Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nintendo Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose

Nintendo Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose

Enjoy all of the features of the original Nintendo DSi system in a plus-sized package. The Nintendo DSi XL has two screens that are 93% larger than the DS Lite — that means a whole lot more real estate for viewing and playing all your favorite Nintendo DS games. Also, the bigger size means the DSi XL is friendlier to adult-sized hands and motions; it's a perfect Nintendo DS for really big kids. Three pre-installed Nintendo titles come packaged with the DSi XL. Brain Age Express Math and Brain Age Express Arts and Letter test your critical thinking skills and help you train your brain. The Nintendo DSi Browser lets you surf the web right from your DSi XL, and Flipnote Studio helps you Become a master animator on the go: create, upload and share your own animations with the world. You can also find over 100 additional games to download from the Nintendo DSi Shop.
Average Customer Rating:
4.763 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(131 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation97%127 out of 131reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 100 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose

Great for a 5 yrs old

12/06/2011
By ,
Biloxi,MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommended Nintendo DS XL for kids .They have good games and easy to use, you can record and has also a camera for pictures. I got it for my 5 yr old grand daugther as a xmas gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
san antonio, tx
5 year old
Posted 12/24/2011
I have a 5 year old also and got scared when I saw this is better for "adult hands"...ur comment was super helpful!
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose

Happy Kiddo

12/26/2011
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter is only 4...yes..spoiled...but she loves the DSiXL. She's always watching her older sister play, so I decided to buy her one of her own. The games I purchased are at her level so she can understand how to play. She loves it and was very excited when she opened it Christmas day!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose
11/08/2011
By ,
HUNTINGDON, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Glad we did the XL due to the screen size still being small, has a lot of neat features. So far so good.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose

Great

11/20/2011
By ,
Houma, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the bundle pack for our daughter's birthday. It was a great price & fun to play.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose

A LOT BETTER THAN THE FIRST DSI THAT CAME OUT.

11/30/2011
By ,
MARTINSBURG, W.V.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE SCREEN TO THIS DSI IS BIGGER AND BETTER FOR PEOPLE WITH LOW VISION.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose

great gadget for children

01/08/2012
By ,
green bay, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my 8 years old daughter seems very happy with this dsi xl. I would not have spent that same amount on a regular size screen for a 3ds. also, I don`t think it`s healthy for anyone to look at a 3d screen for so long, so often. overall, happy with this purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose
12/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this DSI XL model for my 5 yo daughter. She is visually impaired, so I went with the larger screen gamer even though 3D is out and was cheaper. She has caught on pretty well with the games and loves the camera and she has only had it three days. I have had to help her through some of the games, but that is to be expected. So far, so good and it made pretty durable. It came with the case with our purchase and an extra pen
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose

We bought this for our 4year old but

10/12/2013
By ,
Hattiesburg, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our 4 year old daughter because she played other friends so she beg for one. So for her birthday we decided to get it. There are limited things she can do because of her age and feel like we should have waited until she was older and at least can read really well. Something she can do like the Elmo games we purchased , and built in take pictures and make funny sounds she can do and navigate through the system was easy for her but games built in like Brain games was to old for her and reading to advance, math.recommend for ages 6& Up but I love the brain tester game for myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose

Wonderful Product

03/18/2013
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 8 year old daughter has pink and my 10 year old has blue, they loves everything about this game, they surf the web, by games on it, and soooo much more. My Daughter wears glasses and it is wide enough that she does not have to strain. A PLUS for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose
12/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter had a DSlite before and really enjoyed it, but she absolutely loves the DSi XL because of the large screen and she especially likes the camera and all the fun things she can do with the pictures. She has raved about how much she loves the DSi XL and has thanked us repeatedly for getting it for her. It was a great Christmas gift, especially purchased as a bundle. We look forward to exploring more of the features of this fun device!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose
12/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased product as a xmas gift for granddaughter, it came with a carrying case and your choice of a DVD. It was the main thing she wanted for Xmas!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose

<3 <3 <3 loooove it!!!!!!

05/13/2013
By ,
Hawthorn Woods, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can play with it for 5 hours strait. It's so awesome!!! So much fun!!! You'll never want to put it down!!!!
O U O
And the screen is soooo much more better than the old dsi's. it's like, 93% bigger!!!! That's huuuggeee!!!! I would recommend this to anyone!!!
People say that because the screen is bigger, the picture is more pixelated. That is so not true. It's really clear, not lying!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose
10/10/2013
By ,
NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my granddaughters 7 birthday, she was thrilled. The price was the best I could find
for the bundle package.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose
08/17/2013
By ,
spn usa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 4 years old girl really like it.very nice and educational too,best dsi for all ages and I love it too,I want to buy again for my self soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose

Wish I would have bought 3DS XL

12/14/2012
By ,
Conroe Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The screen is ok. I dont like that I just bought it and they are already fasing out the games. The new 3ds games dont work with the dsi there is an extra notch so that you cant fit it in there so I just bought 3 game consoles (one for me and each of my sons) and they are pretty much obsolete. Also the internet on it is way below what I thought it would be (doesnt work good, horrible picture) and the games to buy online dont even tell you what they are about or anything just a picture that represents the game and a price. Also I thought my boys would be able to both play off of one game but it turns out only some games are like that and they dont all say which ones they are. I also thought there would be online score boards but I havent found any yet. Trust me save your money or upgrade.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose

she loves it

08/27/2013
By ,
Ardmore, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 5 year old for her birthday and she loves it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose

XL screen size is an improvement

12/27/2012
By ,
Valrico, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first must rave about the screen size. Although it is not massive, compared to the original DS it does make a difference. My daughter who is 7 loves her new DSi XL. I do wish there was a compartment on the device for storing the extra large pen. There is a small pen that comes with it as well with its compartment, as would the DS, but there is not a space for the larger size pen. Love the fact that it has a spot for an SD card also. Helps with the storing of photos...my daughter loves to take photos with her DSi XL.
There are other features that are very popular with small children. In addition to the camera and the editing of photos that could be fun, and funny, there is also the voice recordings. WiFi connectivity is also a feature. We have not explored it too much but it is there.
What is also great is the fact that you could use your DS games with the DSi. You don't have to purchase entirely new game cards for this device. The transition from the DS to the DSi XL has been fantastic overall.
If you would like a storage bag for your device (i.e., case, other) you're better off ordering online (WalMart or other). These items for the size (XL) are rare, if at all, to locate in a store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose

Great toy!!

12/27/2011
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first item on my child's list for Santa. I was afraid she might play with it for a while and quickly get bored with it. Not so...there are so many different games that you can play with the Nintendo DSI. We love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose

Great View, Questionable Value

01/16/2013
By ,
Racine, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had an old Nintendo DS which succumbed to the screen flicker problem, so I figured if I were going to get a new one that I'd get an upgrade. I don't care for the 3D games, so I got this instead. I'm a little bummed out that I can't use it for old Game Boy games as I have several of those that would look great on a bigger screen and very few DS games. The games you're supposed to buy on the DS Shopping channel are mostly disappointing, just like those that you find on the Wii Shopping Channel. I guess you're better off looking for someone selling their lot online or at a rummage sale, but the game selection for the DS is fairly limited for my taste. I probably should have purchased the older version.
I like the color and the fancier pen stylus they include, though ^^;
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nintendo DSi XL, Metallic Rose
03/19/2013
By ,
Webster, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 6 yr old granddaughter loves it! It was a surprise from me so that made it even better!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next