Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Rossi Rossi Curcuit Judge Shotgun .410 Bore/.45 Colt

Rossi Rossi Curcuit Judge Shotgun .410 Bore/.45 Colt

This gun from Rossi will always shoot straight and aim true.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation88%14 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 76 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rossi Curcuit Judge Shotgun .410 Bore/.45 Colt

Gun Lock

11/23/2011
By ,
Cherokee Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gun has a key lock on the hammer that must be disengaged before firing the first time. I fear the reviewer simply didn't read the manual and thus 45 people have left with the wrong impression of this gun.
Mine works fine and i suspect his will too when he finds the key safety system
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+250points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rossi Curcuit Judge Shotgun .410 Bore/.45 Colt

Great shot without recoil

07/14/2012
By ,
Ainsworth, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had accepted that I would do handgun hunting due to being right handed and left eye dominate, but the Rossi/Taurus Circuit Judge changed that. Looked at one at Cabelas, but they would not honor the sale they had goin on with the Taurus Judge line. I was told that the Circuit Judge was not included in the sale. My husband had remembered he had seen one at Walmart and so off we went. I actually was able to buy the rifle at the price that would have been the sale price at Cs.
Took out to the range a week after purchasing and was blown away how great it responded. Nice and smooth trigger,sights were set for 100 yard, and felt barely any recoil! I did not have to by a higher priced left hand rifle and enjoy the revolver action, that I am used to. This is a dream rifle for this female hunter.
This is a great gun for home defense, women, teenagers,and all around fun rifle to shot. My husband is now wanting one! Now I need to get a scope and I will be ready for hunting season.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rossi Curcuit Judge Shotgun .410 Bore/.45 Colt

Water based stain had to be removed.

05/19/2013
By ,
Dayton Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picked up the gun on Saturday morning at Walmart. The butt stock had a price tag on it. When I removed it a sticky spot was left on the stock. I took a little windex on a cloth and rubbed the sticky spot and promptly removed the caked on water based stain. There was so much stain, I could not see the fine grain in the wood. It turns out that the stain would transfer to my wet hands. Now, how many times when hunting does it rain? Quite a few in the fields of Ohio in the late fall, early winter. This gun gets wet and it stains your hands and clothes. Not cool. Next step was a removal of both stocks and sanding away most of the stain. The wood they use is white and the stain is needed to make the gun presentable. I applied linseed oil. and rubbed. The stock is beautiful and now the grain can be seen. Now I am looking forward to firing this awesome gun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rossi Curcuit Judge Shotgun .410 Bore/.45 Colt

Big Bang Theory!

03/24/2014
By ,
eastern NC and i'm NOT SALLEYT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice weapon. Accurate, and "Big Boom" Loud with darn near no recoil. I purchased this from walmart (not gonna say which one) and the sales guy who i had kinda gotten to know from past firearm purchases told me Rossi was running a 2 day "firearm" sale. 25% off. Long story short, got it for $419. Granted, .45 ammo a little hard to find but thankfully not yet Impossible. Can't go wrong with this long-gun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rossi Curcuit Judge Shotgun .410 Bore/.45 Colt

Great firearm

12/26/2011
By ,
SW MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice firearm. It is nice being able to change between Shot and bullet ammo without too much hassle. My only gripe and this has nothing to do with the Judge, is that .410 ammo costs more than 12 guage ammo. I am going to start reloading my own and try to save some money. This is a well made firearm and is an enjoyment to shoot. I have had mine for about 6 months now and have not had a problem with it. In total I have fired 25 .410 shells and 30 .45 Colt rounds. Most of these have been target shooting but I have used 1 .45 and 1 .410 to send a couple of varmints(possums) to their happy resting spot. I definitely would buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+112points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rossi Curcuit Judge Shotgun .410 Bore/.45 Colt

Great Gun

02/16/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gun ,shoots great with no kick. The Wife liked it so much she now claims it as hers.Great on most game in N.C. ,we use the 45 ammo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rossi Curcuit Judge Shotgun .410 Bore/.45 Colt

great camp gun, field gun, fun gun to shoot

03/14/2013
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great gun to take camping, fishing, hiking e.t.c. and comes with stock sling swivels so you can add your own light sling; almost a mandatory accessory, and I recomment each Circuit Judge Owner not to walk out of the store without a sling unless "out of stock" and in that case, order it! I also have a Taurus Judge 3" Magnum Revolver with 3" barrel; this is a big and heavy gun, shoots the same ammo-everything as the Circuit Judge a great companion piece in the field, in the camp, at home for home safety and defense.
All, I recommend these weapons for your home defense plan, the shotgun approach to home defense is a good one, and these weapons provide all the flexibility needed to give you the best results in home defense. Be sure, when buying a Taurus Judge, pistol version of the circuit judge to get a 3" magnum cylindeer version so your ammo will be the same among both weapons. I recomment you shoot these guns with the ammo you choose to see the groups they provide so you can design your home defense plan for an example you may want to use the Wincheste PBX1 ammo for home defense only - then choose to open carry buckshot, a decision you can only make ater shootin the durn thangs at the range.
If you buy a Circuit Judge first, as I did, then purchase a Judge as a companion piece, I believe it is important to get both with the 3" Magnum cylinder; the circuit judge comes only in 3" cylinder models, but there are lotsa2 1/2" cylinder models of the Judge out there; please specify the 3" magnum cylinders, you will be glad you did as they give you optimal ammo choice. I highly recomment these weapons, the Judge, and the Circuit Judge as good camp guns, huntin, fishin, hikin ' g uns to take with you. They are great fun to shoot, clean, adjust, polish, look at, everything, just great guns. 5 stars
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rossi Curcuit Judge Shotgun .410 Bore/.45 Colt

