Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cap Barbell CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

Cap Barbell CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

The CAP Barbell Weight Set is the perfect starter bench for people looking to get fit at home. This deluxe bench with 100 lbs weight set is designed with a compact frame — constructed with steel tubing, foam rollers, comfortable high density seat and a cushy back pad. The CAP Barbell Bench will help you reach your weightlifting goals, offering a variety of weights that can be used to target different muscle groups. The CAP Barbell Weight Set is equipped with a four-roll leg developer which helps build and develop your quads, hamstrings, glutes and hip flexors. The CAP Barbell Bench is an incredibly versatile workout tool and an ideal weight set for home use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.863 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(182 Reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
65
3 stars
30
2 stars
10
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation84%153 out of 182reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions | 185 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
65
3 stars
30
2 stars
10
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

fair deal

06/09/2013
By ,
tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TL;DR; (go to bottom for summary of pros and cons)
This will work for someone who will use this lightly and treat it delicately. I definitely do not see this as a viable option for anyone weighing more than 150 lbs. In case you can't tell from the image, let me just spell out that this bench has 3 legs. It makes it very wobbly. The other concern is with the seat and backrest, they do not seem like they can support much weight at all. Other than that , it works as intended (just don't move too much, as I said its wobbly). I think for light use and a light person who will treat this cautiously, this is a fair purchase. I gave this a 3 because the weights that come with it make it a great deal. That reminds me the weight bar is actually 2 pieces. You have to connect it and place 2 pins in the bar to secure it. . The pins fall the moment you turn the bar.. That is very unfortunate.
Pros:
weights come with this
Cons:
unstable
the seats are very thin, and the support bar for the seats is not long enough
the weight bar is secured by 2 pins that fall out
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

A good value for what it is.

03/02/2014
By ,
rancho cordova, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well it is kind of an HO gauge weight bench,Smaller than a standard bench.It should be OK for a smaller person or someone like myself.I am a 5'11" 185 lb guy in my 70's and I am only trying to maintain muscle tone. I don't think a serious body builder would be satisfied with it.
For me the pros are:Value - a weight bench and weights for under $100
Easy assembly - didn't have any problems
Compact - fits in 1 corner of a 1 car garage
The cons:The padding on the bench - very thin,will be picking up some foam
The 2 peice bar - great idea so the package is compact,fit easily in
my trunk,but they should have threaded the bar and used screws
Too low to ground - had to raise it with 2x4 blocks.
With those reservations I would recommend to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

You get what you pay...

04/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The bar it comes on two pieces. I was deeply disappointed with the size of the bar and the stand. The stand is not tall enough nor wide enough to execute some exercises.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

extremely surprising

04/07/2014
By ,
rogersville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i read a lot of bad reviews about this product but decided if it was really that bad we could just return it to the store for a refund. it took my husband and i about 30 minutes to put it together. we followed the instructions exactly and they were clear and easy to follow. the bench is very sturdy, doesn't wobble or shake AT ALL. all those negative reviews must be by people that didn't follow the instructions or somehow got a defective product. my husband is 5'9" and about 170lbs and my son is 6' and weighs over 200lbs and neither of them have had any problem using it at all. they didn't feel like it was going to collapse and no shaking. it's an amazing value for $70. we even bought additional weights to add to the bar and so far it's held WAY over it's recommended weight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

Not perfect

01/04/2014
By ,
Finksburg, Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 17 yr. old son. It is a decent place to start for a beginner, but it has some shortcomings. First the bar. It is 2 pieces that are held together by 2 pins. You are supposed to tap them in with a hammer and that's it, but that's not the case. You have to spread and peen the other end to keep them from falling out. The biggest problem with the bar is that it is too short!
The place where you should be able to place your hands is blocked by the bench towers. We ordered a longer bar for about 30.00 which will fix that problem. He can now use the other bar for other off-bench lifting. Second- The set does not include enough weights for his bench pressing capability. We found more weights on EBay. All in all, we will still be ahead of the game.
If he really gets into lifting we can sell this and buy a much better, pricier set.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

Great beginner bench

03/22/2013
By ,
San Ysidro, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Me and my husband went to our local Walmart store, since my husband has been wanting a bench we went to the sporting goods section. As we browsed, we saw a beat up box laying down by the treadmills. It was this weight bench for $35! My husband and I were skeptical about since the box was extremely beat up and taped up heavily and still had a 20 lbs sticking out. We thought it was a return and didn't want to deal with the hassle of returning it if it was used. Anyways, my husband decided to risk it, everything was brand NEW! It took us about 45 min to assemble the only trouble we had was on the head board but we got through it. Also, may I mention the instructions were horrible just a bunch of pictures and numbers they could have been way better. Anyways the bench it self seems pretty sturdy with the weights but flimsy when you try to move it. My husband loves it! Another thing he doesn't really like vinyl and the weights are to thick so he plans to upgrade some of the weights. Overall a great product especially for $35!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

Amazing Bench!

