Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

The compact Philips MP3 Player with direct USB makes file transfer a snap as no cables are required. Enjoy easy, intuitive navigation on the full color display and up to 13 hours of music playback with its embedded battery.
Average Customer Rating:
4.268 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(358 Reviews) 293
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
211
4 stars
90
3 stars
25
2 stars
6
1 star
26
Customer Recommendation87%304 out of 348reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
211
4 stars
90
3 stars
25
2 stars
6
1 star
26
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

Bought 4 of these for the grandkids for Christmas

12/02/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 4 of these for the grandkids for Christmas. When I plugged in the first one I installed the drivers and Philip's Songbird software. The toolbox that installed (it runs in the system tray# said the MP3 player needed a firmware update from 1.08 to 1.13 and it downloaded and installed the firmware.
I imported my iTunes library and synced the device. When I plugged in the other three I bought I update the firmware and then let Songbird load the music.
Pros: Inexpensive #these things seem to get lost easily#
Sync with iTunes library via Songbird
Easy to use, did not even need the manual!
No cables to loose, USB port built in like a thumbdirve
Cons: A little slow to load the songs #400 songs takes around an hour to load)
But since you only have to change those occasionally its not a big deal
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 2 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)
06/24/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally bought the blue one for me but my brother loved it so much he kept it for himself, so I got the pink one....so amazing! i love it more than an ipod
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

Works as advertised

01/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this player and it's easy to create playlists. I hate using packaged SW to make the unit work well and with this one you don't have to. All you do is create folders for albums, artists, genres, etc and put them in the Music folder that's already on the player. You probably don't even have to do it that way but I decided to leave their folder arrangement as-is. No different than creating folders on your hard drive and dragging & dropping songs. Just select the folder (playlist) you want to listen to using the menu and enjoy. I guess you can use their SW to do this if you like but I prefer not to. It's easy to use and works very well especially considering the price.
I've seen some reviews regarding it's reliability and I've only had it a few days so the jury's still out on that point. I did buy mine on-line and after Black Friday, so maybe mine wasn't a part of that "bad batch" someone thought may have been shipped to Walmart around that time. If it continues working then buying it was a Home Run. If it dies, Walmart's always good about it's return policy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 4 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

Great MP3 Player for the price!

11/29/2011
By ,
Zephyrhills,FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well I bought this MP3 player on black friday as a simple put in the car beater mp3 player. It was super inexpensive and I figured if I am going to buy a cheap mp3 player at least I am getting a good brand. It has exceeded well beyond my exceptions. It has great sound quality, very simple to use, and it doesn't feel cheap. It feels like its is put together very well and looks sharp to boot. If all you want is a music player this more than does the job. So far only thing I am not to excited about is the fact that the color part is a gloss. It will show up scratches on the surface for sure. Otherwise amazing deal as long as you understand its a simple device with a very simple purpose. Well out performs anything even close to the price range. If there is anymore at the store i plan on buying a few as gifts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+102points
Review 5 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

This Winner beats a shuffle!

12/01/2011
By ,
Concord,NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros:Excellent sound,Supports FLAC format upto 1.1 mbps, Simple and easy User Interface with color display,12-13hrs long lasting battery,Just plug and charge no cables running around,Includes Songbird,can create playlists,has shuffle feature.Comes with an excellent quality earphone no need to buy expensive ones,
Cons:No FM Radio,No bookmarks for Audiobooks,No clip to hookup
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oklahoma
Beats the iPod shuffle?
Posted 12/02/2011
It beats the iPod shuffle in price and is a decent inexpensive MP3 player. But iTunes is a better software than Songbird and the iPod shuffle loads the music on the player 10X faster than the Gogear Mix does using Songbird. There is little doubt that the shuffle is a better product and finding accessories (like arm band etc..) is tough for the GoGear. The only reason we went with these intead of the shuffle is that it is cheaper ot replace when the grandkids (Ages 8,9,10, and 13) loose them.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)
12/10/2011
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the $40 unit a couple years ago and was eager to try this new model at $20. The sound is still excellent even if you don't select FullSound or equalizer (though I use real headphones and give no opinion on the included earbuds). They added a middle button to the main controls, though nothing uses the "compass point" model; you navigate menus with just up/down/in/back. They removed the digital clock, and this unit has no radio nor provision for photos and movies (which would be pointless on that tiny screen). Its small size is a marvel, but the screen and buttons are so small that the older model might be better for in the car.
It will shuffle your music and remember the sequence and exactly where you were in which song when you turn it off, resuming with a single button press--if music was playing. If you paused the music or were fooling around in the menus when you turned it off, it seems to start over and you have to reshuffle.
When attached to a PC, the player appears as a new "hard disk" and you can manage files on it in the usual way, such as copying files by Drag 'N' Drop. But the Philips Songbird software is inside the player and it will try to install Songbird onto your PC. The full manual is inside the player too, in Acrobat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+20points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Hampshire
Posted 12/16/2011
Further to my review, above: The player uses a quick (one-second?) fade-out when you skip to the next song, rather than switch abruptly, which is nice. (There is no fade-out when you pause or turn the unit off.) But there is an equally quick fade-IN at the start of the next song, which mars the playing of tunes that start suddenly.
That's the biggest bug I could find after using it for a week. Remember three years ago when you could get a thumbdrive for this price, but it had only one-quarter the space--and no player?!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

