Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q

Experience and enjoy full-HD resolution on the terrific RCA LCD HDTV. Watch digital broadcasts on this 55" 1080p HDTV, including HDTV programs where available with the built-in ATSC digital/NTSC analog tuner. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the RCA LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.406 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation89%57 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q

Returned with in 24 Hours!

12/06/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was super excited about my purchase since my parents have always had an RCA TV at home, I thought I would never have problems with it.... I was Wrong! I picked up the TV installed it before my husband got home (it was a surprise gift). It worked perfectly fine that night then I get home the next day, I turn on the TV and I could see nothing but a green screen a few moments later I can see the channel but everything seemed to have a green effect. I took it back to the store before I even explained why I was returning it the costumer service associate said "Is it because of the Green Screen?"..... I guess I'm not the first to be having the technical issues. I wish there would of been reviews for me to read before making my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+175points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Virginia Beach, VA
SCARED
Posted 12/09/2011
I bought this as a surprise gift for my fiance, and cannot find ANY reviews on the internet for it... I bought it on Black Friday thinking it was a super awesome special. I am startled to see the ONLY two reviews received are TERRIBLE. Thank you for posting your reviews, I am returning it before I have to go through the pain of this being a complete let down.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q

RCA TV

12/02/2011
By ,
Belton,Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had nothing but RCA in my home for the past 30 years or more, but I am totally dissapointed in this tv, for this to be a 120hz the refresh rate on the tv is terrible, I have seen better pictures on a 60hz, it has three different factory settings plus a user setting, I have made every adjustment that is possible by the user setting and I can't get the picture to focus completely, can't get the color right, everything has a green effect to it even the B&W's.
It has a great sound to it and the price was right for a 55" LCD, but the quality just isn't there.
One thing for sure is "Back It Goes"
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+162points
Review 3 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q
01/27/2012
By ,
Columbus, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is my first HDtv and I'm satisfied with it. I got the combo deal with the surround sound system for $819. After first connecting it, I thought the tv was messed up because the picture was fuzzy and shadowy. However, dvds looked crystal clear. I discovered that my cable box was not HD compatible. Once that was switched out, the picture improved dramatically. Still not super sharp as many of the others I've seen, but still nice. My living room is 300 sqft and the volume (without the surround) is sufficient. Matter of fact, if I had purchased this tv by itself, I would not have gone out of my way to get a surround system. I'm not a gamer so I can't give an opinion on graphics for that but dvds look great. Overall, for the price, I'm happy. However, if you're lookin for that LED super sharp picture, this is not for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 4 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q

Nice tv for the money

12/25/2011
By ,
edgewater fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read over the other reviews and was very nervous but this lcd is awesome. Great picture the refresh rate is a little slow only because my hd cable box is only putting out 60 hrtz (stupid bright house) Tv is definitely worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+31points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NC
refresh rate
Posted 01/05/2012
All HD source signals are broadcast at 60 Hz. You can't enhance a source signal beyond what it is broadcast in. The refresh rate is not a problem with this TV. I would suggest shooting your cable box and go to a satellite provider. WAY better picture...problem solved.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q

Much more than I expected for the price.

01/27/2012
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have seen a few bad reviews and many good ones for this television. I have had $2600.00 Sony's, Vizio's, Sanyo's and an LG. I have never been so impressed by what I received for what I paid. I would also like to inform the older gentleman with the very bad review that if his video source is 60 hz, then that's all the TV can refresh at. Just like if your source video is 1080i. your TV cannot display 1080p, and so on. I haven't had my set very long, but as of now I could not be happier. The audio is a little weak, I added a surround system I already had, and IT'S ALL GOOD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 6 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q

For the price I'm happy ;)

02/07/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've really enjoyed this tv. The picture looks great and I love how easy it set up. The sound isn't the best but I use it with a sound system so no worries there. For the price, I'm quite happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 7 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q

Better than expected for sure

03/04/2012
By ,
Kansas City, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got the TV and Surrsound System all hooked up and running in less than an hour. We set down and watched Avitar and had to catch our breath as the whole experience was more than we expected and were very please for the price we paid. Would recoment this TV and Surround package.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q

