Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit

The Mainstays Fire Pit is a must-have for any patio or backyard to spend a lovely evening with your family and friends. This outdoor fire pit features an iron stand and a removable grate for easy cleaning. It features a high temperature, heat resistant finish that ensures a long-lasting performance. To help contain sparks, this black steel fire kit comes with an iron screen lid. It comes with fire poker and screen lift tools to facilitate ease of use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation92%24 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit

great little pit

11/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little fire pit - we roasted hot dogs and marshmallows sitting on the porch - we picked up sticks from the yard and used them for firewood - cleaning up the yard and providing fuel for the fire. We did put about 2" of sand in the bottom of the pit under the grate and the fire burned easily. I recommend this for anyone wanting an economical way to enjoy a fire outdoors without worrying about it getting out of hand. In fact I bought another one last night.
Recommends this product? Yes
+188points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cover and/or carrying case
Posted 11/28/2011
there is no cover and/or carrying case included - the pit is easily assembled and I drilled a couple of holes in the bottom of my pit bowl in case it gets left in the rain. Otherwise, I cover it with a large garbage bag if I know rain is on the way....
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit

first firepit I bought..awesome

03/06/2012
By ,
citrus heights california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
been searching for a firepit for several months...found this at a great price and it works as well as the more expensive ones..we love it.......easy to use and easy to assemble and also easy to clean...great job wal mart :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Review 3 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit
02/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was everything in the description. No surprises
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Review 4 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit

Bought as a gift!

11/25/2011
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my mother-in-law for Christmas. I opened it to look at it before I give it to her. I may actually purchase one for myself!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+35points
Review 5 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit

Good value

03/04/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would say this firepit is a good value for the money. It doesn't look very substantial so I don't expect it to last for many years. I did purchase a cover for it so rain does not settle in the bottom since there are no drain holes and it won't rust, hopefully. I have used it twice with no problems other than it's not very deep so you have to keep replenishing the wood to keep the fire going. It is what I need just for sitting around an occasional fire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 6 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit

You get what you pay for

03/16/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The fire pit is functional and does its job, but it's the cheapest on the market for a reason. The black coating (which prevents rusting) was applied in a swirl-like pattern, and missed a lot of the bronze bowl (most of it, actually). The threads that the M6 screws go into on the legs and on the larger ring were messed up in the coating process, making the screws unable to be screwed into the mounting holes. To take care of these two problems, I chased the threads with an M6 tap to clean them out, and purchased the Mainstays fire pit cover to protect this from the rain (which I was planning on doing anyway). The assembly instructions that come with the fire pit state very clearly that there is no warranty of any kind on any of the parts or the assembly (though Wal-Mart has a pretty good return policy and would probably take it back or exchange it if you find something wrong). Again, you get what you pay for. I was expecting a solid coating to prevent rust and to look nicer, and was expecting to not have to clean out the screw hole threads before I could assemble the fire pit, but it isn't the end of the world. I wanted a cheap fire pit, and that's what I got.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bucyrus, Ohio
Posted 03/31/2012
you can buy spray paint i believe at walmart for high temp things like this fire pit if you were worried about the paint coating it comes in flat black and a high gloss black could help it last alittle longer as well
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit

Bottom of pit is "SUPER THIN SHEETMETAL"

03/10/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't imagine this pit lasting very long before you burn a hole in the bottom.
Putting sand in the bottom should make it last longer ?
As the old saying goes.... you get what you pay for !!!
My advise, Spend more money than $29 and get a better and heavier pit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Review 8 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit

perfect

03/05/2012
By ,
Meridian, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this to be able to build a fire at a certain campground where we cannot build a fire on the ground. Worked perfectly and the price was great!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 9 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit
03/28/2012
By ,
Oceanside, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect little fire pit especially for the price!!! The edges actually stay pretty cool so long as you dont have a hot burning log that is on the edge of the fire pit! I really like that the edge stays cool because if we dont wanna wait until the wood is completely burned out we can pick it up and dump it in a hot box and then we dont have to worry about it! I've never used water on the fire pit because this is just the easier way to clean up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Review 10 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit

A Good Buy!

04/01/2012
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't think you can go wrong for the price. We were not sure if we wanted a fire pit, the idea sounded nice but didn't want to put out $100 to figure out we would not use it. Then this little gem came along. We've used it almost every night since it arrived last week. It seems sturdy, and I assembled it by myself with no problems at all. I am pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 11 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit

Nice finished product

06/27/2012
By ,
MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Once finished the fire pit is nice. Good size, looks nice. The problem was putting it together, the holes were not drilled properly to simply screw the legs on (two out of four). Had to get out the power drill and it was a pain!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 12 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit
02/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to install. look very nice. Good product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 13 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit

Terrible

02/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing isn't exactly cheap but that's what you get. Lasted one year and it completely rusted out through the bottom. My advice, by one made of copper or stainless steel, or invest in a cover. Also, when you buy a fire pit, look for one with drain holes. This doesn't have any, so water just stands in it until you poor it out. Even drilled holes to try to stop the standing water, but they just rusted closed. Terrible!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-9points
Review 14 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit

Fire Pit

03/31/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was such an easy assemble. Took about 15 minutes. Great little fire pit...doesn't take up space...very ideal for outdoor patio space. Great price as well. Can't beat it! Thanks MAINSTAYS!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 15 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit

easy to travel with, easy clean

07/02/2012
By ,
berlin ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we purchased this fire pit for camping, its light and easy to travel with. what a great deal for the price. it is strong and sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 16 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit

adiquate to contain fire

02/12/2012
By ,
Balch Springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-3points
Review 17 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit

Black Steel Fire Pit

03/23/2012
By ,
Middletown NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was very to put together and very strong & stable. The thing I didn'tlike is there was no top grill that you could do a little cooking on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-2points
Review 18 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit
03/24/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This looked to be a nice piece for the cost. However, I opened it today and found the main "bowl" scratched and the rim bent. Then found there were no nuts, bolts or allen wrench. The product does look like it will be a nice choice for most people.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 19 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit

All you need!!!

10/16/2012
By ,
Lugoff, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to put together 10 minutes tops, works great and looks great!! I would recommend saving your money and buying this it works just as good as the higher end fire pits! Simple and easy remember you are just burning wood in it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Mainstays Black Steel Fire Pit
03/25/2012
By ,
la marque, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really haven't use this pit yet, but it looks good in my patio, though.
The price is good and I think it will serve its purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next