Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nikon Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT

Nikon Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT

Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation100%17 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT

Great scope

09/14/2012
By ,
Athens, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First scope in many years, read a lot of reviews. This seems to fit for what I had in
mind. Been out once and it works like a charm.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-158points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT

buy it. you won't be sorry

03/15/2013
By ,
Wichita Falls, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this scope mounted on a .223 Savage Axis with a 22 inch barrel. For clarity and light gathering properties, it is better than the Burris or 2 Leupold scopes I have.
The precision of the MOA adjustments is nothing short of amazing. As an example; yesterday I went to the range where I hold membership specifically to see how well the adjustments worked in measured cross winds at measured distances.
With a measured 20mph crosswind, using measured distances of 100, 200 and 324 yards. With this scope and the Savage, I was able using standard B24 silhouette targets, to make head shots repeatedly at the above mentioned distances. Three other members were there and watched me do it, including one who is a SWAT Sniper on the local PD. He was amazed as he was under the impression a .223 wasn't capable of head shots at over 150 yards in any kind of wind.
If you know the trajectory characteristics (bullet drop and wind drift) of your ammo, this scope coupled with a good quality weapon, will put your shot exactly where you want it. The MOA adjustments are just that precise.
Buy it. You will not be sorry. And no I don't work for the company. LOL!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT

Best Value Optics Nikon Prostaff

10/02/2013
By ,
Peoria, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own 7 of these Nikon Prostaff scopes (as well as some Nikon Monarchs, Leupold VX-3 and Zeiss Conquests) and I can tell you having traveled the world to hunt, that these scopes are more than adequate for the job at hand. The optics are very sharp and light transmission is excellent. Great eye relief. Fast focus eyepiece doesn't move around in the field like some other lesser brands so that is a nice touch. Resettable windage and elevation knobs are also a nice touch. I have found the BDC reticle to be very effective and easy to use. Some argue that the reticle is too "busy" but I totally disagree - it does not bother me at all and it enables me to shoot out to 600-700 yards or more (depending on the caliber and load and zero range) with great confidence. Having over 7 years experience with these scopes now, I can totally recommend them without hesitation- they flat out work. I can tell you they are tough too- I even have one on a 375 H&H Mag that was used in Africa for Cape Buffalo and these scopes will take a beating! It's extremely hard to find a scope which offers so many features and has such high quality that costs less than $200! One of the best values in hunting optics on the planet in my humble opinion. Yes, my Zeiss has the sharpest optics of all my scopes but the reticle works no better than my Prostaff so it's really no more functional in the field. The only scope in my arsenal that I like better than these Prostaffs is the Leupold VX-3 with the Boone and Crockett reticle (3.5- 10 X 40mm). However, that scope costs closer to $600 so if you need a scope that performs well but you don't want to break the bank, then I highly recommend the Nikon Prostaff.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT

Rifle scope

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second pro staff scope. It is a really nice scope for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT

Nice scope, good value

02/18/2013
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this scope for my AR15. It has Very clear glass, Crisp and clean. I really like the BDC reticle and using Nikons Spot on program that I downloaded on my iPhone I can use data from my handloads to make precise shots. Very cool sight system!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT

nicon prostaf bdc

11/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have two nicon rifle scopes and i like how clear the viewing area is. i would buy another if i needed to. best scope i have had.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT

I own 3-of these scopes! Great scope for the price

09/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Scope For The Price!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT

Great eye relief and clarity.

11/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was able to save $15 by shopping Walmart vs Cabelas for the same scope.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT

Great hunting scope

10/24/2014
By ,
Daytona Beach Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I attached this scope to my sportsman British 303 with medium weaver rings. You can reach out and touch your target. I used a laser bore sight in the scope. Three test rounds within 1/4 of an inch. Ready for the hunt.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT

Nice scope.

10/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I've been very happy with this scope. Sighted in and is shooting very consistent and accurate (even out to 300 yards). I really like the BDC reticle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT

Great Deal. Buying online was easy

10/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Deal. Buying online was easy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT

great scope for the price.

09/10/2013
By ,
greenville, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Found this scope at walmart online for $20 cheaper than in store. For 150, excellent scope.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT

great quality for trusted brand scope

09/19/2013
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value. This scope is comparable to many higher priced scopes in the market. I installed this onto a Ruger American rifle and is a great match.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT

Excellant scope for the price

10/10/2013
By ,
Gonzales, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shot 3 rounds 30.06 165 gr to zero. shot another 8 at differnt yardages to ensure zero held.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT

NICE SCOPE FOR THE MONEY

02/20/2013
By ,
lakeland, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GOT THIS SCOPE BECAUSE IT CAME ON MY RIFLE. .308 SAVAGE TROPHY...TOOK ABOUT 60 SHOTS OF CHEAP AMMO TO SITE IT IN AT 100 YARDS,BUT I GOT IT AND ITS HITTING THE BULLS EYE EVERY OTHER SHOT... PLEASE BUY WITH CONFIDENCE GREAT SCOPE!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT

For the money... Great scope!

09/27/2013
By ,
Southaven, Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Teamed this scope with my Remington 700 BDL .270.... No complaints!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 Riflescope BDC MT
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5