Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cap Barbell CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Cap Barbell CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

For a limited time receive a free 30-day trial of Daily Burn streaming workouts with purchase. Up to a $14.99 value. Sign up at www.dailyburn.com/cap. CAP Barbell's Standard Combo Weight Bench with 100-pound Barbell Set is the perfect starter bench. Designed with a compact frame design and easy assembly. The set also includes a 100-pound vinyl weight set. The ideal set for home use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(400 Reviews) 360
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
146
4 stars
127
3 stars
54
2 stars
27
1 star
46
Customer Recommendation79%316 out of 400reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
75 Questions | 287 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
146
4 stars
127
3 stars
54
2 stars
27
1 star
46
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Decent product

08/21/2014
By ,
Middletown NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would've enjoyed it more if all the items were present box was destroyed and items was missing from product
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Great beginner bench

03/22/2013
By ,
San Ysidro, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Me and my husband went to our local Walmart store, since my husband has been wanting a bench we went to the sporting goods section. As we browsed, we saw a beat up box laying down by the treadmills. It was this weight bench for $35! My husband and I were skeptical about since the box was extremely beat up and taped up heavily and still had a 20 lbs sticking out. We thought it was a return and didn't want to deal with the hassle of returning it if it was used. Anyways, my husband decided to risk it, everything was brand NEW! It took us about 45 min to assemble the only trouble we had was on the head board but we got through it. Also, may I mention the instructions were horrible just a bunch of pictures and numbers they could have been way better. Anyways the bench it self seems pretty sturdy with the weights but flimsy when you try to move it. My husband loves it! Another thing he doesn't really like vinyl and the weights are to thick so he plans to upgrade some of the weights. Overall a great product especially for $35!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

fair deal

06/09/2013
By ,
tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TL;DR; (go to bottom for summary of pros and cons)
This will work for someone who will use this lightly and treat it delicately. I definitely do not see this as a viable option for anyone weighing more than 150 lbs. In case you can't tell from the image, let me just spell out that this bench has 3 legs. It makes it very wobbly. The other concern is with the seat and backrest, they do not seem like they can support much weight at all. Other than that , it works as intended (just don't move too much, as I said its wobbly). I think for light use and a light person who will treat this cautiously, this is a fair purchase. I gave this a 3 because the weights that come with it make it a great deal. That reminds me the weight bar is actually 2 pieces. You have to connect it and place 2 pins in the bar to secure it. . The pins fall the moment you turn the bar.. That is very unfortunate.
Pros:
weights come with this
Cons:
unstable
the seats are very thin, and the support bar for the seats is not long enough
the weight bar is secured by 2 pins that fall out
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Ok item

07/05/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just like the many other reviewers mentioned, item arrived with the bac packing badly damaged and the nuts and screws missing. I emailed the customer service and they said they would send the missing parts. The weights are sand like material covered with a plastic. I found this out because one of the weights arrived torn! So I had to repair it using wood glue. Still Sand is pouring out of it. For a beginner, it is an OK item, if you will be very very careful not to drop it.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

You get what you pay for. It's worth the money.

07/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is worth the money. Best maybe for beginners. A little wobbly, but safe. I'm not the strongest so I am going to buy 2 more 10 pound weights. It only comes with 4 20 pound weights into 10 pound weights. All in all it is worth the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Perfect for ages 10 to 16.

07/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for something my 11 year son can use without been to big for him, and this bench weight did it. If you want a start up bench that your kids can used, this is it. Perfect for their arm length and leg. It comes with everything including the bar and 100 pounds in weights. This is NOT a bench for an ADULT, it will be to SMALL for most adults.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

extremely surprising

04/07/2014
By ,
rogersville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i read a lot of bad reviews about this product but decided if it was really that bad we could just return it to the store for a refund. it took my husband and i about 30 minutes to put it together. we followed the instructions exactly and they were clear and easy to follow. the bench is very sturdy, doesn't wobble or shake AT ALL. all those negative reviews must be by people that didn't follow the instructions or somehow got a defective product. my husband is 5'9" and about 170lbs and my son is 6' and weighs over 200lbs and neither of them have had any problem using it at all. they didn't feel like it was going to collapse and no shaking. it's an amazing value for $70. we even bought additional weights to add to the bar and so far it's held WAY over it's recommended weight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+172points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Great bench, be careful with site to store

07/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an amazing deal. I got it when it was $69 in May and used the free site to store shipping to save even more, but beware of that. It ended up taking over a month to finally get the bench to the store after it was initially lost, then got to the store with the box damaged. I decided to just go with the damaged box and hope it worked out, it did. For $70 you can't go wrong. You get a bench, bar, 100 pounds in weights, clips, and while you need tools to put it together such as a philips head and a few wrenches, it's rather easy. Be careful of the bar though, as I found putting that together you need a hammer to get the pins to stay in, and they won't fall out after that. Also because of the bar, the bench is rather narrow, so if you're used to having a wide grip, bring that in a bit or you'll hit your fingers. Another tip that I made use of was to get the Golds Gym 40 pound dumbbell set which allowed me to get smaller weights than just the 4 20 pound and 2 10 pound set that came with it, and it still stays within the weights of the bar which itself is around 5 pounds give or take. Overall great deal, and very easy to help build a basic home gym for under $100 (that's with the dumbbells and extra stuff!). Just buyer beware of the shipping. Since it's heavy, site to store is best option, but keep checking because it seems to get lost very easily (even though it's 140 pounds packaged).
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

nice....