Excellent picture quality

03/16/2012
By ,
Vale, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recieved this flat screen television in a wonderful tax value bundle. The picture quality is so wonderful. This t.v features 55" of superb sound quality and a clear large screen. My family and I have been enjoying this flat screen t.v. since we have recieved it and have compared its picture quality with our old, outdated t.v set which was a 27" flat screen t.v. The new T.V is so much better. Best of all, this television is great for HD and boasts a a variety of features for different sounds, screen sizes and plays excellent, even when turned down low, you can still hear your favorite show, without disturbing others. You can even hook up your desk top computer to this flat screen t.v and download or stream movies to it. I would highly recommend this LCD Flat Screen to anyone and yes I would buy it all over again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q

Great for the money!!

02/15/2012
By ,
Lynchburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture on this TV is much better than the Sanyo that I previously owned. The sound could use some improvement though. It gets way too loud switching between the cable and blue-ray player. It fit perfectly on my fireplace console. It doesn't swivel so, that could also use an upgrade by RCA. Overall a great HDTV!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q

Great TV!

02/29/2012
By ,
boise ID
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At first I was skeptical about buying this product but the price was an awesome deal so I gave in and ordered it. I've had it for a few weeks now and I I'll say I don't regret buying it not one bit. The picture is great, it looks really good in my living room and everyone that comes over loves the way it looks. The only reason I gave it a 4 is because the sound isn't great, sometimes I have the volume all the way up and it's hard to hear from a distance but no worries an inexpensive sound bar is all you'll need to fix that. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 11 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q

Got what I paid for... Should have paid more...

02/29/2012
By ,
Marion, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If this certain model were to be compared to a space heater, the heater would have to be full of cat hair and dust to perform on par with this eyesore.
It's advertised as 120hz and it shows in the corner when you change channels that it is clearly 60hz but in my opinion it's more like 45hz. Recordings and live tv have horrible "glitching" from not refreshing fast enough especially during dark scenes. I play video games on this tv and they are affected as well. We've had this tv for a little over 3 weeks and have tweaked every possible setting to smooth out the picture quality and we are seriously thinking about returning this for a smaller, different brand at the same price we gave for this monstrosity.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 12 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q

Fantastic buy!!!

03/02/2012
By ,
chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a new tv, and this one is great! The picture is clear, crisp, and beautiful. I like this TV!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q

Remote Problem.

02/08/2012
By ,
indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tv works fine, though I did have trouble with the remote after a week of using it. The remote stopped working so I contacted the number in the manual. They took down my information and they will be sending me a new remote no hassle and no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 14 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q

love love love it!

02/29/2012
By ,
San Antonio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great tv! great pic, features, quality... the whole 9! and here we thought we were gonna buy a bigger cheap tv and get a better 1 later, NOPE! this 1 beats out all the higher priced tvs ANYDAY!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q
01/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good. Picture quality is great even without HD. Installation and hook up was fairly easy and quick. Nice looking TV too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 16 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q
03/01/2012
By ,
Baltimore, Md.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit has a great picture and sound quality so far. I have only had the set for three weeks. SO FAR, SO GOOD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q

Nice TV for the price

02/13/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just bought this so it's hard to write a REAL review. But so far so good with picture, sound and overall setup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q
03/01/2012
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tv at a great price with the bundle what a difference with the sursound sound system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q

Great starter LCD

03/28/2012
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first LCD TV and the picture is great. Not as good as some of the more expensive models but still considerably better than my old 35" tube TV. I would reccomend this to just about anyone (unless you are already familiar with the quality from a much more expensive model). For the price, this TV offers alot of function at a low cost. No added thrills like web access but I am not interested in that anyway as I can stream from my network storage more easily. Super starter model. Sound is just okay as it can be rather quiet at has distortions at higher volumes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for RCA 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 55LA55R120Q

Perfect for a medium size livng room or den

03/01/2012
By ,
birmingham, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this TV is ok, no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next