Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kent International Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

Kent International Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

This men's 700c fixie bike is all about keeping things simple and getting it done without breaking the bank. At the heart of this fixed-gear bike, you'll find a strong, hand-crafted frame with horizontal dropouts that can handle the abuse of the big city. City riders who don't need derailleurs will like this Thruster bike's flip-flop hub that enables riding as a fixed gear or in standard freewheel, single-speed mode without having to worry about adjustments to temperamental components. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your 700c fixie bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.257 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(202 Reviews) 176
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
112
4 stars
61
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation91%180 out of 198reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
133 Questions | 317 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
112
4 stars
61
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

Killer Deal, Aweful Color Scheme

04/22/2012
By ,
Wapak, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was about six months ago that I originally spotted this in my local store. Initially I thought the bike was hideous, but thought the price was great. As time went by the itch I had to try fixed gear riding grew stronger and with a limited cash flow and too many bikes in my stable already I decided to give this bike a try. After bringing it home and taking it out of the box I completely dissassembled and lubed and reassembled this beast. Be aware that if you would like to remove the freewheel it may prove difficult as there are no notches for a removal tool. My initial run was with the front brake on only and with that I realized the purity of fixed riding. Around a month later I could take no more of the Mcd's theme and decided to paint the bars and back rim, install new Forte Metro tires, and replace the hard stock grips with red Oury's. The end result for me is a sweet fixed gear at a bearable price, that is a daily rider. Best of all is that it was around 130 bucks total with the extra parts! The only negative thing that I have found about this deal is that the front sprocket slips like a 32nd of an inch when locking up the crank.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

Great Fixie for the price

10/04/2013
By ,
Roanoke, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this bike for 1 year, 5 months. I've enjoyed using it, but I feel obligated to mention a couple issues. The biggest issue was the crank arm breaking off of the bottom bracket axle. I was able to recycle parts from an old bike of mine, no biggie, but I did have to walk it 4 miles back home when it broke off. I've also had to replace the front brakes, not from wear, but they just broke off. Again, I used recycled parts. Despite those issues, I've had a lot of fun riding this bike and I would recommend purchasing it. It's lightweight, cheap, and flashy (I get a lot of comments on the color choice).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

My First SS!

05/02/2012
By ,
Central Valley California.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really really love this bike! It gets me everywhere. But I got bored of it pretty fast. So i made it my own and changed it just a little. There are some bad things about it though. The bottom bracket had some play in it after three months of riding, so i had change that out. Also, I changed the brakes and brake pads. But other than that its a great bike. And it was only $100 :) It was so cheap that i bought two. One for me and one for my girlfriend.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

Amazing for the price

08/24/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently got into cycling because my gym is 10 miles round trip from my house and i hate cardio so i figured i would buy a bicycle to help with that. I came across the thruster fixie I thought it was a really cool looking bike and for the price I couldn't say no i figured if I hated the sport it was only $100 so no really loss as apposed to say 1-5k. I ordered it online and was pleased when it arrived due to the ease of set up. after riding it for a day i decided to start looking for parts because i started to think of the color combination rather obnoxious. i put an extra $200 into the bike and I am not very pleased with my decision in purchasing this bike.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Byram, MS
Handlebars
Posted 08/07/2013
What size handlebars did you get? Mainly I'm need to know the clamp size. Any other after market stuff you put on would be good to know too if you don't mind as I'm wanting to do something similar.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

great way to get started riding a fixed gear

06/20/2012
By ,
sarasota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price you can't go wrong, lots of fun would suggest to change the seat. Really easy to make it your own , 5'8 and a bike fits perfect.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Byram, MS
Handlebars
Posted 08/07/2013
What is the size and name of the handlebars you put on? I would like to put some on just like those. Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

Awesome Bike for the Buck!!!

10/05/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I waited a week before purchasing this bike after I saw it initially in my local Wal Mart. When I went back, I prayed one was still there for me! It looks cool, rides perfect! I, ofcourse had to tweak it a bit but once done... I have ridden many miles on it in just the short time I've had it... I would highly reccomend this bike to one who is wanting a road racing looking style type bike with all the advantages of a 21 speed without the haggle of shifting and adjusting derailers. I've added a few lil accessories already but this SINGLE speed bike is perfect for my riding needs and I look forward to many years of satisfaction with this bike!
SARGE
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+115points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Newark, NJ
Good Luck
Posted 07/30/2013
You will not get years of satisfaction out of this bike. It will fall to pieces and cost too much to replace components after one year of riding.
0points
Customer Avatar
Miami, FL
Awesome bike for a giant!!!
Posted 06/10/2013
I bought this bike for my stepson. When it arrived it was too tall for me to ride. I am not tall but their should be some clearer indication of the height you should be to comfortably ride this bike. That said aside from the stickers it is a cool looking bike at a great price.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

Only a $100 Bucks!

