Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sally Hansen Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Sally Hansen Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Apply Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat over any dry nail color for a crackle effect. Seal with a top coat for extra shine.
Average Customer Rating:
3.708 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation77%36 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Glitter and Crackle

10/29/2012
By ,
San Jose, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The black crackle with glitter is not as opaque and dark black as some of the other crackle brands I've used but it goes on easily and crackles nicely. The added glitter is a nice touch I haven't seen on other brands. My daughter and I are using this for Halloween but it would look nice for everyday wear if you like the crackle style polish. The price is much better than the original crackle polishes.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Looks amazing

06/18/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the picture attached I applied Sally Hansen Crackle Ink over a white base polish from another brand. The Crackle dries pretty fast and looks amazing. I would recommend this product. I want to try the blue, pink, and white next.
The great thing about this polish is that it cover cracks well formed in the base polish. It gives your nails that edgy look. Experiment with solid base colors or for an extra-look an opaque dark glitter base polish.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Love this nail polish!

10/25/2012
By ,
San Francisco, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little hesitant to use this type of nail polish. I usually stay away from the fancy design overcoats because they're difficult to use or require too many steps. But this one works great! I polished my nails with a bright mango color (also one of Sally Hansen's) then applied the Crackle Overcoat. It came out perfect. People thought I got my nails done at the salon and were shocked when I said I did them myself. It also last a long time and makes my nails feel stronger. Can't wait to try the other colors!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Manis @ home made easy

03/08/2012
By ,
Poughkeepsie, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i always paint my nails at home then smudge or ruin them before they dry so the crackle is a god send! i just paint them let them dry for about an hour then use the crackle it covers my little mistakes & makes my nails look great! Use a THIN coat for the crackle look like the top of the bottle has & a THICK coat gives you an almost paint splatter look. i tried it out on my toes first just to get the hang of it. Im ordering more colors for spring LOVE IT!!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Fun and unique

01/09/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Vintage Violet at my local store, it took a few uses to get the hang of it. If you are in a hurry you dont want to use this product, you have to let the base coat dry completely dry before attempting to put the crackle coat on. You also want to apply the crackle coat lightly on the base coat to get the exact look on the bottle it gets blotchy if you try to do a heavy coat.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Cool look

05/09/2012
By ,
MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have mixed feelings about this overcoat. I bought the ink splatter and I put it over hot pink nailpolish and it looked okay. I like to use it on my toes because it helps cover up my mistakes. When you're going to use this, plan to spend alot of time because it takes a while to dry. I don't like it too much on my fingernails because it just looks like too much is going on, I think it's more for teens.
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Great crackle effect

10/26/2012
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the Sage Smash color of this (which is a really pretty sparkly green color). It works well, but plan to practice and re-do a few nails to get the hang of how much you should apply (don't try it for the first time when you are in a hurry!). As previous reviews mentioned - if you apply too much it looks blotchy and not as nice. Anyway, I love that you can just apply it over any color you want to get a different look, and the crackle effect is something fun and different. I think next time I will be able to apply it much more quickly now that I've figured it out.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

11/14/2013
By ,
Dothan, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was so pretty when I put it on. By the end of the night, it had already started peeling off. I was very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Interesting Look

10/25/2012
By ,
San Bruno, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It took two tries to get the desired effect of this nail polish. I first tried this nail polish over a different brand nail polish and didn't quite get the desired look. Although I did get compliments on the glittery effect, it didn't quite have the crackled effect shown on the bottle. The key to using this nail polish is to ensure that the base coat is completely dry and the overcoat is thin. It also helps to use the same brand base polish. When done correctly, it does give the crackle effect.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat
08/22/2013
By ,
virginia beach
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought it for my grandaughter and had it shipped to her in Arkansas. She loves it - could not get it out of the package fast enough - was going to wear it the first day of school. She wants the other colors now!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Sparkly Green Crackle Effect

11/09/2012
By ,
San Francisco, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This nail polish is a nice overcoat to add a little spunk to your color. Once you put on the base color add the sparkle overcoat after the base coat dries. I applied the sparkle wet over the wet base color - and that doesn't work as well. As long as you apply it the correct way this will work great!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Easy to Use

10/30/2012
By ,
San Mateo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the coral collide and used it with a purple/silver base color. The overcoat crackle is so easy to use. You just apply it like a top coat and the color will instantly "crack" and give you a real cool professional effect. I applied 2 top coatings to give it a more dramatic crackle effect.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Fabulous Crackle!

10/25/2012
By ,
Foster City, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product. I love it so much. It gives great effect to my nails. The coating lasts for a long time. It dries up soon and doesn't get mess up. It always looks fresh and shining. Such an amazing one... I would surely recommend this crackle to all my friends. Worth in buying it...
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Makes your nails more interesting

10/25/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this overcoat mainly because it makes any manicure interesting and fun. I love that the whole look is different depending on the color on the bottom. It makes me feel like I got way more for my money, since I'm always getting tired of my nail colors.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Cute topcoat that made my nails so pretty!

10/25/2012
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the Coral Collide color. I painted it on top of many other base colors including Dark Purple, Pink, and Blue. All of which looked really good. It's a quick way of making your nails extra special!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat
11/02/2012
By ,
San Bruno, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When you apply one coat of this over a plain nail polish, it gives a shimmery sparkly effect. Very pretty for parties, festivals, etc. They have really nice colors too.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Great Crackle Effect

11/28/2012
By ,
san bruno, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was for my teen daughter and she loved it. She mentioned that it "crackled" really well. She used the black with a bright color underneath.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Batch 2130 White -BAD!!!!!!

08/05/2012
By ,
Columbus,NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The white from batch 2130 of crackle overcoat is bad batch. Otherwise the other ones are great. As an artist I use them over my paintings to give them that new age look.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat

Fun Product !!!

10/24/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you love doing something different, this product is for you. Easy to use and does exactly what it is supposed to do.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat
Based on the average of (29) ratings-only reviews
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5