Much better than expected.

11/26/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first mp3 player that I am purchasing for my 7 and 8 year old girls. I really didn't want to buy something that seemed cheap and chintzy. It isn't. It's very sleek looking and quite attractive. I wasn't sure about whether or not to buy this as I paid just under $20. for it. I went ahead and opened the box and after some time of trying to figure it out I was finally able to upload some songs. The sound quality is AWESOME. I am extremely impressed and so happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+195points
Review 8 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

Grab This!

02/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted an MP3 player for running. I bought a SanDisk but returned it as the volume had only 2 settings, neither loud enough, and it faded during my runs and then came back up. So I saw this and bought it but at the price I wasn't expecting much. Wrong!
The sound on this is amazing and the stereo is off the charts. I told my wife this sounded better than my stereo. Plenty of range for the volume which is extra nice as I can plug in headphones and wear them around my ears but not on them, if that makes sense. The earplugs with this are not comfortable but everyone I know who has a mp3 says you need to buy them separate. The screen is nice size and it's easy to operate.
I can't tell you yet about longevity as I've only used it a few times but right now I would say if you want a player only, get this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 9 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

Met our needs

12/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 8 y.o has been asking for an ipod but when I asked her what she wanted to do with it, she simply wanted to listen to music and clearly did not have a real idea of what the big name product could do. So, I began a search for an inexpensive mp3 player that would fit the bill. This met my requirements. I got it in pink with a pink speaker case to match. We gave it to her for her birthday yesterday. She was thrilled and carried it around all day. For the price (I paid under $20 for the player at my local Wal-Mart store plus a $10 case) - I'm thrilled.
What I like:
Cute colors - sleek design does not look cheap.
Easy to work.
price
good sound quality
What I didn't like:
Must use philips songbird software download to put music on it. We had some trouble downloading the software but eventually got it to work.
Must purchase songs through the philips software program. Songs were on average about 30 cents more per download than I have seen at places like Amazon.
The songs that came preloaded on the player were not appropriate for an 8-year-old but I was able to delete them once we got the Philips songbird program running.
There does not seem to be a way to create playlists or organize the songs.
Overall, great little product and perfect for a kid or even an adult who just wants to listen to music without all the bells and whistles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Hampshire
Posted 12/09/2011
I bought the SA2 version two years ago and, after reading y'all's reviews and comments, will risk half the price on the new version. Two of your negatives on the SA3 are not true. Plug your device into the PC's USB port and it will appear as a new "hard disk" in Windows Explorer. You can copy music onto it by Drag-'N'-Drop or by Copy and Paste. You can organize your songs into folders (under the built-in Music folder) in the usual way and the Folder View main menu option lets you select them that way--otherwise, you select them by artist, title, or genre; or shuffle.
The Songbird program obviously tries to control you after the sale and steer you to a certain music store, but you are free to move any MP3 from any source onto the player--also, I think, WMAs, provided they aren't copy-protected or attached to a specific player. The features listed on the Walmart page include the ability to use the player without additional software. A commenter notes nearby that you must use Songbird if you want to manage playlists.
The music store I used to use was Walmart.com--perhaps Walmart will someday reopen it!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

