Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for DXG DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

DXG DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

The DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder allows you to capture the important moments of your life. The blue camcorder comes in a sleek design with a 5MP image sensor, designed to deliver crisp video with impeccable resolution. The ultra slim camcorder allows you to record full 1080p high-definition video at 30fps. The 3.0" touchscreen display on this 1080p HD camcorder enables you to shoot video and review your footage on a bright screen. This digital camcorder does not have internal memory, and will require an SD/SDHC memory card for recording footage, which are available for purchase separately.
Average Customer Rating:
3.593 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation67%18 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 50 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

Paid $39, wouldn't say it is worth much more.

04/10/2013
By ,
Idaho
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this camera mainly because of the price. It was $39.00 through Walmart's "Site to Store" option. (It took an insane amount of time to arrive at the store backed by a worthlessly vague tracking system, but that is another story. Let's just say I'm glad I wasn't in a hurry to use it.) I was in the market for a helmet camera to replace my old Tachyon XC helmet cam. Helmet cams typically start around $120 that have all the same recording specs that this camera had: 1080p HD video, 30fps, was tiny and light-weight. I felt I could look past it's shortcomings (not waterproof, no mounting options, no image stabilization....) for the price.
When I finally received it, I was impressed with how much came in the box. Every wire that you could imagine, plenty of literature with detailed instructions, a charger and removable battery (the item's description said it had a non-removable internal battery), and a soft case (bag) for storage. Again, impressive for $39.00.
I tried it around the house and everything worked fine. Colors aren't very vivid and transitions from light to dark were a little slow, but again, for $39.... After spending some time to make a Velcro mount for the side of my helmet, I tried it out. This is where I started to see it's real shortcomings. The audio is AWEFUL. Even in a quiet room, if someone talks too loudly, it records as distorted sound. The slightest breeze outside comes across as a gail-force wind. I would say it is too sensitive, but it seems to have a hard time picking up quiet sounds. When used as a helmet cam on a dirt bike, it renders the audio useless. between the wind noise and the loud engine, the audio is just garble. And without any type of image stabilization, the video, even when handheld, is shaky due to it's small size.
I understand I am not using this camera for what it was intended, but my rating is being judged on this camera's intended uses. For the price, yeah, I guess I would recommend it. But I saw this camera's list price on Amazon.com was $199?!!! No way.
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

I Like It

02/24/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This camera is really nice, takes good videos and pictures.
Pro's
Video quality, picture quality, battery life, size, audio quality, touchscreen
Con's
Box says dxg-5wov camera says dxg-5cov what's up with that, file format, nothing else
I recommend a class 6 or higher SD card
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Battery
Posted 04/02/2013
What's the battery life and can you remove/replace the battery (unless it's like the iphone where the battery cannot be accessed)?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

Incredibly inexpensive camcorder!

03/09/2013
By ,
Edison, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The camera is compact, user friendly, comes with all necessary cables, has beautiful definition and is simply incredible for a price that is so low that it's hard to believe. Truthfully I was expecting a toy but it is a very sophisticated camera that delivers above and beyond my expectations. Just purchase a memory card, charge the battery (charger included) and begin shooting movies or pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

HUH????

04/12/2012
By ,
Erie, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Right out of the box, didn't work. Battery got fully charged and screen was full of lines of different colors. Very disappionted as this is the second one I ordered and will have to also rerturn. Perhaps the low price should have been a sign.
P.S. No optical zoom as described. Model # on box is different from model # on camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
United States
SD card
Posted 06/07/2013
did you try putting an SD card in it or hooking it up to a computer?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

Great camcorder, but not for vloggers.

04/16/2013
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this camera and quickly realized that on full 1080p, it "zoomed-in" on whatever you were shooting. As a vlogger, this wouldn't work for me because it was too "zoomed-in" on my face. It wasn't like that in the 720p mode but I got this camera for its full HD quality. Don't get me wrong, this camera had the quality and at a great price! It just wasn't quite what I was looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

Camcorder

03/29/2013
By ,
Newman Lake, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately after receiving this camera my daughter went to see how it worked. After turning it on, the screen went white and nothing else. She was very disappointed. We thought perhaps the battery was dead, but after charging the battery she still got the same results. Not a happy story. It was returned and her money was given back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

Great little pocket recorder

12/11/2012
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old pocket camcorder died a d I bought as a replacement. Works perfect, no problems an takes good video.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

Excellent Value

02/21/2013
By ,
miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great camera and for this price?? Unbeatable, I have been using DXG brand for a long time and I do believe is a great company with great products at an affordable price, also excelent customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

Good Video Recorder

01/04/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brought for my boyfriend and he luv it. Comes with a black case and its slender and take really good video.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

Very Limited

04/24/2013
By ,
Philly
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this camcorder just to exchange some videos with a friend on You-Tube. The picture quality is not to bad for a $30.00 camera, but the sound is poor. Since I wanted to use it for some guitar videos-the sound was important. This however, is a nice little pocket cam that you can use in a crunch to shoot video. As I said, the video is not to bad and it's easy to use. Would be great for the kids. But if you need decent sound other than speech, this cam will not do the trick. Lets face it-"you get what you pay for."
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

You get what you pay for

05/16/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The camera is EXTREMELY cheaply made. If you are getting this for a child, they will love it. However, if you're an adult and even want home videos and recordings of life events, don't get it. Very bad quality. I got it because I want to vlog on youtube, but the quality is too poor and I couldn't figure a way to let it sit on my dresser correctly to film myself (because the camera is vertical not horizontal.) I didn't care for it and I returned it right away.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

Awkward and broken

10/18/2013
By ,
Del Rio Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Awkward to use, stopped working 6 mos later and DXG is out of business or something, can't contact.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

u will be surprised!!!

06/25/2013
By ,
boston, ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i was a little skeptical because of the cheap price but WOW...the quality was suprisingly great!! my boyfriend and i are very satisfied :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

Good at current pricing for daylight recording.

05/16/2013
By ,
new york
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice item. Works well for the short time that I tested it. It has an LED light for illuminating your subject, but the light is blue, not white or daylight.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

camcorder, takes still photos also

06/22/2013
By ,
la
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neat little camera, glad I ordered it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

Horrible...

04/29/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
...awful
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

Great choice for a basic camcorder

06/03/2013
By ,
Yorktown, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice touch with the touch-screen(no pun intended).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)

Vary good camera and easy to use

04/27/2013
By ,
Waterloo ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good for taking picture and video but sometimes hard to see video and picture in the sun
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)
05/02/2013
By ,
Bakersfield,Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice camera.Lots of features.love the.HIGH definition Features
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for DXG 5MP HD Digital Camcorder, 3.0" LCD Display, DXG-5W0VB (Assorted Colors)
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5