Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mossberg Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mossberg Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

This gun from Mosberg will always shoot straight and aim true.
Average Customer Rating:
4.48 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%24 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

Exceptional value and accuracy

02/25/2014
By ,
Sandy, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In 2 words : Buy it.
I bought this gun thinking I was making a mistake (because it was the cheapest on the block). Took it home cleaned it and shot a few Federal .22lr (from a really old 550 brick). Had a few failure to loads, but I thought it was the ammo. Had the good fortune of running into a single brick of Remington Golden bullets and WoW! Every round loaded and never had a jam for the ~130 rounds I shot. Same with ~100 rounds of CCI 40 grains.
I fitted a 4x32 scope onto it and was surprised to find myself shooting clay pigeons at 75 yards standing! I never expected it to be that accurate. This is my first gun and I've shot it until now (for a year) without any major issues.
Minor issues: The scope tends to loosen after a while. Not sure if its the rails on top of the gun or the scope mount. Also the magazine needs to be inserted to the right depth, else the rounds don't load load. I would have given a 5/5 if not for these two issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 2 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

Great little gun

09/29/2012
By ,
Rapid City, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally spotted this gun in a Wal-Mart ad, and the price shocked me... $107!!!! I've always wanted a little .22 to just mess around with and plank targets, and also something lighter for the girlfriend to shoot. I love how this gun feels in my hand, and it feels accurate. I really like how the slide locks open when the magazine is empty. I love that it has a built in rail for slide on scope mounts, can't wait to see how this thing shoots with a scope. Earlier today (9/29/12), I took it out for the first time and put about a 100 rounds through it and didn't have a simple jam or misfire. Before I took it out though I cleaned the gun and oiled it, so I'm sure that helped.
So here's the best and worst features of this gun:
BEST: Love the smaller size, slide locks open, built in scope rail, and the incredibly cheap price tag compared to the Rugar 10/22.
WORST: Came with only 1 - 10 round magazine, it's very hard to find after market accessories or extended magazines, and the stock feels like really cheap plastic.
Overall this gun was a great purchase, and will fit well in my gun collection.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+29points
Review 3 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

Nice light "farm hand".

08/01/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I picked this up awhile back from the "Mart" for a bit over $100 out the door.
Actually cheaper than I could find a used Marlin 60 for anymore!!
I have been wanting to get a compact little .22 to throw in a tractor or on the 4wheeler, etc.,
and not worry about hurting it.
I loved the weight and balance of the gun. Feels like about 4lbs to me. Very light.
I expected 4" groups or so from a little "junk" gun at 50yds to be honest with you, but was OK with that, figuring I could still hit a rabbit or barnyard pest with that kind of grouping.
I was staggered, when I got a 2" group just goofin around at 50yds, using regular old 40gr LRN I had on hand and iron sights. Thats hard to believe but true.
So far it has held up to my abuse of neglecting it. Seems to function well.
Only thing I've done is blast the action really good with Rem-oil.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+12points
Review 4 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

Low cost; Well made; Fun and affordable to shoot.

03/08/2014
By ,
Huntsville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As the name implies, “Plinkster” is what this weapon is. Albeit a mighty fine one! I got this weapon on sale for about $109.00 out the door and could not be happier. First time at the range I got nice tight shot groups that pulled a bit to the right but after some adjustments, viola! A great little weapon that is fun and economical to shoot. This weapons can fill many roles from vermin control, small game hunting to possible home defense (limited role) at close range. I would not use it as a primary self defense weapon but it certainly can fill the bill as an “attention getter.” I like it so much that I am probably going to get a second one for the home when they go on sale again. I plan on adding a fixed scope and maybe get one of the 25 round magazines as well (if I can find them). Weapon is made in Brazil and to date I have had no functional or mechanical issues. Only thing I dislike is the stripping down process which is extensive. However I don’t foresee having to do such a cleaning but once a year. Other than that I think this is a wise investment. Shoot safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 5 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