Plays music but no playlists

11/26/2011
By ,
Morton IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This inexpensive mp3 player does what it does: play music. Thus far I have NOT discovered a way to make and play playlists on this device (like for the treadmill). It also does NOT have a "bookmark" function like some other devices, which is VERY helpful if you're big into audiobooks as I am.
However, Philips is a reputable brand, so it's probably better than many of the other cheap mp3 players available.
I purchased several of these on Black Friday 2011 for Christmas gifts to nieces and nephews who are not iPod toting kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+56points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Miami, FL
Posted 12/20/2011
I use to have one when I was younger and making a playlist was majorly hard. I found out that if you make a folder on your PC and put the songs that you want in it then transfer it to the mp3, the way the songs are put in that folder are the way the mp3 will play it it. Don't know if that can help you.
+1point
Customer Avatar
New Hampshire
Posted 12/16/2011
Randy405 is correct that Songbird will let you create playlists. But further, the Frequently Asked Questions file stored on the player says you can dictate a play order by using your PC to give the MP3 files suitable names (starting with 00, 01, 02, etc.) after copying them onto the player. Provide enough extra 0s to be sure the player doesn't sort alphabetically (and give you 1, 10, 11, 2). Now use the player to uncheck Shuffle (under Play Mode, under Settings) and locate the destination folder with Folder View.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Oklahoma
Yes you can create a playlist.
Posted 12/02/2011
Using the software loaded on the device you can install Songbird and create a playlist.
0points
Customer Avatar
Buffalo NY
playlists
Posted 12/02/2011
I just bought this for my 8 year old daughter but haven't gotten in through the mail yet. Couldn't you just transfer songs over in a folder and play the whole folder like a playlist?
+2points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 11 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

Great 1st mp3 player!

12/27/2011
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 9 year old daughter received this for Christmas and LOVES it! It's easy for her to navigate. I easily downloaded music through Windows Media from the cds she already owns. Sound is great. The ear buds didn't stay in her ears so she's using another set of headphones. Great first mp3 player. Would highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 12 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

Great sound, everything else is doubtful.....

04/16/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this mp3 player a couple of days ago. It feels very weak when I press the arrow buttons. I also had a song by Christina Perri and it was put under Christina Aguilera? Weird right? It doesn't accept some of the songs I want in it (they're cd or itunes songs). The screen randomly got 2 colorless dots on it for some reason. The sound is pretty good I can't complain about that. I think this mp3 is for someone who is a little short on cash and waiting to advance. I was skeptical about the purchase and this proves once again you get what you pay for. It has a cute appearance and pretty light. But then again that can be a problem if you can't find it or lose it. So yeah I was thinking about returning it but I don't know if they'll accept it at Walmart because it's open..... :/ hope this helps!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

DEFINITELY A KEEPER!!

05/01/2012
By ,
UPSTATE NEW YORK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a mp3 player but I didn't want to spend a forturne on it. After much research I found this beauty and it fits the bill! By the price you would think it would be cheap looking but it is very sturdy and well made! I managed to put my whole CD library on this player and I still had room to add more songs! Directions are vague and not helpful at all but I managed to learn how to use it on my own because it is that simple to use. No need to download the songbird software because you can just use the drag and drop method. Also, the sound quality is surprisingly superb and clear for a $15 mp3 player!! I have no complaints at all I would purchase this mp3 player again and again!! Matter of fact I am about to purchase more for some of my family members!Definitely a must buy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

Defective, but would be great if it worked

12/08/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The player I bought was defective; would not show or play mp3 files I loaded from my computer. Called Phillips tech support and spoke with an intellegent, helpful, native English speaker (certainly much above the norm for tech support). After trying some fixes which didn't work, she told me they'd been getting a slew of calls since the day before with defective players. Apparently Walmart received a bunch of defective ones and sold them on Black Friday (probably not knowing they were defective). The player had some preloaded songs on it so I could tell that audio quality is excellent, controls are adequit and not flimsy (not so with some other low cost players). Price on these is wonderfully low, if only they'd work properly.
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Review 15 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

