Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Eclipse Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Eclipse Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

The Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel is a versatile curtain choice for your child's room. It features Thermaback construction that blocks out over 99 percent of light and reduces outdoor noise. The kids' blackout curtain has the innovative foam-back construction that reduces unwanted noise and light, providing the perfect dark environment for an afternoon nap or early bedtime. The curtain keeps out the warmth in the summer and cold in the winter, reducing your heating and cooling utility bills. The printed weave design of this energy-efficient curtain panel will blend with the decor of any bedroom, providing an excellent alternative to solid curtains. This noise reducing curtain is made of 100% polyester and requires a simple machine wash and tumble dry. It is available in various colors, including blue, pink, khaki, purple, and green. You will need a minimum of two window panels on a standard or decorative rod for optimal coverage.
Average Customer Rating:
3.337 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
25
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation61%62 out of 101reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
25
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

Whiteout instead of Blackout

12/24/2012
By ,
Omaha, NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased these thinking that they would be a great way to keep the bedroom dark for my son and have a bit of style. I don't understand how the company can advertise "99% of light" when they do little more than a thin cotton curtain would. Additionally, the lining on the back is quite rigid, causing them to hang stiffly like a plastic shower curtain would. Very disappointed and will be returning them.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

DON'T WASH THEM!!!

09/30/2013
By ,
Morgan city, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought my daughter the purple dot curtains for her room.... I hung the up and the looked great in her room... But they smelled really bad so I decided to wash them... Well that was a bad idea... I washed them in cold water as the direction indicated... well when I took them out of the washer the curtains were ruined... The back of the curtains had gotten suck together in the wash... WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY!!!! Oh and they do not block out the light either!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 3 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

Perfect for girls playroom

08/15/2013
By ,
Austin, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't need it to block out the light and it doesn't do a good job of that anyway. They are super cute. Was going to buy pottery barn pink dot curtains but these are so much better and cheaper for the same look.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 4 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

Favorite Curtains

12/08/2012
By ,
South Central Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We live in a 100yr old farm house in the middle of Nebraska. We purchased 3 of the solid eclipse blackout thermal panels for our livingroom hoping they would help out our electric bill (our farm is all electric.) They did an amazing job, much better than I expected them to. They block out most of the light and help keep the heat out during the summer and cold out during the winter. We liked them so much we bought 2 of the pink pokadot ones for one of the upper bedrooms and 2 purple dot ones for another bedroom. When our oldest daughter decides what color she wants her room to be we'll purchase 2 for her room. These curtains work great for what they are supposed to do. Yes they are thick but like another commenter said we're not snuggling them, they are there to block out the chill/heat. We have been very impressed with these and will be purchasing many more (at least 7) in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 5 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel
04/14/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok I read many reviews and went to the store to buy these so I could look at them. You get one panel in the package and true they do not block all the light. They do feel somewhat cheap but hey they are... They are really cute in my little girls room and she loves the polka dots. We have blinds behind them so a lot of the light was already reduced by them. I had the sheer curtains in her room until this morning at 7 am (when I wanted to sleep in) and she said the sun is up mama I can get up. I figured with these the sun would be block some so that it didn't wake her up. I feel they will do just what I purchased them for. If you have ever bought the cheap table clothes (not the $1 ones) but the ones with the material on top. That are similar to those but thicker. They back is not plastic but a thick vinyl (I think) If you want a nice complete black out curtain these are not for you but if you are looking for something that is inexpensive and will reduce the light and still look cute you may want to check these out. Good luck on looking.
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 6 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

Love These!!!

11/25/2012
By ,
UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know what's up with the bad reviews about these curtains. I have them in ALL my kids rooms. I absolutely love them! THey are super cute, they come in great colors. Of course they are stiff, they are blackout curtains. My kid isn't going to be rolling up in them for bed so that doesn't matter to me. They don't completely blackout the light but they do a MUCH better job than any curtain you'll find. Love the polka dot curtains! So cute in any kids room!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 7 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

Does *NOT* Block Light

08/18/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought these in the Light Purple with White Dots for our nursery. They look great, and feel good, but the fact is, they don't block any light.
The nursery is on the West side of the house, and with no trees, it gets full sun during the day until dusk.
We just tried these, and even with it being very overcast/hazy today, they let almost all of the light through. I could still see the white mini blinds behind them.
We bought these because of the variety of colors, and the value....but if it doesn't even come close to doing what it's supposed to, there is no value.
These are going to be returned to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+45points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Leesville, LA
Doubling up helps
Posted 08/04/2013
I doubled ours with a white sheer panel and it helped a lot. I purchased a Mainstays double curtain rod which wraps around the sides. I feel like this blocks enough sun (we have a west-facing nursery too) without making the room too dark.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

"Corn Chip" Smelling Curtains.

