Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Cap Barbell CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Cap Barbell CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

CAP Barbell's Standard Combo Weight Bench with 100-pound Barbell Set is the perfect starter bench. Designed with a compact frame design and easy assembly. The set also includes a 100-pound vinyl weight set. The ideal set for home use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.779 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(222 Reviews) 184
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
79
3 stars
36
2 stars
16
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation82%182 out of 222reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 240 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
79
3 stars
36
2 stars
16
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

extremely surprising

04/07/2014
By ,
rogersville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i read a lot of bad reviews about this product but decided if it was really that bad we could just return it to the store for a refund. it took my husband and i about 30 minutes to put it together. we followed the instructions exactly and they were clear and easy to follow. the bench is very sturdy, doesn't wobble or shake AT ALL. all those negative reviews must be by people that didn't follow the instructions or somehow got a defective product. my husband is 5'9" and about 170lbs and my son is 6' and weighs over 200lbs and neither of them have had any problem using it at all. they didn't feel like it was going to collapse and no shaking. it's an amazing value for $70. we even bought additional weights to add to the bar and so far it's held WAY over it's recommended weight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

fair deal

06/09/2013
By ,
tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TL;DR; (go to bottom for summary of pros and cons)
This will work for someone who will use this lightly and treat it delicately. I definitely do not see this as a viable option for anyone weighing more than 150 lbs. In case you can't tell from the image, let me just spell out that this bench has 3 legs. It makes it very wobbly. The other concern is with the seat and backrest, they do not seem like they can support much weight at all. Other than that , it works as intended (just don't move too much, as I said its wobbly). I think for light use and a light person who will treat this cautiously, this is a fair purchase. I gave this a 3 because the weights that come with it make it a great deal. That reminds me the weight bar is actually 2 pieces. You have to connect it and place 2 pins in the bar to secure it. . The pins fall the moment you turn the bar.. That is very unfortunate.
Pros:
weights come with this
Cons:
unstable
the seats are very thin, and the support bar for the seats is not long enough
the weight bar is secured by 2 pins that fall out
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

This is a semi-decent starter bench

07/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bench went together in about 30 minutes, and I put it together while my kids were climbing all over it and me. The construction was easy and the instructions were simple.
There is some wiggle to the bench when the weights aren't on it, but with weights on it stabilizes somewhat, even though there is some motion while you're lifting. My big issues are the distance between the braces isn't long enough, so I have to use a much more narrow grip then I'd like when bench pressing. The bar itself isn't long enough, especially since it has clay weights that take up much more room then steel. I also hate the clips to secure the weights, they don't have long enough grips to be able to quickly and easily remove them. Loading and unloading weights takes much more time then I'd like.
All in all, it's $70 for $100 lbs of weight AND a bench. This is about 1/2 what anywhere else will charge (even craigslist) and workout stuff retains most of it's value so just buy it and once you get serious enough about working out sell it on craigslist and buy something better when you have more experience and know what you want in a bench set.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Great for Women

05/30/2014
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took me less than 30 minutes to put this together (it would have been much faster if I didn't have a young child helping). The packaging was great and nothing was damaged or broken in the box. The instruction diagrams were very simple and easy to follow.
I am only 5' 3" and it fits me perfectly. I don't anticipate using more than 100 lbs in my workout so I shouldn't have to add anything else to this set.
There only thing I would change would be to have three spring clip/clamps rather than two. I used the two included spring clip/clamps for the bench press weight bar and would like to have a third for the leg extender weights so I don't have to worry about bumping weights off onto my foot. That is a relatively easy fix and I will purchase an extra one online, since I am too lazy to move them back and forth.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Great beginner bench

03/22/2013
By ,
San Ysidro, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Me and my husband went to our local Walmart store, since my husband has been wanting a bench we went to the sporting goods section. As we browsed, we saw a beat up box laying down by the treadmills. It was this weight bench for $35! My husband and I were skeptical about since the box was extremely beat up and taped up heavily and still had a 20 lbs sticking out. We thought it was a return and didn't want to deal with the hassle of returning it if it was used. Anyways, my husband decided to risk it, everything was brand NEW! It took us about 45 min to assemble the only trouble we had was on the head board but we got through it. Also, may I mention the instructions were horrible just a bunch of pictures and numbers they could have been way better. Anyways the bench it self seems pretty sturdy with the weights but flimsy when you try to move it. My husband loves it! Another thing he doesn't really like vinyl and the weights are to thick so he plans to upgrade some of the weights. Overall a great product especially for $35!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

A good value for what it is.

03/02/2014
By ,
rancho cordova, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well it is kind of an HO gauge weight bench,Smaller than a standard bench.It should be OK for a smaller person or someone like myself.I am a 5'11" 185 lb guy in my 70's and I am only trying to maintain muscle tone. I don't think a serious body builder would be satisfied with it.
For me the pros are:Value - a weight bench and weights for under $100
Easy assembly - didn't have any problems
Compact - fits in 1 corner of a 1 car garage
The cons:The padding on the bench - very thin,will be picking up some foam
The 2 peice bar - great idea so the package is compact,fit easily in
my trunk,but they should have threaded the bar and used screws
Too low to ground - had to raise it with 2x4 blocks.
With those reservations I would recommend to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

You get what you pay for!!

