Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

Make yummy cotton candy with the Nostalgia Electrics FCK-800 Cotton Candy Kit. Try making vanilla, apple or raspberry flavor candies to entice your taste buds. Pour the sugar mixture into the cotton candy maker, turn on the unit and your fresh carnival-style candy is ready in few minutes. Catch the spun sugar with colored candy cones. This makes a perfect treat for birthdays, parties or family get-togethers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.071 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
16
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation88%49 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 14 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
16
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

Fine Product, but not Necessary

01/07/2013
By ,
colorado
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I used this flossing sugar along with the Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker. That product advertises that it works with flossing sugar and hard candy, so I experimented with a variety of hard candies (lifesavers, dum dum pops, candy canes), granulated and fine granulated sugar too.
What I found was that some of the flossing sugars work well, but no better than hard candies (especially lifesavers!). Also, the "fun factor" is much greater turning a hard candy into a uniquely flavored cotton candy treat. It's expected that the flossing sugar will make a more consistent or better product, and there's some truth in that, but not all flavors make good cotton candy and I didn't like the taste of some flavors (nor did my 7yr old).
So I'd suggest that the flossing sugar is a good starter kit, and a good standby to have in the house, so buying a pack isn't a waste of money ---- but it's not what I mostly use to make cotton candy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

Fluffy cotton candy-needs very hot machine

05/29/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We first used the hard candy to make the cotton candy in the Nostalgia machine. Sometimes it worked and other times it didn't come out fluffy (grass like). But, it made very little, which disappointed my daughter...We bought this to see if the powder would work better. It definitely does!! At first, we didn't think it worked because nothing happened when we put the sugar in. We had warmed the machine up for about 5 minutes before adding the sugar. Apparently it needs to be hotter because we just left it on and waited and a few minutes later the cotton candy started forming. It came out nice and fluffy and made way more than the hard candy. I would definitely recommend using this sugar kit. Just make sure you heat the machine enough, and wait a few minutes after pouring in the sugar if it doesn't work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

Love this flossing sugar

01/05/2014
By ,
Elk Grove, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this flossing sugar to go with the nostalgia cotton candy maker. The flossing sugar was so easy to use and tasted just like I purchased the cotton candy from the state fair. The texture was the same as well as my daughter and I pulled it off the stick. Delicious. Love love love. Looking forward to trying more nostalgia products.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

Kind of small bottles

06/27/2012
By ,
Port au Prince, Haiti
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The bottles that came were rather small. We have found that regular sugar mixed with drink mix spins out very well and is much cheaper.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

cannot be used with hard candy -cotton candy maker

11/19/2011
By ,
Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was really looking forward to getting this, but it doesn't work with the Nostalgia hard candy cotton candy maker. :( it won't melt at all and gets completely stuck in the tiny crease in the inside of the melting tray/spinner. Very disappointed :((( I had read in other reviews that granular type sugar like this could be used in the Nostalgia hard candy maker, but NOT true!!!! Even though the machine comes with a scoop for sugar in the original box!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
White Hall Arkansas
Posted 12/28/2011
Sorry to hear this comment because mine works great & melts really well. The instructions say let the machine heat up for 5 mins before pouring the granduals in.
0points
Customer Avatar
Miami, FL.
I have the same cotton candy machine =)
Posted 12/28/2011
I have the same cotton candy machine, i have never tried this kit but i use sprinkles, not the tiny balls but the sugar sprinkles. Target has them all the time on sale in the dollar section of the store. A scoop gives u two small cotton candy cones or one big one. Hope that helps!
0points
Customer Avatar
Blanchard, OK
It does work with sugar
Posted 12/20/2011
If you read the product description for the hard candy cotton candy maker, it says that you can use hard candy OR cotton candy sugar. Unless the paper work that came with the cotton candy maker you bought says different, you need to read the product description on the maker you bought. I hope that helps!
-1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 6 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

Cost too much for the amount of product.

