Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ruger Ruger 5801 Mini-14 Ranch SA .223 Remington/5.56 NATO 18.5" 5+1, Hardwood Stock, Blue

Ruger Ruger 5801 Mini-14 Ranch SA .223 Remington/5.56 NATO 18.5" 5+1, Hardwood Stock, Blue

The Mini-14 Ranch rifle offers inherent accuracy light weight low recoil and a quick repeat shot capability that makes them the favorite of ranchers and outdoorsmen. Best for small to medium-sized game hunting when maneuverability and a few quick shots might be needed.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%16 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 85 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ruger 5801 Mini-14 Ranch SA .223 Remington/5.56 NATO 18.5" 5+1, Hardwood Stock, Blue

It's a Ruger!!

10/14/2012
By ,
Burleson, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently bought ($627 locally) should have bought back when they were $450. Great carbine while it is marked .223 REM, it will fire the 5.56 (Ruger website & owners manual). Wish they sold extra mags for this at Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ruger 5801 Mini-14 Ranch SA .223 Remington/5.56 NATO 18.5" 5+1, Hardwood Stock, Blue

Sweet!

10/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light, accurate, inexpensive, high quality and great looking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
+147points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ruger 5801 Mini-14 Ranch SA .223 Remington/5.56 NATO 18.5" 5+1, Hardwood Stock, Blue

Great Carbine

06/21/2012
By ,
Dayton OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best price I could find by almost $100. Great rifle to have around and the customer service was fantastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cv az
price of gun
Posted 07/18/2012
how much dos this gun cost with tax
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Ruger 5801 Mini-14 Ranch SA .223 Remington/5.56 NATO 18.5" 5+1, Hardwood Stock, Blue

Exceptional accuracy

09/16/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking for a rifle to carry on the farm in case I cross paths with a coyote or hog. After a lot of research and reviews I chose the mini-14 ranch rifle (don't like guns with a lot of recoil). Took it out of the box to site it and put every shot on paper and all but 2 in the kill zone without adjustments. Haven't had an opportunity to test it on something other than a target but feel good about my choice. I am pairing it with the Winchester Razorback XT ammo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ruger 5801 Mini-14 Ranch SA .223 Remington/5.56 NATO 18.5" 5+1, Hardwood Stock, Blue

Great rifle for the price !

04/25/2013
By ,
Accident, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for the price. Bought mine about 2 years ago before everyone went crazy with the recent gun ban issues. Can't go wrong IF YOU FIND ONE !!
Steve W
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ruger 5801 Mini-14 Ranch SA .223 Remington/5.56 NATO 18.5" 5+1, Hardwood Stock, Blue

Love shooting my Mini-14

12/27/2013
By ,
Peoria, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gun is fun to shoot, and I had been considering getting one for quite a while. I was surprised to see this one on the shelve at Walmart and bought it within minutes of holding it. Having shot a M14 in the army, I liked the style. This is lighter than the M14, which is a plus for sure, and it doesn't kick nearly as much. It does everything I would want of it in a reliable fashion. I enjoy cleaning it, as it reminds me of my times dressed in OD back in the late 60's. But, this gun is mine!
I'm working on getting a Nikon P223 scope sighted in and should have that finished sometime today. Can't wait to see how that goes. The iron sights work well for me, so if I have to go without the Nikon, it won't bother me a bit. I did order extra magazines from Ruger and now have a 20 and 30 round one, but the 5 round ones are nice to use also.
Thanks, Ruger, for making this gun, and thanks, Walmart for having it available to all of us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ruger 5801 Mini-14 Ranch SA .223 Remington/5.56 NATO 18.5" 5+1, Hardwood Stock, Blue

An excellent alternative to a piston driven AR-15

12/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best rifles. Costs way less than a piston driven AR-15, eats all kinds of ammo, reliable (if using good magazines), accurate, fun to shoot, good for hunting, plinkering and self defense. And it's made in the USA. I just love this rifle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ruger 5801 Mini-14 Ranch SA .223 Remington/5.56 NATO 18.5" 5+1, Hardwood Stock, Blue

Ruger=Perfect!!!

12/31/2012
By ,
Aberdeen WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every Ruger I've owned has been great in reliability and accuracy, and when sent to the factory for upgrades, very inexpensive and very quick response time, great products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ruger 5801 Mini-14 Ranch SA .223 Remington/5.56 NATO 18.5" 5+1, Hardwood Stock, Blue

one goooood rifle

12/19/2011
By ,
sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have a vintage,ww2 m1 carbine ,excelent rifle,,bought the mini 14,the internal workings same quality workmanship,looks almost identical in operation and parts,,,these are 2 of the best rifles ive ever owned..youll love it to if u own one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+184points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
US
OK Rifle - at best
Posted 05/21/2012
Rifle is very inaccurate. I had several friends who were prison guards and they told me about all the problems and inaccuracies but I didnt believe them or just assumed they were poorly maintained etc.
I bought brand new, and it is only accurate to 50 yds and mine had all manner of jamming issues w NATO ammo and steel case fodder. Save your $$$ and buy an AR !
I talked to the company, and my experiences are nothing new. They advised me to,send it in and they might give me a good deal on a newer model. Burn me one, shame on me twice, well, ......you get the idea.
0points
Customer Avatar
roanoke rapids N.C.
Mini 14 ranch rifle 223 caliber.
Posted 02/13/2012
The M-14 was the first Rifle issued in the U.S. Marine Boot Camp Back in the early 70's
If this Rifle Is good enough for the U.S. Marine corps' then You should get one! I Own one and It has better accuracy than the M-16. I love mine!.
-2points
Customer Avatar
Texas
Mini 14
Posted 01/11/2012
I seen several people saying that its an inexpensive rifle, what price do these rifles run at Wal-Mart. I live in Texas and cant seem to find a store that has the mini 14. Other guns stores in the area are charging around $600-$750. Dont consider that an inexpensive rifle. I could buy a AR-15 for that price but really want a mini 14 for patrol.
+3points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 10 for Ruger 5801 Mini-14 Ranch SA .223 Remington/5.56 NATO 18.5" 5+1, Hardwood Stock, Blue

Only need one rifle on ranch!

