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

Changed Formula Tastes Bad & Less Effective

09/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Some time ago, perhaps the beginning of 2014 or thereabouts, Biotene changed the formula of this product. I used to swear by it for solving dry mouth problems overnight where long-term efficacy was required. However, the "NEW! PH-balanced formula" has been watered down so that its effectiveness longevity has been severely compromised. In addition, the new formula has a very caustic or acidic edge; inevitably one is going to have to swallow some of this goo during use, and in my case (and many others’ -- read the reviews on Amazon and on Biotene's web site) the formulation provides a very unpleasant throat-burning experience for a good 20-minutes after it is applied, which certainly doesn't help one get to sleep! This new product seems about as far from "pH-balanced" as you can get. The only reason I buy this product anymore is because it's the only real player in the game for relief that lasts longer than a couple of hours, and because I can still blend it with the contents of some travel packs of the old gel that I still have and have found more of online. After that stash runs out, I don't know what I will do. I guess I'm hoping Biotene realizes they made a huge "Coca-Cola reformulation" error and restores the old formula -- or at least remedies the horrible caustic edge this formulation suffers from. Wal-Mart does have the best pricing I have been able to find to date (another problem with this product -- it's ridiculously expensive -- prior to the reformulation you could buy it for $3.99 / tube).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

GOOD STUFF!

09/07/2014
By ,
santa ana, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been using this product for some time and am DELIGHTED to find it for almost HALF PRICE at Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

Beware the new formula for Oral Balance

01/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beware - the formula for my beloved Oral Balance has been radically changed, and for the worse. Those good for your mouth enzymes are gone, and it now contains sodium hydroxide which burns my mouth, tongue and throat! What a loss. A great product for dry mouth sufferers is gone. The new one is more than useless for people with dry mouth.
I used this product multiple times a day and now I'm looking for a replacement product and haven't been able to find anything.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

the new formula is terrible.

12/20/2013
By ,
Lexington VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Biotene Toothpaste is no longer recommended by me. I can't even use it anymore because they changed the taste. The "mint" flavor now is overpowering. I have bought Biotene for years because every other brand was offensively strong in "mint", and Biotene was mild. I do not have dry mouth. But now, the box says "NEW Improved pH Balance", the cute flip-up cap is gone, and the taste is unbearable. Either I got a bad batch, or some new executive has screwed up what used to be a very good product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

All night relief of dry mouth.

04/16/2012
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use Oral Balance Gel every night for dry mouth. First I tried putting it on my tongue, but just swallowed it, so now I put it between my teeth and lips. Occasionally, I have to reapply it once during the night, but it usually lasts all night. It has a mild minty flavor. I love this stuff! Now I don't worry about my teeth falling out from chronic dry mouth. My dentist noticed a difference after I started using it. Yea.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Newton, Ks
Biotene oral balance
Posted 04/29/2012
Is good stuff but the Newton store (67114) has not had any for a month?? Drove to Wichita today to the store that the computer said they had a limited supply. On Merridan (sp) ? They did NOT have any. Will any store ever get any again???
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

Biotene Dry Mouth Gel is the best on the market!

04/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Gel everynight and I put it on the roof of my mouth. I rarely have to reapply during the night. The only problem is finding it in the store when I need to buy more. I always buy at least six at a time. If you have a dry mouth problem, please try this and tell all your friends with the same problem.
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

Can't Truly Tell.

07/11/2014
By ,
Deming, NM
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've only been using it for a few days and it's hard to notice any difference. The Gobi Desert rolls on inside my morning mouth endlessly, however the more marked symptoms -- the senseless tongue like a foreign object in the mouth -- hasn't happened so far.
All I can say is that it may work. If the difference becomes more noticeable I'll edit this comment.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz
06/10/2012
By ,
Flowood, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not make it through a day let alone a night without Oral Balance. I also put a bit on my upper denture before putting it in, seals better than Fix A Dent. I also use your toothpaste. Thank you for your products. Walmart does not always have oral balance on their shelf.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

Gel

06/18/2014
By ,
Placentia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is actually for my husband and we have a terrible time finding it in drug stores. Thank you Walmart that we can order it inline and pick it up at your store. Only thing my husband has found that helps him. Sort of pricy tho.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

Biotene Gel for Dry Mouth

11/12/2013
By ,
Villa Rica, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product that significantly helps resolve dry mouth conditions. I use it each evening. Great price at Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

It Really Works!! Keep Your mouth moist & healthy!

05/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Due to the medications I must take I suffer from DRY MOUTH, which is a breeding ground for GERMS!
Use this and keep your mouth moist-especially used before going to sleep when all of our mouths are the dry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

a unique and valued product

05/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No other available product helps with dry mouth and is portable like Biotene gel.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

Oral Balance ...great flavor..oral moisturizer

12/11/2013
By ,
md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So glad that the production problem has been resolved. This gel has been missed! Best product for dry mouth. Gel's flavor is far superior to the flavor of the liquid. Not that long lasting and not inexpensive, but the best.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

Works

04/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Helps with dry mouth at night.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

Helps me with my dry mouth caused by radiation

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Biotene gel really helps my dry mouth which is the result of radiation I needed for a malignant tumor. I always keep a tube in my purse and next to my bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

Good Stuff

04/22/2014
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great for dry mouth problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

thanks

03/01/2014
By ,
mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I very seldom write reviews , this works, taste is ok, must be popular cause the stores in my areas cannot keep it in stock, thanks for fast shipping , thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

Dry mouth moisturizing

02/22/2014
By ,
Clinton, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using Biotene Oral Balance now for several years and have been very satisfied. It is one of the best mouth moisturizing gels out there.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

Great for c-pap and bi-pap users.

02/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband sleeps with a bi-pap and says Biotene Gel is a must for his dry mouth.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Biotene Oral Balance Dry Mouth Moisturizing Gel, 1.5 oz

Happy I found this

07/22/2013
By ,
Tolland MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use a CPAP machine and have had a problem with dry mouth for years. I was looking at product reviews and this got good ones so I decided to give it a try. Glad I did! It is easy to use. It has an ok taste - not good but not terrible. I don't use as much as they say to use because I ended up swallowing a lot of it. I start with a little bit on my tongue - coat the inside of my mouth and add more if I need it. Helps me get to sleep and stay asleep longer. If I wake during the night I am able to grab the tube and use a little more without turning the light on. Not a miracle cure but it helps quite a bit. It seems a little expensive but you really don't use much. I expect this tube will last me about one month.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next