Rossi Circuit Judge .45/410

01/11/2012
By ,
Lakeland, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already own a Taurus Judge (handgun version of the Rossi Circuit Judge) in Stainless Steel with a 6" barrel and I LOVE IT! Having the option of a .45 Long Colt or a 410 shotshell makes it a perfect saddle gun horseback trailriding in Florida, where we encounter aggressive hogs and lots of snakes along the trail. I typically load 2-.45s and 3-410s in the 5 shot cylinder,which allows me to easily select either a bullet or a shotshell for either hogs or snakes, respectively, simply by cocking and decocking a couple times. Depending on what I expect, I'll either load the 410 with #6 birdshot or #000 buckshot.
When I found the Rossi Circuit Judge at WalMart, I simply had to have one as a scabbard gun #again for trailriding#. At our range, I used the velometer to check the .45LC muzzle velocity between the Judge 6" barrel and the Circuit Judge 16" barrel and found a 210 fps increase in velocity through the longer barrel whick adds considerable punch to both bullet and shotshell loads. I've shot about 200 - .45 bullets through the carbine and about 75 shotshells in birdshot and about 25 in #000 Buckshot. At a bench rest, the Rossi is consistently accurate to about 3" circle in 30 yards #come on, it's a handgun load not a boat tail rifle bullet# and the shotshells will drop a dove or quail out to 30 yards, assuming you're a decent wingshot. I self imposed this range limit after targeting the bullets and patterning the shotshells because I demand clean kills. The Rossi has an interchangable choke tube, but I keep mine full choked to accomodate and enhance bullet accuracy without swapping chokes all the time.
The Rossi Circuit Judge with the 16" barrel is much more accurate than my Taurus Judge handgun, even with it's 6" barrel. I assume the additional 10" of barrel makes the difference in accuracy. I've only dropped one small hog #85lbs# with the .45 Long Colt, after spot and stalking to within 20 yards, wherein I popped him directly in the heart on a quartering away shot. He ran about 20 yards, fell over and bled out, which is about typical with hog hunting. I was using 225 grain scallop jacketed hollow points, which chipped the fore leg bone and blew a 2" exit wound hole thru the opposite ribs. With good shot placement, I'm certain larger hogs could be taken, but your are risking gettin' charged.
I'm sold on the Rossi Circuit Judge as well as the Taurus Judge because of their versatilty. In my opinion, the .410/#000 Buckshot is devastating for home defense, where close encounters don't always allow pinpoint accuracy #as with a bullet#. The .45Long Colt is bothaccurate enough and heavy enough for medium game hunting #with intelligent limits# and the .410/#6 shotshell load will keep you fed on small game in a survival situation. In fact, we've eat both dove and quail on our trail rides, taken with both the Rossi and the Taurus.
As stated, these are my new trail guns....and I now carry much less ammunition #weight# than before, when packing a .30-30 Lever Action and a .44 Mag. As a comparison, I used to load the .44 Mag with shot shell cartridges, but I couldn't hit the broad side of a barn with those little fine pellets, much less a crawling snake on the trail.
I'm very pleased with the purchase of my Rossi Circuit Judge from Walmart as well as my Taurus Judge #not purchased from Walmart#.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+213points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Canon City, Colorado
Will it also fire the .44 mag?
Posted 07/28/2012
I'm not all that up on handgun ammunition's so this might be a stupid question. I once had a .38 Special that would also shoot the .357 MAGNUM. So, since this takes the .45 Long Colt can it also fire the .44 MAGNUM? I'll ask the same below but I thought I'd ask you first since you seem to know more about this gun than anybody else that reviewed it.
Thanks!
+3points
Customer Avatar
Canon City, Colorado
Thanks!
Posted 07/28/2012
Thank you for a very well done review. You pretty much covered everything I wanted to know about this rifle. My only other question would be pricing the ammunition for shooting it. And I haven't read all the information with its listing yet so this might be in it, is it single action or double action? Other than that, thanks for a interesting review.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Rossi Curcuit Judge Shotgun .410 Bore/.45 Colt