01/16/2012
By ,
wichita, ks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this bike to ride while visiting relatives. The first thing you need to do is completely disassemble this bike. Remember, Walmart does not employ bicycle mechanics and the manufacture doesn't either.
Once I lubed, reassembled and tuned the bike correctly, it rode great. I broke it in on a 10 mile ride. I had to get some replacement pedals after the first ride as one bent when I tried to sprint across the street to beat crosswalk light.
I was going to convert an older road bike but it would have cost more than this complete bike did.
If you are not mechanically inclined buy this bike and drive straight to your local bike shop and pay them $50 to $75 to professionally assemble it. It will be money well spent and as the lesser grade compnoents wear out, replace them as needed.
Awesome starter bike and worth every penny! but remember, it's a $100 bike
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

Shocked.

09/28/2013
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always had my eye on this bike, but could never justify buying it because i have a $400 fixed gear setup. I saw that it went on sale, so i finally bought it. When it arrived, i swapped the tire colors, changed the bars, removed the back brake and stickers, and now i have a sick, smooth, light weight beat down fixie.
This thing rides so smoothly. Its built like a tank while still being light weight. If you know how to actually tune a simple bike brake, these will stop you on a dime. This bike rides just as good as my $400 fixie, and actually is more comfortable. I cant believe this thing is less than $99.
If youre looking for your first adult bicycle, cut out all of your options and buy this. Its the perfect starter bike. Ive been commuting through my city for years, and this fixie has been serving my needs.
Such an amazing deal.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

Excellent deal for $100

05/18/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you've only got $100 and time on your hands, this is a good bike. Like other's have said, it does need a little tweaking. The cone nuts on the hubs were too tight, as well as the headset, and bottom bracket. The brakes were misaligned and unusable out of the box w/o some setup. It took me longer than I'd like to admit to get everything dialed it, but it's a solid performer after this. You'll definitely learn a lot about bikes in the process. I would recommend this to someone who wants to tweak, tune and customize. A lot of parts can be had for this type of bike since it uses old, conventional technology.
The wheels aren't perfectly straight, the crank arm stripped when I tried to pull it, and the front fork looks a little warped from the welding. It's what you should expect at this pricepoint. However, you can still make it fly. I hit over 27mph as logged by my GPS, just remember to keep pedaling when using the fixed cog.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

I was blown away by the price

06/25/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I was getting into fixed gear bikes I went to stores and looked at the prices and the minimum on a fixed gear is about $300 unless its used. Then when I went to a bike store and asked how good the brand Retrospec was I always heard "there the worst fixed gears you can get" so I took that out of my options and it the bikes would cost now around $375. When I told them my price range they were saying Walmart sells fixies but they aren't all that great. I took the chance when I saw it was $100. I bought it I was a beginner so it didn't matter the quality only downside is the colors me and my friends made fun of it. I still have mine it doesn't fully look like how it used to be still changing it but its still in great shape I use it for FGFS its better than a Retrospec Saint FGFS bike because the frame on this one is stronger and it has better clearance. I had 700 x 50c tires on this will still some extra space. A retrospec can't handle that. In my opinion if your on a budget get this bike it is worth the price all you need is an extra $40 on hand for pedals and straps or cages what ever you like. Then also some paint I haven't painted my bike yet because Im still buying parts such as rims. Right now I'm back to the original size tires 700 x 38. Overall I am happy with this bike its good for its price can be a bit better like having a thread less stem but oh well its still fine. If your unsure of a price range you have or low budget get this bike take off all the stickers (even the front "T" its removable)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

Sweet ride!!!!

04/09/2012
By ,
Ridgewood, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all you can't buy 2 wheels for a $100. Too bad that it wasn't make in green in black and yellow. Anyways I'm enjoying it a lot! And getting a lot of compliments.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

Sick bike for 100 bucks

03/03/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
buy it you wont regret it. not a big fan of the yellow so i fixed that problem with black paint.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

Nice for $100

05/14/2013
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You have to realize what you're getting before you buy it. I repacked all the bearings, including the crank because they were full of someting that was gritty, and they were all just a but too tight. All I had to buy to do the bearings is a cone wrench for the hub - a whopping $3.20. I put on new brake pads and better pedals (plastic pedals- no thanks). I just had to change the tires so they match the rims too. All in all, for about $130, I have a nice fixe (or single gear coaster because of the flip flop hub) that looks nice and I trust for a long ride in the country. For me, this was a walk away steal for the money. Hope this helps.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

Great Beginner Bike.

