Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Marlin Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Marlin Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR

This gun from Marlin will always shoot straight and aim true.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%17 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR

great gun

06/20/2013
By ,
covington, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had 2 of these guns. The 1 I had when I was a kid was accurate as any body could hope. I would shoot all day and never a problem. Light weight makes it easy to carry all day. I bought my 2nd marlin recently to replace the one I had as I sold it years ago and still regret it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 2 for Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR

Fabulous value

12/31/2012
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these guns at Walmart just to keep my shooting accuracy up while in the military. Out of the box I was able to consistently shoot 5 inch groupings from 100 yards and dropped it down to just under 3 inch groupings with a 4 power scope from a standing position. For fun I would sometimes shoot holes through quarters shooting from a bench rest. It was an inexpensive but well built gun and had a good solid feel when shooting. 5,000 rounds later the accuracy was just as good as the day I bought it and there was no visible wear except for a minor rub on the bolt. I shot a total of around 7,000 rounds through it before selling it and now wish I had kept it since it was a real work horse. Hopefully I'll get another one or two in the new year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+29points
Review 3 for Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR

Ive had mine for about 18 years and love it

11/10/2012
By ,
Houston Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got mine when I was 14, and I put a bulk 550 box of ammo through it within a week. Over the years it has probably had 3k rounds though it. mostly cheap bulk ammo. Its been totally stripped down for cleaning twice, and the only parts that have been replaced are a couple of screws I lost. When clean and properly lubed it is very reliable. I have only had jamming issues when the gun needs a little oil or a good cleaning but that is to be expected. There are only 2 things this rifle can't do that a Ruger 10/20 can. 1: fast reloads with removable magazines 2: turn into an assault rifle with aftermarket parts. You will pay a little extra for that. Will I deduct stars for that? No.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+40points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
las vegas
kc
Posted 01/10/2014
in my battle pak i have 30 plastic tubes with a cap on 1 end and cotton stuffed on other side when i need fast reload dump ammo down the tube.........with a little practice very fast..........try that with those ruger 10/22
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR

Pefict for Hunting and Plinking!

10/23/2011
By ,
Saint Louis MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have wanted this gun after getting my wife a similar 795 Marlin several years ago. The price is 50 less than a ruger it will shoot just as good as the shooter will let it. The gun is super easy to clean and no magazine to loose. You get the added benefit of the microgroove rifling and a nicely finished wood stock.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+195points
Review 5 for Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR

Great rim fire rifle

12/30/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this rifle for 30 years and have never had any problems. In the past 5000 rounds I can count on one hand how many misfeeds I've had. I'm not the best at keeping it clean either and it functions dirty as well. I have more feed issues with my Ruger 10/22s which I also really like. My Marlin can hold over 14 rounds and is very accurate with a cheap scope mounted (keep it oiled). Unless you want an assault looking 22, buy this rifle and you'll never regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SoCal, OC
Posted 12/28/2013
Having owned and fired both this Marlin and the Ruger, have you found that the Marlin is more accurate at distance than the Rugers?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR

Great Gun

01/03/2013
By ,
San Antonio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this because I did not own a .22lr and was looking to save a lot of money plinking with this instead of my other rifle. Even though its semi automatic it is still very accurate. Its not as accurate long range as a bolt action, but very close. Can Not go wrong with this gun. I have had no problems with ammo or jamming. Ive had it for two years now. The only problem with this gun is it is kinda a pain in the butt to take apart clean. I am super happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PRICE
Posted 12/24/2013
WHAT IS THE WALMART PRICE FOR THIS RIFLE
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR

great gun

11/03/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the best .22 rifle i have ever owned. shoots consistently every time. most accurate semi auto in my opinion own 2 will never sell either of them
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+12points
Review 8 for Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR
05/08/2012
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great fun! I've owned my model 60 for about 4 years now. Have put over a thousand rounds through it with no problems what-so-ever. My son loves shooting it too. For pure plinking enjoyment, you can't beat it. Reliable and accurate for little expense.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+41points
Review 9 for Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR

Marlin Model 60, .22LR

01/07/2013
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money the Marlin Model 60 is one of the best deals on the market for those looking for a semi-auto rifle with a wood stock. Based on the multitude of reviews I've read comparing the Marlin Model 60 against the Ruger 10/22 (factory-stock not customized), I believe the Marlin Model 60 is the best choice for those who want a hunting and plinking rimfire. The Ruger 10/22 is best suited to those wanting to customize or compete in competitions due to the availability of after-market accessories and components. Also the Marlin Model 60 tends to be more accurate out of the box than the Ruger 10/22, has a last-shot bolt hold-open feature, and is approximately $40-$80 dollars cheaper. Of course this depends upon the models chosen and/or compared. Also, as the saying goes "simplicity is best", and in this case I'm referring to the magazines of each rifle. I like detachable magazines... don't get me wrong, but Marlin's tube feed magazine is more reliable as there is less moving parts than Ruger's excellent rotary magazine. The Ruger has the advantage concerning speed-loading, but the detachable magazines can also be lost or misplaced much easier than the tube-feed magazines follower-rod. Ultimately the final choice between the two should depend on the buyer's intended use. If you have the money just buy one or more of each... :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Review 10 for Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR

Beautiful Rifle

11/23/2011
By ,
Shelby NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I matched this rifle to a 22 Plinkster Barska scope and it is one great match.They were made for each other.The rifle and scope are built tough to with stand many years of use.And Walmart didn't charge an FFL transfer fee.That's "Bang for the Buck"!Or "Buck for the Bang?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+25points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Indiana
great rifle
Posted 12/01/2011
I've owned a Model 60 for 33 years, what more to say?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR

Great lilttle gun!

