Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Maverick Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

Maverick Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

This gun from Maverick will always shoot straight and aim true.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%22 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 91 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

My First Firearm

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this shotgun years ago. I have since put hundreds of rounds through it. I've hunted countless squirrels and a lot of deer. I've shot trap and pretty much everything else you shoot with a shotgun, and to this day, the Maverick Model 88 remains my most reliable gun. I would recommend this shotgun to anyone and everyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

Long Time Owner

10/19/2012
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not purchase this product at Walmart, instead I recieved mine on my 16th birthday back in the early 1990's for deer hunting. It was cheap, and my first shotgun, which means I have shot it quite a bit. I can tell anyone thinking of buying this shotgun that you will not be disappointed. The particular model 88 I have was the first generation, which some claim to have problems with as it has only 1 guide on the pump. However I have never had a misfeed or a problem. It is accurate (enough that my uncle wanted to use it for a turkey shoot) and is well made. Maverick is a subsideary of Mossberg and the model 500 series barrels are interchangable. I can not mention enough about how great this shot gun is. I still use it for hunting, though have switched to high powered rifle for deer. I keep my mossberg 18.5" barrel on it for home defense, and although I have not used it for that purpose, am confident it will work it need be. Do yourself a favor and pick one up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

Great Inexpensive Shotgun.

12/03/2011
By ,
Mercer, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shotgun is basically a "Mossberg 500" using mostly Mossberg manufactured parts. A few parts for this gun are made in Mexico. Then the gun is assembled in Eagle Pass, Texas.
All parts for this gun are interchangeable with the "Mossberg 500" except the trigger assembly. That is because the "Mossberg 500" has a tang safety which is located on top of the receiver while this gun has a cross bolt safety located at the front of the trigger guard.
This gun comes with an "Accuchoke" barrel and a modified choke tube. You can purchase additional choke tubes for more versatility.
I purchased this because "Mossberg 500" shotguns have been made for many years. It is a time tested design and they have a great reputation for reliability.
This gun cycles smoothly and the trigger pull is fine. You can spend a lot more on a shotgun, but if you just want a simple pump action shotgun to hunt with I don't think you can do any better this this!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+161points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
moorefield wv
gun nut
Posted 12/02/2012
i love mine model 88. i just got a slug berrel this year for mine. i got a 10 point with a 21 by 13 inch spred on with this gun. i recommend any one that hunts get one! GREAT TURKEY gun as well.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

Best money I ever spent

07/25/2014
By ,
ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My friend and I both bought one of these on a whim. We had low expectations due to the low price, but when we first shot them we fell in love, this shotgun does everything I could ask for. I have dropped it in the mud, banged it up, and have shot 3000+ rounds of assorted ammo through it over a 7 year period and this gun just takes it and never fails. I recommend this gun highly and prefer it over my much more expensive benelli and beretta shotguns. you will not regret buying this gun!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

Great all around field gun

03/12/2012
By ,
Woodbridge, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got mine at Walmart many years ago because it was cheaper than the other models, and I was strapped for cash. I liked the wide range of interchangeable barrels. I use it for small game, birds, deer hunting, and used it in the past for self defense. Pleasantly surprised by the ease of use and reliability, it became my "go to" gun for everything . It fits me like a glove (six footer). After decades of use, never a misfire or any hint of mechanical problem, runs like a swiss watch. Eventually matched with a cantilever rifled barrel I bought at walmart, I have dropped many bucks through the years. Very accurate, and the trigger pull was good enough for long range. My best shot with this rig: an eight point Virginia whitetail from a treestand at 150 yards, with a stock sabot. Even though I can afford any shotgun made out there now, the only thing I dont use it for anymore is birdhunting, but I could.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

Awesome shotgun at an unbeatable price!

