Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

The small and sturdy Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB Video MP3 player hits the right notes with Philips FullSound to bring your music to life and Songbird for endless music discovery and easy synchronization. Plus, soft rubber earbuds ensure comfy music enjoyment.
Average Customer Rating:
4.101 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(138 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
35
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation86%113 out of 132reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
35
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

After 6 mo it won't turn on

03/12/2014
By ,
Anderson
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Loved it for the first 5 months, then started having trouble turning it off and on. Now it won't come on at all. It still comes up when you plug it in to recharge, but won't come on when you push the on button.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Review 2 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

A Real Secret

02/17/2012
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought my second Go Gear MP3 player because I like the ease with which it interfaces with Audible.com and because it has a great FM radio. I like to switch from radio to books as I please. This model makes it super easy once you realize audio books are in the music section and the radio is in it's own section, very easy. This model also has a stronger receiver than my last Go Gear did. I have not used the video yet. It is not my thing, although I am hoping to put my wedding video on it for some happy time. I think an MP3 player without a radio is a complete waste of money. I have had the Classic Ipod. It was OK, but no radio. Got rid of it. I think Philips products are completely under-rated. They are light weight, functional, small, and great sounding. The price is also good news. Thank you, Philip's for making such a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oregon coast
Great help!
Posted 12/29/2013
I was looking for something specifically for listening to my Audible audiobooks, so this review was a real blessing for me. Thank you so much!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

Great For the Price.

05/15/2012
By ,
Cambridge, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for use at work. I work 12 hour shifts running a CNC Lathe - that gets really boring if all you have to listen to are the voices in your head. This holds a lot of music. I've loaded over 100 cd's onto this and have only used up half its memory. They were not kidding about the battery life either. I listen to it through the entire 12 hour shift and still have 3/4 of juice left on it. I also listen to it while I mow my lawn - gotta crank it up for that though. The one small thing that bugs me about it is the playlists. There are only 3 of them and each one only holds 120 songs. I like a lot of different kinds of music and trying to create a playlist with a little of everything is hard to do. Not a huge problem though - I can deal. Overall, I wished I had bought this months ago and would definitely recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 4 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

Exellent Product and Value

01/24/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit based on price and appearance. My son likes his 2Gb unit I bought him a year ago, so I decided to go with this unit for myself. The unit looks like other brands that cost 50% more. You can select the background color for the display to suit your personality; blue, green, grey, pink or red. Easy to navigate through the screens to set various features. Numerous graphic equalizer standard settings and one that you customize. The earplugs have a soft rubber coating and are reasonably comfortable with excellent sound quality. I expected to have to replace them immediately. I was wrong. The software that comes with the unit is a combination of a music player and internet explorer. It syncs the unit and updates the software of the device upon connection. Excellent product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 5 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

Great Buy.

02/09/2012
By ,
Mid-west
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was asking for an apple ipod for Christmas but instead i got this. At first glance I thought'd it'd be pretty trashy but i found out otherwise. I go skiing with this mp3 player every week and its performed excellently. The battery life is phenomenal. I went one day and had it on for 7 hours straight without so much as a pause and the battery still showed more than 3/4 power and worked fine all the next day without a recharge. Its simple to use and transfer music and the layout is basic but comfortable. The screen size not as tall as a ipod nano's but i think it is a good bit wider. The radio is nothing to amazing but i can still get signal all over the place. And for so cheap of a price this is a great buy. I DEFENITLY RECOMMEND THIS MP3 PLAYER.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 6 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

Great sound and interface with one flaw

06/02/2012
By ,
Avalon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This MP3 player was purchased mainly to play high quality FLAC files through my home stereo. It does have the ability to do this, but I noticed that several songs in an album were not playing. The device would say unknown format or something and they would be skipped. I've since realized that it can only play FLACs with lower sample rates. Perhaps this limitation is a failure of the FLAC format to have consistently playable files by most FLAC-enabled devices, or maybe it is a Philips-imposed limitation. Either way, FLAC will not succeed if devices claiming to be able to play them can't play them all. I download free FLACs directly from band sites or net labels that do not charge for them, or ask merely for a small donation. The idea was to have a totally silent source device (quieter than a tape deck or CD player) that would play high quality digital files through my well-spec'd stereo. This has been achieved to some degree, but not to the level I'd hoped. Read the specs first if you're looking for a good FLAC player.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 7 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

This is a really good product

02/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
didnt really know what to expect buying my first mp3 player and was a little hesitant about the price since i really didnt want to spend more than $25 but i did and thought it would probably not even work or i wouldnt be able to even understand it but its farelly simple to use and the sound quality is amazing. its way more than i expected for my 1st mp3 player. i expected cheap breakable and ripped off but this is farelly durable and is a good price for its features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 8 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

Please Don't Buy This!