very nice gun lightweight accurate out off box

03/15/2012
By ,
pulaski,pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have the rossi circuit judge .45lc/.410 in the stainless steel version. it is an awesome gun have used it for small game and target practice being deer season is not in will use this fall for deer season. i like the idea of the built in lock system as i have young children
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rossi Curcuit Judge Shotgun .410 Bore/.45 Colt
09/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cool ; very nice,small,light,great for packing
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rossi Curcuit Judge Shotgun .410 Bore/.45 Colt

ok but seems to have problems

12/08/2011
By ,
Pahrump, Nv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I agree with the review about have problems with the trigger. Yes I disengaged the hammer lock (I read the instructions) still having problems, if you pull back on the hammer no problems, but if you fire without pulling back then dosn't fire two out of five rounds, without putting extra pressure on the trigger., ( and I mean lots of pressure) even then sometimes dosn't fire. Also gun stock seems to be splitting. Have had this less than a month, and will be having a gun smith check it rather than sending it to Rossi. Then will decide what to do about problem. Like the concept, but has some kinks. Nice light gun .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Canon City, Colorado
VETTME, say what?
Posted 07/28/2012
I'm also a machinist, or was for over 25 yrs & now retired. Any who, about your comment on stainless steel, how does it apply to this review? I think you got your comment on the wrong one.
0points
Customer Avatar
Lexington, Nebraska
Machinist..
Posted 12/17/2011
Stainless steel is never put on "plated" like nickel, chrome or some other metals, a stainless is always ALL stainless.. However there are different grades of stainless and guns made of stainless are lighter and harder to control in guns of larger calibers. Some sort of recoil compincater will help if this is a problem for you. Also if you buy a stainless weapon that has a smoothe surface it can be buffed out to look like nickel with a little elbo grease or a small buffer..
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Rossi Curcuit Judge Shotgun .410 Bore/.45 Colt

This is a great shooting gun

01/26/2013
By ,
Gainesville, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this Rossi Curcuit Judge rifle for Christmas. I have taken it to the gun range
and found the 45 colt was very accurate. 3 shots in a 1 inch circle at 25 yards.
I did have to replace the plastic rear sight with a steel sight. We tried to adjust
the plastic sight and when we tighten the adjusting screw it spread the plastic
and the sight would not hold. I don't know why Rossi would make such a great
gun and put plastic sights on it. The 410 shotgun also shot a great pattern. I will
be taking it hunting next year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rossi Curcuit Judge Shotgun .410 Bore/.45 Colt

Rossi Bust

10/17/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The guns trigger would not pull to the rear when i got home from the store. Would have tried it at the store but Wal-mart keeps a trigger lock on it till you leave. I called the store and I was told that I would have to ship it to Rossi because there is a no return policy at Wal-mart for guns. I have no problem with that or Wal-marts policy it's the third party that's the issue. Customer service at Rossi is subpar at best. One month later they have still not looked at the gun. It's a cool gun just wished it would work right.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Ft. Stewart, GA
possible fix
Posted 11/20/2011
if u look on the hammer, there will be a hex screw, if that is tighten then that WILL prevent the 1st and 2nd action for the weapon. u can go onto utube and look up the rifle and they'll show u exactly where it is but its not exactly hard to miss. hope this helps if ur still having trouble but if theres others who have trouble then this should help, i hope.
+12points
Customer Avatar
reply rossi bust
Posted 11/14/2011
did you check the trigger lock built into the firearm that all tuarus and rossi have
+12points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for Rossi Curcuit Judge Shotgun .410 Bore/.45 Colt

Rossi Curcuit Jude

12/17/2012
By ,
Wellington,Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Bang for the buck the.45LC costs a little more around $1.20 a round but I am buying all the reloads for it I love the old style Revolving Rifle look to it shot 5 for 5 at 100 yards with fiber optics 20 for 20 with a decent scope must have for a deer hunter light weight carry all day I just love it
as for safty features this is a great Idea to screw down the hammer thak you Rossi Turaus could save many lives these days
Dave
Wellington,Maine
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rossi Curcuit Judge Shotgun .410 Bore/.45 Colt

Awesome gun, but illegal to hunt deer in Ohio

12/29/2012
By ,
Mount Sterling, Oh
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this gun for my 12 year old daughter for deer hunting. Unfortunately, after purchasing it, we discovered it was ILLEGAL to hunt deer in Ohio with it. So, now my daughter is without a hunting gun (unless we go back to her single shot Rossi 410) and I'm out a bunch of money. Before purchasing, make sure you can use it for the job you are buying it for legally. Lesson learned on my part :(
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
-39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 09/03/2014
You knock the firearm when it's your own responsibility to check hunting regulations for your area? Sounds like you'd put a one star on a flat head screwdriver if you bought it and then found out you needed a phillips head when you got home. Seriously, what does your inattention to hunting regulations in your area have to do with whether the firearm itself is well made?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Ratings-Only Reviews for Rossi Curcuit Judge Shotgun .410 Bore/.45 Colt
Based on 1 ratings-only review
1 out of 5
1 out of 5