Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Winchester Winchester 22 Long Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Winchester Winchester 22 Long Rifle

The Winchester 22 Long Rifle is designed for use in Modern Sporting Rifles (AR platform). They are optimized for reliable feeding in high capacity magazines, with exceptional accuracy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation73%11 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Winchester 22 Long Rifle

Great bulk 22 LR When You Can Get It

01/28/2014
By ,
south central WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best "BULK" ammo I have been able to get my hands on. I have a few different 22s ranging from a bolt action Marlin Rifle, a Ruger 10/22 with the factory 10 round box magazine and a pair of the BX-25 magazines, and a Ruger SR22 pistol. This ammo feeds, fires and ejects great! I have never had a dud, but have had the rare weak round that would not fully cycle the action of a semi-auto. When I say rare, I'm talking 2-4 out of a 500 round box. It is fairly clean, reasonably accurate and reliable.
I have tried many other 22 LR cartridges. Some are dirtier, inconsistently loaded, and have a higher percentage of duds and squibs and sometimes I have had the spent casings get stuck in the chamber.
Not so with the M*22.
I feel it is the best 22LR cartridge for the money, especially when used in semi-autos. The only thing I don't like about it is availability. It has been very hard to come by and when Walmart has it, they rarely have more than a couple boxes.
Great stuff if you can get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 2 for Winchester 22 Long Rifle

Great Ammo

12/22/2013
By ,
Hattiesburg
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Ammo is great to shoot , Had no problems with this ammo . The powder is clean and you don't have to stop to clean your gun out like some of the other brands ammo .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Review 3 for Winchester 22 Long Rifle

great ammo

06/27/2012
By ,
Bedford, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've tried all of the 22 long rifle value packs available at my local walmart stores over the
last few months. I typically shoot 500 to 750 rounds a week. I've shot 2000 rounds of
the M-22 and it is now my preferred 22 ammo. No fail to ejects or fail to loads. One or
two fail to fire per 1000 rounds. The loads are consistent; no weak loads. It's also very
clean, with minimal powder residue left in the gun. I can go 1000 rounds w/o a
field strip cleaning. I'm shooting a Ruger MKIII target pistol.
I just wish _all_ the local walmarts carried this ammo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+74points
Review 4 for Winchester 22 Long Rifle
07/21/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a box of these today on a chance that it would work out fine with my rifle (SW 15-22) and pistol (GSG 1911). We took a box of 500 to range and overall impression was better than expected. With the 15-22, the rounds shot flawlessly. With the GSG, I only experienced one (1) malfunction when the round failed to fire and was jammed in the barrel. After clearing out the dud from the barrel, the remaining rounds performed like a champ. For the value, I don't think you can go wrong with this purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+40points
Review 5 for Winchester 22 Long Rifle
10/16/2012
By ,
wisconsin dells
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked very well in my ruger 10/22 did not have any of the feeding problems with hi cap mags i was having with federal bulk pack
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+30points
Review 6 for Winchester 22 Long Rifle

M-22 is Good Stuff

01/16/2014
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just tried a box of this in my Chiappa upper. After about 300 rounds, there were no failures of any kind. Accuracy was very good. I will buy more of this for my 22 upper. Much cheaper than mini mags.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 7 for Winchester 22 Long Rifle

great ammo

04/19/2013
By ,
pittsburgh pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i've shot several hundred rounds in my mossberg 702 and ruger 10/22 each with no mishap. found this ammo excellant if you can find it. feeds well with no jamming or missfiring.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Review 8 for Winchester 22 Long Rifle

A little rough

10/26/2012
By ,
Northern California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought a box a couple months ago. Shot 300 rounds through my tactical rifle. This ammo is rough. I had a few FTF and one round that did not even want to chamber. The ammo is very dirty and left a fair bit of fouling in the barrel. You can twist a lot of the bullet tips while it is in the cartridge. The round that did not want to load was just very bent at the LRN. The tipe was flat and bent sideways. This batch was made very poorly.
In all, it is a decent buy for CP LRN when compared to other bulk ammo on the market. For the money, you are better off with the Feb bulk. If you are looking for something a little nicer, purhase CCI Mini Mags.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
-1point
Review 9 for Winchester 22 Long Rifle

I MUST HAVE GOT A BAD BOX

12/15/2013
By ,
Derby, Ks
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After reading good reviews on this product I gave it a try I must have got a bad box. I had many misfires the rounds showed good solid firing pin strikes some did not fire on the second or third strike. My CMMG AR-15 upper had at least 2 or 3 duds in every magazine my Ruger 1022 had several duds and even my Marlin 39 lever action had a few duds. When this first 1000 rounds is gone I might try a different case lot.
I checked the rim thickness on 100 rounds and found about 70 to be within .001" of each other but the other 30 were over by .005" or more. It looks like Winchester is running 24-7 to keep up and falling behind on QC
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 10 for Winchester 22 Long Rifle

Very good ammo

12/29/2013
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ammo works great in my Savage semi-auto rifle. Only about 3-4 FTF or FTE per box of 500 rounds. Not bad for low cost ammo. Also, with current 22LR ammo shortages, I was very happy to find a box in the Long Island store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 11 for Winchester 22 Long Rifle

Great ammo for the price, when you can get it!!

05/02/2013
By ,
santa maria, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This ammo is better than the 555 winchester bulk pack. It worked great in my walther p22, no failure to feed or failure to fire. I shot about 150 rounds no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 12 for Winchester 22 Long Rifle
03/29/2013
By ,
Manassas, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Winchester 22 Long Rifle Ammo is in my opinion not designed for the Semi-Auto .22 rifle, the bullet is loose, has problems feeding from magazines more than 7 rounds. My Marlin Model 70HC is quite old but has not had any problems with other ammunition. I found that this ammo works well with tube feeder and bolt action rifles.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Raleigh NC
A+ bulk pack 22lr
Posted 10/12/2013
I am on my 19th 1000rd pack of m-22 and in my opinion for the price no other 22lr ammo beats the m-22. In my expirence after shooting all types of 22lr cci mini mags are the king 22lr but when it comes down to value and quality the m-22 is my go to ammo.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Winchester 22 Long Rifle
11/17/2012
By ,
Tracy, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Target round! Clean and won't coat your barrel!! Why won't Wal-Mart order more than 10 boxes every six months knowing the HIGH volume they could attain??? I'm glad the Tracy Store's
construction is about to be complete, now maybe they will pay attention to their customer needs and wants!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for Winchester 22 Long Rifle

Not Good for Walther P22

03/28/2013
By ,
Stillwater, MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Doesn't have enough kick to consistently eject casings. Had several FTF and some stuck in chamber where I had to use a screw driver to get them out. P22's can be finicky, may work well in others.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Johnson City, TN
I must agree, my Walther P22 does not like these.
Posted 04/02/2013
I see the same behavior. My P22 does shoot the Federal and Remington bulk packs just fine. I tried these since it was all my Walmart had at the time.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Ratings-Only Reviews for Winchester 22 Long Rifle
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5