Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Emerson Emerson 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC401EM2F

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Emerson Emerson 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC401EM2F

The Emerson 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV features a brilliant 1080p Full HD picture for your viewing pleasure. Connect up to three HD devices with the provided HDMI ports. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Emerson 40" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation75%6 out of 8reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Emerson 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC401EM2F

Buy the extended warranty!

04/09/2012
By ,
CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I, like the others in this review, bought this television during Black Friday.
I have to admit, this thing was a beast compared to the television that I had before (20 inch).
However, its color and picture quality were subpar.
The audio is poor, I would suggest adding a speaker system.
Again, for the price, I couldn't really complain.
So now it has been 5 months. The warranty expired after 90 days.
I call and they tell me that they will pay for the parts but I had to pay for labor.
However, I live in an area that requires that doesn't have any "authorized" repair locations.
Before opening the television, I know what is wrong with it. It doesn't power on, the fuse has blown. To just look at the television, I have to ship it to them, which is about 75 dollars both ways, and for 5 minutes of their time, will be charged 110 dollars in labor.
On the phone, they tell me the inverter board costs 300 dollars. (the price of the television was 250 to me, 350 retail.)
I am going to replace the fuse and attempt to repair the faulty part on the board. This will void the warranty but it is very cheap. If it doesn't work, I will pay 55 dollars online and buy a new board and just put it in and it should work again.
So my suggestion would honestly be to spend the extra money and get a better brand television brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 2 for Emerson 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC401EM2F

Awesome for the price!

11/25/2011
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for a friend on Black Friday who isn't too tech savvy. I knew she didn't need all the bells and whistles or the highest video quality like what I look for. I didn't want it to have poor video either since I will be watching it too. There doesn't seem to be a lot of image clean up through the TV. Basically it will put out good images if you feed it good images. This means HD cable/antenna, Xbox360/PS3, and Bluray are really the only options for quality video. I tried Inception and Dark Knight bluray when I first set it up and I was impressed with the loud sound and the relatively good picture quality. Its no samsung/sony/Vizio but it more than gets the job done FOR $250! Can't be happier with the end product. Hopefully it lasts...
The sound quality is okay but I have the new setup hooked to a sound system so I won't even be using the TV speakers. I think it is worth up to ~$350-$400 for the size, any more money and I would have gotten a Vizio instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Omaha TX
Purchased during black friday
Posted 03/20/2012
I purchased this TV during black friday. Went on vacation in march and came home tv is not working. Not really happy with a tv that has trouble already in 3 to 4 months time. Television was on sale at a good price. When I called emerson about the problem since I can't find me receipt and I paid cash they go by the purcahse date that they sold it to Wal-Mart and they said it would cost 110.00 for them to repair the tv. So now with the cost of the repair not really a good deal after all.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Emerson 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC401EM2F

Good value, but not a great TV

11/25/2011
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I expected a bit more from this TV. I thought the deal was great, and for $248, I'm not complaining. I did think the picture wasn't very clear, especially for a 1080i. The sound wasn't too wonderful, either.
I did have a major problem in that the sound does not emit on any standard definition channels. after calling Emerson today, I am getting a replacement TV, so hopefully the issue will be resolved.
Overall, it's a great TV for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Diego Ca
Not a good tv
Posted 04/06/2012
I purchased this tv on black friday 11/25/11, not even 4 month later it breaks. There was sound but no picture. I called Emerson and they said they would pay for the parts to fix the tv but I would have to pay for labor. Labor costs would be more then what I paid for the tv. So I took to the internet and come to find out that many people are having the same problem. I guess you get what you pay for. I got 4 months of use and now I'm out $248.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Emerson 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC401EM2F

My Favorite Black Friday Purchase

11/25/2011
By ,
Southeast MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this TV last night 11-24-11 during the Black Friday sale, so far I can't find anything negative about this system, it takes a few minutes to set up the channels, I also added a wifi player to get internet content such as netflix and Vudu as this set IS NOT internet capable right out of the box. The base and frame are a glossy black, the screen is more a satin finish. all connections including 3 HDMI ports, composite video, RCA, and other connections are on the rear, there is no DVI connection and to connect this to a computer to be used as a monitor it would have to be connected via DVI/HDMI conversion cable.This TV has all the bells and whistles including 3 HDMI, 2 video, 1 component channel. Includes an average remote with batteries. Video quality is excellent, audio is average with sound being directed down from the bottom edge of the screen it is somewhat muffled but that can easily be remedied using an external sound system. On screen menu is simple enough to understand and easy to configure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 5 for Emerson 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC401EM2F

ClearPix X2 Engine = 120Hz

11/25/2011
By ,
Lakeside, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I bought this TV, I was kinda disappointed. I went to get that Sharp 42" at Best Buy, and of course, they were sold out. Best thing that could have happened as it turns out.
What I got was this Emerson. The ad specs says it's a 60Hz TV, but it's not. With the Clearpix X2 engine, it is actually 120Hz. So, instead of a 60Hz for $250, I got a 120Hz and man, the 120Hz is huge over the 60Hz I already owned.
Run, don't walk to buy this TV. Make sure it says ClearPix X2 on the box. You will be happy you did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for Emerson 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC401EM2F

Bang for Buck

03/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this last year (2011) during the black friday special.
Been using it as a computer monitor (1920 x 1080 resolution) and so far the picture is excellent. No dead pixels.
Gloss black, fingerprint magnet, but doesn't bother me as i don't touch it much at all.
I used this t.v not only as a monitor, but also for an xbox 360, wii, and regular t.v cable.
The switch between inputs is satisfactory, it is nowhere instant, but surely not slow to the normal user.
Switching channels from lets say channel 5 to 6 would take about 1.3 seconds, feels the same as switching channels from a brighthouse cable hd receiver mabob.
As for computer gaming, there is no "ghosting" or noticeable lag when playing graphically intense games such as Battlefield 3.
A note for using as a computer monitor. You may have to resize the desktop using the program for your specific graphics card. For example, i run a Nvidia card, i must resize the desktop with Nvidia control panel from 1920 x 1080 to 1824 x 1026 to make the picture fit within the screen, this was expected as it isn't a computer monitor but a t.v.
There is no degradation of picture quality going from 1920 x 1080 to the lower resolution.
Xbox 360 looks nice, but Xbox games are usually rendered in 720 so it might look less sharper when trying to be upscaled to 1080p this isn't the TV's fault, but rather the graphically limits on the xbox.
Wii looks meh since it is hooked up through composite a/v cables, and is no where near 1080p, i believe it is rendered in standard definition which is 480p or something like that. Again, not Tv's fault but the graphical limitations of the hardware.
For 248 dollars.... this is a steal i don't notice any difference in quality from other 1080p computers... it's just a resolution....
There is a difference between those tv's with the insane Mhz making it have the slow motion effect, though those make me seasick for somereason.
Great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 7 for Emerson 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC401EM2F

Great TV for gaming or watching hd tv!

04/12/2012
By ,
Andover Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv is good for xbox 360 and ps3 but you have to have an hdmi cable or else it will blur when moving. This tv is a good purchase for a kids room a bedroom or a gaming room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Emerson 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC401EM2F
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5