Value +++

11/03/2013
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little rifle for 107 bucks is somewhat unbelievable.. its solid as a rock and very accurate out of the box.
As far as jams I think most are caused by ammo not the rifle because I have had not 1 jam yet in hundreds of rounds fired.. my buddy got some cheap bulk ammo and had several.. he swapped out and never had one again.
the only problem is good luck finding ammo these days because everyone went nuts and I had to work hard to find 300 rounds today and paid out the rear end for em.
For the money you just simply cannot beat this rifle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+11points
Review 6 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

Buy the 702 without hesitation, no regrets

12/01/2013
By ,
Thompson, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy a cleaning kit - the $5 one is fine, just make a case for it. Breakdown for cleaning is typical, but if this is your first time, find a youtube lesson. A plastic or wooden pin punch will not scratch your gun, use a metal punch if you have confidence on a good bench. It will get easier to pop the pins as your guides wear. Take pictures or make a sketch, especially the position of the plastic bolt bumper.
Will be second nature after a few cleanings, but not obvious where everything goes your first time. Ten percent of owners mangle the long bolt spring attempting to jam it in without patience to learn how simple it is - wish I could be there to show you, but you will get it. If you don't mangle the spring badly, you can straighten it out, and it will work fine, but it is a replaceable spring. I never had a problem, just helped others after they kink it up somehow. I saw a guy cursing the action, and called it garbage because it was too hard to reassemble. I should make a youtube video, because I have not seen one yet that empathizes the motion to insert the bolt with the spring in place. The book has instructions, but you will understand my comments when you try it. No fear - you will get it.
It only takes me 10 minutes to do a very thorough cleaning. If I only shoot 100 rounds, brushing the bore is all it needs, but clean it the same day. At $100, I'm getting a spare - handy when the kids come over. I was shocked at how nice the gun is, the accuracy, the action, the reliability - no reason to buy anything else. The Ruger 10-22 is great, but 3x the price, and no more accurate, but has more steel than aluminum, just be gentle. The sights are fine, but add a cheap scope if you like 2" groups at 50 yds. The gun is worthy of a decent scope, just feels odd to put an $80 scope on a $100 rifle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 7 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

Surprisingly very accurate.

12/06/2013
By ,
Howland, ME.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After unboxing and a cleaning and working the action for about a 1/2 hr I installed a scope and went to the range (my backyard), then after 12 rds. for siting in I was getting 1/8" groups at 25 yards and even put 9 rounds in a 1/4 group. No miss feeds or miss fires after 200 rounds. At a little over 100 bucks this is a no brainer, buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 8 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

Great rifle for average user

05/04/2012
By ,
Medina NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do a fair amount of target shooting, squirrel, and bird hunting. This is a wonderful rifle for those 3 things. If you are looking for a competition gun, then it's not for you, but if you aren't a pro, and just love to shoot, this gun is for you! I've already put over 2000 rounds thru my rifle and it works like a dream.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+81points
Review 9 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

Great for beginner!!!!

10/07/2013
By ,
Trinity, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've NEVER shot a real gun before & was honestly scared. It was the most wonderful thing ever!! The rifle is lightweight & it is really accurate w/o a scope! I would definitely recommend this to a beginner!! There is no kick & it's not loud at all!! Sounds like a small firecracker!! Can't wait to get my 25 round mag for it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 10 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR
01/02/2012
By ,
Wichita, Ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product. I do alot of target shooting, rabbit and squirrel hunting. This little rifle shoots just as good if not better than the higher priced .22 rifles. The ONLY thing I would change is it doesnt have a place for a sling, but I put some on and it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+144points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
benton harbor
.22
Posted 04/28/2012
does this .22 shoot real bullets rimfire can anyone tell me plz
+2points
Customer Avatar
Clarendon, Tx
Bad Magazines...
Posted 01/15/2012
The rifle shoots well, but the 10 clip magazine doesn't work very well. When you put 10 in it the gun jams a lot. Put in 7 and it works fine. The guy who sold it to me at Wal-mart told me only to put 7 in. He was right. Except for that, its a good little target gun.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

great for all ages

03/21/2012
By ,
yadkinville,nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
absolutely great gun for the money,shoots 1 inch to 2 inch groups at 100 yards,open sights
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Review 12 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

