Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for 3M Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

3M Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

The Scotch Thermal Laminator is designed to give your favorite photos and important documents a permanent seal for long-term protection from damage. It has a clear, professional film that lets content and information show through. This 2-roller laminator is ideal for certificates, signs, artwork, photos, ID badges, luggage tags, business cards and more. It is refillable and easy to use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.595 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(131 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation96%72 out of 75reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 102 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

Sucessful Toner transfer for PCB

05/04/2013
By ,
Baltimore Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this laminator on a hunch, without any recommendation, to use for transferring Laser/toner printouts to copper clad PCB's. I had wanted to try using a laminator to make PCB's but was put off by buying one through the mail - these are stocked at Walmart (usually#. Right out of the box, without any "mods" to the thermostat, and using cheap paper I cut out of a magazine, I got a great, clean transfer which made a really nice board. On the 5 mil setting a 1/16" double sided copper clad board fed right through like this machine was made for it. I fed the board through probably, 10 times and when it cooled the magazine paper popped right off without soaking and about 99% of the toner had completely transferred to the board - there was no toner left on the paper. I was pretty astonished #in a good way# and Im left wondering if Scotch got smart and some of this performance wasn't engineered into the machine #this is version 2 of this machine#...probably not but no matter...it seems to get just hot enough for a clean transfer...if I can repeat these results I wouldn't even think of modding it..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

Excellent Laminator

08/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and daughter are both teachers and they had heard about this laminator from other teachers so we purchased one about a month ago - couldn't believe the price. Their friends also told them that the best deal for Scotch laminator pouches was at Sam's Club where you can purchase a pack of 200 thermal laminating pouches for under $22 which we did. We have done a lot of laminating the past few weeks and it works great....the laminating pouches are 3 mils thick and very sturdy....Works Great....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

Exactly what I needed.

08/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been a great product so far. It's quick and easy and gets the job done well. I've laminated almost 100 sheets so far. It heats up quickly and is simple to operate. It's been a great investment for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

Great laminator and an excellant value!

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this laminator for my wife, who is a kindergarten teacher. She has been using it daily since we received it and she loves it. She says that it works perfectly and does a great job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

Great for homeschooling

09/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have never used any other laminator but it works for what I need it for...homeschool materials. Sometimes I do need to put things through a couple times because it's wavy but it works nice and it's not too got for my curious one year old.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller
05/14/2012
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first purchase of a laminating machine and I really like it. What I liked most about it was the price. For both the machine and the laminating sheets I believe I paid around $40. It's not very big for one so it doesn't take up very much space. It's very simple to operate. The machine itself does not take long to warm up with two different settings depending on the thickness of what you are laminating. I have laminated my childs artwork, photos, postcards and have yet to come across any difficulties. It also has a carrying handle and nice storage for the cord in the back. I would definitely recommend this product to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

Excellent Purchase for the Homeschooler!

08/06/2013
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am just starting to homeschool my kids and very quickly realized I need a laminator. So many of the materials sold for education purposes are just flimsy. It gets costly to laminate at the education supply stores so after much research I purchased this. I have already used this a lot and it is doing great. It heats up quickly and keeps going when I need it to! I have used the release lever which worked great too! I have had zero problems and would buy again.
PS
You can use the laminating pouches from Sams Club which will save you a ton of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

does the job

10/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for the price. You have to put the paper through perfectly straight or else it will jam, but with practicing once or twice it's not difficult. Does a nice job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

Terrible Product

09/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jammed on the first use, and 2nd, 3rd, and 4th. Could not ever get a good lamination out of it. Returning to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From 3MProductExpert09/25/2014
We are so sorry to hear you had an issue with the laminator jamming. If you have not already returned the product we would like the opportunity to assist and would ask you please contact our customer service team at 1-800-772-4337 M-F 8am to 4:30pm CST. We want to make sure our products are meeting the high quality standards our customers have come to expect. Thanks for posting and we look forward to your call.Tekk
From 3MProductExpert09/25/2014
We are so sorry to hear you had an issue with the laminator jamming. If you have not already returned the product we would like the opportunity to assist and would ask you please contact our customer service team at 1-800-772-4337 M-F 8am to 4:30pm CST. We want to make sure our products are meeting the high quality standards our customers have come to expect. Thanks for posting and we look forward to your call.Tekk
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

Good Replacement

10/13/2011
By ,
Hampton Bays NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to replace my old laminator. Some nice features of this that my old didn't have are
1. Sheet guide to prevent it going in crooked.
2. A release lever so you can get your sheets out halfway through.
3. Single pass is all that is needed. On my old one you had to put it through twice to seal properly.
All in all a very nice inexpensive laminator.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+112points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

Be very careful

09/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this, or at least the idea of it. I thought one of the reviews said it didn't jam easy. Mine jammed on the fourth item. I followed all instructions, left nothing to chance. I AM still willing to take the blame though. If it jams again, I may be contacting WalMart. As far as that, everything else came out great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

great laminator

10/03/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a teacher and I make a lot of educational material. I like to laminate them to keep them perfect for use in the class. With the Scotch Thermal Laminator the sheets come out amazingly good. I must say, this is the best laminator I've ever had. I just love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+162points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

yuck

09/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Arrived broken had to drive to store to return
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
From 3MProductExpert09/17/2014
Thank you for creating your review of the Scotch® Thermal Laminator. We are sorry to hear about the product arriving in a condition that did not allow you to use it. We strive to manufacture product of a high quality and would not expect that this should have happened. We would ask that if anyone experiences this to contact us directly at 1-800-328-6276. We have agents available Monday through Friday from 8:00 – 4:30 CT to try to assist with a possible resolution. Thank you for your feedback.Tekk
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

Great product for every day use.

03/21/2012
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this laminator for home use, and I love it. It is quick and does exactly what I need it to do. I print items on card stock, then laminate them. I haven't had any problems with it at all. I'm very happy I bought this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
size
Posted 09/17/2013
can you buy bigger laminato sheets and cut them done to the size I need. Like if I by 8x10 sheets and then cut them to fit index cards
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

Great laminator!

11/03/2013
By ,
Middleburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this laminator! It really does the job. What I especially liked was that it has a release level, so if something is coming out crooked, or gets jammed, you can pull the release to get it out. I didn't have this on a previous machine I had, and I never got it out. So, then I found this great laminator. Also, it has two buttons for you to select the thickness. This nice feature allows you to put thicker paper, or items,through and they won't get get jammed. Something that could have saved my previous machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

Great product

09/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

A wonderful product!!

09/05/2014
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great and is convenient and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller
05/20/2012
By ,
DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own & operate a family child care out of my home. I am SO HAPPY I bought this laminator. It works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

great product for the price

09/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is very easy to use and works well. Great product for the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotch Thermal Laminator, 2 Roller

Don't know why i haven't gotten this before!

01/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laminator is so easy to use and works like a charm! I needed it many times last semester for grad school and now I don't know why I didn't get it sooner! it takes about 5-10 minutes for it to heat up and then about 10 seconds for a regular (8 1/2" by 11") size sheet to feed through. i bought the scotch thermal sheets (pack of 50) for $10 to go with this and I can see now that I won't have to buy sheets for a while. I bought the laminator on sale for $19.97 but i feel it would definitely be worth spending at least $30 on. I have yet to try to laminate anything too thick. The thickest thing I've done is construction paper and put it on 5ml and it had no trouble. It went through just like regular paper.
I can't tell you how pleased I am with my purchase! I only hope it will last me at least until I graduate from grad school!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next