04/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this Philips 8GB in January 2012. By that summer the unit acted up when plugged in to my computer. A year later it messed up my computer. I would use my old computer to load it up with music files and use a wall charger to charge it up. Today the player crashed when plugged into the charger. Today I downloaded the latest software and driver and it made it worse. It will never play again because I smashed it. Now I use my COBY back-up which I bought in the summer of 2012 after the Philips started go give me trouble. Don't waste your money on this garbage like I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Review 9 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

My second Phillips Gogear Vibe, Great Mp3

01/25/2012
By ,
matthews, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My second phillips Gogear Vibe, great Mp3 player. I wanted more space, went from 4gb to 8gb
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Review 10 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

Good Start for a Cheap Music Player

02/05/2012
By ,
King George, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just bought this for $40 and so far it's a great cheap music player for the price.
The thing I like most so far is being able to skip the Songbird software installation altogether and just drag and drop my own mp3 files. After the files are copied over, I can use the "Music" category to browse by artist and album, or I can use "View Folders" to choose and play back by folder just as I dragged them over. No cumbersome synchronization or playlist creation process is needed to play back a music collection you already own and have tagged, especially if you still like to listen to whole albums or full-length concerts.
The biggest limitation is that the screen is way too small to actually enjoy watching any video or browsing through photos. It's only real usefulness for photos and videos would be as a portable backup or transport.
This model doesn't have an extra memory card slot, so you'll have to live with the 4GB or 8GB size that comes inside. This is really not a problem for me, however, because 8GB is still big enough to carry around 1,000 songs or more. This may, however, be a problem for someone else who wants to carry several videos around or is into lossless music formats that are bigger than mp3's.
The FM radio actually works a lot better than most others. I was able to pick up a lot of radio stations while sitting in my living room where most portable players can't pick up anything. I live on the outer fringe of reception areas between Washington, DC, and Richmond, VA, where I usually have a hard time picking up any radio stations indoors.
Navigation buttons and menu screens have actually gotten easy to use after I sat in the living room for about half an hour checking everything out. The only lingering problem I have is it's very easy to push the volume up or down by accident when I pick it up with my right hand to turn the power on or off, which is fairly common where I use it most while driving. Since I usually only need to turn the power on and off while I'm parked, however, even this is not a very big deal for me.
It's still too soon for me to say anything about the durability but nothing feels flimsy or cheap. At $40, I can afford to buy two and wouldn't be disappointed if each one lasts a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 11 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

Great sound...

01/26/2012
By ,
MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A little hard to put the music on it, had a much different format than my last mp3 player but once you get the hang of it its easy. Great sound and looks good too. Easy to connect to the computer via a usb cord. Works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Review 12 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

Quite Pleased

03/14/2012
By ,
Santa Clara, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm quite pleased with this MP3 player. It's my first one and I find it fairly easy to use. I had a little difficulty getting familiar with the Songbird software. It didn't seem very intuitive to me, but having got through it the first time it's working fine. I bought the player to listen to lectures while walking and the small size (easily fits in a pocket) and lock feature make it ideal for that. The sound is great and can be adjusted even while the other keys are locked. I'd recommend it to friends and I'll definitely consider other Philips products in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 13 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

great product

02/24/2012
By ,
Spring Lake, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with this MP3 player! The unfortunate part is, I had to load their Songbird software for some of my songs to work. But once it was loaded all the songs worked so I guess it was worth it. I like the look and the good quality feel of the player. I just wished there were other color varieties.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Review 14 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

Bad hardware and software

04/19/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After numerous restart attempts I figured out that I had to execute the Songbird software using "Run as Administrator" to keep it from crashing. A Google search of Songbird shows that many other dislike the program. Google it to see the many hassles that others are having.
It appears that unlike other brands you cannot move Overdrive digital audio books into the Audible folder. Because of this features such as bookmarks will not work.
After upgrading the firmware it worked for less than 4 hours of use. The GoGear ViBE has crashed and none of the buttons make the unit respond. I have tried pinning the reset button numerous time but it does not come back to life.
About the only good thing about the product is the nice set of earphones. This product is going to be returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+6points
Review 15 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

Good entry-MP3 for the money, but...

03/03/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros:
Good capacity value at $5/GB.
"whopping" 8 GB
Can play videos and pics.
FM tuner
Nice, short USB cable
Cons:
the build can be very bad quality. Specially, the front control buttons seem to be made of cheap, flimsy plastic. Does feel as if it was almost going to fall off.
Uncomfortable headphones
No FM recording (not essential to me anyway)
No RockBox build for this model.
Comes with Phillips "Songbird" which didn't feel like the best MP3 manager software ever, but rather bloatware. But you don't have to install it.
Would buy this again. I may actually get a second one for the car soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 16 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K
03/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good product - sounds great and the best feature is that you dont have to use or install any special program on the computer to load and delete music. Loving it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 17 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

Great all-around unit; worth every penny

04/19/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The sound quality of this unit (With "Full Sound") is exceptional. I have a pair of BOSE headphones and this just sounds great! This is a replacement for a player that lasted three years and then died. I really got to like the Phillips products, so I got another one. The "Songbird" software is great as well; it allowed me to get 1448 songs on my music player! It downloded most of the songs in my library, even ones that I hadn't heard for months. It works great and is lots of fun. Would reccomend to anyone who wants an exceptional mp3 player for a terriffic price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

great product for the money!!!

03/25/2012
By ,
berlin Nh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am new to mp3 players I am 59 and do not need anything eloborate. This Philips serves my purpose excellently. very pleased very satisfied!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 19 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

Unbelievable sound!

02/18/2012
By ,
Southington, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first GoGear I bought must have been a "lemon", so I had to return it (no problem).
I am more than satisfied with my replacement. It holds tons of songs, and I can't believe
how incredible the sound is. I hear instruments & words I never did before.
I would definitely recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 20 for Philips GoGear ViBE 8GB MP3 Video Player, SA3VBE08K

Very Pleased and Satisfied

03/22/2012
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this mp3 GoGear Vibe 8GM and I have fell in love with it. The sound quality is excellent you are getting a BANG for your BUCK! I just can't believe how compact and easy
this is for me to sync my music on it. I have a Apple Ipod and that's all I need to say you may know the rest so I'm very happy I found this on Wa-Mart Site and will use it faithfully. This is the full package for anyone looking for simple and the price is self explanitory! Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
1-20 of 93 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next