Great gun for the money

06/16/2012
By ,
Talladega, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely wonderful gun. Only problem we had is a jam after 3 shots. Got the jam loose and fired around 50 shots no problem. Accurate, and lightweight. All it needs is a lerger mag, and maybe a good sling. Just remember to clean it regularly and it'll serve well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+49points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Mexico
AWESOME little rifles
Posted 10/29/2012
Our family has bought 4 plinkster models and love all of them!!!! 2 model 702s and 2 model 802s. What fun little rifles!!! As stated in other reviews, if youre looking for competition shooting, looking at the wrong rifle. If you are looking for, as the name implies, a plinker rifle. THIS ONE IS PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!! Squirrel hunting, plinking, camp rifle, truck rifle, perfect. For younger and/or smaller shooters they sale a model 802 "half pint" for small kids and a model 802 "Bantam" for kids a little older. Suggest shooting only round nose ammo through any plinkster. Semi wad cutter rounds dont feed well through the model 702s.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

Great little gun!!

01/12/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got one of these and let me tell you awesome little gun. I have had guns my whole life and this is one of the best for the price. Out of the box bam bam 500 rounds and not one jam or anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Review 14 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

Great Little rifle

03/10/2014
By ,
Outer space
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a 120 dollar rifle nothing beats this thing.., it is very accurate, light and affordable BUY one i ran about 500 rounds dry out of the box yes ! no gun oil and it works like a dream only got FTF or FTE when it too dirty which is to be expected. Will keep this guy as my only .22lr no need to substitute with an overpriced rifle. Overall very happy with purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 15 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

price unbeatable

03/01/2014
By ,
ga.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
what one might purchase a used gun for you can buy a new one. bought two for my grandsons; gave them a test run, very satisfied. i only wonder what the intergity of the brazilian made gun will be after 5,000- 10,000 rounds run thru it?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 16 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

No better semi-auto .22 value period

01/24/2013
By ,
Reston, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my kids but I am loving it and burning through the ammo (when I can get it). I am fairly abusive and only cleaned it twice in about 3000-3500 rounds of ammo. It had a couple ftf and 1 ejection issue but any gun would if it wasnt cleaned for 2000 rounds. Put a 3-9x40 Tasco scope on it and cannot believe the long distance accuracy for a shorter barrel .22. I have a feeling my Ruger XT-22 is going to get very dusty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 17 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR
01/11/2013
By ,
kingsport
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it is a great rifle for the price , and is you mount a pretty descent scope on it you will be very impressed .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Review 18 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

Great First Rifle

04/26/2013
By ,
Cumming, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my Plinkster 8 years ago from my local WalMart. I felt it was a better balanced rifle then the more expensive Ruger 10/22. It has a nice, thin forestock that is very comfortable.
I have really enjoy this rifle. It has the best trigger of any of my guns. Everyone who shoots it loves it.
I have shot 5000+ rounds over the years without a hiccup. I boresnake it, clean the chamber, and wipe it with Remoil, and it is good.
I only had one issue with ammo and that was teflon coated Winchester. I gave it its first total cleaning (removed stock, removed trigger group, etc.) and it shoots it fine now. It was built up dirt, not the ammo.
So - if you want a good, reliable rifle, the Plinkster is a great choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 19 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

Great bang for your buck!

07/29/2013
By ,
Blackshear, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this rifle to teach my grandchildren to shoot and was amazed at the way this gun shot right out of the box, now this is my go to gun for small game I put a 3x9x40 scope on it and you can shoot dimes at 100 yards no problem. I do wish Walmart would carry magazines for it. Will have to get another one for the grandkids now.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 20 for Mossberg Model 702 Plinkster Rifle, .22 LR

Love it

11/25/2012
By ,
Pearl River
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great rifle. As most know 22lr is a very dirty round, so cleaning is annoying but VERY necessary. I put 225 rounds out on my first range trip with it and the only hiccup was the very first round did not want to chamber, alittle tap on the charging handle and that was that. Not a fan of the break down you need a screw driver, a hammer and a punch. Not as easy as an AR but not that difficult. I used a spent round and a hammer to knock the pins out. I paid 150 out the door. I used remington hollow points, 10 bucks for 225. Did not like the round the projectile spun on the casing. All and all its a great rifle. Oh i did shot 10 winchester westerns 525 for 19.99. Still no issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next