Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players

Double your movies on the road with the Philips dual DVD players. It features two 9" portable DVD players to let passengers indulge in enjoying their own DVD movies, music and photos on the road. Dual screens allow you to display same videos or images from the 9" portable DVD players. Simply plug in and mount the screens on the headrests in your vehicle. Now you can enjoy your favorite DVD movies and JPEG photos with family and friends in the backseats easily and comfortably. The mounting kits make installation fast and easy.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation73%41 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players

Great Product

09/10/2011
By ,
Noblesville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this DVD player is great. We've used it several times already. I love that both boys can watch different movies at the same time using headphones! The volume is also great on it considering my last DVD could barely be heard on the maximum volume. It would be nice if there was a remote control but I'm sure that could get tricky due to the fact you can play 2 DVD's at one time! My only complaint is that the slide buttons (on/off etc.) are hard to slide. They need to stick out further or have better grips!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+37points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Headphones
Posted 11/17/2011
I just bought these portable dvd players and was wondering what kind of headphones you purchased.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players

Good product at value price

09/04/2011
By ,
Pewaukee, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought these set of portable DVD players for planning a long trip with kids.. really helped to keep kids busy watching DVD's of their own choice. Works well at home as well..
Slightly cumbersome while operating when kids are very young and cannot operate on their own.... especially in the vehicle..
but definitely a good buy.. !
9" screens are also good as compared to 7"
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+45points
Review 3 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players
10/14/2011
By ,
Thomasville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought these for our 7 month old twins for a 4 hour roadtrip. They have worked great so far. We love the fact that they can watch the same movie now and later on they can watch different movies. Screens are good size. Play button is on front, which is easy to access while driving. Auto-playback and movie restarts in the spot where it left off when the dvd player is turned off and then back on. The sound is a little tricky, I either feel like its too loud or not loud enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Review 4 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players
09/30/2011
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great buy. My mother purchased this item for my sons 1st birthday and we love it. I love the feature that allows us to watch 2 movies @ the same time or one movie together. I love that the car adaptor cords are long enough for both DVD players. I don't have to worry about stretching or kinks in the cord. The players are very easy and simple to use. I am very pleased with the purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 5 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players

great dual portable dvd players

10/11/2011
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these for a long car trip with two toddlers. It worked perfectly!
Pros:
*MY BIGGEST SELLING POINT--I loved that these dual players are capable of playing the same movie or 2 different movies at the same time. Other reviewers stated that there was a picture quality difference when viewing one movie on both screens. I did NOT notice this and I am 99% sure my kids didn't either.
*They were extremely easy to set up and to take down once we got to our destination (I didn't want it sitting in the car while we were parked in strange places). I left the cables in the car and detached the mounting strap to take the screens out of the car.
*Controls are easily accessible but still out of reach of a toddler in a car seat.
*Players could be used to watch movies on a regular TV with an extra Red, Yellow & White cable--not included but like us, I can imagine that almost every household has an extra one of these cables in the their house.
*Completely flat design (designed for use on a headrest). Other portable DVD players open up like a laptop, which doesn't leave much room if used on a headrest in a car.
Cons:
*Not so much as a con but would have been nice to have, a remote control. With toddlers in a car seat they were unable to reach the controls(listed in pros) this meant one of the front riding passengers had to control the movie. Although, this could be difficult since each player would need it's own remote. Either way, it would have been nice but not a necessity.
*Does NOT utilize a battery. This did not bother me too much because I bought it for the sole purpose of using it in the car which meant I would never need battery power.
This is all I can think of. Overall I am very pleased with this purchase. We do not intend to leave these in the car so I am hoping they will last for years to come and I think they will be a must any time we take a long road trip.
As a side note, I didn't buy a specific bag for these because ones that are designed for 2 players are a little expensive. I just used a cloth bag that I already had and and stored the screens so they wouldn't get scratched.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Review 6 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players

Good - But one Quirk - Why no remote?

11/29/2011
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These are great, however, if you are looking at the 7", I strongly suggest going with the 9" ones. They're smaller than I'd imagined, but just perfect considering how close the kids sit to them in the car. My only issue is why can the cheaper DVD players that have dual option have remotes and not these? Just set them up to receive different signals. One of the other brands we looked at, but only had 7" screens had remotes. Confusing, but not a deal breaker. If we're in the car for longer than a movie, there's two adults usually so we can switch them out for our 1 & 4 year old - and the baby einsteins and sing along my daughter likes have repeat play. The DVD player DOES open when attached to the head rest, so you don't have to unmount them to get a new DVD in.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players

Great DVD tv's!!!!

10/14/2011
By ,
Mandeville, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had some smaller ones that broke after a few weeks. So when I went to return them I saw these in the store but didn't buy them. And I found them cheaper online here. The quality is great, I waited a month before I reviewed them that way I would have a better idea of the quality. The size is great, the picture is good, and I love the fact that my kids can watch 2 movies at the same time. The cords are long enough, the last ones I had cords everywhere and they were to short so they were not able to be hidden. It comes with 2 a/c adapters that way you can bring them inside to use them which we have done on several occasions. What you get for the money was unbeatable!! Worth The upgrade!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 8 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players

Second Try

12/28/2011
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first DVD player I bought from Philips was the cheaper model that looks exactly like this one. I ordered it online and it arrived quickly, but once setup in the car it played a DVD for about 30 seconds and then started saying bad disc, I switched DVD's and it still said bad disc no matter what movie I put in, the other player it came with also had the same problem. I got a good 5 minutes out of that one and I finally returned it. I bought this one which is like $40 more, and it works perfectly. I have no clue what the difference is/was or if I got a dud, but the cheaper one wouldnt play and this one does and it plays good. Has very good volume.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players

Great DVD player.

