Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Trademark Games Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Trademark Games Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

The Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice is a fun new game that is sure to delight the whole family. The object of this dice board game is to get the lowest score for your round. There are numbers one through 12 on the board. If an eight is rolled then the number can be shut off on the board or any numbers that add up to eight such as a six and a two or a five and a three. The round ends when a person rolls a number that cannot be taken of the board. If the person has an 11 and a nine left then their score is 20. If that turns out to be the lowest score after everyone has taken their turn then that person is the winner. This board game with numbers comes in a stained finish wood box with gorgeous green felt lining the inside. The Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice is a perfect way to connect with friends and family and learn a new soon-to-be-classic game.
Average Customer Rating:
3.095 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation57%24 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Good game, poor quality!

02/14/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We played this game years ago and had a great time with it. Of course then it was not an import and the quality was far better than now. It's a great game the whole family can play but the quality of the box and numbered row of this unit leaves a whole lot to be desired.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

do not buy

02/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very poorly constructed. The glue had dried and the parts were falling apart, also the numbered tiles were stained on one side and the stain had bled to the other side and the numbers on the tiles were only on one side. The dice were half the size of normal playing dice and its hard to see the dots.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

How do you play?

01/14/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed to receive this purchase in a plain brown box with no text or pictures on the outside to identify the game. But what really got me is that NO INSTRUCTIONS for playing the game were included. I mean I know the basic idea behind it, but what do the red circles on the dice mean?
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Bought 5 and returned them all.

12/17/2012
By ,
Idaho Falls, ID
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disappointed in the quality of this game for several reasons. 1. No instructions were included in the game. 2. Dice were cheesy. Dots were different colors and not consistent sizes on each side. Also, the dice were mini size, not regular dice size. 3. On the box where it listed the contents, it said "2 dices". I bought these to give to families that were in need of gifts for Christmas. The last thing I wanted to do was to make them feel like they were receiving charity with the quality of the game.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

POOR QUALITY

01/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Box was opened and was very poor quality. Returned
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Cheaply made

01/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This looks like a child made it. I'm not that picky either.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Family Fun

12/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great game for Family Game Night. The only thing I would recommend differently is for future games to be made a little bit more heavy duty. This one is great and looks very nice, but could easily be scratched or nicked. This wouldn't affect the game itself, just the looks of it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Catch 12

01/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it as a gift for a friend at Christmas. She wanted it. It's a fun game.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

buy it if you are handy and can fix it when breaks

11/03/2013
By ,
buffalo, ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
...it was an inexpensive game, but that doesn't mean they have the green light to make a flimsy product...the construction was very very poor...they did not glue the pieces solidly in-place...they were trying to really save money when they made this game...my game fell apart within three days of using it...the piece of wood with all the numbers on it fell out and there are two end pieces that hold the wire (that the numbers pivot on) one of those end pieces was unglued before I even used the game once...and the second came apart soon after...and the way they painted only half of the wooden pieces that you flip over...bad idea (made it look cheap)...but having said all that, I have a glue gun, so I simply repaired the game by regluing the 3 pieces that became unattached...and now the game is solid-enough...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Average

11/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Only has numbers in one side. I returned and bought a more expensive one that show the numbers on both sides.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

don't bother

11/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
game arrived broken, I had to spend time gluing broken parts together. also there were on game instructions included.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice
11/16/2012
By ,
Ventura County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent math practice that can be adapted to several levels. Basically a die is rolled and the corresponding wooden flap is flipped down... Or ANY COMBINATION of flaps that total the thrown number is flipped down. If there is a player who is just learning adding who wants to play with an older sibling, change the rules. The better player must use two flaps, for instance, while the beginner can use any number of flaps to add up to the die.
This game is a fun way to get basic math mastered without using paper and pencil. A ten minute game everyday makes basic facts become easy mental math.
I used it in my primary classroom for decades, literally. Now I buy it for anyone who has a child or grandchild struggling with math.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Don't buy it. The game was very poorly made.

07/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The number keys were noticeably uneven, unfinished and did not flip smoothly. Our thanks to the Walmart person who suggested we open the package before we left the store. We returned it immediately.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

fun way to teach kids to add # combinations

07/27/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used to play the original game when I was a kid. In 1974 it was called "BLITZ" I went hunting to find it. This is what came the closest. It's a fun game for all ages. My six year old daughter and my 80 year old father love to play. The only disappointing thing that I noticed is that it is made poorly. The tiles that you flip up and down wiggle as if they may break one day soon. They just don't make things like they used to! But the game is super fun and entertaining.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

game with no directions???

12/26/2012
By ,
ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ordered this game to have at home- we have played at friends house- when we opened it there was the box that looked like it was very used. the game looks fine - it came with mini dice and they have special marks on them and with no directions we have no way of knowing what to do with them.
very disappointed -would not recommend this brand- look for something else!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Good game, easy to learn

12/18/2013
By ,
Houston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good game, easy to learn and addictive! Game was delivered to store within 3 days. Only one problem, no instructions whatsoever on how to play the game. I had to go on internet to get the rules.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Fun Family game

07/28/2013
By ,
Byron Center, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun Family game for all ages, compact design makes it portable for camp-outs, the lake and other travel. Unlimited number of players, can be played as individuals or in teams. The nature of the game allows for variety. Have recommended it to relatives and friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

Shut the box game

11/21/2013
By ,
Idaho
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am looking forward to playing this game with my Grandchildren. The quality was not as nice as what I hoped for, and there were no directions. But, still it is what I was looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

doesn't make a nice gift

12/19/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Who ever heard of a game without instructions?
Also the box was worn and looked used.
Hoping it was a fluke, I re-ordered but got the same.
(This review process is aggravating. too. Why the nickname? I keep getting rejected because it is a repeat.)
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shut the Box Game with 12 Numbers and Dice

great concept ... if you already know how to use i

12/26/2013
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought for my grandkids. No instructions. Poorly made.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next