Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Marlin Marlin Model 336W Rifle, .30-30 Win

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Marlin Marlin Model 336W Rifle, .30-30 Win

This gun from Marlin will always shoot straight and aim true.
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%12 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Marlin Model 336W Rifle, .30-30 Win

Great Rifle...

12/17/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this rifle in summer 2013 with scoop to use for deer season this year. I have always used a shotgun because I hunt in a very thick brush area and was informed this was the perfect rifle for the job. Had no issues sighting it in at 100 yards and shot a nice buck and dropped it right in its tracks. Very accurate, easy to shoot, clean and maintain. It was and is the perfect rifle for the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+23points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
scope
Posted 12/20/2013
Hi ,thank you for the great review.I have always wanted one of these rifles...What is the best scope for this rifle...thank you for your help...Tony
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Marlin Model 336W Rifle, .30-30 Win

The Absolute Best Deer Rifle Ever

10/16/2011
By ,
Faison,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a Marlin 336 ever since the 70's and I love them. I only have four 30/30's now and I can't say enough good things about them. Down here in the South they will do the job with no problems. With the new ammo 350 yds. is no problem, but most shots are less than a 100 yds down here. All you have to do is give them a little TLC and they will last for generations. If you are looking for a Medium range rifle with a mild recoil and accurate this is it,................
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+641points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Olive branch, MS
How long til restock in stores
Posted 09/11/2012
ive saved enough to buy this gun, but how long will it take to get it restocked in my stores
+1point
Customer Avatar
nc
new ammo?
Posted 01/24/2012
what new ammo? am uneducated about rifles but think we need one. plenty of deer around here and nc now has wild hogs in th epiedmont plus coyotes.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Marlin Model 336W Rifle, .30-30 Win

Great rifle, but being lower end, has sticky lever

11/24/2011
By ,
Washington, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The reason I purchased the Marlin 30-30 was due to good things I'd heard from my friends; yet, my new 30-30 has a very tricky/sticky lever action, which is not as smooth as my friends 30 year old Marlin. After cleaning it up and oiling it completely, it did improve a bit. Perhaps with time it will be as smooth as the old one. As far as accuracy - it is dead on! My first two shots were at 60 yards away and both went through the target within an inch of each other - very accurate open sights as set by factory!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+344points
Review 4 for Marlin Model 336W Rifle, .30-30 Win

Best 30 30 ever made !!!

08/27/2013
By ,
Kennewick,Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is hands down the best 30 30 ever made a much better rifle than the Winchester model 74 it is much more accurate and will stand up to any abuse that would simply destroy any other 30 30..
This unit has almost no kick to it and is very easy to site in, I shot a gallon water jug at 100 yards with open sites I had no problems hitting it on the first shot with this exceptional rifle, now if I could just find a 45-70 in this rifle model I would be a happy customer. this 30 30 will also harvest elk and black bear without any problems, this is essentially an all around weapon and a very well made one at that...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+31points
Review 5 for Marlin Model 336W Rifle, .30-30 Win

Excellent Quality

01/26/2013
By ,
Sturgeon, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As most have said, the quality is superb and I love the way it is balanced and not too heavy. It is like it was custom made for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Review 6 for Marlin Model 336W Rifle, .30-30 Win

Great Rifle - Greater Value!

12/06/2012
By ,
Morgan HIll, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, the quality of this gun cannot be beat. Walmart was selling these for three fifty four.
Walmarts price does not make this any less of a rifle.
Most gun dealers talk smack about Marlin & Mossberg because they are sold at Walmart. That means less profit margins for them.
We own 3 of these. Every hunter in our family has one as an open sight "up close, down in the creek bottom" hog gun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+67points
Review 7 for Marlin Model 336W Rifle, .30-30 Win

this is a great rifle for anyone, youth or adult

11/21/2012
By ,
roan mtn., tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned many, and I mean many firearms, but the marlin 336w is one of the best
! The price can't be beat, the accuracy is better than guns that are twice the price, the quality is so good this gun should be twice the price. I always reccomend it to everyone. Marlin should be proud for making a rifle of this extremely fine quality. If your a parent and want to get your child a high quality rifle or if your an adult and want a rifle to hunt with or just to shoot targets with and pass on to generations to come than this is the one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+48points
Review 8 for Marlin Model 336W Rifle, .30-30 Win

