Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cap Barbell CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Cap Barbell CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

For a limited time receive a free 30-day trial of Daily Burn streaming workouts with purchase. Up to a $14.99 value. Sign up at www.dailyburn.com/cap. CAP Barbell's Standard Combo Weight Bench with 100-pound Barbell Set is the perfect starter bench. Designed with a compact frame design and easy assembly. The set also includes a 100-pound vinyl weight set. The ideal set for home use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.741 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(390 Reviews) 350
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
141
4 stars
124
3 stars
54
2 stars
25
1 star
46
Customer Recommendation79%308 out of 390reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
73 Questions | 282 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
141
4 stars
124
3 stars
54
2 stars
25
1 star
46
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Decent product

08/21/2014
By ,
Middletown NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would've enjoyed it more if all the items were present box was destroyed and items was missing from product
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Great beginner bench

03/22/2013
By ,
San Ysidro, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Me and my husband went to our local Walmart store, since my husband has been wanting a bench we went to the sporting goods section. As we browsed, we saw a beat up box laying down by the treadmills. It was this weight bench for $35! My husband and I were skeptical about since the box was extremely beat up and taped up heavily and still had a 20 lbs sticking out. We thought it was a return and didn't want to deal with the hassle of returning it if it was used. Anyways, my husband decided to risk it, everything was brand NEW! It took us about 45 min to assemble the only trouble we had was on the head board but we got through it. Also, may I mention the instructions were horrible just a bunch of pictures and numbers they could have been way better. Anyways the bench it self seems pretty sturdy with the weights but flimsy when you try to move it. My husband loves it! Another thing he doesn't really like vinyl and the weights are to thick so he plans to upgrade some of the weights. Overall a great product especially for $35!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

fair deal

06/09/2013
By ,
tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TL;DR; (go to bottom for summary of pros and cons)
This will work for someone who will use this lightly and treat it delicately. I definitely do not see this as a viable option for anyone weighing more than 150 lbs. In case you can't tell from the image, let me just spell out that this bench has 3 legs. It makes it very wobbly. The other concern is with the seat and backrest, they do not seem like they can support much weight at all. Other than that , it works as intended (just don't move too much, as I said its wobbly). I think for light use and a light person who will treat this cautiously, this is a fair purchase. I gave this a 3 because the weights that come with it make it a great deal. That reminds me the weight bar is actually 2 pieces. You have to connect it and place 2 pins in the bar to secure it. . The pins fall the moment you turn the bar.. That is very unfortunate.
Pros:
weights come with this
Cons:
unstable
the seats are very thin, and the support bar for the seats is not long enough
the weight bar is secured by 2 pins that fall out
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

extremely surprising

04/07/2014
By ,
rogersville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i read a lot of bad reviews about this product but decided if it was really that bad we could just return it to the store for a refund. it took my husband and i about 30 minutes to put it together. we followed the instructions exactly and they were clear and easy to follow. the bench is very sturdy, doesn't wobble or shake AT ALL. all those negative reviews must be by people that didn't follow the instructions or somehow got a defective product. my husband is 5'9" and about 170lbs and my son is 6' and weighs over 200lbs and neither of them have had any problem using it at all. they didn't feel like it was going to collapse and no shaking. it's an amazing value for $70. we even bought additional weights to add to the bar and so far it's held WAY over it's recommended weight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+156points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Decent for the price but be careful

06/15/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bar is two separate pieces that are held together with pins, the pins fall out sometimes, creating a very dangerous situation. I taped over the pins and they don't fall out. With vinyl weights, you can't fit much weight on the barbell or dumbells at one time, the bar will only hold about 115 pounds because the plates are too wide to fit more than that. You won't be able to squat much with this setup because it's not practical unless you're doing hack squats. The rack is kind of narrow but not narrow enough to grip outside when bench pressing, which means you have to grip inside the rack and you can't press with a very wide grip. For the cost, this bench is ok. I don't regret buying it but I can't really recommend it either.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Great Product for a Great price

05/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son's 15th birthday. He loved it and so does his teammates from the football team. It is a great way to start out at and can add things to it as needed. I had no problems putting it together it's a solid piece. My son is 6 ft 200 lbs and he has no problem using it or do any of the other boys.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Perfect... for a 10 year old

