Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LG LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LV4400

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LG LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LV4400

With LED picture quality and a TruMotion 120Hz refresh rate, sports and fast-action movies look their best on the LG LED-LCD HDTV. TruMotion 120Hz technology lets you see sports, video games and high-speed action with virtually no motion blur. Now a 42" 1080p HDTV can keep up with your fast-moving entertainment. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the LG LED-LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade. ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.
Average Customer Rating:
3.339 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
12
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation55%31 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
12
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LV4400
11/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my LG TV on 11/22/2011. The setup was easy, Once I got it on all I can say is Wow! The color, sharpness is visually stunning! I am very happy. This is my first LG LED purchase and I was pleasantly surprised. This TV is simply amazing! The clarity is great & the sound. LED is definitely the way to go. I would recommend this TV to everyone out there looking for a great flat screen LED/LCD TV. The price point is also great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+47points
Review 2 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LV4400
11/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It arrived 2 days after purchasing. I set it up in no time at all and was enjoying great-viewing tv. Only hooked up to an antenna at my home and am very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Review 3 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LV4400

Awesome

12/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture is perfect. Will be ordering sound bar for watching movies. Definitely need to have HD service from provider for picture quality. You will also need the gold plated HDMI cable connection from source to TV.
If I had not bolted the TV down, my cat would have knocked it over the first day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 4 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LV4400

Amazing LED TV, Amazing Price

11/14/2011
By ,
Mokena, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got my LG 42' LED-LCD 42LV4400 on Saturday shipped to my house, for free, which I ordered Thursday afternoon.
The TV is beautiful. It's an amazing picture. The sound is not as bad as I read on other reviews; however, I use this TV in my master bedroom, as opposed to a living room. The sound works fine for what I'm looking for.
I'm so happy to have found a 42 inch brand name, top of technology #LED, 1080p, 120hz, etc# for such a reasonable price. Last year, I purchased a Sony Bravia, 40 inch, LCD, 1080p, 60 hz for 498 at Walmart. For 50 dollars more, I went up in size and up in technology. I'm very impressed by this TV thus far and would reccomend anyone to purchase it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+288points
Review 5 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LV4400
11/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome TV!!
cristal clear Picture image use HDMI conections
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LV4400

Great tv, best value for money

11/29/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Before buying this tv, i did lot of research and read all the reviews. I was little bit worried when i ordered this TV, because i never owned an LG tv before. But thanks to all the previous reviews.
My Opinion: This is the best tv for the money. It is light weight, easy to set up (10 mins overall), It has very clear picture (you need to fine tune the settings) and good sound. I read in previous reviews that the sound quality isn't good. I don't expect it to be better than what it is.
It's not a smart tv, but I knew that before I purchased and I already had a streaming player, it works well with that.
Depending on the input quality of the video (blu ray player, dish tv, usb input (from the streaming player), online streaming), the video quality differs. That is expected, because if you don't have a full HD video input, you won't get the same in the tv.
Pros:
1. Amazing picture quality
2. Good Sound
3. Value for money
Cons:
1. USB input could have had the option to read video files too. It just reads photos
2. Viewing angle isn't great. If you view from the sides, the picture quality reduces a bit.
I would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 7 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LV4400
12/06/2011
By ,
Hays, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I am very happy with my purchase of this TV. To get a 42in LED at this price is a great deal. The picture quality is amazing! I hooked up my ps3 and was blown away with how clear the picture was. I also watch a lot of sports, and it feels like I'm right there at the game! Not all of our TV channels are in HD, the ones that are I don't believe could look any better. The other channels are still clear, but you can certainly see the difference. As far as sound goes, I can't really complain. Most TVs these days do not have great sound, very few have speakers on the front. This TV's speakers are on the bottom, which I prefer, it gives the front of the TV a clean, sleek look. As with the picture quality, I found that the sound quality depends a lot on the channel I'm watching. Most channels I can keep the volume around 20 and I hear it just fine.
The things I would change on this TV have to do with its inputs and outputs. It only has 1 composite or componet input. It would have been nice to have 2. Also, I had a surround sound system from my old TV that I had wanted to hook up, however this TVs audio out is not an RCA cable (the red and white cables#. It uses a 1.8mm audio out #the same as a portable mp3 player#. So to use my surround sound I had to buy an adapter #$4) that allowed me to hook up my surround sound. Not a big deal, just a little bit of a hassle.
If you are looking for a nice LED TV at a reasonable price I would certainly recommend this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 8 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LV4400

Almost perfect..

12/11/2011
By ,
jersey city, nj
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When i went shopping for a tv my first consideration was the price, second was the quality and third were the reviews. i went through several brands and this one's bad reviews were the speakers. i agree with everyone that is why i gave it a poor rating on the sound. i practically have the volume at 80 to hear it at decent level without wondering what was being said in the program. anyway, knowing a little about electronics, u can't really expect much from these led/lcd tv's internal speakers because of their thickness. i think these tv's were meant to have surround sound systems hooked up to them. anyway, despite the bad reviews on its sound i bought it cause i have external bose speakers which i bought for my previous tv and for a 1080/120 u can't go wrong with the price. there were 2 other off brand that sold for $350 for 42 inch LCD but they were garbage and this tv is actually an led/lcd so it's thinner than those 2. if u have a surround sound sytem to begin with, why spend all that money for a tv with better speakers. i would advice you to buy this with a surround sound system and u would have a better set up and u still won't break $700 compared to those other name brands costing $900 and up and you would probably still add a speaker system to it to get that cinema type sound. also in the future when u buy other tvs, u can still use your surround system on it so it's not a waste. for a 42" LED/LCD 1080/120HZ tv, u can't beat the price. also if you're looking for the smart TV, all u have to do is buy their smart tv converter box for $80. it'll only cost you $629 total vs their smart tv version which is selling for $899. if u only want to watch netflix on your tv and u already have the wii, xbox 360 or ps3, u don't even need the smart tv converter box. anyway, this tv is great if u already have a surround sound system.. if you don't then just turn the volume all the way up and use close captioning. lol..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 9 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LV4400

