Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for X-Games X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

X-Games X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Get your child the X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-on to let him experience the real riding fun in your backyard. This realistically-designed vehicle entertains your child, while ensuring safety. Made from sturdy plastic, this kid's ride on toy is durable enough to withstand your child's rough use. Your little one can accelerate the vehicle to forward and reverse speeds using foot switch. The plastic ride on toy stops immediately as your child removes his foot from the foot switch. It runs on 6 volt batteries that should be recharged after every use. This battery powered riding toy is specially designed for children who are aged three and above.
Average Customer Rating:
1.316 out of 5
1.3
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
84
Customer Recommendation9%9 out of 95reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 61 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
84
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Worst Product Ever

12/29/2011
By ,
LaGrange, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed in this product. We purchased it on Black Friday for my 3 year old son. It was going to be from Santa Claus. I put the quad together on the 21st and charged for 14 hours. On Christmas morning my son rode it for 20 minutes and it died. So I charged again for 8 hours and it would not work. Contacted Winston the manufacturer and they sent me some instructions on how to "reset" the battery. It did not work. The only options they gave me after that was to either take it back to Wal-Mart for a refund or ship it to them and me pay shipping both ways for a new one. Shipping cost would almost be as much as we paid for the thing. The company has been litttle to non-smpathetic to a disappointed 3 year old. From reading the reviews there was a ton of dissapointed children on Christmas morning. I would encourage everyone to contact the BBB and Wal-Mart on your problems. Seems to be numerous and Wal-Mart does not need to sell products from Winston any longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

WARNING DON'T BUY

12/27/2011
By ,
MESA, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought my son the atv and my daughter the white car on black friday. The price was the only reason my kids would have ever gotten something similar to a power wheels. I don't have the money to spend on the real thing. Guess this is a lesson of if it's too good to be true it probably is. Both worked great Christmas day but after charging them through the night the atv lasted maybe 2 minutes an the car didn't even last 10 seconds. Tried it a second night just to be sure and the same thing happened. Btw.. we followed the charging instructions EXACTLY. Very hard to explain broken Santa toys to a 3 and 4 year old. Really didn't have the money to purchase the real thing but did anyway. What was supposed to be a $200 purchase ended up costing me an additional $250. I do not have the patience to deal with the manufacture on this. Both have been returned to Walmart. Hope they don't ever carry anything from Winston again!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

HORRIBLE PRODUCT!!!!

12/27/2011
By ,
Ottawa, Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this on black Friday for $99, thought it was the best gift that my husband and I could have bought for our 4 year old son. We put it together and everything seemed to be fine. Material was a little on the cheap side, but it was also a cheaper powerwheel so that was to be expected. We charged the battery as it said, and when we got it outside to ride it was slower than a 6V toddler ATV. The battery is HORRIBLE! Two 6V batteries wired together with a mixture of hot glue qualifies as the cheapest made item EVER! So right away we took it back, spent the extra money we absolutly did not have, and bought a dune racer from Kmart. I urge parents to not buy this and waste their own time as well as their childrens. Also, you cannot even take the battery out to possibly buy another, it is all wired into the ATV making it impossible to switch out batteries (unless your a wizz with wires one might be a ble to figure that out).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Two thumbs down

