Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED

Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED

The Nostalgia Electrics PCM805RETRORED Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker transforms favorite hard candies into fluffy, melt-in-your-mouth cotton candy. For a low calorie treat, sugar-free candies can be used. Once the cotton candy maker has preheated, place two yummy candies into the center receptacle and start spinning colorful, tasty treats. This fanciful product is fun for the whole family and brings out the kid in everyone. Collect the delicate webs of cotton candy on cones above the bowl. Instantly, gatherings are transformed into carnivals and dessert time into party time! With this cotton candy maker, its like having two units in one! Choose to use either hard candies or standard cotton candy flossing sugar and watch as it spins into sweet candy floss!
Average Customer Rating:
3.985 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation85%58 out of 68reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 48 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED

Fun for the kids!

12/10/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son has one of these and loves it!! His friends love it too--so we bought another one as a Christmas present!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED

Fun Cotton Candy Maker

01/09/2012
By ,
San Francisco, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This cotton candy is very compact and can quickly make cotton candy. We all had fun using/playing with it.
You can easily make cotton candy in just a few steps. First preheat the machine for a few minutes to warm it up; second pick out the hard candy or sugar candy that you would like to use; third put the candy in the machine. Finally wait for a little bit and you are ready to put them in the paper cones. And you can eat what you have created!
I like how you have the option to put various hard candies flavors in the machine! There are tons of possibilities… still have to decide which one is my favorite.
The downside is that you may have to continually put more hard candy; I couldn’t create a full size cotton candy ball with just two hard candies. But I guess that was expected since this machine is small. Also, please note that the cotton candy maker does not come with the candy kit (which is a nice addition). You will need to buy it separately.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED

A great find for the family.

11/27/2011
By ,
Cary, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought my retro machine to make cotton candy at my wedding. One of the reasons this one is so much more awesome than other machines is the fact that you can use hard candy in it. It's best not to use sticky hard candy (like jolly ranchers) and stick with the truly hard stuff (like butterscotch). I really like that you can also use the sugar free hard candy as well that way diabetics and the dieters at the wedding were able to enjoy it as well.
I do recommend that if you're hardcore about cotton candy and want the authentic taste, go ahead and buy some flossine (you can find it on auction sites for cheaper for small quantities). I got 10 different flavors for ~10 bucks and they make 120 servings each. Use this and regular granulated sugar to mix up the same stuff the pro's use. The "flossugar" that you can buy has starch in it which can clog up the machine so it's best to make your own. Overall, I'd definitely buy again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sp Fork, UT
10 different flavors for ~10 bucks
Posted 06/08/2013
Hi OneFlush
from Cary, NC
Can you post a link to where you can buy 10 different flavors for ~10 bucks? Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED

Really cool

10/26/2011
By ,
San Francisco, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love cotton candy in our house--I had no idea it'd really be this easy to make it. The only tough part is not eating it all :)
I've mainly been making the cotton candy with the cotton candy sugar that comes in the separate kit, just because I prefer the traditional taste. However, it was cool watching the hard candies become cotton candy--I would just recommend that you let the spinner preheat a little longer for the hard candies--it makes the cotton candy come out better.
The appliance is really easy to use, and clean up is not that bad--it's a little too large to store on a countertop, so I keep in the closet, but it only takes me about a minute to set up the unit #the first time took me about 3 mins).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+99points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED

Great for a quick taste of a favorite "fair fare"

12/22/2012
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was purchased as a gift for me. I had bought another one from the same company for my granddaughter. My daughter had one when she was little and it was very, very hard to clean! This one looks good, makes great cotton candy, and, perhaps most important, comes apart for easy cleaning. My only complaint is that the top ring (the clear one) doesn't snap on to the bottom one tightly and it vibrates and that makes it a good bit louder than the other one. Making cotton candy from hard candy is a plus, but I quickly found out that if you use only hard candy the cotton candy dissolves "crunchier" than if you mix the hard candy with sugar. I usually use half a candy cane broke up in small pieces and almost a tablespoon of sugar. That gives it the flavor and color and makes a softer cotton candy. It is vey easy to clean. The part that actually melts the candy/sugar comes off and can be cleaned by letting it soak in hot water for a bit. Would I recommend it.... absolutely!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED

Great cotton candy maker!

12/09/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read some reviews about this machine, most were good. it's true that you don't get muchcotton candy when you use hard candy and sticky candy isn't the best to use, cotton candy texture is not soft and fluffy, more like stiff when you use jolly ranchers.
we bought this machine to use for my daughter's 2nd b- day. again, hard candy isn't the best choice if you want a lot of cotton candy like at theme parks. we bought floss sugar, regular cotton candy sugar and omg! talk about big fluffy and exactly what I was going for. it works great! read instructions, very important because it tells you exactly how long to leave the machine running. for hard candy run 5min for it to heat up. for floss sugar let it heat up for 10min.
The floss sugar we bought was the same brand and it came with extra plastic cones and bags to make multiple at a time, keeps them fresh. When we do her party it's best to make the cotton candy in advance then bag then. if any one wants seconds, then we'll be pulling out the machine.
one more thing... watch YouTube videos on how to properly catch the floss sugar for cotton candy.
have fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED
12/15/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product does work. It actually makes cotton candy that tastes like at the carnival. You have to let it heat up, very important, takes about 5 mins, and at first it seems like it is not going to work, the cotton candy is just flying out, but once it gets going and you get it wrapped once or twice around stick, it is so fun, just keep adding sugar and it will make enough. We got it last year, and now this year, my kids just want more sugar!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED

Deceiving

11/25/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine has the looks and price but like the saying goes "You get what you pay for." I wanted to make cotton candy for my son and daughters birthday party. I had about 20 children and thought i could make some for the adults. OMG I would have had to start making cotton candy like two weeks before because it takes for ever to make a big roll of cotton candy like you would at a carnival or circus. And the hard candy works but when you eat it it gets all hard in your month. I used jolly ranchers and the hard life savers. waste of money but the kinds had extra candy in there take out party favor box. Dont buy this. Save your money and splurge on the bigger machines . However, if you want to buy this just to have a sample then okay but dont expect to have a big thing of cotton candy in a few minutes bc it will take a while. set up is easy and so is clean up. i just soak in it hot soapy water.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arlington, TX
Not deceiving
Posted 08/21/2013
This is a very small machine. Why would you think you could get a regular sized fair-type serving? the picture shows a really small one.
Anyway, thanks for the review. And others have noted the stickier hard candies like Jolly Rancher, don't work well. Glad to hear how it actually turns out using them. I really want to try this with sugar free candies, since I'm diabetic.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED
10/26/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very cute cotton candy maker, truly looks old-fashioned and is sturdy. Does make cotton candy well, but at a slower rate than I expected primarily because the space to put the candy/flossing sugar is small and needs to be refilled often. It does heat up quickly and is really easy to clean.
Kids loved it!
p.s. rating durability as good, because I have only used it twice so don't have a good read on it's durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED

Really Fun Product!!!

12/29/2012
By ,
Wrightstown, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for a shared family Christmas gift for our kids. From teen to 6 years old. They have had so much fun with this and its ease of use too, they have used it each day so far since they got it on Christmas. There is some cleaning up after to keep the stickiness down after multiple uses, but nothing warm water and mild soap won't wash off. My daughter says she loooves it (she is 6) and my teens with their friends had a good time trying different flavors and making it themselves.
Mostly I got this because 2 of my 3 kids have red dye allergies and we usually can not get cotton candy at fairs and things, usually its pink or blue made on the same machine as pink, so now we can make our own, red dye-free.
I would recommend this product, super easy to use and fun trying different flavors. We have used plain sugar, flavored sugar and hard candies. All work and taste great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED
09/21/2012
By ,
Leicester VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome....Got this for kids b-day party. Loved it used hard candy and took a few times to get the hang of it but it made enough for the 16 kids at the party. Super hit..Neighbor is even thinking about getting one now. I watched a youtube video on how to make the candy with the machine first and that helped a bunch I think. Totally worth it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED

Awesome for party

02/28/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a BIG hit at my sons' birthday party. It was cheaper than renting one and will be able to be used at future fun gatherings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED
04/06/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could only make one decent sized cotton candy cone at a time. After that the heating element would clog up and I was unable to use it until after it was cleaned. The heating element becomes very hot, so you can't remove it for cleaning for some time. It was also difficult to remove. I am packing this up for return today. IF you buy this, though I would not, regular table sugar works the best. We tried the floss and various hard candies; the regular sugar made the most authentic looking and tasting cotton candy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED

its ok..

12/28/2012
By ,
east hanover, nj
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it takes a while to make a cone. the kids are enjoying it, but, kind of like the easy bake oven. the thought is cute, but in reality, fair. the plastic shield rattle a lot you have to kind of hold it in place.
The kids try to hold the plastic tube and rotate it around the inside, but when it touches the medal the candy kind of melts. it's better to work from the top, and grab the candy web and roll from above the maker.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED
12/13/2012
By ,
Pratt, Ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for when my grandkid's come to visit. This works great and is so fun, tried several kinds of hard candy and broken up candy canes and all of them worked.
First time it sounds like machine is broken, but after the 1st 10 minutes of warming it up, it
worked great and the noise level died down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED

Great for small events

03/06/2013
By ,
Douglasville, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for a sleepover sweet 16 party and it was a hit! It was the one thing that everyone couldnt wait for their turn. Being able to use hard candy made it even better; the girls had a blast mixing flavors. Reminder...please allow 5 min for it to completely warm up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED

love it!

02/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My entire family enjoys this product, very easy to use and makes wonderful cotton candy. We like that you can use any hard candy, including sugar free cotton candy. Also cleans very easily. Good price for the product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED

Love it!

08/03/2012
By ,
Canada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We used this for my sons' birthday party. It was a hit! We didn't like the way the hard candies worked, but with the candy floss sugar it worked really well. It is important to let it heat up enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED

great cotton candy machine

11/28/2012
By ,
Mother of four
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice quailty product, Big hit with the kids at my daughter first birthday party.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805RETRORED
05/29/2012
By ,
Dickson, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have just purchased this item... makes great tasting cotton candy... it will take a little pratice making them... but will still be fun...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1 2 3 Next