05/29/2013
By ,
Southlake, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great rifle! Had mine for 4 years, not one problem, it is reliable and accurate. Coyotes and hogs, look out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ruger 5801 Mini-14 Ranch SA .223 Remington/5.56 NATO 18.5" 5+1, Hardwood Stock, Blue

Great rifle

04/03/2013
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A fantastic little carbine that I carry on the ATV on the farm. Good varmint gun and had a chance last winter to take a white tail deer in western Neberaska with it (about 100 yards).
Meets all expectations and recommend to all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ruger 5801 Mini-14 Ranch SA .223 Remington/5.56 NATO 18.5" 5+1, Hardwood Stock, Blue

Great weapon!

01/03/2013
By ,
Suburban Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right out of the box this weapon functioned flawlessly and fired true. Fit and finish is beautiful, another fine Ruger product. Great Walmart service in Denton, only delayed by the background check.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ruger 5801 Mini-14 Ranch SA .223 Remington/5.56 NATO 18.5" 5+1, Hardwood Stock, Blue

There is something special about this rifle.

01/21/2013
By ,
Eugene OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like others have said it is a 5.56 and will shoot .223. The 5.56 has higher pressures then the 223 and hits a bit harder. I carried an M-16 4 years in the infantry and did not want one (AR-15) when I left the service. This was the perfect choice for me. I love the fact I can put a 3x9 scope on it or a red dot or just shoot it open sites. I purchased an accu-strut and an ATI Black Stock for the fun of it. The accu-strut did help my groups and it looks cool too. Be certain to buy only Ruger mags for it. I have tried cheaper ones that caused it to jam. I have never had a jam using the ruger mags. You can still get the 30rd ones on the Ruger web site. I love the way it eats up any ammo I feed it. It slings the spent cases 30 feet! I keep it in the original wood stock because it just feels so good in my hand. This goes up in the mountains with me every time. I love hiking with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ruger 5801 Mini-14 Ranch SA .223 Remington/5.56 NATO 18.5" 5+1, Hardwood Stock, Blue

Great Value, Reliable, Unbreakable.

09/19/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was concerned that Ruger had made a "Walmart Special" because Walmart had the best price I could find when including FFL. But it is not. Serial numbers are right in line with the others and there is no other discernible indication that it is a "Walmart Special" in any way.
On a personal note, I have been going back and forth between getting an AR15 and the Mini 14 and eventually decided on the Mini, notably because of the cheaper price point, and because of the reputation of being ultimately reliable. While it doesn't have the precision of some AR15's, I was less inclined to buy something for more money that didn't offer greater reliability and durability for (arguably) marginally more accuracy at the 100-200m ranges. As all of the reviews have stated so far, this gun is a great value, my expectations and hopes have all been met, and the price point was the best I could find. This is truly a great gun.
Plus the money you save over an AR means you can buy that much more ammo!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ruger 5801 Mini-14 Ranch SA .223 Remington/5.56 NATO 18.5" 5+1, Hardwood Stock, Blue

Great Little Carbine

10/16/2011
By ,
Faison,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned the Ranch Rifle since the early 80's and have nothing but good thing to say about the rifle. I carried it on duty in my Police Car and as a sporting rifle, it has served me well. I have never had any problems with mine, if you do the maintenance it will do it's job. It will do everything the Black Rifles will do. but at half the cost, you can pay more but Ruger will do the job for less, a lot of after market stuff is also available for it............I like it just as it is...........
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+383points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Texoma
What
Posted 06/11/2013
why would you carry a sporting rifle in your police car ? that's a little disturbing.
0points
Customer Avatar
Brigham City
Pricing Information
Posted 09/04/2012
Is there a reason a price is not listed for this rifle?
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for Ruger 5801 Mini-14 Ranch SA .223 Remington/5.56 NATO 18.5" 5+1, Hardwood Stock, Blue

The Mini has come a long way

01/22/2013
By ,
Wichita Falls, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been interested in the Ruger Mini ever since they first came out, mainly because of the Gerand style action. But I never purchased one up until now due to the previous inconsistent accuracy they produced. So not being a fan of the AR style rifles, I stayed with bolt action models for hog and Coyote hunting.
Having shot a friends Mini (newer 581 series) a few months ago, I decided to purchase one. No regrets what so ever.
Other than mounting a Nikon Prostaff 3-9X40 scope and installing a Choate flash suppressor/compensator the rifle is bone stock.
Using standard Remington 55gr. BTFMJ, the rifle shoots a 1 3/4 inch 3 shot group at 200yds and a 2 5/8ths inch group at 350yds consistently.
This past week, I was able to drop a Coyote at 427 yards measured.
Reliability is 100%. So if the shooter is able, this rifle is definitely capable of providing the accuracy necessary to get the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.