Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Coby Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Coby Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S

Upgrade your entertainment with the Sunkey digital converter box with learning universal remote control. It allows analog TVs to display digital broadcasts so you can enjoy all your favorite shows.
Average Customer Rating:
3.355 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(318 Reviews) 232
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
71
3 stars
29
2 stars
14
1 star
88
Customer Recommendation66%210 out of 317reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
71
3 stars
29
2 stars
14
1 star
88
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S

LOVE THIS PRODUCT!

07/09/2012
By ,
Newnan GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is such a GREAT BUY!!!
1st: The price is VERY REASONABLE... CHEAP even, by comparison... but NOT A CHEAP product!
2nd: It has a multi-functional-universal remote which made it possible for me to cut down on the number of remotes I was using previously.
3rd: This converter box is the BEST... it has so many MORE functions than the comparable RCA (from WalMart) or APEX (from Best Buy). I get 38(+/-) channels! What a deal... better than local basic cable! Plus, it has multiple guides for viewing what's coming on next.
4th: It's a piece-of-cake to program! I'm mechanically inclined, but it was EASY!
So glad I decided to try this one, instead of the RCA one, and had it delivered to my local WM store for free! What a deal!!!
Only ONE CAUTION I might add: When installing, BE SURE TO SIT THIS PRODUCT ON IT'S SIDE, OTHERWISE IT GETS VERY HOT, and might over heat. I've had no problems, but noticed the heat after a few hrs of operation.
Hope this info helps someone to enjoy the FREE airwaves!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S

Overall a good buy

04/13/2012
By ,
Hoboken, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical at first about purchasing a brand I wasn't sure about but for the price I couldn't pass on trying this. I bought it for a friend who was in a pickle and has a 3 year old how missed watching his educational tv and animated movies. I used an RCA flat antenna that doesn't need adjusting and was able to get all the local channels accept for ABC, channel 7, out of NYC. The town the tv is located is in Hoboken,NJ a few miles away from the station in NYC. At first she was able to get 22 stations but after hooking up a splicer to accept the digital antenna and using the cable connection as an antenna, even though the service was discontinued, I was able to get a total of 28 channels in all with 5 of them being spanish speaking channels. All in all, they are grateful to be able to watch tv once again. In the future I will try a stronger antenna an exterior type to recieve even more channels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+44points
Review 3 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S

good until it broke

04/25/2012
By ,
Puyallup, wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It stopped working less than a week after I got it. It has a boot screen that displays "Sunkey Systems", then it displays whatever channel you had it on. One morning I turned it on and the box said boot, but it just went to a black screen. I was unable to turn it off from both the box and remote and was unable to use any of the remote options. However, it was good while it lasted. It was easy to set up and use. You can use either the coax (mono) or the s-video (stereo) to connect. the The universal remote was nice. The sound was kinda weird though. The higher the volume was on the tv, the more "noise" it made. If I turned the tv volume down to make the "noise" go away and the box's volume up, I could barely hear a show or movie. If it didn't stop working I would say it was a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lewisville TX
good until it broke- same here!!
Posted 07/26/2012
I am having the exact same issue- boot screen, then blank. Doesn't respond to remote, doesn't turn off from remote or manual. The only way I can turn it off is to unplug it. And forget about calling tech support, there in no one available to take calls, you have to leave a voicemail...
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S

NEED A REPLACEMENT

06/06/2012
By ,
N.C.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have only had this product for 3 weeks and it does not work properly. It will turn on and that is it. I am unable to view any channels, all I have is a blank black screen on my television. I have call the manufacture 5 days ago EVERYDAY, no one answers to take my call. I call every day and have to leave a message concerning this defective product and no one will return my calls!!!! I am left with a product that does not work, while I paid in full to Walmart for something that I can't use. No one will return my calls to get a replacement or my money back. So whatever you do DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT!!!!! YOU WILL BE LEFT WITH A PRODUCT THAT DOES NOT WORK, WHILE BEING STUCK WITH NO WAY TO GET YOUR MONEY BACK OR A REPLACEMENT!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Review 5 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S
03/30/2012
By ,
nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product, small, easy to hook up, and snap to set up. The universal remote is great. Less than $30.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+112points
Review 6 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S

It does the job

04/09/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The most difficult part was configuring the remote, but once done, it was awesome. I control my dvd, tv, and the device with the universal remote, and the functions are impressive. There is even a button to let you view the signal strength and so many other features. I have noticed that when the signal is too weak, it will reset completely, but beyond that, I am quite pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 7 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S

Very undurable

10/29/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing worked fine for a month and then one day, I turned it off to save energy, and the the thing never worked again. And to add insult to injury, the tech support number DOESN'T answer. Ever!
Do your self a favor and just spend the extra 10 bucks on the Magnavox converter. You won't regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 8 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S

Gets Hot to fast

11/04/2012
By ,
Morristown, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Even with the front panel plastic covering off and the top plastic covering off and the left and right side vents not blocked and the big vents on the bottom set to low and the heat builds up. Cons:
Anyone know that heat kills any electronic device very fast. I had a plastic fan case holder from a old desktop computer. It lifted it up 1 3/4 height. the vent now has 3 1/2 X 3 1/2 air flow to keep it from over heating and cool. If you can not do this You have to turn this on the right or left side and it will keep cool that way. And the channel numbers you can not read when you do this.
Pros :
It did scan the channels very fast and picked them all up and with a much clean sharpe picture.
Various problems:
I was irritated that the zoom button didn't do anything, out of the box. I discovered it just assumes your display is 16:9 if set to "auto" in settings. Change this to 4:3 and suddenly the zoom button works like it always should have.
And the sharp edges on the remote you can not hold it very long. The all-in one remote needs better and simply way to scan auto and input the codes if need be. And redesign the buttons.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S

Died in two days.

