Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for NEXT Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

NEXT Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

The Surge 18" Boys' Bike features training wheels and a fun BMX design. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.043 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation85%39 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

good bike

12/27/2011
By ,
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really can't make that good of a judgement call on this bike b/c our 14 year old nephew put it together (which I guess is a comment in itself that it is easy to put together). It doesn't come with a kick stand but we didn't need it b/c we put the training wheels on it. It is for our 7 year old son. The 16" bike was too little for him but the 20" bikes don't come with training wheels so this met our needs. He's only ridden it a couple of times but so far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 2 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

My Son Loves his New Bike

03/30/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bike. My husband had it put together in about 30mins. This is a nice size for my Tall 5 year old son not to small and has plenty of room to grow with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Review 3 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels
12/28/2011
By ,
Florence SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike is perfect for a growing child. The quality was what I expected for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 4 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

Great bicycle for a small to medium size 7-9 year

08/26/2012
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandson wanted an orange bike for his 7th birthday. He is on the small size ( more like a 5 year old) this is a great bike for a small child. We took off the hand brake so he only will use the foot brake. This is a beautiful bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+6points
Review 5 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

Great product

09/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well made bike. Great quality. Would recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 6 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

Great for the in-betweener.

08/29/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Glad to see it had heavier tires than both the 16 inch bike and the other 18 inch ones. Grandson is rough on tires! Did have to bring the first bike back because the wheels were not in round, but do not know if it was a factory or assembly problem. It was replaced with no problems and grandson loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+6points
Review 7 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

Great Bike

08/13/2012
By ,
OC NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son just recently stopped using training wheels. So for his 5th birthday we gave his this bike. We looked for a bike that was not expensive but would be cool enough for his standards. This bike is maybe an inch too big at the moment but with a little help he can balance. I am hopeful it will last the next couple of years. We all love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 8 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

worth price...

12/11/2011
By ,
eagan,mn
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
had site to store. Bike was a little nicked up. The lettering on the bike is all stickers which looked like a blind person put them on. They were crooked, bubbled up and not properly placed. I had to take them all off and replace them properly. The bike was nice but the stickers were awful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Review 9 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels
07/17/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Correct size for my grandson but I was disappointed that it did not have a kick stand. The training wheels will be removed very soon and he has no way of standing up the bike. Also a valve stem cap was missing, The training wheels allowed for very little adjustment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Review 10 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

Great In-between stage bike!

12/05/2012
By ,
MD/DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this bike in the original green/silver last year for our grandson's 7th birthday. He had outgrown the 16" Rock It (which we still have) but still needed coaster brakes and training wheels. It is now 15 months later and this bike will be joining the 16" (shed storage) as he has outgrown it. This bike was great for a in-between little and big boy stage. It has held up extremely well and yes he took a few dives on it after removing training wheels. I highly recommend this bike if your child is ready for the bigger bike but still at the not quite ready stage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

Very nice for the money

12/31/2012
By ,
The Woodlands, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my 8 year old for Christmas. Very well packaged with no pieces missing. Nice sturdy bike, doesn't look cheap in any way. I've only given it 4 stars purely because the instructions are on a tiny piece of paper in 2 languages. The diagrams are also very confusing. Then again, for most people this would not be a problem but, if you have a husband like mine who freaks out changing a lightbulb, you may need someone else to help you ..... Overall very pleased, looks good, rides good and good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 12 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

My on loves his new bike!

11/27/2012
By ,
Cincinnati
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this 18" bike for my son's 6th birthday. It's a little big for him, but I figure he'll grow into it. I liked how the bike still has the pedal brakes and also one handlebar break so he can get some practice using it. He loves riding his new bike every chance he gets! Great purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

Great bike for a six year old boy.

10/03/2012
By ,
Omaha, Ne.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great looking bike for the price. However, change the seat. Which I think is the case in most Walmart bikes, due to being very hard and uncomfortable for long riding periods. Other then that, brake cable may or may not need adjusting, but still a great bike for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 14 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

Great bike

05/08/2012
By ,
SF
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is cool-looking bike. The kids loved them. But, one of the box came with no seat and missing training wheel.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

wheels not true

07/29/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wheels not true and wobbly
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 16 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

Nice starter bike

12/24/2012
By ,
Palatka, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bikes were shipped quickly and arrived with no damage to the bikes, but the boxes looked like they had been through a war zone!!
The bike were well made, however the decals were not properly aligned and were wrinkled which took away from the quality appearance they could have had. With some gentle handling I was able to loosen the decals and put them on straight and work all the air bubbles out, now they look great. I know these are mass produced, but I feel that more attention to the little details would help a lot in getting a excellent review.
They will serve my grandsons for a few years and then we will pass them on to someone else.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

More pinkish then orange. For a boy.

12/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The handlebars were more pinkish then orange. Bike was for a boy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-4points
Review 18 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

You get what you pay for

07/13/2012
By ,
Carthage, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Will get us by for the summer, but very cheaply made. Won't buy this brand again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

Getting what you pay for...

07/22/2012
By ,
San Mateo
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The tires stink terrible. It's impossible to stand that odor while driving to the park with the bike in the trunk of the car. We keep the bike outside all the time.
Training wheels are set to low and it's impossible to adjust them unless you cut the additional hole in the metal part.
Other than that it's good for a growing child.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 20 for Surge 18" Boys' Bike with Training Wheels

Bike for grandsons birthday

07/15/2012
By ,
El paso Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awsome bike for the price and so beautifully crafted and detailed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next