Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st - onBoard 35 Infant Car Seat, Orion Blue

Safety 1st Safety 1st - onBoard 35 Infant Car Seat, Orion Blue

The Safety 1st - onBoard 35 Infant Car Seat offers an enjoyable and comfortable car ride to your baby. It is side-impact tested and immediately reduces forces with a precise release of air in the event of a car crash. This side impact tested car seat is ideal for babies weighing up to 35 pounds. Unlike other infant car seats, this rear-facing car seat offers 17% more leg room. To ensure child safety, this infant car seat keeps the seat sturdy with the base belt lock.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation86%12 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Safety 1st - onBoard 35 Infant Car Seat, Orion Blue

Great carseat

01/01/2012
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We registered for this car seat secondary to it being one of the recommended products on consumer reports. My son is in the 95th percentile for height, and by four months he grew out of his Evenflo infant car seat (because his feet would severely hang off the edge). I am a stickler for safety, and if Consumer Reports says this is the one, then it is the one for my family. Hopefully this will last until we can buy a bigger forward facing car seat (1 year old). The only negative is the carrying handle is finicky to move forwards and backwards sometimes... and does not have an ergonomic shape. Overall, I would buy this product again.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Extended rear facing :)
Posted 02/16/2012
Hi! I just wanted to let you know that his feet hanging off the edge are not a safety issue. I am a certified Child Passenger Safety Technician and I just felt that I had to let you know. I also wanted to let you know that it is much, much safer to keep your little one rear facing up to a minimum of 2 years old, so when he outgrows this infant seat, it's better to buy a convertible car seat that rear faces to at least 35 lbs. Also, consumer reports doesn't really know much at all about car seats, even though they claim to. However, they are correct about this being a good seat. The best place to go for car seat information is car-seat.org. :)
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Safety 1st - onBoard 35 Infant Car Seat, Orion Blue

Great Seat! Great Price!

09/29/2012
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this car seat! I orriginally had a Graco Sungride and used it for my older son but he grew out of it by the time he was 3 months old. (It has 22 lb weight restrictions and 29'' hight restriction# He was in the 90th percentile for hight and weight. Once he outgrew the snugride we just bought him his toddler seat and took him in and out every time. With my new baby we knew from the time he was born #birth weight 9.6 lbs# that we wanted to get a new infant seat with higher hight and weight limits so that he could use it longer than 3 months. I did a lot of reserch and we just couldn't afford most of the seats that have these higher limits. I came accross this one and instantly loved the price, and soon after reading up on it I loved the reviews too! Now my son is 7 months old and we love this seat and have since we first got it. He seems very comfortable in it and still has lots of room to grow as he is 20 lbs and using the third strap hole setting. The only downfall is it is a bit heavy to carry around but I am just now feeling that way and he is a big boy so that is not all the seat. Oh and the canopy is quite flimsy, you have to use both hands to retact it or else just one side will move. That however doesnt bother me. I am just pleased with this seat and plan to use it untill he grows out of it, which will probably get me another 6 months or more! The pattern is ver cute too and cleans up great I love that I can take it off and throw it in the washer machine! I hope this helps, I rely on reviews so I wanted to pay it forward!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Safety 1st - onBoard 35 Infant Car Seat, Orion Blue
11/07/2011
By ,
Providence, RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, this product was everything I expected. You cannot beat the price. My 2 problems were 1) The seat is not very cushioned. I would have hoped for a softer seat, especially for an infant, and 2) The canopy is really flimsy. My 4-year-old was checking out his baby brother's car seat, and I kept having to ask him not to touch it because I thought it would break. He is not a rough kid. The canopy has to be moved with 2 hands, one on each side, or it gets caught up.
I had a Graco with my first son, and I like this one much better. It is lighter and will keep my 2nd son in an infant seat longer. My 1st son was big and outgrew the weight requirements of the infant seat before he turned one.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Safety 1st - onBoard 35 Infant Car Seat, Orion Blue