04/04/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Within two days of using it, it stopped showing the TV, the menu, or anything. Just a black screen. Returned it for a different model because the only good thing about it was it had the decency to become useless so quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 10 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S

Didn't last long; no customer support

07/26/2012
By ,
Lewisville TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this converter box 6 weeks tops. Under normal circumstances, when you turn the converter box on using either the remote or manually, the display on the box reads "boot," then goes to four dashes, then right away goes to the last channel you were on, and you can go from there. However, now when I turn the box on either via remote or manually, the display reads "boot," then goes to four dashes, and then nothing at all happens. When I try to turn the box off either with the remote or manually, nothing happens. The only way to turn it off is to unplug it.
The troubleshooting section in the manual is very limited, and does not cover this problem. Also, when you call customer support, the phone rings and then goes to voicemail.
Overall very disappointed in this product and in Sunkey. I would not recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S
04/04/2012
By ,
ORLANDO, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THE BOX IS VERY LIGHT WEIGHT WORKS GREAT, NICE LOOK, GREAT PRICE, I GOT A GOOD PRODUCT, FOR THE $, KEEP IT UP SUNKEY...BLESSING
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
las vegas
zenith cnverter box
Posted 07/14/2012
do we need more than one box if we have more than one tv
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S

Great if it continued to work!!!

04/11/2012
By ,
Oklahoma City
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought one of these and one Magnavox. Both work really well. I liked this box because of the features on the remote, the menu and guide. Hovever after about two weeks it stopped working. I could turn the unit on but no picture at all. I could not turn the unit off with the remote and had to pull the power cord. After trying to reboot it several times and rechecking the hookup, I had to return the unit. Fortunately Walmart lets you return the unit to the store. I was going to order another Magnavox but it went up $10.00 in price so I have decided to give this one another chance. It's the only one around for under $30.00 So time will tell how I will review the next one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S
10/10/2012
By ,
deltona, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am extremely happy with this converter box. I was shocked by the price & was skeptical it would turn out to be, get what you pay for !!! Well i got lots & for less money than most others & their higher priced ones. It was simple & easy to hook up & love the digital read out on front of it. Happiest yet was saying good bye to $80+ a mth cable bills. I had no issues with the on line ordering as well.
I already have a friend who is ordering this same product as well as my brother is going to also.
I definitely would recommend to anyone looking to purchase a converter box & hope they too will be as happy as me & my wallet !!! Bye bye cable, hello cash in my pocket !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S

Did not last a month!

06/19/2012
By ,
Des Moines, Iowa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Was working fine for about 28 days, then when it went to boot, it just stopped working and froze. No channel, no nothing. Could not turn it on or off. Unplugged it, turned it on again, and it did the same thing. Costumer service would not answer the phone that was in the book to call for help. Walmart did great in helping with returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S

Absolute garbage

06/21/2012
By ,
Cleveland, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I dropped cable months ago and wanted something so I could watch local tv on an old 13 inch set in my bedroom. The thing seriously last for about a month and a half then just stopped booting. Of course, I didn't save all the original packing so I can't return it. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!! I'm not made of money and I cannot believe this thing doesn't work in such a short time. What a waste of 30 bucks!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 16 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S

Failed to work properly

10/08/2012
By ,
Fremont, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Couldn't get the converter to work. Called for support 5 consecutive days, at least twice a day. No live person, only recorded message asking me to leave a phone number and my call would be returned when someone was available.
The someone was never available on their end, although I patiently waited for a returned call that I never recieved.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+5points
Review 17 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S

Does not work

04/05/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was hoping to avoid a monthly few from the cable company, but this box does not work. I tried on multiple TV's and cable connections (where existing HD converters work fine), but it never recognized a signal. Will be returning this product and looking for a new solution.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Simpsonville, SC
Posted 08/25/2012
**Did you buy a DTV *ANTENNA* to go with the converter box??***..
You MUST have one!!.. You can buy one for 10.00 or less that will work great.
Also.. you go into your TV menu and change your TV from "Cable" to "OVER THE AIR" ANTENNA?.. After you change your TV menu setting from "Cable to "AIR" or OVER THE AIR, then do an " AUTO SCAN" so it and find all the available channels.
0points
Customer Avatar
Boston, MA
You can't use this for a cable box
Posted 05/25/2012
Quite right it didn't work. This is for converting over-the-air broadcasts, not a cable signal.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 18 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S
05/07/2012
By ,
temple city ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was the worst convertor box i ever bought I returned it to the store none of the buttons match the operation of the remote. power button changed channels the mute button turn the tv off and the channels button went to cd player it was very messed up the only reason i gave it one star is because i received it fast and wrapped very well
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S

This unit is junk!

07/02/2012
By ,
Englewood, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We received this unit and turned it on fine. We watched the news and then turned it off after about 45 minutes of viewing time. When we went to use it the next time the unit wouldn't turn on with the remote control. When we turn it on manually, it says "boot" and then 4 horizontal lines show up and that's all... no television viewing at all. We called the phone number as directed in the manual and have not spoken to any "real person" as of yet. This is purely "junk" in my opinion and it wasn't worth the $30+ dollars that was spent on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 20 for Sunkey Digital-Analog Converter Box with Learning Universal Remote Control, ATB150S

Excellent product

07/23/2012
By ,
Lufkin,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a RCA converter box and it was good but this Sunkey is way better. I am enjoying TV stations that I would have to be paying cable to get. Get this little box and enjoy cable free tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 233 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next