Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cap Barbell CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Cap Barbell CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

For a limited time receive a free 30-day trial of Daily Burn streaming workouts with purchase. Up to a $14.99 value. Sign up at www.dailyburn.com/cap. CAP Barbell's Standard Combo Weight Bench with 100-pound Barbell Set is the perfect starter bench. Designed with a compact frame design and easy assembly. The set also includes a 100-pound vinyl weight set. The ideal set for home use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.683 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(328 Reviews) 290
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
107
3 stars
51
2 stars
25
1 star
37
Customer Recommendation78%256 out of 328reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
64 Questions | 265 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
107
3 stars
51
2 stars
25
1 star
37
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Decent product

08/21/2014
By ,
Middletown NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would've enjoyed it more if all the items were present box was destroyed and items was missing from product
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First, Wal-Mart sent the item through Fed-Ex and the box fell apart. Their delivery driver would not accept the item and so Fed_ex called me to come get it. I refused and told them to pack it up and deliver. They did but this took several more days to complete the process and then finally, in a very crude wrapping of extra cardboard and plenty of tape, the item was delivered. Now the fun part, assembly. On the second step of the assembly I found that there were essential pieces missing that prevented the bench from being stable. Contacted CS and they said to ship it back and I told them that since the box was completely destroyed during the initial shipment I could not. They suggested I put it in several other small boxes and send it back. To much of a hassle. I told them to send me the parts to complete and they could not. Decided to go around them and order the parts from the manufacturer. Still waiting on those parts and I ordered this on 12/26. It is not 01/13 and have yet to use the bench in a workout.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Get what you pay for... this is cheap and flimsy.

01/22/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've only had this for a few weeks and have not had any quality related issues, but it looks extremely cheap and somewhat flimsy. For example, the bar holding the weights is made of two parts that connect in the center with two pins. Given the flimsiness of the bar, I'm afraid it will snap one day while using it.
Also, the design was not well thought out. Simple things like the distance between the brackets that hold the bar is not wide enough. This is an issue when doing bench presses. You have to lift the bar off the brackets then slide your hand to a wider position... this can be an issue especially as you get heavier weights. For a larger person, the weights are pretty close together so you may not be able to hold the bar in a proper bench press position.
The other design issues are with the short bench length and awkward leg extension.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

fair deal

06/09/2013
By ,
tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TL;DR; (go to bottom for summary of pros and cons)
This will work for someone who will use this lightly and treat it delicately. I definitely do not see this as a viable option for anyone weighing more than 150 lbs. In case you can't tell from the image, let me just spell out that this bench has 3 legs. It makes it very wobbly. The other concern is with the seat and backrest, they do not seem like they can support much weight at all. Other than that , it works as intended (just don't move too much, as I said its wobbly). I think for light use and a light person who will treat this cautiously, this is a fair purchase. I gave this a 3 because the weights that come with it make it a great deal. That reminds me the weight bar is actually 2 pieces. You have to connect it and place 2 pins in the bar to secure it. . The pins fall the moment you turn the bar.. That is very unfortunate.
Pros:
weights come with this
Cons:
unstable
the seats are very thin, and the support bar for the seats is not long enough
the weight bar is secured by 2 pins that fall out
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Exactly what I wanted.

01/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was expecting the worst and hoping for the best. It was a good decision to get. It's perfect for a 100 lb set, too much more and you may want to reinforce it. Took me half hour to set up by myself. Some things that may help you, get some open/box end wrenches that fit the bolts/nuts that are in one package, it will go a lot quicker. Snug up the main weight bearing points and set up the set, and put the weights on the bench, so everything settles into where it will be in their regular position, then tighten everything up nice and tight, but not too tight where you will strip it. Wish I would have gotten it earlier. Now I will see if I will start using it regularly and not have it become an expensive coat hanger. Can't beat it for the price, that's for sure. Just got done setting it up 10 minutes ago and tried it out. I'd recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Very affordable, basic set

08/07/2014
By ,
Bellevue, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for something cheap to help get me back into shape while I'm motivated, but also wanted something that wouldn't set me back too much so I don't care whenever I flake out. All new weight benches were extremely pricey, and even the used stuff costs more than this set...and neither the new or old came with actual weights. This was the perfect match of affordability and usability that came with all the pieces...they even delivered it to the Neighborhood WalMart right down my street for free! The only drawback to this item is that it really is kind of a kid's weight set. It's smaller overall and maybe a tad less stable than a more expensive set. But it's a tradeoff I was more than willing to accept and can deal with easily. And I'm 6' tall, 190 lbs. We'll see how long it lasts, but all in all I'm very happy with this item so far.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Somewhat Dangerous

08/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I suppose I was suckered in like most by the price. Assembly is pretty straightforward, but the structural components are generally inadequate, even for the rated weight. With 100lbs. on the bar rest, there's a serious tendency for the vertical supports to to tip away from the bench, reducing the entire item to a twisted steel mess. I had to brace the head end of the bench against a column to keep the verticals from tipping and then bending at their attachments. The bar is actually okay for the rated weight so long as you rest it on a hard surface when tapping in the pop rivet-like pins, so that they expand against the bottom of the bar. The weight set itself is probably worth the money, but before supplementing it you'll want to get a solid, threaded bar and a much heavier duty, more stable bench.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Great beginner bench

