Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna

The Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna with a low noise amplifier and variable gain control was designed to provide the best reception for Digital broadcasts. A separate on/off switch maintains the memory of your last settings. It also tilts 120 degrees with a 330 degree radius to allow the UHF element to be adjusted for maximum signal. The adjustable gain control allows you to easily improve reception range.
Average Customer Rating:
3.69 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation83%24 out of 29reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna

Far exceeded my expectations

09/11/2011
By ,
Waukesha, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My roommate and I had decided against getting cable, but with the football season starting my boyfriend really wanted to look into getting cable. It's hard to justify spending $50 a month for the standard channels and nothing special. I decided to look into an antenna even though I didn't know much about them.
For anybody like me, www.antennaweb.org is a great site to check out if you're not super knowledgeable about antennas already. It let me know what I should be looking for regarding certifications of antennas, what channels I could expect to receive, and more.
I looked into the Phillips indoor antenna and after looking into a few different options decided to try this one and see what I could pick up. It only took a few minutes to setup and I get about 30 channels! I now have all of the main channels, a great picture, and no monthly cable bill!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Review 2 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna
03/13/2012
By ,
Waterford, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided I was tired of my cable bill so I purchased one of these antenna's so I could see what I could capture in the free world of TV. I chose this product after reading many review websites. Whenever I make a purchase for an item I am unfamiliar with I ususally will search reviews. To my delight I was able to receive 30 channels and I do not live in a metropolitian area it is much more rural. That same day I called my local cable company to say asta la vista baby! I then needed to get another antenna for the bedroom and went back to the store but they were out of this brand/style. I ended up purchasing an RCA flat screen antenna. What a hunk of junk! It not only costed more $$ but I could only pick up 10 stations. Maybe the RCA would work great in a large city I don't know. I ended up searching out a walmart that had the Philips indoor tilting digital TV antenna in stock and returned the RCA. I have been a happy camper since! This one works perfect for me and I would encourage you to give it a try !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna

Great Product

08/16/2011
By ,
Browns Summit, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this up as a temporary fix while my satelite was out of comission. It has by far exceeded my expectations. Very easy to set up - maybe 5 minutes. I ran the channel scan on my tv and got over 30 channels - crystal clear HD quality! I live in a rural area - at least 15 miles from the closest city. I was not expecting this type of reception and now I am seriously considering elimating my satelite. GREAT PRODUCT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+57points
Review 4 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna

Good, but better ones are out there

08/25/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I live in a rural area (about 50 miles from the nearest TV broadcast tower with all flat terrain, NO hills or mountains.) We tried three different indoor antennas and this one came in "2nd Place."
This one did work much better than the new, flat square design without rabbit ears that claims you don't need to adjust. In our rural area, you do need the metal rabbit ears to get good reception. Another positive is that the UHF flat square with swivel in the center of this antenna is very sturdy and worked better than others we tried. And the 20 dB of gain was more than many other antennas we looked at. We learned in our rural area, the gain (signal amplification) is a must.
However, the metal antennas (rabbit ears) are only 15" long on this antenna. No where on the box or in the owner's manual does it tell you how short these are. And because they are short, this antenna did not pick up as many stations as the other one we tried from another store that was 39" long. (Think electronics store with Lance Armstrong as spokesman to find 39" rabbit ears.)
But if you are closer to the TV broadcast tower, this antenna will probably work great and the shorter rabbit ears make operation and setup a whole lot easier. And this antenna has a very sturdy design that will probably last a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 5 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna

Great hdtv antenna!

09/15/2011
By ,
Northeast Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This antenna works great, No problems with pixels freezing up or loosing any signals on any of the channels, unlike the RCA black square rabbit ear free antenna one which was horrible. This one blows the RCA one out of the water. Wish it didn't have rabbit ear, but they are small and not too much of an eye soar. I think the rabbit ears make a difference in how well the antenna pulls in the stations.
Please note that you can only get how many stations are broadcast in your area. There are only 12 in my area.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna

Decent antenna

11/16/2011
By ,
Normal, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this antenna to replace an old one we had. It does tune in more channels than the old one. I don't have to move it around so much to pick up a signal. Depending on the weather, I can pick up as many as 19 stations (so far). It serves it's purpose. We are not big TV veiwers so this works fine for the amount of TV we watch. I also like that the "rabbit ears" are not long. I personally think that it is a bit more expensive than need be.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna

Waste of Time

08/09/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We just got this antenna, and after a couple hours of repeatedly reading instructions and talking with customer support online, we still can't get it to work. We can't get even the slightest bit of picture and we have a year old LCD HDTV 1080p flat screen so it should work. Needless to say we will be returning this as soon as possible because not only is this antenna worthless, but Philips "customer support" is worthless as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 8 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna
10/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have recently decided to try broadcast television after paying high cable bills for to long. After testing several antennas(including new style flat ones) this one works the best. I live about 10 to 20 miles from most stations and pickup almost all of them. The only channel I wish I had was NBC. But that is due to how far away it is. I can pick up over 20 digital channels in FULL HD!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna

GREAT!!!