04/11/2012
By ,
LONG BEACH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this bike as a gift from my mother in law about 3-4 months ago. It's definitely a bargain priced fixie, you get what you pay for. I decided to give it a chance and I actually liked it! Other than a slight problem with the bottom bracket and crank the bike is solid....cheap but solid. Great for getting in shape and great on my local bike path. I've put 1000+ miles on the bike and made some mods. Changed the pedals, chain and tires to meet my aesthetic needs, all for about 60 bucks. I also decided to put bullhorn handlebars with corkwrap on the bike which was another 40 bucks. I have tons of paint in the garage so I painted the rims and fork in white lacquer. The bike looks super sharp and is fun to ride. Maintenance is a must with this bike though. The crank arms tend to get loose and the crank is garbage but you''ll have fun riding around on this stock bike for just 100 bucks.. can't get that at the local bike shop they start around 300
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

This bike surprised me

01/25/2012
By ,
San Jose, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to get a bike to commute to school. Well I have always seen single speed bikes, and I thought , hey, thats all I need. But ya know what the price always seemed too much at bike shops. Long story short I wanted a bike but did not want to pay a min 300bucks to get one. One day I am in walmart and see this odd colored bike. I go to internet to investigate. Looks cool for the price, still I delay. Then I finally take the chance and just get the bike. Well, when I took the first ride, I was like whoa, this thing is easy to pedal and it got me to school quickly. Faster than public transit. I am at safeway and get compliments, some girl's like nice bike, and I'm like thx. For the money this thing is a dream, rides great, feels cool.If I had to change anything, it would be softer seat more subtle colors for the wheels. There may be those who will say since its from Walmart it may not be of great quality, well when you ride it you will see that it is, and you will have the added knowledge of knowing your awesome bike only cast you a great deal less than those hipster doofuses. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

many better options than this clown bike

09/16/2012
By ,
Pinetop, Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am dissappointed with this purchase. There were a few parts missing (valve stem cap and tightening screw to hold brake lever in place). Luckily, I had some extras and corrected the problem. strike one. Then, the handlebars keep going out of whack - there is ONLY an Allen key to tighten them at the center of the stem. Srike two. THEN, the plastic petal stripped and fell off! I take responsibility for that, 'maybe' I cross-threaded it when I installed the petal onto the crank. I went ahead and scewed the petal back in - and felt the metal shavings coming out the back. I'm wondering how long that quick fix will last ... NOW, the intertube on the rear tire keeps going flat at the stem. I'll need to replace the tube and this time, it'll be filled with some green slime. I am also going to fill the front tube, as a precautionary measure.
Bottom line: this is a $100 Wal Mart bike, for sure. There are better options - but you get what you pay for!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

Great bike for average person

02/24/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After riding this for a couple of weeks, I liked it so much that I purchased another one.
>For training, use fixed gear. You will get into shape because you can't coast. Keep the heavy stock tires. I have one bike like this. I use it for going shopping. I hope it is so ugly that no one will steal it.
> If you replace the tires with black ones, the bike looks a lot better. I have the other set up this way. Lighter tires are a big improvement for longer distance rides.
> There were no water-bottle cage mounts on my bikes. The picture shows them.
> The brakes do rub against the painted rim. If you keep in fixed gear mode, you can slow down by pushing against the pedals and then not use the brakes as much. The brakes are not good but good enough.
> Seat is bad. After 5 rides, I could feel it starting to fail. I replaced it with an old seat from another bike.
> I have a road bike that cost over a thousand, but I ride the fixed gear bike more often. The road bike is better for going up and down steep hills. The fixed gear bike is a lot of fun.
> I'm 5'8" - The bike is slightly large (in terms of stand-over height), but is no problem when riding. Ignore stand-over and just ride. You will like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
LA
To Xenophonic - It's a fixie, after you "flip" it
Posted 06/08/2012
When you buy the bike, it is in Single Speed mode. It does coast.
You take the rear wheel off, flip the rear tire (right side to left), put the chain back on, etc. One side of the hub is single speed and the other is fixie.
In the Q&A section, the procedure is described.
For those who assemble the bike themselves, note that the pedal has an "R" and an "L" on the tip of the pedal bolt. The pedals are different. If you try to put an "R" (right side) pedal on the left side, you will permanently ruin the crank arm. You will be very sad. Also, you should grease the threads before putting the pedals on. The "R" pedal tights clockwise and the "L" counterclockwise.
For the current bikes, sticker removal does not require a heat gun. Just peel them off.
If your bike starts to squeak, it could be the seat. It isn't a very good one. Stand up and pedal. If there is no squeaking, it is the seat. You can try adjusting and oiling various parts but I can never get a permanent fix for a squeaky seat.
It could also be the crank arms. There are plastic caps covering the crank arm bolts. You can tighten these firmly with a 14 mm socket wrench. Put the caps back on, as they keep dirt out.
Please keep checking that the bottom bracket is tightened. I notice that sometimes the crank can get loose and wobble. This means that the bottom bracket is loose. The lock ring should be loosened, the inside threaded cup turned clockwise to tighten, and then the lock ring tightened. You may want to get a shop to work on it, but it is better to learn how to fix it yourself. If you ignore the problem, supposedly other components can be damaged.
+1point
Customer Avatar
...but it’s not a real fixie...
Posted 05/08/2012
I bought and like the bike, too, but despite the description it is NOT a “fixie.” It is single-speed, but NOT fixed gear. You CAN coast, for example. Not a problem unless someone is truly looking for a fixed-gear bike, in which case they'll be disappointed.
-2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 18 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

