Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cap Barbell CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Cap Barbell CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

For a limited time receive a free 30-day trial of Daily Burn streaming workouts with purchase. Up to a $14.99 value. Sign up at www.dailyburn.com/cap. CAP Barbell's Standard Combo Weight Bench with 100-pound Barbell Set is the perfect starter bench. Designed with a compact frame design and easy assembly. The set also includes a 100-pound vinyl weight set. The ideal set for home use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.69 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(348 Reviews) 309
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
119
4 stars
111
3 stars
51
2 stars
25
1 star
42
Customer Recommendation78%271 out of 348reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
70 Questions | 276 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
119
4 stars
111
3 stars
51
2 stars
25
1 star
42
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Decent product

08/21/2014
By ,
Middletown NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would've enjoyed it more if all the items were present box was destroyed and items was missing from product
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

fair deal

06/09/2013
By ,
tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TL;DR; (go to bottom for summary of pros and cons)
This will work for someone who will use this lightly and treat it delicately. I definitely do not see this as a viable option for anyone weighing more than 150 lbs. In case you can't tell from the image, let me just spell out that this bench has 3 legs. It makes it very wobbly. The other concern is with the seat and backrest, they do not seem like they can support much weight at all. Other than that , it works as intended (just don't move too much, as I said its wobbly). I think for light use and a light person who will treat this cautiously, this is a fair purchase. I gave this a 3 because the weights that come with it make it a great deal. That reminds me the weight bar is actually 2 pieces. You have to connect it and place 2 pins in the bar to secure it. . The pins fall the moment you turn the bar.. That is very unfortunate.
Pros:
weights come with this
Cons:
unstable
the seats are very thin, and the support bar for the seats is not long enough
the weight bar is secured by 2 pins that fall out
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Great beginner bench

03/22/2013
By ,
San Ysidro, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Me and my husband went to our local Walmart store, since my husband has been wanting a bench we went to the sporting goods section. As we browsed, we saw a beat up box laying down by the treadmills. It was this weight bench for $35! My husband and I were skeptical about since the box was extremely beat up and taped up heavily and still had a 20 lbs sticking out. We thought it was a return and didn't want to deal with the hassle of returning it if it was used. Anyways, my husband decided to risk it, everything was brand NEW! It took us about 45 min to assemble the only trouble we had was on the head board but we got through it. Also, may I mention the instructions were horrible just a bunch of pictures and numbers they could have been way better. Anyways the bench it self seems pretty sturdy with the weights but flimsy when you try to move it. My husband loves it! Another thing he doesn't really like vinyl and the weights are to thick so he plans to upgrade some of the weights. Overall a great product especially for $35!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First, Wal-Mart sent the item through Fed-Ex and the box fell apart. Their delivery driver would not accept the item and so Fed_ex called me to come get it. I refused and told them to pack it up and deliver. They did but this took several more days to complete the process and then finally, in a very crude wrapping of extra cardboard and plenty of tape, the item was delivered. Now the fun part, assembly. On the second step of the assembly I found that there were essential pieces missing that prevented the bench from being stable. Contacted CS and they said to ship it back and I told them that since the box was completely destroyed during the initial shipment I could not. They suggested I put it in several other small boxes and send it back. To much of a hassle. I told them to send me the parts to complete and they could not. Decided to go around them and order the parts from the manufacturer. Still waiting on those parts and I ordered this on 12/26. It is not 01/13 and have yet to use the bench in a workout.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

extremely surprising

04/07/2014
By ,
rogersville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i read a lot of bad reviews about this product but decided if it was really that bad we could just return it to the store for a refund. it took my husband and i about 30 minutes to put it together. we followed the instructions exactly and they were clear and easy to follow. the bench is very sturdy, doesn't wobble or shake AT ALL. all those negative reviews must be by people that didn't follow the instructions or somehow got a defective product. my husband is 5'9" and about 170lbs and my son is 6' and weighs over 200lbs and neither of them have had any problem using it at all. they didn't feel like it was going to collapse and no shaking. it's an amazing value for $70. we even bought additional weights to add to the bar and so far it's held WAY over it's recommended weight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+124points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

BUY THIS PRODUCT

04/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hello my son loves this weight bench and is really into weight training and he keeps telling me how good this weight bench is. He is 6'3" and is 15, he weighs 240 Lbs he has the 4 20's and the two 10's on the bar (100 lbs) and although the bar looks like it would snap under very little pressure it wont. Also. the weight bench is really sturdy he has had no trouble with it shaking. His best friend that has a $400 weight bench loves my sons more than his. there are little to no flaws with this weight bench. Finally, i hope that i have helped you with this decision, and buy this product, for 69.00 that is a steal i got ours for 90 and i may also add that the shipping is fantastic it was brought to the local Wal-mart in under five days. you're welcome.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Great beginner bench. You cannot beat that price.