04/12/2013
By ,
Clarksville, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Am I the only person who thinks these curtains have a funny smell? I have washed them 3 times already, since hanging them - to try and get rid of the "corn chip" smell they have. It's very disappointing, as it's making my nursery smell weird. :( I even washed them using vinegar, hoping it would eliminate the smell altogether. No luck so far. They don't keep out the light as advertised, but I do think they're a cute addition to the room - my biggest issue with them is the smell. Just wondering if anyone else noticed it and had this problem? And if so, were you able to get rid of it?
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+6points
Review 9 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

Decent

10/01/2014
By ,
Reno, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good curtain panels. I got these to cover my closet since I did not like my closet doors (too big, couldn't access all parts of closet, etc). Due to this I'm not sure if they block out light or not, but they don't seem like they would, even though they have a fairly nice backing I think they'd just be too thin. They arrived extremely wrinkled with very obvious square folds due to being crammed in a small bag and there is only one per package. I am scared to wash them since for a different reviewer washing them ruined the curtains. The length is disappointing because the full length is what I needed; but there are two pockets for the rod to go into; if you use the 2nd pocket, the top pocket creates really adorable ruffles, but if you use the first pocket, no ruffles at the top. First pocket is the full length as listed. The color in the pictures is more candy colored pink, the actual coloring is softer but still bright.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

What smells?!?

01/30/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased the purple/lilac color with white polka dots a bout two weeks ago for my daughter's bedroom. I didn't notice the smell at first, but a day after hanging them up, I walked into her room and smelled what I thought was urine. I looked (and sniffed) everywhere to find the smell. It was coming from the new curtains. So I took them down and washed them (soaked them in a vinegar and baking soda solution), and they still smell. I was curious if anyone else had this same problem with these curtains, so it went online and found that some did. One person said it was only the purple ones, which makes me think it's the dye. Another review on the site described it as a "corn chip" smell, which I completely agree with as well. They're cute curtains, but the smell is too strong. I'll be returning them.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 11 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

nice value but not great

01/17/2013
By ,
Harrisonburg, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The reviews for these curtains mentioned the fabric but I figured they were exaggerating. They were not. They are extremely plastic-like to the point I can't use tie backs without them looking ridiculous. The color is true though. The polka dots are bigger than I thought they'd be but visually they look cute in my daughter's room. I would spend a little more next time and get some better curtains.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 12 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

Looks beautiful and functions as described

08/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a cheaper option for my baby girl's room. I needed it to be light pink, long, and block out a lot of light. We have blinds, so we needed to add something else to make it darker during nap times and early morning. These work great! They are sturdy and beautiful. After we put them up, the room had an all new look to it. They just fit perfectly. Just note that it only comes with one panel, so if you want two, you will need to order two packages. The window we have is very wide and one panel wasn't enough to cover it. I had it shipped to the store and it arrived in about 2 days, much sooner than I expected. Very pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 13 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

Not blackout at all!

05/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned these to the store because they are not blackout at all. They let as much light thru as a regular curtain.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 14 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel
11/15/2012
By ,
Clifton Park, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These curtains are very stiff and do not block any light. Will be returning today.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

Not great not bad

01/27/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First they are really cute and they do have little white polka dots all over that you can't see in the picture. They are really stiff, I did not wash or put mine in the dryer because of other reviews I have read. They really don't seem to block out any more light then any other curtains so if that's your reason for buying you'll be disappointed. Mine did NOT have any weird smell. Overall they were the color we needed, the price was great, they do block out some light and we really like the polka dot's so we are very happy with them.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

Great price, cute curtains!

09/24/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought these for our guest bedroom which has a vintage Miami feel too it. They are perfect, really fun, and look great in the room. Only issue is that they are a little stiff, especially when they fist come out of the package. Lots of strange folds, but the instructions say you can iron the pattern side to get rid of them. Haven't done so yet, and the creases are already much better from just hanging for about a week. They kinda smell weird, but that went away too. Just be aware that it's not totally light blocking, but it makes a major dent in a sunny room. The room is yellow, so it's sun city in there. These totally help. Unless you have special made curtains to get that hotel room blackout feel (which can be over a thousand dollars), you likely aren't going to get that with any product. They are by no means magic, but for under $13 a panel these were a total steal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 17 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

Smelly Curtains

02/11/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very cute curtains, but smell awful! They did not smell when taken out of package. I am going to try hanging them outside today. I should have bought more expensive curtains.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 18 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

Just ok

02/15/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not as thermal or blackout as I would have liked
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 19 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

Cute, but not room darkening

01/29/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These curtains are really cute and you can't beat this price. It calls them blackout curtains which they definitely are not. It would be nice if they sold them in a shorter length. Overall, they were a good buy & i would recommend them to a friend - just not for blackout purposes.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Eclipse Kids Dots Blackout Thermal Window Panel

Pretty Curtains!

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 2nd set of Eclipse Kids curtains I've purchased. I'm happy with both sets. They are cute and fun with the polka dots, and they block out a great deal of light for naptime. They also help with drafts from the window. I would definitely buy them again, especially at such a great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next