Great Value

11/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had TV for 1 week LG 42LV4400 very satisfied with the quality so far. Had to reprogram my cable box for 1080 because previous TV was not HD. Sound quality not as good as old TV but still acceptable. I am considering a sound bar. Overall very good buy and $250.00 cheaper than regular price at Best Buy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+64points
Review 10 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LV4400

Great TV for $550

12/04/2011
By ,
Worcester, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this TV for 1 week and the picture is awesome. Don't believe the nay sayers with the color, etc. This TV has plenty of settings to adjust to give you the picture you want. What struct me as being a great TV for the price is the LED representation of black colors. It is unbelievable. Shut off the power saving feature and mess with the back light setting while watching a movie. I did so when watching the Lord of the Rings that has a lot of scenes that are very dark and I was blown away. I wanted a 1080p LED and when I saw this price drop $200 down to $550, i knew I couldn't go wrong. Plus, if you look at Consumer Reports, LG's are at the top of the list with Samsung and Sony with quality-but at a much lower price! Be wary of any brand that is resold as a 'refurbished.' That should say a lot. I will agree however that the speakers are just bad. In one moment you can't hear, you turn it up, then another scene, etc is too loud. I've ordered a sound bar to make up for it. Also, i do question the 120Hz refresh rate. My dad had a Vizio that is 120 Hz and his Tv shows motion much, much bettter but at a much higher price. If I had to guess, this TV is about 90Hz. But then again, this is a $550 TV. I feel this TV is more than worth the money and you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 11 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LV4400

Great tv for the momey

01/14/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this TV for someone who isn't over the top fussy. It has a great picture, does take playing with the picture settings and the other settings to meet your preference. The speakers are mounted at the bottom of the tv frame, opposed to behind it, which helps with the sound, we plan to purchase a sound bar at some point but have been pleased with how easy it is to hear with the volume at a reasonal level and have seen no need to "run" out and purchase a sound bar. I read some reviews after we purchased it and before we received it and the reviews for the picture quality weren't very good, so we were concerned, but have found that concern to have been needless. Like I said if you want a "perfect" picture then buy a more expensive TV, but if you're looking for a TV that fits your budget I recommend this one. As with anything it comes down to preference. Was also very easy to hook up and set up, we were watching it within a 1/2 hour of removing it from the box.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LV4400
12/09/2011
By ,
Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This TV is not what I expected,but I guess for the price that is what you get..The picture and sound are not good..It is really hard to set these 2 things and when you try it does not help..Will probably be returning it and pay a little more to get better quality..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Review 13 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LV4400

Good Picture but...

12/04/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When viewing in full HD or watching bluerays this tv is great but other than that its average. **ALSO THE SOUND QUALITY IS TERRIBLE** I had to buy a sound bar.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 14 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LV4400

OK if you don't have HDTV service

11/17/2011
By ,
Mobille, Alabama
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've always bought Sony Bravia products in the past but my last Sony got a burn image in just a little over a year. Therefore, I decided to give LG a try as I have LG appliances in my house and I like them. I went to Walmart and looked at the TV in the store and it looked good. I ordered this TV online and was very pleased that it shipped so quickly. I was very disappointed though when the TV was set up. The picture looks like a poster with a gray tint to it. The quality is about the same as a cheap camera with few pixels. The color is not true and no amount of adjusting makes it better. I can't even tell if the TV has high defintion. The picture just looks dull and lifeless. I would not have orderd this
TV if I had realized it was a LED/LCD TV. This energy saver thing drastically reduces the quality of the viewing experience. I'm very disappointed in this TV and would not recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
tulsa , ok
Posted 11/26/2011
hey , i have a larger size lg tv and no complaints , my i suggest turning off the energy saver it will help alot !
+4points
Customer Avatar
Phoenix
You don't have your tv hooked up properly
Posted 11/25/2011
I seen this tv in the store and the picture was as good as $1200.00 tv's . You need to find out what ou have hooked up wrong!
+3points
Customer Avatar
Baltimore, Md
Turn the energy saver feature OFF
Posted 11/20/2011
It is on your remote. The energy saver feature is factory default ON and reduces the energy used by the TV so that the screen is very dim. The remote has a major button on it to turn this feature on and off as you wish.
+21points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 15 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LV4400

black screen of death

02/02/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this TV on black friday and have had no problems with it until today. Won't turn on. I started looking up reviews and there are 30 similar reviews all within the last few weeks on Amazon. Appears there must be some sort of manufacturing flaw for sets built in Sept/Oct. I seem pretty lucky that my set lasted 60 days based on others reviews. Most others had them last a month or less. Amazon is excepting mine back - thankfully.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LV4400
Based on the average of (41) ratings-only reviews
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5