06/30/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the perfect bench press if you want to bench with a 2 feet wide grip. Miserably narrow. When benching inclined, my fore is right at the bar rest height. This thing is a junk.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First, Wal-Mart sent the item through Fed-Ex and the box fell apart. Their delivery driver would not accept the item and so Fed_ex called me to come get it. I refused and told them to pack it up and deliver. They did but this took several more days to complete the process and then finally, in a very crude wrapping of extra cardboard and plenty of tape, the item was delivered. Now the fun part, assembly. On the second step of the assembly I found that there were essential pieces missing that prevented the bench from being stable. Contacted CS and they said to ship it back and I told them that since the box was completely destroyed during the initial shipment I could not. They suggested I put it in several other small boxes and send it back. To much of a hassle. I told them to send me the parts to complete and they could not. Decided to go around them and order the parts from the manufacturer. Still waiting on those parts and I ordered this on 12/26. It is not 01/13 and have yet to use the bench in a workout.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Perfect for my teen

07/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great! Great size for a home gym
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Perfect for home gym

06/11/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I don't regret buying this but just want to point out that the bench is on supported by one center bar so it is not sturdy. Also when you adjust the incline on the bench it is again only supported by a skinny rod so it's not meant for a larger person to use this. It is perfect for what I need but just beware you will not be able to do step ups on this or weighted pelvic thrust with your back to the bench. I have No complaints as it serves the purpose I bought it for. It is nice to be able to do the weighted leg extensions and hamstring curls. Easy to put together and great product especially considering the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

This is a semi-decent starter bench

07/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bench went together in about 30 minutes, and I put it together while my kids were climbing all over it and me. The construction was easy and the instructions were simple.
There is some wiggle to the bench when the weights aren't on it, but with weights on it stabilizes somewhat, even though there is some motion while you're lifting. My big issues are the distance between the braces isn't long enough, so I have to use a much more narrow grip then I'd like when bench pressing. The bar itself isn't long enough, especially since it has clay weights that take up much more room then steel. I also hate the clips to secure the weights, they don't have long enough grips to be able to quickly and easily remove them. Loading and unloading weights takes much more time then I'd like.
All in all, it's $70 for $100 lbs of weight AND a bench. This is about 1/2 what anywhere else will charge (even craigslist) and workout stuff retains most of it's value so just buy it and once you get serious enough about working out sell it on craigslist and buy something better when you have more experience and know what you want in a bench set.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Good barbell set.

05/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works out great for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Worth the price

06/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works good, the only problem is that the bars where you hang the weight bar are too close to each other. The other minor problem it has is the front foot, it only has one bar which makes it a bit unstable when lifting all 100 pounds. To be fair to the product, I am on a wheelchair and do not have leg balance.
Hope this helps, as it is a good starting system.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Very affordable, basic set

08/07/2014
By ,
Bellevue, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for something cheap to help get me back into shape while I'm motivated, but also wanted something that wouldn't set me back too much so I don't care whenever I flake out. All new weight benches were extremely pricey, and even the used stuff costs more than this set...and neither the new or old came with actual weights. This was the perfect match of affordability and usability that came with all the pieces...they even delivered it to the Neighborhood WalMart right down my street for free! The only drawback to this item is that it really is kind of a kid's weight set. It's smaller overall and maybe a tad less stable than a more expensive set. But it's a tradeoff I was more than willing to accept and can deal with easily. And I'm 6' tall, 190 lbs. We'll see how long it lasts, but all in all I'm very happy with this item so far.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Great product!

05/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to do body beast Workout, and it works fantastic!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

weights and bench

06/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Excellent bench for the price!

06/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and family love it..Easy to assemble if you follow the directions precisely... So many exercises can be done on this one bench...We love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

So far so good

06/19/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product arrived at the store a week before predicted which was awesome. Only negative is the screws were not well labelled.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Best Price

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love everything about it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

came damaged

06/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never got to try it, package was so torn up pieces could've been missing so I had to get refund.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 351 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next