11/01/2011
By ,
West Point, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First one we purchased that was loud enough. I returned two before I finally found this one on line. I bought it for my granddaughter and she loves it so it passes the test. Even though this one was routinely found in auto I recommend you put it in store and in DVD section. It has home hookup as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 10 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players

Great product, great price

10/27/2011
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We really like this portable DVD player set. We've been using it for a few months and the quality seems to be really good. Walmart.com has the best price on this set with 9" screens that we've seen. The only thing I would like to see different is for it to come with a remote.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 11 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players

Works great!

10/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wish it had a battery so that it could be used on a plane and a remote for the volume. Other than that, it is a great player! Used it on a 10 hour driving trip. Made for a semi-enjoyable trip. How enjoyable can 10 hours in a car be, then add a 3-year-old.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+4points
Review 12 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players

Outstanding!!!

12/31/2011
By ,
VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I just purchased a minivan and this was one of the first products we bought for it. I ordered this on Wednesday and it was delivered on Thursday which blew me away. We just took a 300 mile+ round trip and these DVD players were a God send. Our boys are 4 and 5 and both loved that they could choose their own movie. We also invested in some wired headphones and a audio cable we can also use to plug them into the van Aux jack. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants to maintain their sanity when traveling with young ones!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 13 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players

Excellent versatile product!

02/26/2012
By ,
Ontonagon, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having many bad experiences with portable DVD players I read many reviews and took a chance on these. At first I was a little leary about the fact that they have no batteries. But then again the batteries always failed in my old ones.
We have had these for about a month and use them ALL the time. My son uses his in the car and because they come with AC adapters for the house I can now watch/listen while i'm in the kitchen cooking. I also let my son set one up in his room as a fun movie night once. I love that you can use these either in the house or vehicle and either as 2 seperate DVD players or as two players playing 1 movie. Well worth the price!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 14 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players
10/04/2011
By ,
san jose, california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought these two DVD players for our young sons for a long driving trip.
They worked perfectly without a hitch. The screens are big and the images are very clear.
The kids loved them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 15 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players

Thank you Phillips!!!

10/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought these for a cross country move and the kids were able to watch their own movies and help mom be able to drive without distraction!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 16 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players

Very nice!!

10/10/2011
By ,
Corydon, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love our new dvd players! Exactly what we wanted. Nice screen clarity, great sound and the perfect size. I'm happy and so are the kids!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 17 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players

Great for kids

02/19/2012
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dual sreen DVD player works great. Very easy to install! The only thing missing from this product is a remote control. It is very easy to use without but if Philips added a remote to this package it would make it just that much better. Dual screens are great but if you don't have a need for both then just go with a single screen system. I only have one child, a 21 month old girl and really just didn't need a second screen but it is nice to have if you have an extra passenger in the back. My advise to any parent is buy the Blu-ray disks that come with a regular dvd (if you have a home Blu-ray player). Having the disk package lets you keep a library in your vehicle and in the house. Depending on your vehicle, you may be able to hide the pwr cable and video cable. I have leather seats and there is a lip on the back side that I was able to tuck the thin cables into with no problems. The only exposed area is where it goes from the bottom of the seat to the cigarette lighter pwr socket. Do make sure you have a pwr socket near the back of the front seats otherwise you will need to run one. I have owned this for a couple weeks with no issues to speak of. I hope this review will help you out. I wish they had these when I was a kid!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players
04/14/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item to replace an older set of 7" (of a different brand) that no longer worked. We really put it to the test with a 16 hour road trip shortly after the purchase. They were great. Very easy for my two kids (ages 5 and 7) to use. They loved the option to watch the same or different movies. I concerned buying another set of 7" but after seeing the difference in store leaned toward the 9". The difference was a lot more than you would think. We also love the fact that the movie did not start over when they turned off. Also, we used them inside with the ac adapter and it stood very well and attached very easily back into the vehicle.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players

Having Philips send new ones :(

03/03/2012
By ,
Deer Park,Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was really excited about these but one of them won't play anything. They will share a a movie but one is messed up and won't play the dvd by itself. I got these because they were dual dvd players where my kids could each watch a separate movie. My kids are 7 and 2 and they don't always like watching the same movie. I will say Philips was great and really worked on trying to fix the problem but it just wouldn't work so they are sending me new ones and sending a shipping label to send these back. So, hopefully they will work right. If not I won't be happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Philips 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Players with 2 DVD players

Great product!

03/07/2012
By ,
lenoir, nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product to simply pacify my kids during a recent trip out of town. I loved the fact that they could watch their own movie. Hookup was easy for playing one movie on both screens and one on each screen. I personally got the 9in. version and the kids love it. The audio and picture are just as great. No problems what-so-ever! I think it was welll worth the money spent. Product came with everything to get going: headrest straps, AC adapter and car adapter. Didn't need to buy anything but a couple new movies.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next