07/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this bench for my 16 year old son since he's just starting to lift and it doesn't even work for a 5'9" 170lb kid! It's very cheaply made to say the least! The bar comes in 2 pieces and are supposed to be held together by these small "pins" which fall out & I had to reinforce it to stay together. The part that holds the bar is too narrow for anyone's shoulder width...I'm a 5'5" female & I can't even use it! The bench shakes & wobbles no matter how tight you get the bolts and the weights are all a flimsy plastic which came dented.
Long story short I'm returning it to get a real weight bench!
WARNING!! DO NOT BUY THIS!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Great for the price!

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this for almost a year now and I use it 3 times a week. I am a 6' 1" Male and I have never had a problem with this bench. I just bought a second one so I could have one at another location. If there is any downside to this product, it's that the leg lift is a little awkward for a man of my size.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Great Weight Set

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I voyage more into my 50's I am trying to keep more in shape. With no time for the gym i bought this set on sale for 78 bucks. I put it together in around an hour and it is very well built. When i come home and use the weights and the leg exercises before i walk the dogs. As a former Mr. California this weigh set is as good as used at Gold Gym. Maybe some day i will have time to go back to the gym but for now i am pleased with this set.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Non disclosure

07/25/2014
By ,
Ny
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It very simple to assemble..seems to be competitively priced to other benches..it was not disclosed clearly enough of the maximum weight capacity allowed(weights including person 300pds)..for someone in the 200 pound range that wishes to eventually add on a heavier work out it is not possible..
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Not perfect

01/04/2014
By ,
Finksburg, Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 17 yr. old son. It is a decent place to start for a beginner, but it has some shortcomings. First the bar. It is 2 pieces that are held together by 2 pins. You are supposed to tap them in with a hammer and that's it, but that's not the case. You have to spread and peen the other end to keep them from falling out. The biggest problem with the bar is that it is too short!
The place where you should be able to place your hands is blocked by the bench towers. We ordered a longer bar for about 30.00 which will fix that problem. He can now use the other bar for other off-bench lifting. Second- The set does not include enough weights for his bench pressing capability. We found more weights on EBay. All in all, we will still be ahead of the game.
If he really gets into lifting we can sell this and buy a much better, pricier set.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Average

07/19/2014
By ,
Picayune, MS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought getting a set of weights with my weight bench would be great, but unfortunately it is a pretty cheap bench, and I feel like if I squirm too much the seat might break, and I am far below the maximum weight allotment. You'd probably do better to buy the two separately. For a lightweight workout, I suppose its fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hazelcrest, il
the bench for little guys
Posted 07/23/2014
man, if your a light weight at 155lbs that can only lift about twice your weight this is the bench for you. but you heavy weights at 206 lbs+ STAY AWAY! you'll only be able to workout with half your weight or less. this bench has a 300 lbs weight capacity INCLUDING USER. what a piece of garbage, im taking mine back and getting the one that cost $106 with a 600 lbs capacity. (the Olympic competitor bench). bad thing about that is the leg weight capacity is 150 lbs but i'll still get it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

nice product

07/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice and light so I can easily move it.
I am 6 foot tall and the bar stands are a few inch's to close together. But other then that its a very affordable product, with decent quality
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Good Weight Bench

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the cost of a month at a gym, I got this bench which really meets my expectations.
It was easy to assemble, it’s a good size (I’m 5’8” and 150 lbs), and it’s solid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Reccommended

02/06/2012
By ,
elgin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I work out daily heavy routines and reps .I got tired of going to the gym went out on a limb an got this bench set an Now I can work out in my own home . So far I have got 2 "40's on each side , I have it reinforced to withstand the 160 an it's very sturdy. I have no issues and Nothing like having your own Gym in the privacy of your own home . I highly recommend this to any heavy hitter an it's just as good as one of those fancy 500$
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+180points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
bar
Posted 07/30/2012
is the bar 45 pound or what
+1point
Customer Avatar
How?
Posted 03/15/2012
What did you do to reinforce it?
+1point
Customer Avatar
san jose ca
hey
Posted 02/22/2012
Hey i just got this but i was wondering when the weights start getting easier how did you reinforce this? thank you
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 16 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Nice little weight set

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty easy assembly. Great set/value for the money. Using in garage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Not bad for the price!!

07/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got my weight set about a week ago and it is a great value for the price! It was very easy to assemble by myself and is very sturdy. There are only a couple of things that I would change and that would be a softer bench and a wider bar. But like I said before, for the price that I paid, not a big deal at all!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Great product

07/13/2014
By ,
miami,fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

good product

07/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick delivery and great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for CAP Barbell Deluxe Bench w/ 100-Pound Weight Set

Not for people over 6"00. easy assembly not sturdy

02/07/2013
By ,
Madison, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used to work out daily at gym. Now that I became busy I do not have enough time to go to gym.
So I decided to buy a bench to work out at home. After reading many good reviews of this item, I decided to buy it.
Good things about this item are cheap, and it comes with 100 pound weight. It is pretty easy to assemble too.
I don't know why people say it is sturdy, it really is not that sturdy. Maybe I expected too much from this bench. Tall people should not buy this. You will not be able to work out in a good form.
If you are beginner and shorter than 5'5 I would recommend this. If you are not, i recommend you to buy something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next