Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Trademark Games Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Trademark Games Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

The Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice is a fun new game that is sure to delight the whole family. The object of this dice board game is to get the lowest score for your round. There are numbers one through 12 on the board. If an eight is rolled then the number can be shut off on the board or any numbers that add up to eight such as a six and a two or a five and a three. The round ends when a person rolls a number that cannot be taken of the board. If the person has an 11 and a nine left then their score is 20. If that turns out to be the lowest score after everyone has taken their turn then that person is the winner. This board game with numbers comes in a stained finish wood box with gorgeous green felt lining the inside. The Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice is a perfect way to connect with friends and family and learn a new soon-to-be-classic game.
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation67%22 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Bought 5 and returned them all.

12/17/2012
By ,
Idaho Falls, ID
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disappointed in the quality of this game for several reasons. 1. No instructions were included in the game. 2. Dice were cheesy. Dots were different colors and not consistent sizes on each side. Also, the dice were mini size, not regular dice size. 3. On the box where it listed the contents, it said "2 dices". I bought these to give to families that were in need of gifts for Christmas. The last thing I wanted to do was to make them feel like they were receiving charity with the quality of the game.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Don't buy it. The game was very poorly made.

07/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The number keys were noticeably uneven, unfinished and did not flip smoothly. Our thanks to the Walmart person who suggested we open the package before we left the store. We returned it immediately.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

buy it if you are handy and can fix it when breaks

11/03/2013
By ,
buffalo, ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
...it was an inexpensive game, but that doesn't mean they have the green light to make a flimsy product...the construction was very very poor...they did not glue the pieces solidly in-place...they were trying to really save money when they made this game...my game fell apart within three days of using it...the piece of wood with all the numbers on it fell out and there are two end pieces that hold the wire (that the numbers pivot on) one of those end pieces was unglued before I even used the game once...and the second came apart soon after...and the way they painted only half of the wooden pieces that you flip over...bad idea (made it look cheap)...but having said all that, I have a glue gun, so I simply repaired the game by regluing the 3 pieces that became unattached...and now the game is solid-enough...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Good game, easy to learn

12/18/2013
By ,
Houston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good game, easy to learn and addictive! Game was delivered to store within 3 days. Only one problem, no instructions whatsoever on how to play the game. I had to go on internet to get the rules.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Plain and simple.

01/05/2013
By ,
grand rapids, mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No frills - just a plain and simple game. I purchased 2. Had to Google for directions on how to play and added a copy of the directions,a pad of paper and pencil to the game I gave to someone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice
12/13/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The numbers are reverse from the one I have, which I haven't ever seen before. The quality is nice. Shipping to the store was hassel free.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Game arrived broken

12/11/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Besides the box appearing to have been opened prior to delivery, the game was broken, the quality was shoddy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice
11/16/2012
By ,
Ventura County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent math practice that can be adapted to several levels. Basically a die is rolled and the corresponding wooden flap is flipped down... Or ANY COMBINATION of flaps that total the thrown number is flipped down. If there is a player who is just learning adding who wants to play with an older sibling, change the rules. The better player must use two flaps, for instance, while the beginner can use any number of flaps to add up to the die.
This game is a fun way to get basic math mastered without using paper and pencil. A ten minute game everyday makes basic facts become easy mental math.
I used it in my primary classroom for decades, literally. Now I buy it for anyone who has a child or grandchild struggling with math.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

great game for everyone

12/30/2013
By ,
land o lakes, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this game.. for all ages
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

fun way to teach kids to add # combinations

07/27/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used to play the original game when I was a kid. In 1974 it was called "BLITZ" I went hunting to find it. This is what came the closest. It's a fun game for all ages. My six year old daughter and my 80 year old father love to play. The only disappointing thing that I noticed is that it is made poorly. The tiles that you flip up and down wiggle as if they may break one day soon. They just don't make things like they used to! But the game is super fun and entertaining.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

great concept ... if you already know how to use i

12/26/2013
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought for my grandkids. No instructions. Poorly made.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Just OK

12/25/2013
By ,
Macomb, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was a little disapointed with the quality.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Shut the box game

11/21/2013
By ,
Idaho
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am looking forward to playing this game with my Grandchildren. The quality was not as nice as what I hoped for, and there were no directions. But, still it is what I was looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Nice Experience

06/26/2013
By ,
hamburg ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not an online shopper and like to pay cash for my purchases. Wanted to pay cash...could only find product online...so went into store...was able to order onlline at store with the help of a customer service representative....they had me purchase a gift card with cash for the total of the purchase and I ordered the item...and received it just a few days later. NICE EXPERIENCE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Fun Game

10/30/2013
By ,
Kingsburg CA 93631
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning tool for elementary levels.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Fun Family game

07/28/2013
By ,
Byron Center, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun Family game for all ages, compact design makes it portable for camp-outs, the lake and other travel. Unlimited number of players, can be played as individuals or in teams. The nature of the game allows for variety. Have recommended it to relatives and friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Fun and easy game

09/11/2013
By ,
Borger, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It would be nice if it had a box to store it in like the picture shows, but it is fine without. Also the dice are very small so I replaced them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

game with no directions???

12/26/2012
By ,
ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ordered this game to have at home- we have played at friends house- when we opened it there was the box that looked like it was very used. the game looks fine - it came with mini dice and they have special marks on them and with no directions we have no way of knowing what to do with them.
very disappointed -would not recommend this brand- look for something else!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Good Colonial Fun

08/15/2013
By ,
VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Walmart needs to rewrite the product description. Shut the Box is not a "new" game. It was popular 200 years ago.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Great learning activity for kids

08/26/2013
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Played with my grandchildren. Good for math skills...addition and multiplication.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next