12/11/2011
By ,
Montgomery, Mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First off I am usually an optimist about things. I also am very knowledgeable about electronics. I bought this on black Friday and thought I was getting a deal. Even when I was putting this thing together I thought it was well built and the electronics were sound. I noted the wires were of decent quality and gauge for the price. I first became skeptical when I noted the two six volt batteries hooked up in series to make a 12-volt system. That is poor quality and in my opinion false advertising. Hooking 2 six volt batteries in series yes in fact makes 12-volts, but it doesn't give a lot of amperage for the actual running. I charged the thing up for the first time for about 14 hours. My son drove this thing the first day and had a great time. In the grass and in the driveway. Today is another story. Charged the thing overnight for about 11 hours. My son stepped on the pedal and it went slow then stopped. This product does not live up to the advertised deal and cannot even run for more than one day. If you have a lot of money to throw away then you should go out and buy about 365 of these things cause after one day you will have to throw it away. I am heading to the store to return this and upgrade to an actual Power-wheel brand toy. May be more expensive but worth the extra money to keep from having to see the disappoint in my son's face. I give this product two thumbs down. Avoid this thing like the plague.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
columbus, ms
Not Even Worth buying
Posted 01/24/2012
Exact same thing happened to me.
0points
Customer Avatar
Statesboro, GA
TERRIBLE PRODUCT!
Posted 01/11/2012
We also bought this product on Black Friday! We charged it overnight and it held a charge for a few hours, then it would never charge again! We even brought the first one back to Wal-mart and got a second one, and it did the same exact thing! Do not buy this product! Our son was so upset!
0points
Customer Avatar
trenton, NJ
wow same prob. here
Posted 01/02/2012
my question to u is i dnt feel like taking this thing apart...can i just return it to walmart put together along with the box? or do u recommend i take it apart and put it back in the box to return it
0points
Customer Avatar
San Diego, CA
TWO THUMBS DOWN-I AGREE!!!!
Posted 01/02/2012
The post described by mattnkylee is EXACTLY our situation!!! EXACTLY!!!
We took ours back to the store today, and the lady at the return desk said I was about the 5th or 6th person this week to return this; they had been getting a ton of them back!!!
THIS IS A TERRIBLE PRODUCT!!!
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 5 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

YOU CAN FIX CHARGING PROBLEM!

01/08/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for my 3 year old on Black Friday and like many others it worked out of the box but then would not take a charge. I discovered that it is not the battery, but rather it is the charger. Here is what I did to fix it and it works great now.
Go to Wal-Mart and buy the 1.5 amp battery maintainer for $20.
Under the seat of the ATV remove the black wire from the battery by pulling it off.
Next use a flat screwdriver to remove the glue holding the red wire to the battery. Just gently pry it up and it will pop off. Then remove the red wire (leave the fuse attached).
Gently pry up the battery leads a little and clamp on the leads from the battery maintainer (red to red and black to black).
Plug in the charger and wait until it is fully charged (12 to 15 hours if battery is dead)
Reconnect the red and black wires from the ATV to the battery
Hope this works fora you as it did for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Terrible product

12/16/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My dad bought this on black Friday for my 4 year old son. He was given it last weekend, and after charging it overnight it ran for a couple of hours. After recharging it it ran for a couple more hours, then quit. We charged it overnight, and it ran for exactly 5 minutes. Now it won't hold a charge for more than 2 minutes. Terrible product! My son was so disappointed. Returning it to get a better one somewhere else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

The problem is not the battery, it is the CHARGER.

01/01/2012
By ,
Austin, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these for my boys for Christmas and had the same frustration and disappointment on Christmas morning when they ran for 5 mins and then stopped dead in their tracks. After that they did not seem to hold a charge at all. I called the company twice and left my name and a call back number, but that was almost a week ago and have not had a return call. My husband started taking them apart so we could return them while I was looking around for a replacement. I found it was gonna cost me $80-$100 each to upgrade. My boys and husband loved the look of these and we were sure the problem was the battery so we looked into the cost of just replacing the batteries with a new 12 volt battery and found it would cost $40-$50 each. My husband is a mechanic and in a last ditch effort before purchasing new batteries, he took the old ones with him to work just to check them out. To our surprise they were reading as good batteries, so my husband put them on the car battery charger at work and brought them home and installed them in the ATVs. To my boys delight the cars were running GREAT and have been running great every since then (3 days ago.) The problem is not with the batteries but with the charger. For us it is definately cheaper to just either buy a new plug in charger or buy a car battery charger (which we had been discussing doing anyway.) I have definately learned my lesson about this company and will never do business with them again, but we will be keeping the ATVs, which are overall a good value once the charging issue is resolved.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Austin, TX
Glad to have a solution!
Posted 01/17/2012
I wanted to post an update that we have been charging the ATVs regularly with the car battery charger and they have been running great! Also I did finally email Winston International and request that they send me a new battery charger for the ATVs, I was really wanting them to participate in the solution. I got a response the following day asking for my purchase information and a good address so they could send me a new charger. I have not actually received the charger yet but will update if I do.
0points
Customer Avatar
Maple Valley
Thank you
Posted 01/13/2012
We have the battery on the car charger right now trying this out. I sat on hold with the manufacturer for about 20 mins and didnt get anyone and in the meantime found your review! I hope this works. I also bought this on black friday and it was my sons favorite toy!!
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

