Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bower Bower SLY500PC High-Power 500mm Telephoto Lens for Canon

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Bower Bower SLY500PC High-Power 500mm Telephoto Lens for Canon

The Bower SLY500PC High-Power 500mm Telephoto Lens for Canon is a manual, multi-coated T-mount lens that yields sharp images with impressive peak contrast and well-controlled flare. This lens works on full-frame and APS-C digital Canon SLR cameras, however, for best results, use with monopod, tripod or chest supports to minimize shake. It has a 67mm filter thread and includes a universal tripod mount, black lens pouch and one T-mount adapter for digital Canon EOS cameras.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation57%4 out of 7reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bower SLY500PC High-Power 500mm Telephoto Lens for Canon

Decent Lens for the Price

04/16/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A lot of people who would buy this lens most likely do not know how to use the len. The Bower SLY500pc is actually everything I was looking for in a high powered lens. I love how it is completely manual. When I did film photography there was no auto focus, you had to know what you were doing, so this lens made me feel right at home. Though it says 500mm focal range, I would say it is more close to 400mm. It is light enough that if you shoot with a High ISO, and Shutter you do not need a tripod, For low lighting you will need a tripod, and a shutter trigger which Walmart does sell also. The Mount that I got was for Canon EF/EOS but what I love is I spent some extra money and bought a mount for my Olympus OM-10 and it works great with the film. For Starting out photographers, I would not suggest this, but for people who have a lot of time behind the camera this lens is good quality, for the price of others that are 1000 dollars or more.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 2 for Bower SLY500PC High-Power 500mm Telephoto Lens for Canon

35mm vs Digital

07/04/2012
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a friend take our wedding photos (married 28 apr 2012) who had a nice Digital camera, pictures turned out great! So, I asked Kevin (My bud) how much the camera was...WOW! But, I wanted to get better pictures at low cost for my manual camera.
When I had gotten home, the day after I had received the lens.... A nest with 4-5 babies and the parents hugging in the nest... without this lens I would not have the great photos I have (FYI..bird nest was about 300-400 feet away). Also I did not have to spend billions on a new camera...it is a win win...great Item.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 3 for Bower SLY500PC High-Power 500mm Telephoto Lens for Canon

Not bad,fixed zoom,manual focus,clear view

12/01/2012
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Using on Canon Rebel T3i. Lens does well. Fixed zoom, manual focus,doesn't allow full function of the flash especially the top mount flashes. That is where the higher end lenses do well, this lens should be use with a camera tripod (lens has tripod mount that works well) and should be used with a remote shutter otherwise the slightest movement, even wind will cause pics to blur (does not have image stabilizer) remember this is a low cost lens without the extras.
I'd recommend this for those on a tight budget and want a decent quality telephoto lens for longer range without disturbing wildlife, etc
I have attached a photo that was taken using the lens @ approximately 90+/- yards away
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 4 for Bower SLY500PC High-Power 500mm Telephoto Lens for Canon
01/13/2012
By ,
oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This lens is not an auto focus lens like the Description says that it is I tryed to use it its worthless I even called Bower and asked them how to get it to auto focus they said that it dosent and that walmart needs to to fix the description. The guy I talked to at bower said that this lens is only good for stationary objects. Will not work on anything that moves. So whats the point in having this kind of zoom if you can just walk closer? save you money the only reason it gets on star is becuase you cant give a half star
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+19points
Review 5 for Bower SLY500PC High-Power 500mm Telephoto Lens for Canon

great lens for the money

03/23/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great lens for the money need to use a tri-pod and cable release though but you are only paying $110 for a 500mm lens i have taken great shots of all kinds of wild life around the south west and desert if you take the time to learn how to use this lens it will work great for you. great lens if you dont want to spend $1500 for an AF IS lens.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 6 for Bower SLY500PC High-Power 500mm Telephoto Lens for Canon

GREAT DEAL!

05/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've seen a couple poor reviews on here for this lens but I cant figure out where they are coming from! I'm not an expert in cameras by any means and I was worried I wouldnt be able to work this or get a good photo, but everything was so self explanatory and the photos turn out fantastic. In the day light I can shoot writing on buildings 3 blocks away! w/ the FStop8 you need a fair amount of light, and at this distance you'll need a tripod, but for the price this lens is fantastic.
+4points
Review 7 for Bower SLY500PC High-Power 500mm Telephoto Lens for Canon
03/02/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
info. given is not all true. not a good connection to all cameras that its pose to attach to.. shutter barely opens..
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+3points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bower SLY500PC High-Power 500mm Telephoto Lens for Canon
Based on 1 ratings-only review
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5