08/29/2013
By ,
philadelphia, pa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The green flavor should be excluded and the blue and pink should be larger.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit
01/02/2012
By ,
Charleston Sc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got the fun kit when I bought the cotton candy maker. I bought it as a fun gift for my 14 yr old daughter.She likes the fun kit ,says now she doesnt have to worry about running ouut of sugars right away.Both products are great,the fun kit and the cotton candy maker,going to buy my granddaughters one for thier birthdays
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Cotton Candy Maker
2.8 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

Sour apple

03/05/2014
By ,
center
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sour apple does not make well as did the others I would like to other flavors in a kit as to where i can by serval of kits instead of the same kind all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

Very helpful product

03/03/2014
By ,
Dunbar, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed this product to use my cotton candy maker
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

Good kit for a child

02/26/2014
By ,
MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did not use this myself. It was bought for my grandson
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit
12/28/2011
By ,
White Hall Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My granddaughter is 8 yrs old. This stuff makes great light fluffy cotton candy when used with the Nostalgia cotton candy machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

great

02/20/2014
By ,
dallas tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a good deal
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

Yummy. Easy to use

02/07/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product was very easy to use.
Gave it a 4 star because the green apple flavor was not so tasty and probably won't use it. The pink vanilla tasted fantastic, but smells like tanning lotion. Blue raspberry was perfect.
The cones it comes with are thick plastic and easy to clean. I didn't use the the cotton candy covers it came with and I don't plan to. So feel like those were a waste.
Walmart.com had the best price I could find for this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

No sour Apple

02/16/2014
By ,
Jamaica
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The sour apple is a crazy flavour it is way too sour, my children hate it, the other flavours are great though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

good

02/14/2014
By ,
san. jacinto. ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Liked
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

I love this cotton candy set

05/23/2012
By ,
Kansas City Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my cotton candy machine at home it's for my game room and I love this product a lot I love how it comes with more cones and bags and has three jars of different flavor cotton candy sugar and shipping was fast im very happy here thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

Not as helpful as it looks

01/19/2014
By ,
Northern Wisconsin
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got a package of this to go with my new cotton candy maker and was a bit disappointed when I used it. I got better candy by making my own sugars, plus the sugars that are usable in the package (the sour apple tasted so awful when I checked it out before putting it in the machine that I'm not going to use it--might be useful for practice but I wouldn't eat it) are incredibly messy--the floss flies around the room (two days later I'm still finding it), the sugar flies out of the spinner and leaves messy spots all over, especially if something it lands on is damp and so much flew out of the spinner that I had to sweep the floor three times and mop it twice.
It's made by using big sugar crystals and coating them in color and flavor. The Blue Rasperry and Pink Vanilla do taste good but there's far too much coloring in them--there's no reason for so much color. If you can figure out how to keep the flavor strong but get less color in your mix then these might be more useful. I'm working on it but haven't gotten far.
I actually get better results by powdering hard candy with cane sugar in the blender and using it instead of this mix. I also get better candy making my own sugars other ways--but I'm saving those recipes for my Tumblr account--should have them up in a few days.
If you have a party supply that rents out a cotton candy machine and sells sugars to go with it get some of that--there's some awesome flavors you can get and while you'll be eating them for awhile since they're large containers, they will last long enough to be all used up. If they get hard just bust up the chunks back into its usual size and go nuts.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

sugar foe cotton candy

01/16/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was so much fun to make cotton candy with these sugar flavor cotton candy making. They taste great too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

Nice addition to CottonCandyMachine with exception

01/01/2014
By ,
Kingwood, Tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This would of been a great addition to the cotton candy machine except for 2 things: 1. One of the plastic cones was broken, and 2. The Sour Apple flavor is Nasty tasting! not the opinion of one but 11 or more kids and adults. Other than that, the gifts were a success!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nostalgia Electrics Flossing Sugar Cotton Candy Kit

taste so good

01/08/2014
By ,
waugh,al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kids love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1 2 3 Next