Good sound

05/24/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 10- and 6-year-old kids, and they love this.
This does not have AM/FM radio, games, stopwatch, photo album, and etc., but it's ok to listen their favorite music. I have iPod, but I don't use much thing but listening music.
Also, sound quality is very good.
Just one thing of little bit negative, I created folders for each album on my computer, and only about 4 folders can be displayed under the "album" menu on this player. I can see all the list under the "folder" menu, but for better user interface, I would be happy if I can choose them under "album".
When my husband saw that my kids enjoy this, he wanted it. I bought one more for him too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

Okay for a basic MP3

12/25/2011
By ,
Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this in purple for my 7-year-old for Christmas. I am currently working on loading music, and have been at it for the better part of the day. The User's Manual (ON the device) is clear, but took some time to find it on the device.
Pros:
Cute
Simple hook-up/no cords to lose
Cons:
Separate music software download
REALLY slow to load music-- Predicted 13 hours for 300 songs :(
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 17 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

A better alternative to ipod shuffle

04/06/2012
By ,
kemah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had an 2nd generation ipod shuffle that lasted for over a year with very frequent use. I used it in the gym and contrary to other reviews from runners, etc., it didn't have an issue from sweat or getting wet. It finally did give out with inconsistent play, so I got a third gen. It failed in one month's time. Pathetic. I decided I was not going to buy another ipod so I hunted for options. I found this product and I am amazed at the value of it! It is like a USB and has a cap on the end you simply plug into the computer's USB port. The software is easy as heck to use, unlike apple's, and this unit even has a display on it that tells the song you're listening to. So far, after repeated use, its held up fine. I would like some sort of clip like the ipod, but in the end, this thing packs a heck of a lot of music, at a third of the cost of an ipod shuffle and seems to be holding up very well. I ordered one for my daughter as well and one for my wife, because she lost her ipod shuffle that she uses for when she's baking cakes. Great product. Buy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

A great sound with great headphones..great value!!

06/16/2012
By ,
Kauai,HI.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great value with great sound and very good headphones!!..i ride to the beach with my board, fins and my MP3 player and couldn't be happier...easy interface...simple to load from my laptop..and the sound is full and strong!! This is my third Phillips MP3 Player and they just keep getting better for less money...the perfect combination for a really great listening experience that creates a lot of Joy throughout my day!! Mahalo Phillips and Mahalo Wal Mart!! Stoked, Dale
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

NICE LITTLE PLAYER WITH ALL THE RIGHT STUFF

07/12/2012
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are just the best. Enjoyable sound. Not the widest frequency response compared to another inexpensive brand but I hear few deficiencies that annoy. The fullsound seems to add expansiveness and makes mp3 sound smooth and pleasing even with the inexpensive clearance Philips phones I also bought. Sometimes seems almost like surround. Add to that decent memory, nice design, and a good screen with all the right info including pretty accurate battery gauge, not disappointing battery time (at this price) and durability (2 of 3 bought functioning flawlessly after 5 - 6 months heavy use, the new third one OK as well) and it's a winner in my eyes. Hope they'll be around when I need replacements.
PS. Check out JVC HA-S 160 phones as replacements to supplied earbuds ($12-$15 here and on Amazon depending on color). There are audiophiles lauding these phones as good sounding cheap phones. I happen to agree, and you might too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Philips GoGear Mix 4GB MP3 Player, SA3MXX04KC, (Assorted Colors)

Finally catching up with technology!

03/31/2012
By ,
Monmouth, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My nephew laughed heartily as I told him that my cd-walkman still suited me just fine. Why get an mp3 when I can still use the cd player? Okay, so I saw this was only around $20 and figured why not live a little, right?
Wowsa! The sound quality is fabulous and it charges easily in my laptop and my library offers 3 free songs per week...It is super lightweight and cute also!!!
The only downside, if you might call it that is seeing the display in the sun (much like any digital product) and the buttons are not 3 dimensional so I often hit the wrong ones. Also, knowing how to stop the music when there does not seem to be a stop button but I will consult my owners manual!
I recommend this product heartily as I have found it to make my walking to the bus and train significantly more enjoyable and less cumbersome than my old walkman!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 271 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next