11/28/2013
By ,
Tulare, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently started to lift weights. This bench is really sturdy. I would feel comfortable going over the 300lb limit. My only concern is the bar it comes with. Does not seem too durable. But for the price, I can definitely buy another bar to continue to add more weight. I would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

A good value for a smaller person

01/02/2014
By ,
Mobile, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this weight bench set for my husband for Christmas. He's only had it for a few weeks, but so far he really likes it. I can't speak for the durability of this set, but the quality seems good for the price point.
It took us between one and two hours to put it together. We are pretty handy and have decent tools. A good wrench set helps. Assembly is definitely a project, with lots of washers and bolts. Speaking of washers, it came with five fewer than we needed, but we had some extras at the house, so we were able to make it work.
The bar is relatively light and lighter-duty than a standard bar that you would find at a gym, but it is sufficient for the weights that came with the set. It is very nice that there is an apparatus for leg exercises on a bench at this price point.
A lot of other reviews cautioned that this bench is too small and has too low of a weight limit. I guess that all depends. My husband is about 5'5" and 160 lb. The bench is more than large enough for him to comfortably work out on, and the 300 lb weights and person limit is not an issue. If you're 5'10" or taller or weigh 200 lb or more, this is probably not the set for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

Surprise

04/22/2014
By ,
Surprise, Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The set is quite nice and is perfect for a junior or an older person. It is sturdy but it will not take more weight than that which comes in the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

good for a teen

04/23/2014
By ,
arlington, tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
box was ripped and was missing the spring locks
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

Best gym

04/21/2014
By ,
rich va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product and the best price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

Nice workout

04/18/2014
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had one of these ones before and is enough for the work out I need
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

Nice bench for the price

04/11/2014
By ,
MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bench was easy to put together and it works well. My 14-year-old son uses it often. I gave it 4 stars because it is a 2-piece weight bar; it goes together with 2 pins which I thought would work well and be safe but the pins keep working their way out, and that's dangerous. Even with having to replace the bar though, with the 100 pounds of weight that comes with it, it's still a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

Great starter bench

04/14/2014
By ,
Davison, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 13 year old son wanted a bench and saw this one. It has everything you need for a beginner. He loves it. He is 5'9" and 165 lbs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

getting back to fitness

04/14/2014
By ,
ept
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For price a good starter & way to get back in shape.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

Reccommended

02/06/2012
By ,
elgin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I work out daily heavy routines and reps .I got tired of going to the gym went out on a limb an got this bench set an Now I can work out in my own home . So far I have got 2 "40's on each side , I have it reinforced to withstand the 160 an it's very sturdy. I have no issues and Nothing like having your own Gym in the privacy of your own home . I highly recommend this to any heavy hitter an it's just as good as one of those fancy 500$
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+179points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
bar
Posted 07/30/2012
is the bar 45 pound or what
+1point
Customer Avatar
How?
Posted 03/15/2012
What did you do to reinforce it?
+1point
Customer Avatar
san jose ca
hey
Posted 02/22/2012
Hey i just got this but i was wondering when the weights start getting easier how did you reinforce this? thank you
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 17 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

great weightbench for beginners

04/06/2014
By ,
durham, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
basic workout bench for people just starting to workout and a great price to match.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

THE BAR ON THIS PRODUCT COMES IN 2 PIECES -JUNK!!

12/22/2013
By ,
AUBURN, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THE WEIGHT BENCH IS FINE, BUT THE BAR COMES IN 2 PIECES -- WHEN I TRIED TO PUT THE PINS IN THAT HOLD THE BAR TOGETHER THEY FELL RIGHT THROUGH THE HOLES! BUY A SENT OF WEIGHTS THAT HAVE A SOLID BAR. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT!!! TRUST ME! NOW I HAVE TO GO BUY A SOLID ONE PIECE BAR. THIS IS A TOTAL JOKE!!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

Not for people over 6"00. easy assembly not sturdy

02/07/2013
By ,
Madison, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used to work out daily at gym. Now that I became busy I do not have enough time to go to gym.
So I decided to buy a bench to work out at home. After reading many good reviews of this item, I decided to buy it.
Good things about this item are cheap, and it comes with 100 pound weight. It is pretty easy to assemble too.
I don't know why people say it is sturdy, it really is not that sturdy. Maybe I expected too much from this bench. Tall people should not buy this. You will not be able to work out in a good form.
If you are beginner and shorter than 5'5 I would recommend this. If you are not, i recommend you to buy something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Standard Bench with 100 lb Weight Set

Didn't meet expectations

04/13/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this set from my local Walmart based on the good reviews it had gotten. Spent a couple days researching online and decided to go with this set over others that were a little more expensive. I lift regularly at the gym, but purchased this to supplement some of the exercises I do. It was pretty easy to set up. The directions aren't extremely helpful, but it isn't that hard to figure out.
The bench itself is sturdy but I found the bar and leg developer to be lacking. The leg developer is very small and hard to use. I am a 5'4" female, and it's even uncomfortable for me. I can't imagine someone much taller than me getting any use. In addition, the column to put weight on isn't very deep and doesn't fit more than 40 lbs because of the thickness of the vinyl weights. My second concern is the weight of the bar. It is only around 5 lbs or so, and I have to load weights on an empty bar on the floor, because it isn't heavy enough to support the weight on only one side until I can put on the 2nd plate.
For the $67 I paid for it in the store, I guess I got what I paid for, but I probably would have thought twice about it in hindsight. Might be okay for a beginner, but it feels awkward to me compared to the machines at the gym.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 145 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next