Marlin Model 336W Rifle, .30-30 Win

01/21/2013
By ,
Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this rifle a few years ago, it's very reliable. Ammo is cheap and available
anywhere. Shot a nice buck and it dropped right in it's tracks. Very accurate
shooter easy to clean and maintain.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+40points
Review 9 for Marlin Model 336W Rifle, .30-30 Win
10/13/2013
By ,
Ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic, 1/10 twist for a 1.5 rotation puts you at 1/2 to 1"groups up to 100yds easy, add in some lever evolution ammo and 300yds is absolutely possible with a flatter trajectory. Great deer rifle, the lever was a bit sticky, but that's easily fix by snipping 1.5 coils off the lever retention spring. Now she's smooth as butter and added a 3x9x40, best deer rifle I got, beats out my savage .270 and .308, it's just more versatile since it's a great brush gun as well. For the $$, cannot be beat IMHO.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+20points
Review 10 for Marlin Model 336W Rifle, .30-30 Win

Greatest all around rifle you can purchase!

10/17/2012
By ,
Irondale, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Marlin 336W is the best hunting rifle I have ever owned, and I have owned a LOT of rifles. It stomps all over the 30-06 that I've heard so many brag about! And the price tag is far too low for the quality of the rifle. You just can't beat this one, especially for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+77points
Review 11 for Marlin Model 336W Rifle, .30-30 Win
12/18/2012
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always wanted a lever action 30 30. Great gun for the price and accurate out of the box, minor tweeking on sights. Make sure you check out "your purchase" (not demo) before you leave the store. Seems some might have a problem with cocking. Otherwise this is worth the investment and has proven to be a pleasure to shoot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+31points
Review 12 for Marlin Model 336W Rifle, .30-30 Win

great gun

12/19/2012
By ,
68104
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have had mine for 7 years and never had a problem with it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 13 for Marlin Model 336W Rifle, .30-30 Win

Downgrade of Marlin products

02/14/2012
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the Marlin .30-.30 in November 2011 as a Christmas present. With age the eyes have gone south so I found I needed a scope. The order arrived in early December and I attempted sight adjustments. The 5th round fired caused the front sight to fly off. I called Remington immediately and they told me to ship the rifle to a repair facility and sent me the needed receipts. This was done in Mid December, when I did not receive notice of arrival or report of disposition by the end of December I called and was informed that there were many Remington products in line and they would inform me in the order received. In mid January I called again and was informed there were problems other the the sight and the rifle was being shipped back to Remington. One week later I contacted Remington again and they could not locate the rifle. Two weeks later I called again with the same response. Finally in late January they located the rifle and asked me to accept a refund. I agreed but found out with a later call the refund must go through corporate and would be 4 to 5 weeks in the process.
Beware of this product, something is very wrong at Remington. This is not the Company or product we have been dealing with for years.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Never
-186points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Lubbock, Texas
Downgrade of Marlin Products.
Posted 11/10/2012
Cerberus Capital owns Remington, Cobbs, Marlin, Dakota Arms, DPMS, Barnes Bullets, Bushmaster, Parker Gun, L.C. Smith, and Harrington & Richardson. Cerberus' Freedom Group, Inc., is the overseer of the firearms division, which includes the aforementioned.
There have been issues associated with the some of their firearms, via their quality control, as the shift in firearm production from their previous factory locations, to the new consolidated locations, resulted in occasional "difficulties" with QUALITY control.
+5points
Customer Avatar
Topeka, Kansas
Marlin 336W and customer service
Posted 09/17/2012
I can only speak for my experience but I bought a 336W from Walmart a few weeks ago, took it directly to the range and am having great fun with it. The lever action is smooth as silk, the stock is beautiful, the receiver and barrel have a coating that hides finger prints, the trigger has no creep and the rifle is accurate to the farthest I've shot it, 200 yards. Federal factory ammo. I was concerned with the length of the screw anchoring the front sight base to the barrel so I called the customer service number in the owner's manual. They are sending me two replacements at no charge. By the way it is not drilled and tapped on the side of the receiver like the older ones so if you put Williams etc. peep sights on it get one that uses the scope mount holes on top or have a gunsmith install them. Great rifle, I'm happy with mine.
+6points
Customer Avatar
florida
Downgrade of Marlin products
Posted 06/24/2012
Why would one ship A Marlin product to Remington for repairs?
+25points
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Great Rifle
Posted 05/11/2012
I've owned my 30-30 for at least 15 years now and it is absolutely my go to rifle for deer hunting. I love this rifle and it has never failed me. Highly recommend it.
+13points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)