Like the Bike

03/03/2012
By ,
West Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered the bike with 97 cent shipping and it arrived FedEx in 3 days ! I have another Kent bike from Walmart (GMC Denali Pro) which I've ridden several thousand miles and I expect this bike to hold up as well. This is not the lightest bike at @29 lbs. but for recreational riding that doesn't matter, I live in flat country. The bike rides well, I am enjoying riding it as a fixie. I like the kickstand and chain guard for riding around town and errands. For $99 this bike is a great value.
When I took it out of the box I spent several hours taking it apart and putting it back together, and adjusting everything as needed. The wheel, bottom bracket and headset bearings all had grease, but were over tightened and needed to be adjusted before riding. This was expected after reading other reviews.
Some of the specs on the bike that are not listed in the description that might be helpful if someone were thinking about changing components include:
36 spoke wheels with alloy rims. 700 x 32c tires
48 tooth chain ring, 18 tooth freewheel and fixed sprocket
100 mm front hub spacing
110 mm rear hub spacing
73 mm bottom bracket shell with 114 mm square taper spindle
170 mm steel cranks
1 inch threaded headset
alloy stem with 1 in dia. handle bar clamp.
32 in. stand over height
21 inch top tube and seat tube length
1 inch dia. seat post
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+183points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
West Coast
Posted 03/08/2012
tireas are 700 x38c not 32c
+1point
Customer Avatar
West Coast
Posted 03/05/2012
oops! Bottom bracket shell is 68mm not 73
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

Good bike for the money

09/13/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just like the other reviews stated, this bike is worth the $100. Yes, there are several adjustments needed, including the bearings (just need a cone wrench, or do it cheaply at a local bike store), brakes (adjust yourself) and any assembly just needs time and effort. The things that could be improved would be the brakes. They are weaker than your average bike, but once you get them dialed in, the weaker brakes are easy to get used to. Weight is more than your average expensive bike, think in the 28- 30 lb region or so. There are several biking blogs that start with this bike, and then take it to completely personalized and custom levels for less than $100 bucks more. If you are some sort of expert cyclist, then of course a $100 bike isn't going to meet your needs or your criteria. but if you're looking to ride this around, or commute shorter distances, then go for it! Seriously, its the best deal on a new bike you can get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Thruster 700c Men's Fixie Bike

Thoroughly inspect & ride bike before you buy it!

04/26/2012
By ,
Twin Cities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I walked into the Walmart after seeing this online and there were 2 left. I fell in love with the bike right when I first saw it.
I picked the one that was already on the floor and bought it. I rode it home and then I began to hear a clunking noise coming from the crank. I toyed around with it at home for a while to solve the problem and then eventually brought it back. The customer service rep, who just happened to be a bike guru, told me the crank/bearings were out of wack and that's what was causing the clunking noise. He said the bike would be unrepairable by them and would have to be marked defective and returned to the factory.
So I walked on back and got the other bike. Exchanged and rode that home. Wha-laa, much better! It rode well and I didn't feel like I was going to get stranded.
SO, please check your bike and ride up and down the aisles (even if you look like "one of those guys" doing it) to make sure that the one you buy isn't defective.
Oh and, the picture on Walmart does it no justice. The ones at the store have all red/yellow rims (no black/silver outline) and DO have the sweet yellow/red handlebar/brake grip combo. Actually, let me just upload an awesome pic of mine :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 177 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next