Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canon Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

Canon Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

The Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 12.1MP Ultra Zoom Camera lets you take stunning shots at 12.1MP resolution. The Canon 24-840mm wide-angle zoom lens features an impressive 35x optical zoom, so you can capture virtually any subject clearly. Improved Smart AUTO intelligently selects the proper settings for your shots based on 32 pre-defined shooting situations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.689 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(180 Reviews) 172
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
137
4 stars
31
3 stars
11
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation92%166 out of 180reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 49 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
137
4 stars
31
3 stars
11
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

Geat camera, just point and shoot!

12/24/2012
By ,
Patriot, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this camera. It is so easy to use and the zoom is amazing. Pictures are so clear. It is a lot of fun using the filter effects. Even if you aren't technically competent, the auto feature will do all the work for you--all you have to do is point and shoot!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

great camera

10/23/2012
By ,
Northwestren Panhandle of Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my Cannon 3 weeks before my daughters wedding. The pictures turned out beautiful and i am no way close to a professional. They were so clear and the zoom lens is great
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video
05/16/2012
By ,
Tinley Park, Il.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not ready for a for a digital SLR....so I bought the next best thing....the Canon SX40HS. 12.1 mp AND 35x Optical zoom was perfect for me. LOVE everything about the camera and the real test is this week. A trip to the Smokies and the Blue Ridge Parkway for a week.
All the pictures have come out great so far....and I like the little "getting started" manual that comes with the camera. Got a GREAT deal from Walmart for $349....I could not pass it up.
The controls are simple (thats the way I like it) and it's easy to use right out of the box. Looking forward to many good years ahead using it.
It works soooooo well...I may never feel the need to buy a SLR to get great pictures. If you are "on the fence" about buying this camera....come down from the fence and head to Walmart before they are ALL GONE!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

Great improvements

10/07/2011
By ,
Pacific Northwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: I purchased this camera the first day it became available, with the hopes that the low light performance issues of earlier models had been resolved. I am happy to say that the low light performance of this model is great. I have an earlier model, Canon PowerShot S5 IS, and was very happy with that camera but have found more "noise" in the photos than I would have liked. The new PowerShot SX40 HS, has improved low light performance, and improved image stablization. I took pics with both cameras for comparison, and have found amazing improvements with the SX40 over the earlier model. This camera takes great pictures.
Cons: My only two complaints are: 1) As is becoming more typical with manufacturers, you receive an abbreviated manual with the camera, but the more in depth manual is provided on disc. Somewhat inconvenient. 2) The lens cap doesn't stay on much better than previous models.
All things considered, I highly recommend this model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+121points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

VERY PLEASED WITH THIS CAMERA!!!

10/21/2011
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera yesterday to take to the Gr Smoky Mts. I was very pleases with the quality, clarity and color of the shots I took. I have a Nikon D5000 DSLR and the shots I took today were very close in comparison to my much more expensive nikon. I bought this camera because with my nikon It is very difficult to carry a large camera bag with 3 lenses around on a senic outing/hike. I have previously owned a Canon SX20 and this camera takes much better shots. I only bought this camera for pictures as i don't take videos so i can't coment on the video capabilities. All the early reviews I read about this camera were right on. I would definetly recomend this camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

Easy to use, and great quality images!

12/05/2011
By ,
Richmond, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera is a great compromise for someone who wants all the ease of a point and shoot camera, along with the image quality of a DSLR. It's beginner-friendly -- most everything is self explanatory, and the camera guide (on a disk) is comprehensive. There are also enough manual controls to satisfy photographers with more experience. I've been using my new camera for around two weeks now, and have no problems whatsoever. The images are consistently clear and sharp, even in low light. The zoom is, of course, fantastic. I'd definitely recommend this to a friend! While it is expensive, it's very much worth the cost.
Just don't forget to order your SD card! It's not included, and there is no internal memory!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

Love this camera

04/18/2012
By ,
Jonesboro, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a camera that would take good pictures in school gym and low lighting, this camera does an awesome job for both. The zoom is amazing. I have just used a few settings and the pictures turned out awesome. There are several settings you can use for the more advanced or you can put it on auto for a basic point and shoot with not so basic results. I read a lot of reviews and this camera had the best reviews for the price range I was able to afford. I absolutely love this camera, it exceeds all my hopes and expectations. I would buy it again or recommend it in a heartbeat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

Feature rich camera

10/29/2012
By ,
Trona, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This camera has a wide angle, non changeable lens with a decent optical zoom. I really like the wide angle because it enables me to get everything I want into a single frame. It's a very good package of features that one would normally have to upgrade to the pricier models like the Rebel in order to get. Although I have not used the video feature much yet, it can shoot in true 1080 HD and also has high speed feature that enables one to shoot awesome slow motion movies. I particularly wanted the moveable LCD display because it can be pivoted so I can take the picture and be in it too, while being able to see the output for compostion adjustment.
What I am not particularly fond of is the location of some feature buttons on the hand grasp because I often "one hand" it and accidently activate some function I didn't intend to by "fat fingering" them. It's just a matter of getting used to the grip, I think.
The sale price was $100 off which makes it worth it to upgrade over the usual point and shoot compact digitals that Canon makes.
This is my personal camera purchase but I also purchased this model for my work because it has a second to none macro feature that is quite amazing for fine, very close up, shots. I've been using this model at work for about 8 months so was aware of it's capabilities before I purchased my own.
Combine all of this with a 12.1mp picture quality ccd with decent optics and it's a deal.
By the way, be sure to purchase at least the 16GB X10 high speed card for it to utilize its fast transfer speeds and reduce cycle time between shots.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

Excellent camera at a good price.

