Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Swann Swann Driveway Alert Alarm

Swann Swann Driveway Alert Alarm

The Swann Driveway Alert Alarm can be mounted on an outside wall or in the yard to help keep your property secure. This device features a PIR wireless sensor that is used to detect motion and then activate the Swann alarm. The wireless driveway alarm can detect the sensor's transmission up to 400 feet away. Designed to be used outdoors, this Swann alarm is water resistant. It can either be battery operated or the receiver can run on DC power with an adapter. The Swann Driveway Alert Alarm features LED indicators that alert you when the battery is running low on either the receiver or the transmitter. The volume can be changed on this Swann alarm, and it can also be toggled between chime and alarm alerts.
Average Customer Rating:
3.842 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation78%14 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Swann Driveway Alert Alarm

It works great

11/14/2013
By ,
Waynesboro,Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this motion detector.I put the alarm part outside on my porch and use it to deter people from coming on our property.When they hear it they think they have set off an alarm system and leave.It has two audible levels and the high is really loud so it really scares them good.This prevents me from having to shoot them and then I don't have to go to court to explain to the Judge why I filled them full of birdshot.I highly recommend this motion detector to scare the shirt out of people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Swann Driveway Alert Alarm

Good to alert you when car is broken-in

07/07/2012
By ,
Miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I suffered 2 car break-in since the past 2 1/2 years. I found this inexpensive device and I tried it out by placing the transmitter inside the car in a position where it will detect movement in both passenger and driver seat. The receiver was placed in the bedroom (approximately 120 feet) where it detected entry in the car.
You decide what to do next..........
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Swann Driveway Alert Alarm

ITEM DESCRIPTION ON WALMART.COM WAS INCORRECT

09/07/2012
By ,
alabama
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I specifically ordered this product because the description said it had a 400' range. But when I received it and opened it and started reading the paper work I realized that is only has a 200' range. Which will not cover what I need it for. I called the Manufacturer, Swann, and they confirmed that the product only has a 200' range and said that Walmart's website is incorrect.
I will be returning the product within the next few days.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Swann Driveway Alert Alarm

Covers the whole area!

03/23/2012
By ,
Maineveill, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this driveway alarm since we have no view of the driveway from the house. It covers the whole area around the garage. Very sensitive to swaying branches, heavy rain, hail, and small animals, such as cats and squirrels. It alerts you with a pleasant sound. We turn it off during the day and activate it early evening.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Swann Driveway Alert Alarm

Helps me know when my pet is at the back door

11/06/2013
By ,
Charlotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed something to let me know when my pet was at the back door waiting to get in, and this works great for that. I put it under a bench near the back door, and when my pet comes toward the door, I hear the chime and I can go and let him in. It is really great that both pieces use batteries and no electricity, so it is totally portable, and I can take the alarm to whatever room I want in the house. The chime can be set high or low, and can be turned off when not in use. I can imagine other uses for this product, such as alerting a parent when a child gets up in the middle of the night. I have only had it about a week, so I have no idea how long the batteries last, but it uses inexpensive batteries. I almost did not buy this because it is called a driveway alert, but it works great not only for driveways, but as an alert for people and pets at the back door too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Swann Driveway Alert Alarm

Very useful alert! Peace of mind.

05/12/2012
By ,
Galveston, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product for myself due to someone stole all four tires and rims from my driveway. My truck alarm did not go off. They left my truck sitting on blocks. I could not use it the way I wanted to but, I am able to use it in my garage. It would make to many false alarms when I put it to face my driveway. My street is pretty busy. But, now I can sleep knowing that it will go off if someone enters my garage. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Swann Driveway Alert Alarm
08/29/2012
By ,
GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Description of Driveway Alert when ordering states transmitter can be up to 400 feet away from the receiver. Description of Driveway alert on the package states that the Transmitter can be installed up to 200 feet away from the receiver. This will not work for me and I am returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Swann Driveway Alert Alarm

MY FIRST DRIVEWAY ALERT

02/20/2014
By ,
CRESTVIEW, FLA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got to try out my driveway alarm for the first time today; it worked very well. The description for the alarm said it's good up to "400 ft.", but in the owner's manual it says "200 ft."; either way, it worked perfectly for me; I put it about 4 and a half feet up on a tree trunk, and it picked up a Jeep coming in my dirt driveway. Of course, the color is bright white - I sort of "camoflaged" mine with brown and black sharpie pens; works quite well on the side of the tree.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Swann Driveway Alert Alarm

Does Not Work In the Dark

02/04/2014
By ,
Sunnyvale
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It can only see motion when there's light, but if it's somewhat in a dark spot, it's as blind as worm. Because my motion light keeps on being busted that's why I am trying to replace it with this Swann Driveway Alert. And it's useless because it can't see in the "dark". What a waste of money for me. Don't buy. #I just did not bother to return it back to Walmart, because the grace period had expired, and I did not realized that it is "blind" only after weeks later...#
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Swann Driveway Alert Alarm

Great product

02/26/2014
By ,
New Orleans, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought these not expecting a lot after reading some of the reviews but have been more than surprised by their performance. Both sensors mounted very easily, have been through two severe storms and still work like new. The wireless range is much better than what most state in their review. Would definitely recommend these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Swann Driveway Alert Alarm

Good, reliable product.

01/01/2014
By ,
Cedar Bluff, Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price is right and does what it is supposed to do. One can get better or fancier, but at a cost. If this does what you need it to do, do not look any further.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Swann Driveway Alert Alarm

Nice sensor for driveway

04/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It did say 400 ft on the description online but on the package it is 200. But works gtreat
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Swann Driveway Alert Alarm

Just what we needed

11/13/2013
By ,
Grand Saline, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Mother has dementia. She cannot be in the kitchen alone due to danger of burning herself. We needed a way to know when she went to the end of the hallway. So we put this alarm in. It works super great. Now when she gets to the end of the hallway, it chimes and we know to get up. Such a stress saver.
The product is well made and has two levels of chimes. The highest is very very loud. We keep it on low and still it is loud. The chime sounds like a doorbell, ding dong.
It runs off of batteries that need to be in both pieces. I was suprised it didnt plug into an outlet, but really I like the batteries better because I can put it where I want with having to be near an outlet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Swann Driveway Alert Alarm

LOVE IT and YOU WILL TOO

01/19/2014
By ,
Rockaway NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is clearly the best product for security and alert for the entire household. Money well invested. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Swann Driveway Alert Alarm

poor quality

01/16/2014
By ,
Coffeyville KS.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have ordered this twice and both times i returned it because it does not work!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Swann Driveway Alert Alarm

Good Alert

12/02/2013
By ,
Gandeeville, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works ok
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Swann Driveway Alert Alarm

junk

05/06/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dont work . it was a waste of money for batterys.taking it back
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Swann Driveway Alert Alarm
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5