03/26/2013
By ,
Norman, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had mine since 1972, first gun I got as a Kid and it never failed to fire. I didn't clean it and it still shot, no telling how many rounds have gone through that gun and I still take it out to shoot for the fun of it. My sons think it's fun to shoot something that old and hit everything you aim at. I can't say enough about this fun inexspensive gun!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Review 12 for Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR

great rifle for any age

11/27/2012
By ,
Bartlesville,Ok.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the model 60 rifle has been around for 52 years. it is rugged and well made.a fine rifle for anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 13 for Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR
11/18/2012
By ,
rich hill mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my wife bought me one of these bout 8 years ago and i took it to a pond befor even taking it out of its box took my first shot right out of the box and hit it dead on i loved that gun worst thing i ever did was getting rid of it cant wait to get another one
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 14 for Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR

Mine is 42 years old and still shoots great

04/24/2013
By ,
bloomingdale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought mine when I was 17. $28.95. Spent many years in my garage and my nephews.
Probably had a couple thousand rounds in it before it was cleaned. Wasn't a very responsible owner.
Took it out a week ago and it still shoots great. I found some old S&W ammo from my dad that was at least 50 years old. Fired 100 rounds through without a misfire. A great rifle I will hand down to my grandsons.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 15 for Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR

Cheap, good rifle, HORRIBLE customer service!

09/16/2012
By ,
Durango, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Of the two most popular .22's (Ruger 10/22 and this one) Marlin's had a reputation of being more accurate right out of the box. So I fired it right out of the box. I got a lot of FTF's and stovepipes at first, and the action was loose in the stock. (I've had an awful time finding Allen wrenches that will fit the stock screws.) It was a lot of fun after I lubed it up and fired it really wet. The bolt still needs polishing, and my scope keeps sliding in that dovetail mount.
I got some cleaning fluid in the plastic trigger assembly. It ate up my plastic and froze the safety in place. Everyplace I saw online had the trigger assembly on back order. I finally hunted Marlin down and gave them a call. They said they'd have to back order it, that it would take up to six weeks. A month later, I called them again, and they said it hadn't been ordered yet. The CSR would send an E-mail asking someone to order the part. No guess how long it would take. I got online and saw that it had taken other people 8 or 9 months to get that part. I was drooling over a scout rifle in the Marlin catalog, but now I'LL NEVER OWN ANOTHER MARLIN!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
-38points
Review 16 for Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR

EXCELLENT

03/29/2013
By ,
Lake Wales, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the model 60SB which is the Stainless version of this gun and I have owned it for several years and have NEVER had any issues with it. Never a jammed or ejection problem with several different types of 22lr ammo. Very fun for plinking or small game hunting......
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Review 17 for Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR

Best 22 I have ever owned

03/01/2014
By ,
Pike Co. KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got my Marlin 60 by doing some work for a friend about 10 years ago. It was used, but in excellent condition. I use it for squirrel and rabbit hunting. I never put a scope on it, only using the factory sites on the gun. I can knock a flea off a squirrel's backside at 75 yards...lol. I would not ever let go of this gun. I will pass it on to my grandson when I die!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for Marlin Model 60 Rifle, .22 LR

Ok but not a Ruger

12/05/2011
By ,
Kingsport, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is an OK .22 but the Ruger is a much better gun. I have 2 of each and I much prefer my Ruger 10/22. The Marlin will jam while the 10/22 will just keep firing no matter what type of amo you give it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
 
My Product Recommendations
Ruger 10/22 Carbine Rifle, .22 LR
5 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
-34points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CONSERVATIVE CENTRAL CALIFORNIA
GOOD ALL AROUND GUN
Posted 01/22/2012
THE ONE I CURRENTLY OWN STAYED IN THE BOX FOR ABOUT 12 YEARS. MY WIFE BOUGHT IT AS A CHRISTMAST PRESENT FROM WAL-MART, $100 WITH SCOPE. SUMMER OF 2010 LET MY 11 YEAR OLD BREAK IT IN. SCOPE WAS OUT OF FOCUS AND OFF SO WE SET IT ASIDE AND WENT WITH IRON SIGHTS. WHATEVER THE BRAND AMMO IT JUST WANTS TO SEND IT DOWN RANGE. MATCHED WITH A BUSHNELL SCOPE AND ATI 'DRAGONOV' STOCK IT LOOKS WICKED AND CAN HIT PENNIES AT A 100. THIS IS THE THIRD ONE IV'E HAD THE ONLY THING I'M NOT CRAZY ABOUT IS MINE HAS A PLASTIC TRIGGER GUARD. WE DO HAVE OTHER BRAND .22'S. RUGER 10/22, SAVAGE MODEL 64, MOSSBERG TACTICAL 22#702 PLINKSTER# AND A COLT M-16.22. IF YOU CHECK SALES PAPERS YOU KNOW THE COST OF THESE. WHILE THEY ARE ALL FUN AND ACCURACY DEPENDS ON THE SHOOTER IN CALIFORNIA WE ARE LIMITED TO 10 ROUND MAGAZINES. THE 14 ROUND TUBE IN THE MARLIN MAKES IT FASTER TO RE-LOAD AND MORE SHOTS PER LOAD. THE RUGER IS FINICKY ABOUT EJECTING ROUNDS BUT I'M SURE I WILL FIND AN AMMO IT LIKES. THE MARLIN SEEMS TO LOVE WHOEVER SHE'S OUT WITH. ALL IN ALL GOOD GUN.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)