01/06/2013
By ,
Lansdale, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video is typical Canon well built and thought out package. I have used Powershot cameras for years and am rarely disappointed. The camera shoots well in low light situations, and with 12MP resolution, keeps the picture focused. It offers a range of shooting senarios, and includes rapid fire photos for action shots. Controls are well thought out and placed in convenient places. The HD video is controled from a single button on back that has a red dot. The 35x optical zoom is only surpassed by the newer SX50 HD, which also features WIFI. The 2.7 LCD screen is bright and crip and easy to see. It folds out for self portrait veiwing, or folds down on the back. A single button control can switch to a veiwfinder, or simply fold the LCD down. The SX40 has everything I was looking for in a digital camera, at an affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

Camera has great options

12/03/2011
By ,
Missoula, MT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really liked everything about the camera. Battery lasted well and took great shots. Only thing wrong is that there is no paper manual. Being on a disk is not always user friendly. But I really like my camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video
08/23/2012
By ,
Sanilac County, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted something that I could use at my daughters sporting events, and this camera is excellent for that. Every picture I've taken has been clear and crisp....even in the sports setting. I've had this camera a little over a month, and I've taken hundreds of pictures. If anything, that is my only complaint: All the pictures are so good, I find it hard to delete them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

Great Camera for the price!!

05/23/2012
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Canon PowerShot SX40 HS to take on an upcoming vacation. I wanted to give myself time to experiment with all the features prior to my trip. The camera has met all of my expectations. I have been very satisfied with the user-friendly settings. I even tried taking a picture of the moon---I was absolutely blown away!! I simply held the camera one early monring and zoomed in and captured an amazing view of the moon. I can't wait to take it on my cruise. Thanks Canon!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

Great Camera

05/28/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great camera, takes beautiful pictures and is easy to use. Definitely the way to go if looking for a good quality camera for a decent price, not top of the line but you wouldn't know it with the way the pictures come out. Only negative comment I have is that I would like for it to take pictures a little quicker in sequence but maybe I just haven't figured out how to do that yet since I've only had it for two weeks. Either way I would definitely recommend this camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

Awesome camera, amazing pictures

06/09/2012
By ,
Palm Bay Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great wildlife point and shoot camera. Picture and video quality are exceptional.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

Great camera for the price.

09/29/2012
By ,
covington georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this camera rather than a digital SLR and I am amazed at all the functions in this camera. Picture quality is great as are the videos. Cannon support for this camera is great. I called cannon support with a few simple questions and all were answered and I was given several web sites to refer to for even more info.
Overall all I give this camera 5 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

Great for some shots

03/30/2012
By ,
Nebraska
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After much debate between an SLR and this camera, I decided that I didn't really need an SLR and chose the Power Shot for the high mp and zoom. The zoom is fantastic but I am not happy with the action shots this camera takes. My kids are young and are not in intensive sports yet, so I thought the Powershot would be adequate for what I needed. I was so unhappy with the Powershot, after taking it to a camera shop to verify I had the settings right I then ended up getting a Canon Rebel SLR. However I do still like the Powershot for the 35x zoom an SLR lens that gives you a similar zoom would cost a fortune so I still use my Powershot but for any active shots you can't beat an SLR.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

is okay

05/09/2012
By ,
sandy ridge, nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i just purchased this camera. the 35x zoom is awesome. the battery life is great. it does seem a little heavy and bulky for my busy lifestyle. i wish it had an automatic lens cover , rather than a lens cap. i feel like with 2 young boys, traveling and everything that the lens will get scratch.
i wish i could find a point and shoot close to this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

Good pics but issues

10/31/2011
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera to replace 2 new Kodak Z990s that possessed the same issue of the clock going off by 4 hours every day, and then being right for 20 hours. I am glad I made the change. The SX40 is much, much easier to change settings in manual mode, has more zoom, and tells the correct time 24 hours a day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

Amazing camera

05/28/2012
By ,
Hale, michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera is loaded with features that you would only find on high-end cameras. Need to order a SD card, which is not included to make it work? Great telephoto lens.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera w/ 35X Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video

Great camera, just terrible customer service!

01/09/2013
By ,
Minnesota
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had my camera about 5 months, and loved it. Took great pictures. Then I had to send it in cause the card reader quit working. Under warranty so it didn't cost me anything. But gone almost 3 weeks to get it fixed. Worked great when I got it back. Then just before the warranty is up, the screen started blacking out and getting a lot of blurred pictures. So, once again sent it in. waited over 2 weeks and heard nothing, they are supposed to let me know what needs to be done, and estimate on time. When I called in, they said oh oops, someone was supposed to call you a week ago to get picture samples. I had already emailed them in. Guess they got lost, so once again sent more pics. Then another few days later they decide they can't figure it out, so they send it back as is! Want to do a troubleshoot over the phone with me having the camera. When I got it, I took a few pics to check it out. Blacked out within a few minutes. So I called back, they say send it back and we will check again!! So more time goes by, and then they say they will replace it. With not a new camera, a used refurbished one. Just got nothing but runaround and treated very rudely, they ask if I know the camera has a power saving feature that shuts off the screen after a minute? Had it for a year, and I guess I didn't know that...
Love the camera, when it works, but the customer service is BAD!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1 2 3 Next