03/22/2013
By ,
San Ysidro, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Me and my husband went to our local Walmart store, since my husband has been wanting a bench we went to the sporting goods section. As we browsed, we saw a beat up box laying down by the treadmills. It was this weight bench for $35! My husband and I were skeptical about since the box was extremely beat up and taped up heavily and still had a 20 lbs sticking out. We thought it was a return and didn't want to deal with the hassle of returning it if it was used. Anyways, my husband decided to risk it, everything was brand NEW! It took us about 45 min to assemble the only trouble we had was on the head board but we got through it. Also, may I mention the instructions were horrible just a bunch of pictures and numbers they could have been way better. Anyways the bench it self seems pretty sturdy with the weights but flimsy when you try to move it. My husband loves it! Another thing he doesn't really like vinyl and the weights are to thick so he plans to upgrade some of the weights. Overall a great product especially for $35!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

missing parts

12/31/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
On arrival it was obvious the box had been opened before and half the weights and parts of the bench were missing! We returned this product.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

extremely surprising

04/07/2014
By ,
rogersville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i read a lot of bad reviews about this product but decided if it was really that bad we could just return it to the store for a refund. it took my husband and i about 30 minutes to put it together. we followed the instructions exactly and they were clear and easy to follow. the bench is very sturdy, doesn't wobble or shake AT ALL. all those negative reviews must be by people that didn't follow the instructions or somehow got a defective product. my husband is 5'9" and about 170lbs and my son is 6' and weighs over 200lbs and neither of them have had any problem using it at all. they didn't feel like it was going to collapse and no shaking. it's an amazing value for $70. we even bought additional weights to add to the bar and so far it's held WAY over it's recommended weight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

This is a semi-decent starter bench

07/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bench went together in about 30 minutes, and I put it together while my kids were climbing all over it and me. The construction was easy and the instructions were simple.
There is some wiggle to the bench when the weights aren't on it, but with weights on it stabilizes somewhat, even though there is some motion while you're lifting. My big issues are the distance between the braces isn't long enough, so I have to use a much more narrow grip then I'd like when bench pressing. The bar itself isn't long enough, especially since it has clay weights that take up much more room then steel. I also hate the clips to secure the weights, they don't have long enough grips to be able to quickly and easily remove them. Loading and unloading weights takes much more time then I'd like.
All in all, it's $70 for $100 lbs of weight AND a bench. This is about 1/2 what anywhere else will charge (even craigslist) and workout stuff retains most of it's value so just buy it and once you get serious enough about working out sell it on craigslist and buy something better when you have more experience and know what you want in a bench set.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Great bench

08/24/2014
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Im a 16 year old who plays lacrosse. I wanted to get into better shape. So i bought this. A lot of people said it was a very unsturdy bench. All those people must be really bad at building, cuz this thing is amazing. I built it myself in about an hour. This was definitely worth it. And its really cheap. Sure, the bar isnt as big as i thought, but hey, when i need a new bar, ill buy one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Great for the price !

01/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this product and it did not have the bolts and stuff to put it together . Walmart was fantastic when I called . They had someone come and get it so I didn't have to return it to the store , didn't charge me and immediately processed and shipped a new one to me . Once I received the new one I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to put together . It's a great beginner bench and I would recommend it for the price ! Very happy !
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Product is great but shipping was horrible

01/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is great and sturdy. Its good enough if you would like to keep tone and get some exercise done at home. The part I was disappointed with was the shipping. When I recieved my box, it was busted open at the bottom. The weights were falling out the bottom. This is the first package I recieved from walmart that was busted pretty bad. I was missing some washers to put the bench together. Overall, I would recommend this product to any one looking to start lifting. I would not recommend getting it shipped to your house.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Great for a beginner

01/27/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm a 5'1" lady and allow the incline press and weight lifting with arms are great, the leg lifts on this needs some work. You can only use 50 pounds (maybe) which is nothing to me. So if ur gonna get a machine, and ur taller and bigger than an average lady, don't get this. It's only for beginners, or guys in high school who are just hitting puberty. That's just my opinion.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

works for me

01/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
some assy. required. instructions are only pictures, no verbiage as to how. just starting home workouts. nice bench with 100 lbs. of weights. great price with NO shipping chgs.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Good starter bench

01/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It assembled well. Will work for kids use at home. If you want high quality and expandable you will have to spend much more money.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Shipping was extremely dissatisfying

01/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The weight bench is fine. The only issue that I had is that it shipped 5days later than estimated after I paid for shipping so that it would arrive sooner. The box was so broken that parts were missing. I had to go to the hardware store to buy the missing bolts and washers. I was very disappointed in the care that was given to this product during shipment. So far, I haven't experienced any problems in the product itself.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Great Price for a Nice Set

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is 14 years old and works out with football team uses this weight set on days off from training with the team. Excellent purchase for him!
Free shipping was great and came way before expected.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Very Nice

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple and basic for a reasonable price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 291 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next