04/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for the garage, for days when the gym sounds unappealing. It comes with enough weight for a beginner routine and it's a comfortable bench. I'd order one for a beginner or a kid anytime. Only tip I can give is when assembling the bar make sure there is no fray on the soft aluminum pegs or they will not drive in correctly. Also, I really like how short the bar is . I'm not a long person and it's a nice comfortable length.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

This is a semi-decent starter bench

07/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bench went together in about 30 minutes, and I put it together while my kids were climbing all over it and me. The construction was easy and the instructions were simple.
There is some wiggle to the bench when the weights aren't on it, but with weights on it stabilizes somewhat, even though there is some motion while you're lifting. My big issues are the distance between the braces isn't long enough, so I have to use a much more narrow grip then I'd like when bench pressing. The bar itself isn't long enough, especially since it has clay weights that take up much more room then steel. I also hate the clips to secure the weights, they don't have long enough grips to be able to quickly and easily remove them. Loading and unloading weights takes much more time then I'd like.
All in all, it's $70 for $100 lbs of weight AND a bench. This is about 1/2 what anywhere else will charge (even craigslist) and workout stuff retains most of it's value so just buy it and once you get serious enough about working out sell it on craigslist and buy something better when you have more experience and know what you want in a bench set.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Horrible product!! Beware

03/27/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product in December and still not been able to assemble. The nuts do not match the bolts and would need to buy different bolts in order to make it useful. Might end up throwing the bench since do not want to drag the weights to the closest Wal Mart.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Very affordable, basic set

08/07/2014
By ,
Bellevue, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for something cheap to help get me back into shape while I'm motivated, but also wanted something that wouldn't set me back too much so I don't care whenever I flake out. All new weight benches were extremely pricey, and even the used stuff costs more than this set...and neither the new or old came with actual weights. This was the perfect match of affordability and usability that came with all the pieces...they even delivered it to the Neighborhood WalMart right down my street for free! The only drawback to this item is that it really is kind of a kid's weight set. It's smaller overall and maybe a tad less stable than a more expensive set. But it's a tradeoff I was more than willing to accept and can deal with easily. And I'm 6' tall, 190 lbs. We'll see how long it lasts, but all in all I'm very happy with this item so far.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

DONT MISS THIS ONE!!

03/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If your just starting out, even if your an old man like me, this is a steal! Real good quality, highly impressed & free weights to boot, the bench alone is worth it. Look, forget all the folks that crack on Walmart, they don't make the products, they make deals on the products.
This setup comes from the CAP barbell company out of Texas, enough said. I buy all my equipment from Walmart, never had a problem with any of it. Usually I stick with Golds Gym, but this was a steal I couldn't refuse. Bought mine in Marion Iowa for 69 bucks, there's one more on the shelf, better get it before I do, lol
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Somewhat Dangerous

08/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I suppose I was suckered in like most by the price. Assembly is pretty straightforward, but the structural components are generally inadequate, even for the rated weight. With 100lbs. on the bar rest, there's a serious tendency for the vertical supports to to tip away from the bench, reducing the entire item to a twisted steel mess. I had to brace the head end of the bench against a column to keep the verticals from tipping and then bending at their attachments. The bar is actually okay for the rated weight so long as you rest it on a hard surface when tapping in the pop rivet-like pins, so that they expand against the bottom of the bar. The weight set itself is probably worth the money, but before supplementing it you'll want to get a solid, threaded bar and a much heavier duty, more stable bench.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Reccommended

02/06/2012
By ,
elgin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I work out daily heavy routines and reps .I got tired of going to the gym went out on a limb an got this bench set an Now I can work out in my own home . So far I have got 2 "40's on each side , I have it reinforced to withstand the 160 an it's very sturdy. I have no issues and Nothing like having your own Gym in the privacy of your own home . I highly recommend this to any heavy hitter an it's just as good as one of those fancy 500$
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+218points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
bar
Posted 07/30/2012
is the bar 45 pound or what
+1point
Customer Avatar
How?
Posted 03/15/2012
What did you do to reinforce it?
+1point
Customer Avatar
san jose ca
hey
Posted 02/22/2012
Hey i just got this but i was wondering when the weights start getting easier how did you reinforce this? thank you
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 14 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Not perfect

01/04/2014
By ,
Finksburg, Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 17 yr. old son. It is a decent place to start for a beginner, but it has some shortcomings. First the bar. It is 2 pieces that are held together by 2 pins. You are supposed to tap them in with a hammer and that's it, but that's not the case. You have to spread and peen the other end to keep them from falling out. The biggest problem with the bar is that it is too short!
The place where you should be able to place your hands is blocked by the bench towers. We ordered a longer bar for about 30.00 which will fix that problem. He can now use the other bar for other off-bench lifting. Second- The set does not include enough weights for his bench pressing capability. We found more weights on EBay. All in all, we will still be ahead of the game.
If he really gets into lifting we can sell this and buy a much better, pricier set.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Didn't meet expectations