10/19/2013
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went to my local Wal Mart to purchase a Remington 870 tactical model. There were none in stock but I did notice they had the Maverick 88 by Mossberg. Since I already had an 18.5 inch barrel that fit my Mossberg 500 model (which I love), I decided to purchase this gun instead. In doing so, I saved nearly $150 and have the tactical shotgun I have been wanting for quite some time. I took the gun to the range and it worked flawlessly. It is extremely fun to shoot and will serve its purpose as a home defense weapon very well. This gun is essentially the same as the Mossberg 500 except it has a cross bolt safety and the stock and forearm are polymer instead of wood. Additionally, this gun has dual extractors, making it very reliable. While the tube capacity is one less round than the Remington 870 tactical, the huge savings makes it a non issue. This is a simple shotgun that will serve its purpose, whether it's used for hunting or home defense. Everything that will fit the Mossberg 500 will also work with the Maverick 88. Definitely $199 well spent! Best part is that it's made in the USA!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

BEST BANG! FOR YOUR BUCK!

01/20/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I can say is this guy truly rocks!! I have put well over 1,000 rounds down the pipe and let me tell you this thing is a work horse!
All the 500 stuff works well with the gun. Some things dont but I have not ran into that problem yet! I have made many mods to it and can easly put it back to a stock gun! If you are really looking for a great gun that you can shoot targets and then in the afternoon chase White-tail with this is your gun!
The ammo that you can find for 12gauge now is awsome!!! You can shoot little game all the way up to Moose!!! The range to, OMG 100 yards with some high priced ammo and you will be in aaawwwww!!! You really will not go wrong with this gun!! MADE IN AMERICA!!!
I have had this gun for over five years and will for a long long time!!!
Be safe and shoot safe!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

Fantastic shotgun

10/26/2011
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this shotgun for well under $200 at my local store after comparing a few others (Remington 870, Charles Daly, etc) and settled on this one due to the modified choke and large barrel. I LOVE THIS SHOTGUN! I went out with it after I bought it and shot a 19/25 trap round the first time, and shot a 20/25 the second time. I have also won a few turkeys at local turkey shoots with this shotgun. Takes both game rounds and slugs very well. Easy two-bead sight system, and not to mention ITS MADE IN THE USA! I am a dedicated Mossberg/Maverick user from now on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+206points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

Great Gun

12/12/2013
By ,
West Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the field grade 88 because I already had an 18.5 inch barrel from a previous 500. This way I have both an HD and a hunting gun. I weighted the hollow butt stock with a 1500 BBs and then filled the rest of the space with airsoft ammo. I then covered the end of the stock with a slip on Limbsaver in place of the hard rubber pad. Now 00Buck is easy to shoot without pain. The gun was too light before but it is just right now for this 71 year old.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

Best bargain!!!!

11/11/2012
By ,
Westerville,Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent as a first hunting shotgun or simply as your main one. Backed up with Mossberg craftmanship and made in Texas with some imported parts.
Either small game or deer slugs you will not be dissapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga
04/05/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this as my first shotgun. Just needed something inexpensive, and it fared better than my brother-in-law's much more expensive gun. He's a gun expert and was very surprised with the quality and performance for the price paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

great shotgun

09/21/2011
By ,
nm
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this gun i have ran 200 rounds through it with no problem. its a great gun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+144points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

Excellent value for the price point

09/04/2012
By ,
SW Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 2 years of ownership, this has not misfed, or misfired a single time. Well over 800 rounds have been passed through the mag tube and downrange. I bought this for my son as an inexpensive, entry level shotgun and have been amazed. The reliability really redefines what we should expect in "entry level"... Entry level should be without frills and extras, but should completely meet performance expectations. This shotgun does so at half the price of some of the mediocre mid level shotguns. Buy this one, and the first 10 boxes of shells are basically "free" - and I guarantee they'll cycle. The hitting part is up to you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dallas, tx
maverick 88
Posted 09/18/2013
bought this shotgun 4 years ago for 150 bucks... have spent thousands more on my other 4 shotguns and this gun is the one I love the most.. I have killed more birds with this gun then my 4 buddies have with their more expensive guns that go dove hunting with me the last 4 years combined..it never misfirers and never had a problem with it.. buy it if you come across one. you will not regret it..!!!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