01/07/2012
By ,
Elizabeth, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW is all I can say! I live in rural Louisiana and despite advertisements to the contrary, I can NOT pick up my local channels through my satellite provider. Out of desperation, we bought this antenna to catch the SAINTS game at the last minute & PRESTO! We are watching it as I type. Even more unbelievable is that we are able to pick up a total of 13 CHANNELS!!! I didn't even know there were that many local channels in our area. A few hints: as recommended, put in and/or near a window. Tried to set up initially on a tv inside an armoire-type entertainment center and got absolutely NOTHING! Moved to another tv and put antenna in window and we had immediate success!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna

Beyond Expectations

01/16/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replaced a different antenna with a separate amplifier with this all-in-one unit. The picture quality rocks on BOTH UHF and VHF. I have the signal piped through the entire house over my existing cables and it is pushing 3 Televisions with no issue. Highly recommend and pleasantly surprised that a relatively cheap Philips antenna from Wal-Mart beats all others I've tried. I am in a condo Tampa and receive multiple feeds of (3,8,10,13,16,28,32,44 plus a bunch of religious/educational/spanish channels) just about every signal in Tampa Bay.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna

Surprised and pleased with great reception

04/06/2012
By ,
Boise, Idaho
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this antenna and a 19" Visio television this afternoon. Hooked the antenna to the tv and within 15 minutes of opening the boxes and hooking them together, had 25 channels available with exceptional resolution. Frankly, I was surprised and very satisfied with how well worked. Both this antenna and the tv are so lightweight, that it will be great to take this anywhere and have tv coverage in most cities. I got great reception not only when the antenna was by the window, but located also in the middle of the house, just to test its functionality. My only complaint is the little adjustment knob that you are supposed to place the tip of your finger in and turn for a finer adjustment. It is lame and very hard to turn. The knob needs to be raised so you can grasp it, like the less expensive $10.00 Phillips antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna
10/03/2011
By ,
sacramento, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a very good digital antenna i use it with my tv which the old style tv, not a digital one or hdtv, and it works just great. i have lost CBS13 with my old antenna and many other channels but with this antenna i watch all the channels available without the cable or dish and no more need to adjust the antenna each time i change from ABC10 to CBS13.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna
02/17/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because I cancelled my satellite subscription. I had other antennas laying around the house, RCA regular antenna and one of those flat antennas that is amplified, but they didn't do job like this has. I usually don't right reviews for stuff but since this one worked for me I just had to let everyone know that it really does work. The farthest station from me is 21 miles away and I get them all crystal clear without any problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 14 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna

being Frugal

01/21/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
got this because of the cable bill. I do not watch alot of TV. So talked to my husband and decided to get this one for the biggest TV in the house. No we do not get 30 channels but we get 13 and all are better picture then when we had cable. We get the major channels and that was all we watched on cable. Does not get the little squares as much and the best part is that the bill per month is $0.00. In the first month this has paid for itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna

worthless

01/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I found a simple copper wire antenna that came with a analog computer tv card. I attached that to my tvs and got about 20 digital channels. I thought that a better product would work better so I bought this item. This is actually the second one, I bought the unamplified first then this one. After hooking it up at the same height and manner of connection as the simple copper wire I was amazed that I got 0 ZERO channels. I reconnected, adjusted the gain did this and that and never got a single channel, on either device. I have since returned the shiny piece of plastic since I have no need for a $30 what-not.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 16 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna

3rd is the charm

02/22/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Third antenna I have owned. This perforemed better than previous attempts and got me around 14 channels and was 20 dollars cheaper. All antennas require adjustment at times and this was easier to do so because of swivel panel on UHF panel. Good reception though I exceed distance spec to towers in most cases.
One note most modern HDTVs require that you enter setup mode and scan for channels. This is not like older analog where you dial the station and then adjust the ears. The TV scans for the virtual channels and sets up what it can best recieve. This is best done on a very clear day to maximize number of channels.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna
01/17/2012
By ,
hamden,Connecticut
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
nothing great but it works I get 6 channels 2 are digital the rest are analog.some of the signals would cut in and out and I turned the center and it got them in.seems like it has to be up high above the tv I had this antenna up aboe the tv on a bookcase and then moved it down to tv level and lost some channels.All and all not a bad antenna but not a great it works its cheap.my cables out so I have a few channels to watch until its fixed.If you need an antenna like this I would buy it again works best near a window.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna
03/05/2012
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To save money, I recently cut the cable cord and switched to a media player (Roku). It's been so nice not having a cable bill, but I still missed having live tv especially on nights when my favorite shows played. I decided to pick this antenna up, and within 15 minutes of reading the instructions and waiting for the channels to load, I have about 10 channels and I'm now watching my favorite channel- live and crystal clear! Totally impressed and thrilled. Bye bye cable bill!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 19 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna

Better than expected

03/10/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in Vegas, near black mountain (where all the transmitters are) and there are times when the signal can pass right over my house. I wanted to have a normal over the air tv just to cart around the house and patio without having to drag cables and satellite boxes.
I wasn't expecting much, but when I plugged this in to the tv, did the channel scan everything in the valley came up. No problem. It can be pixel(y) at times but for the most part, this was a good buy..
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Philips Indoor Tilting Digital TV Antenna

Good picture quality

02/04/2012
By ,
North Providence, RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It could be just my area, but I really didnt get as many channels as I thought I was going to get. I live in a suburban area that lies between two major cities. Regardless, I get all of the major channels pretty well and rarely have issues with the antenna not being able to pick up a station, but it does happen. When there is a solid lock on the reception the picture quality is great....all in all it did what I wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next