04/13/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this set from my local Walmart based on the good reviews it had gotten. Spent a couple days researching online and decided to go with this set over others that were a little more expensive. I lift regularly at the gym, but purchased this to supplement some of the exercises I do. It was pretty easy to set up. The directions aren't extremely helpful, but it isn't that hard to figure out.
The bench itself is sturdy but I found the bar and leg developer to be lacking. The leg developer is very small and hard to use. I am a 5'4" female, and it's even uncomfortable for me. I can't imagine someone much taller than me getting any use. In addition, the column to put weight on isn't very deep and doesn't fit more than 40 lbs because of the thickness of the vinyl weights. My second concern is the weight of the bar. It is only around 5 lbs or so, and I have to load weights on an empty bar on the floor, because it isn't heavy enough to support the weight on only one side until I can put on the 2nd plate.
For the $67 I paid for it in the store, I guess I got what I paid for, but I probably would have thought twice about it in hindsight. Might be okay for a beginner, but it feels awkward to me compared to the machines at the gym.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Good Transition

02/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This 100 lb. system is just right for the beginner or senior citizen who cannot lift more than a 100 lbs. or is need of rehabilitation exercise. States two persons to assemble, however, at 68 yrs. old I put it together myself. Suggest a socket set be used along with the wrench (I had to use pliers as I had no wrench and pliers made assembling difficult). Changes I suggest mfr. to make: make bench wider so bar holder would be wider allowing for wider grip. You must be careful when retuning bar weights to holder else hand may be pinched (I haven't yet). I would include total of 3 sets of securing springs reducing number of times needing to switch. Summary: very satisfied as my expectations did not exceed product, product quality exceeded price, and price fit in my very tight budget.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Get what you pay for... this is cheap and flimsy.

01/22/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've only had this for a few weeks and have not had any quality related issues, but it looks extremely cheap and somewhat flimsy. For example, the bar holding the weights is made of two parts that connect in the center with two pins. Given the flimsiness of the bar, I'm afraid it will snap one day while using it.
Also, the design was not well thought out. Simple things like the distance between the brackets that hold the bar is not wide enough. This is an issue when doing bench presses. You have to lift the bar off the brackets then slide your hand to a wider position... this can be an issue especially as you get heavier weights. For a larger person, the weights are pretty close together so you may not be able to hold the bar in a proper bench press position.
The other design issues are with the short bench length and awkward leg extension.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Not for people over 6"00. easy assembly not sturdy

02/07/2013
By ,
Madison, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used to work out daily at gym. Now that I became busy I do not have enough time to go to gym.
So I decided to buy a bench to work out at home. After reading many good reviews of this item, I decided to buy it.
Good things about this item are cheap, and it comes with 100 pound weight. It is pretty easy to assemble too.
I don't know why people say it is sturdy, it really is not that sturdy. Maybe I expected too much from this bench. Tall people should not buy this. You will not be able to work out in a good form.
If you are beginner and shorter than 5'5 I would recommend this. If you are not, i recommend you to buy something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Its for U if you're short and cant lift over 60lbs

02/05/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pay attention to the details in the dimensions. I failed to understand this products length/width was for a short person. Its still allows me to lift weights, just not comfortably. I'd rather go to the gym to be honest.
Most importantly, the bar... Don't put the 100lbs they give you on the bar and leave it over night. My bar after the first night of only 80 lbs on it started to bend. But I didnt really notice it at first and thought I put it together weird. So I went onto day 2 with 100 lbs that I was using to work out with that day. After working out I put the bar with the 100 lbs of combined PROVIDED weights on the bar and left it until the next day. I thought i'd get a great start in the morning and do a couple things before work. I got up early and headed to the back yard where I had set this equipment up to find that my bar has started to actually bend. And not in a little way, its an actual bend that has made the thing worthless. Now all I do is leave it on the ground and use it for a large double arm dumbbell curl.
Overall, I'd rather spend a couple hundred on a really good set and not this. Worked cramped for 2 days then its junk. I got a new seat in my back yard and some worthless bent bar.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Exactly what I wanted.

01/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was expecting the worst and hoping for the best. It was a good decision to get. It's perfect for a 100 lb set, too much more and you may want to reinforce it. Took me half hour to set up by myself. Some things that may help you, get some open/box end wrenches that fit the bolts/nuts that are in one package, it will go a lot quicker. Snug up the main weight bearing points and set up the set, and put the weights on the bench, so everything settles into where it will be in their regular position, then tighten everything up nice and tight, but not too tight where you will strip it. Wish I would have gotten it earlier. Now I will see if I will start using it regularly and not have it become an expensive coat hanger. Can't beat it for the price, that's for sure. Just got done setting it up 10 minutes ago and tried it out. I'd recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 310 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next