Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished

Samsung Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished

Add another dimension to your viewing experience with the Samsung RBBD-D5500C/ZA Blu-ray Disc Player. Its 3D technology lets you enjoy cinema-quality 3D Blu-ray titles. Samsung Blu-ray disc player gives you access to the best of the web with Samsung Apps and the ability to search content. The 1080p 3d Blu-ray disc player adds class with its sleek design, which fits right in to nearly any modern living room. The up-convert on this player turns your normal DVDs into thrilling high definition Blu-ray quality. The player supports MPEG-2, MPEG-4, DivX HD, WMV playback and delivers high quality Dolby Digital/Digital Plus/TrueHD and DTS sound. It comes in shiny black with a remote control, which makes operating the Samsung Blu-ray disc player much easier.
Average Customer Rating:
4.305 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(436 Reviews) 415
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
261
4 stars
104
3 stars
37
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation88%346 out of 393reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 92 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
261
4 stars
104
3 stars
37
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished

Love it so far!

10/07/2011
By ,
Marion, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only owned the D5500 for a couple of weeks now, and I have not yet played a 3-D movie on it, but so far I'm loving it. Understand, too, that it's my first Blu-Ray player, so I've only just made the upgrade from standard DVDs to Blu-Ray. But the up-convert on this player is so good that I won't have to pay extra for Blu-Ray disks. My old DVDs look just as sharp as the Blu-Rays I've rented, so I will save the cost of the player the first year I own it by only buying Blu-Rays if they have extra features I want bad enough to pay the surcharge for! I didn't upgrade my surround sound, but the sound quality also seems better with the D5500. I'm hearing things on my movies (background sounds, etc.) that I didn't hear on my old DVD player that make the movie sound tracks more robust.
The only drawback I've found so far is that the touch-screen buttons are a little sensitive and close together for my fat fingers, so the first few times I used it I shut it off when trying to open the tray. But I've figured out how to avoid that, so now it's near perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished

Very Good BD player.

11/21/2011
By ,
Hagerstown MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this BD because I have bad luck with the vizio, the LG, many others. I have two Samsungs that I bought over 2 years ago a they are working fine. This one has Netflix, and other apps that you can used. Remember that this one needs and special adapter (USB) from SAMSUNG if you wanted to be wireless, the regular USB wireless do not work, it has to be the SAMSUNG that you can get on line from diferent vendors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished

Great Blu-Ray Player!

11/14/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This player would have received five stars, except it did not come with an HDMI cable as advertised. I had one, so it was not a huge deal, but someone buying their first HDMI device would have to go buy a cable (which can run from under $10 online, up to $80 retail). As for the player itself, it is excellent. We have played many Blu-Ray, 3D, and regular DVDs, and they all played flawlessly. I haven't tried the Internet Apps, as my new TV has all that built-in. I would definitely recommend this to someone else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished

Very good deal for the price.

03/26/2012
By ,
Chicago suburbs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I bought mine the ad said it included an HDMI cable. That was an advertising mistake they seem to have corrected. It only comes with a standard four foot RCA style audio/video cable. I would suggest getting your HDMI cable from this WalMart site. The cheapest one (less than $5 when I bought mine) was an excellent cable for a fraction of what they charge at almost every retail store. This model has Smart Hub which is a very good internet streaming program. I have not been able to look thru all the free and pay per view music and video options yet... there are many and tons of content. If you want the full story on internet streaming services, see the cnet.com review of Smart Hub compared to others. I found delivery is fastest to a Fedx site or your home. Shipping to the store has to go through a distribution center which can add days to the delivery time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished

Disappointed

11/09/2011
By ,
UP Michigan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this to replace a Samsung C5500C that would not load Blu-Rays. Samsung support said it (C5500C) was out of warranty and must have a defect as they couldn't figure out why the unit would play even after firmware update.
I have been unable to operate this new unit (refurb D5500) without the remote which is frustrating when all you want is to insert or remove a disc. Also, the unit does NOT include an HDMI cable as advertised.
I'd look closely at at a different model before purchasing.
P.S. for $3 you will receive the unit in 3 days. Free Site-to-Store took 9 days!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished
10/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit has been functioning so nicely that it's driving me crazy not knowing what could have possibly been wrong. I saved money buying it b/c it was refurbished.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished

I would NOT recommend this player for 3D playback.

02/21/2012
By ,
Pine Bluff, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this Blu-Ray 3D player so that I could watch 3D movies on my new 3D TV. I purchased it in "refurbished" condition, to save a few bucks. Problem is, it would not play 3D discs. I was told that its firmware needed to be updated, and was given very complicated instructions on how to do that. But since I didn't buy it to repair it, or update it, I returned it. I then purchased a Phillips Model BDP5406 Blu-Ray 3D Wireless player at Walmart. The Phillips unit is wonderful, easy to operate, and works perfectly. I strongly recommend it if you are going to watch 3D content.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished

Good Blu ray player

11/07/2011
By ,
Valdosta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had this Blu-ray player for a little over a week but I really think its great. It was refurbished on sale for under $100 and also would play 3D if I had a 3D TV. The only thing is the add said it was with HDMI cable which it did not come with. Perhaps because it was refurbished? Otherwise this was a great purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished

1st time bad luck

08/19/2012
By ,
Bushnell IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this all hooked up and 1st time I played it , it played great. Two days later turned it on to watch a movie and the pic. was all screwed up but after it was on for awhile it played great again. Next day got up turned it on and theres nothing as far as a pic. Took it back to walmart and they refunded my money without a problem. I just ordered another one and we will see hows that one works out. Then maybe I can recommend it to a friend and maybe they will let me write a good review!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished

Does what I need it to do

01/30/2012
By ,
Littleton, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a Samsung 50-inch, and had a Sony DVD player, and could not get the wireless to work, so I had to buy this Player, and using my wireless dongle, was able to get to the internet with it. Just can stand these proprietary systems, but what are you going to do.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished
05/23/2012
By ,
Lake Wales, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Other than a tiny mark and the refurbished stamp I would have never guessed this was a refurbished unit - I do believe the remote is brand new - if not then they did one heck of a job. So thank you for a job well done.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished

works great

01/12/2012
By ,
MESA, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
player works perfectly, even though i bought it refurbished. only one thing wrong. it stated that i got the high def cable with it and it was not in the box. i did call samsung and then i had to prove that i actually bought the player that day because according to them, this item was purchased in jan 2011. but i had the proof and i had to fax them a copy of the receipt and when they got the fax they call and said they would get me one out with in 10 days. as of today, i still have not received it but it has only been 8 days. but i love samsung. my 3d tv is also a samsung. and oh by the way, the reason i only gave it an overall rating of a 4 was because of the trouble i had getting the high def cable. the player is awesome
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished
02/11/2012
By ,
Phoenix, Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this item which also included a bonus HDMI cable. I never received the HDMI cable and called Walmart about it, they referred me to the Samsung number who informed me that they could not supply the cable because the unit I bought was refurbished and out of warranty. I explained that the item specifically noted that the unit was refurbished and also included the bonus HDMI cable. Samsung did send me a refund but I was slightly tunred off by this problem. The Blue-Ray player however works very well and I am very excited about the wirless function and Netflix capabilities. I would recommend the player but the problem that came from it tained my purchase somewhat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished
12/19/2012
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have never been dissatisfied with a product from Walmart until now
As usual, products always arrive earlier than expected and I love that. This product did not work out of the box. It powered up, but would not display the menu as suggested. At first I thought it was the cable, but after several hours of driving back and forth purchasing different cables, I just purchased a NEW Sony 3D Blue ray player and it worked just fine out of the box. I returned the Samsung player and never again will I purchase anything refurbished from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished

Do NOT buy

06/23/2012
By ,
Michigan City, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered 2 Blu-Ray players. Both came seperately with cables, NOT the HDMI plug as described.
Also a LAN connector is required if you want to have wifi access. The cost for the LAN connector is greater than the player.
DO NOT BUY THIS!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished

Great Buy for the Price

02/07/2012
By ,
Bedford NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you have your internet close by, then this is a great buy. Wireless is a good option but cable will always be faster and consistent. The only problem I found was the "included" HDMI cable was not included after all, and suggested to Walmart to remove that from the item description. If you do purchase this player, just be ready to call CS to get them to comp you for the HDMI cable you will have to purchase, in fact order one while you buy this unit, I think it was only $4. ENJOY!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished

So much better than expected

11/25/2012
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this refurbished but you'd never know it. The price was awesome! Very easy to hook up and the picture is so clear. Haven't tried the 3D yet but am excited to do so. That's the reason for the purchase so look forward to enjoying that. Wondered about the refurbished aspect but got the 2 year replacement plan which was very reasonable. It was delivered in half the time stated which was a nice surprise. So far couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished

Misleading and inaccurate

01/19/2012
By ,
Las Vegas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Despite advertising that this player comes with an HDMI cable, IT DOES NOT! Also, I purchased this player because of its standalone wireless capabilities so that I can use the netflix and other online features. Despite the description saying it was wireless ready, it isnt. In order to comnect to the internet, you have to buy an external wireless adapter to plug into the unit so thatbit can conmect to your wireless network! VERY LAME!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished

You really need to know this b4 buying...

01/16/2012
By ,
Land O Lakes, Fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a great refurbished blu ray player for the money. There are drawbacks to this deal. First, there was no HDMI cable included as advertised. Second the Blu ray player advertises apps that require a wifi connection. The player isn't equipped to receive wifi unless you buy the adapter that plugs into the back. THIS IS NOT COOL! Sounds like a bait and switch. Thankfully I just wanted the 3d blu ray player, period. It does the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung BD-D5500C/ZA 3D Blu-ray Disc Player,Refurbished

Great player

03/21/2012
By ,
Brownsville, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had the player for about a week but I'm very satisfied so far. It has performed exactly as discribed and literally the only complaint I have is that the front display is not bright enough for me -- and I did turn the display as bright as it will go. Considering I got this refurbished unit for substantially below the "new" price and for far below the price of other new machines on the market, I could not be more pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next