07/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly how it looks online
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Good for the price.

07/24/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The width of the bench is too narrow. Good thing that I'm a petite guy. I can't imagine it for a bigger person. I guess that's why it's only $75.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

weights

07/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to assemble, perfect size.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First, Wal-Mart sent the item through Fed-Ex and the box fell apart. Their delivery driver would not accept the item and so Fed_ex called me to come get it. I refused and told them to pack it up and deliver. They did but this took several more days to complete the process and then finally, in a very crude wrapping of extra cardboard and plenty of tape, the item was delivered. Now the fun part, assembly. On the second step of the assembly I found that there were essential pieces missing that prevented the bench from being stable. Contacted CS and they said to ship it back and I told them that since the box was completely destroyed during the initial shipment I could not. They suggested I put it in several other small boxes and send it back. To much of a hassle. I told them to send me the parts to complete and they could not. Decided to go around them and order the parts from the manufacturer. Still waiting on those parts and I ordered this on 12/26. It is not 01/13 and have yet to use the bench in a workout.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Very affordable, basic set

08/07/2014
By ,
Bellevue, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for something cheap to help get me back into shape while I'm motivated, but also wanted something that wouldn't set me back too much so I don't care whenever I flake out. All new weight benches were extremely pricey, and even the used stuff costs more than this set...and neither the new or old came with actual weights. This was the perfect match of affordability and usability that came with all the pieces...they even delivered it to the Neighborhood WalMart right down my street for free! The only drawback to this item is that it really is kind of a kid's weight set. It's smaller overall and maybe a tad less stable than a more expensive set. But it's a tradeoff I was more than willing to accept and can deal with easily. And I'm 6' tall, 190 lbs. We'll see how long it lasts, but all in all I'm very happy with this item so far.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

This is a semi-decent starter bench

07/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bench went together in about 30 minutes, and I put it together while my kids were climbing all over it and me. The construction was easy and the instructions were simple.
There is some wiggle to the bench when the weights aren't on it, but with weights on it stabilizes somewhat, even though there is some motion while you're lifting. My big issues are the distance between the braces isn't long enough, so I have to use a much more narrow grip then I'd like when bench pressing. The bar itself isn't long enough, especially since it has clay weights that take up much more room then steel. I also hate the clips to secure the weights, they don't have long enough grips to be able to quickly and easily remove them. Loading and unloading weights takes much more time then I'd like.
All in all, it's $70 for $100 lbs of weight AND a bench. This is about 1/2 what anywhere else will charge (even craigslist) and workout stuff retains most of it's value so just buy it and once you get serious enough about working out sell it on craigslist and buy something better when you have more experience and know what you want in a bench set.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Decent for the price but be careful

06/15/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bar is two separate pieces that are held together with pins, the pins fall out sometimes, creating a very dangerous situation. I taped over the pins and they don't fall out. With vinyl weights, you can't fit much weight on the barbell or dumbells at one time, the bar will only hold about 115 pounds because the plates are too wide to fit more than that. You won't be able to squat much with this setup because it's not practical unless you're doing hack squats. The rack is kind of narrow but not narrow enough to grip outside when bench pressing, which means you have to grip inside the rack and you can't press with a very wide grip. For the cost, this bench is ok. I don't regret buying it but I can't really recommend it either.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Great Product for a Great price

05/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son's 15th birthday. He loved it and so does his teammates from the football team. It is a great way to start out at and can add things to it as needed. I had no problems putting it together it's a solid piece. My son is 6 ft 200 lbs and he has no problem using it or do any of the other boys.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Pretty Good

07/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price and the fact that it also comes with weights it's pretty good. I know a few reviews say it's "wobbly" which it is until you tighten the bolts and everything. I'd say it's pretty secure.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Somewhat Dangerous

08/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I suppose I was suckered in like most by the price. Assembly is pretty straightforward, but the structural components are generally inadequate, even for the rated weight. With 100lbs. on the bar rest, there's a serious tendency for the vertical supports to to tip away from the bench, reducing the entire item to a twisted steel mess. I had to brace the head end of the bench against a column to keep the verticals from tipping and then bending at their attachments. The bar is actually okay for the rated weight so long as you rest it on a hard surface when tapping in the pop rivet-like pins, so that they expand against the bottom of the bar. The weight set itself is probably worth the money, but before supplementing it you'll want to get a solid, threaded bar and a much heavier duty, more stable bench.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Toning up

07/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't looking to bulk up just wanted to tone up and this 100lb weight bench set is perfect to go along with the other pieces I acquired to complete my home gym
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Reccommended

02/06/2012
By ,
elgin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I work out daily heavy routines and reps .I got tired of going to the gym went out on a limb an got this bench set an Now I can work out in my own home . So far I have got 2 "40's on each side , I have it reinforced to withstand the 160 an it's very sturdy. I have no issues and Nothing like having your own Gym in the privacy of your own home . I highly recommend this to any heavy hitter an it's just as good as one of those fancy 500$
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+233points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
bar
Posted 07/30/2012
is the bar 45 pound or what
+1point
Customer Avatar
How?
Posted 03/15/2012
What did you do to reinforce it?
+1point
Customer Avatar
san jose ca
hey
Posted 02/22/2012
Hey i just got this but i was wondering when the weights start getting easier how did you reinforce this? thank you
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
1-20 of 361 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next