Hawaiianbuckeye

11/20/2012
By ,
Newark, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a carseat tech & my sister-n-law just had her baby 2 mos early. He was supposed to be a CHRISTmas baby, but ended up being a pumpkin baby @ 4#9oz. Being discharged 2 weeks after being born @ 4#4oz, I am so glad I chose this seat for them! He needed a seat that started at 4#! It was super easy to install with LATCH! Thank You Safety 1st! Love the seat!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Safety 1st - onBoard 35 Infant Car Seat, Orion Blue
03/26/2012
By ,
OBX, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am super happy with this car seat. It's easy to install and use. It is so easy and light that my 7 year old son can help with it. I would definitely recommend this to any mom looking for a safe, comfortable, easy to use car seat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Safety 1st - onBoard 35 Infant Car Seat, Orion Blue

great carseat

01/23/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have twin boys and these car seats were perfect. they have the extra leg room and are so cozy and worked for when they came home from nicu at 5lbs until now at 20 lbs. easy to carry. great buy!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
onboard 35
Posted 08/20/2012
im having twin boys too, and i really like this car seat. what stroller did you get that goes with the car seats? im having trouble.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Safety 1st - onBoard 35 Infant Car Seat, Orion Blue
04/14/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't care about the sun roof thingy. Yes, it's flimsy but that's not the most important thing about this carseat. Everything is strong, durable, and heavy. It feels strong and safe, and my baby is very secure in it. It's easy to install and to use after reading the directions very well. I would like to remind parents that you are NOT supposed to place carseats on top of shopping carts. It's dangerous. It says so in the carseat booklet! The carseat can tip over and smack the ground, putting your baby in harm's way.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Safety 1st - onBoard 35 Infant Car Seat, Orion Blue

Bad Choice

10/25/2013
By ,
Allen, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After looking on Consumer Reports, I ordered this car seat which ( according to Wal-Mart.com) was for an infant. When I received it and took it out of the box, there were several things missing. The instruction manual , the 5 point safety harness, the snuggie to keep a newborn in place and a lot more. Very unhappy with Wal Mart on this purchase and of course they do not carry the real infant ones in stock.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Safety 1st - onBoard 35 Infant Car Seat, Orion Blue

Great carseat!

11/19/2012
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this after finding out the one I had was recalled. So I had to quickly pick one out since it was just a week before my son was due to be induced. I really like it! I love the Safety 1st brand, I had one with my last son but I had given it to a family member for their little one. So I knew I wanted another Safety 1st, I also liked the colors. Upon getting it I really liked how light weight it felt and I love the colors and how easy it was to put into my vehicle. So far I am very satisfied with this product!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Safety 1st - onBoard 35 Infant Car Seat, Orion Blue

Good for what I needed

03/25/2013
By ,
Houma, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a carrier for my 21lb 8 month old that would still fit in a stroller. I could of gotten a larger one, but then I would've had to wake him up every time I took him out. I got a larger infant carrier just to buy some time until hes about a year old. it's definitely bigger than the other one that only went up to 24 pounds. Overall, I'm pretty satisfied. My only complaint is that the canopy is really too short.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Safety 1st - onBoard 35 Infant Car Seat, Orion Blue

Doesn't seem comfortable for baby.

08/10/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had a safety first for my daughter 3 years ago and it was super soft. So I ordered this one just for the brand not really fond of the color. It was very hard, does'nt seem like baby will be comfortable. I have 4 weeks to go so I will try to find another one I likebetter.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Safety 1st - onBoard 35 Infant Car Seat, Orion Blue

Safety 1st 0nBoard 35 infant seat

07/07/2012
By ,
Mandan, ND
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This car seat is very easy to use. I wish you could adjust the latch over the legs, but other than that it is a great seat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Safety 1st - onBoard 35 Infant Car Seat, Orion Blue
06/02/2012
By ,
Stockbridge
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 1 year old seams very comfortable in it. The colors are lightly "creamy" and pleasant.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Safety 1st - onBoard 35 Infant Car Seat, Orion Blue
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5