Excellent shotgun for the price

08/02/2013
By ,
Delaware, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shotgun looks exactly like my friends mossberg 500 and I hear it is made from mostly the same parts. The pump action feels smoother on the maverick actually. The only difference between the two appears to be the location of the safety. I've put nearly 500 rounds through it so far and it has shot and pumped nice and easy for all of them. Many people have tried this gun and commented on how much they like it and are surprised at the low price tag of $200 when I bought it. I've probably convinced at least a couple others to pick this gun up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga
11/20/2011
By ,
owosso
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this gun and love it, and i love the fact that the mossberg 500 barrels with fit this gun so that way you can put the slug barrel on this gun and it makes it worth it to do so.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

I purchased this shotgun in 20Ga as a Home Defense

12/14/2011
By ,
Tampa, FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this shotgun in 20Ga as a Home Defense shotgun for my wife. I LOVE this gun. I also have a Pardner Pump, and this gun is so much lighter and more fun to shoot. I highly recommend, especially for WELL under 200.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sauk County Wisconsin
I purchased this shotgun for myself
Posted 12/28/2011
I read various reviews and determined that this 12 gauge pump made by Mossberg was the best "bang" for the buck. I have friends who have spent many times more money for a 12 ga pump and I am pleased with my new acquisition for less than $200. The gun comes equipped with a cable lock and a modified choke installed. Other Mossberg model 500 choke tubes fit perfectly. The gun is assembled in Texas... some parts made in Mexico. I would recommend this gun for purchase to a new or experienced shooter.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

Too god for the price!

03/02/2013
By ,
Lehi, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Maverick 88 is the best bargain shot gun out there, just took it out today for the first time and fired off 70 rounds without even a hiccup shooting clay pigeons with a friend and their $1200.00 Benelli, I shot better! I did add the limbsaver slipon recoil pad because of other reviewer complaints of the hit and it made it a dream, barely even felt it, medium fits perfect only $22.00 at walmart in stock. I have the 18.5" security barrel on the way and what a simple change just 30 seconds and your keeping your home safe or heading out to hunt. If you can find one in stock its worth the wait! Walmart sent me a email when it came back in stock and I got it the same day. Great service!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

great gun for its price

12/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gun is a monster eats shot shells like there nothing deadly accurate with the truball rifled slugs when using the 28 inch smooth bore barrel feels great in your hands best 200.00 dollars spent on a shotgun!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga

Couldn't be happier!

06/02/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, this is my first Shotgun I have owned. I was looking at more expensive models and actually didn't even notice this one in the case at my local store. My wife and I were shopping for my birthday and she said "Hey that one looks good and is a better price". Honestly, I almost ignored it, until I saw the Mossberg name on the store's sku tag. That got my attention. I went home immediately to research the Maverick 88 and found nothing but great reviews. I also chatted with a buddy who it turns out has owned one himself for many years.
Since buying this gun 2 months ago I have put about 75 rounds through it with no problems. Field stripping and cleaning are a normal part of my shooting routine after a day out.
The Maverick 88 does share some components with a Mossberg 500, but not all. You can interchange the important stuff like the barrels and stocks. To my knowledge, that is about it. I would recommend getting the Field Barrel when you buy and get an 18.5" after, if you want to have this one gun as a dual purpose (Sport/Home Defense) Firearm. The 18.5" is considerably less expensive when bought separately, than if you bought the 18.5" Maverick and then the Field Barrel seperatly.
The trigger is plastic. The safety is in the traditional location on the trigger guard, as opposed to the more expensive Mossbergs on the top rear of the receiver.
So far this thing is simply solid. If you want a great, no frills shotgun, you will not go wrong with a Maverick 88.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Maverick Model 88 Pump Shotgun, 12ga
06/15/2012
By ,
paris,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love this gun is is awesome! this is the first gun that i have ever owed,but have shot plenty of them, and iv only had this gun for abt 3 days so i cant say how good it is for hunting but iv put about 50 rounds throw it so far with no problem. And its made in the USA so u cant go wrong with this shotgun and all the parts but the trigger are interchangable with the mossberg 500 which is a good thing if u ever wanted to make some changes to the shotgun, but i dont think changes are needed i love this gun the way it came right out of the box!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next