worst product ever bought online

01/04/2012
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I saw this in the black friday ad and thought it was a great deal. I wasn't able to get one on black friday because they sold out, but I noticed they sold it online. I purchased two of them for my 3 & 4 year old boys. The atv itself is built well and it was easy to assemble. However, the battery and wiring is the worst. How do you charge a battery for 8-12 hours for 10 minutes of riding time. I was very dissappointed. I checked their website and they tell you how to reset the product but it also tells you that the average riding time is about 45 minutes. REALLY!!!! I wish I would have read that before I purchased them. I returned both atv's and the customer service rep told me they had over 15 of the same atv's returned after the holidays. I say leave this product where it is - not a good buy at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Excellent power ride on for toddler ages 3+!

12/05/2011
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband bought this on Black Friday sale at our local Walmart for $99; This squad looks very cool, big in size for a 3 year old. Pretty red color just as shown in the ads. The 2 options speeds are awesome for a beginner. This is my son's first power ride on, so he was a little skeptic at first, but then he got used to it and now he ride every day. We haven't let him try outside yet!. The battery last very long. I was over my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Poor Product

12/27/2011
By ,
Greenville, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got them on Black Friday for Christmas morning, Santa Gift. We charged it all night long and in the morning the kids had fun for 2 hours riding in the back yard. We charged it again for 15 hours for the following day. My boys, 3 and 4, were so excited. They got outside and rode for 5 min and it stopped working. Battery will not hold a charge and it is now day 3. I would not recommend this Quad Bike and probably not any other Black Friday off brand sale item at Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
01/04/2012
By ,
Tallahassee, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i purchased this item for my two year old for christmas thinking that it would be a great riding toy that he would be able to grow into. after puttting it together and the initial charge i thought i had made an ideal purchase for a growing boy. my son rode it for about an hour on christmas... we charged it again and he rode it for about 25 minutes before the battery began to die. we chared it a third time using the charging time frame in the owners mannual. the third time he rode it, he got from one end of the garage to the other before the battery died again!! we charged it AGAIN and got nothing. my son was very hurt that his christmas present had to go back 4 days after he got it. I would not recomend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

WARNING! Defective Product!

12/26/2011
By ,
Memphis, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As a few have said above, the battery in this ATV is defective. Christmas morning was great, because the 4-wheeler Santa Claus brought ran all over the yard for over an hour. We initially thought this was a great choice because my son loved it, it went everywhere, and it was a low price on Black Friday. So we plugged it in Christmas night and even set an alarm to make sure we followed the charging instructions verbatim. The day after Christmas turned out to be a lot more disappointing. My son woke up asking to ride his new 4-wheeler. So, we headed outside, and the thing made it about 50 yards and stopped dead in its tracks. I was left trying to explain to my son why his new 4-wheeler "ran out of gas" so quickly. We took it back to the store, but, as you can imagine, there were no suitable replacement vehicles in stock anywhere in the whole city. I only wish I had seen these reviews sometime in the last month so we could have taken it back a long time ago. I don't know if they're all defective, but I certainly won't risk it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Horrible, such a disappointment for my 3 year old!

01/03/2012
By ,
Longwood, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this n Black Friday because it was age-appropriate and affordable. Little did I know, I would be wasting my money and disappointing my son. Put this thing together Christmas Eve, during the afternoon, charged for recommended time. It worked fine on Christmas Day and my son was delighted. Charged for the night. Took it out the day after Christmas, and wouldn't move. Thought it was a charging issue. Tried to charge again, but it still wouldn't go. Have tried to find another one in stock at ANY Wal-Mart, but this is impossible. So, I can't return it. Tried to call the manufacturer. After a 30 minute hold, an answering service took a message because they are not in the office until 1/3/12. Was going to speak to them regarding a replacement, but after reading all the reviews, I think I am just going to return this piece of garbage and get a better model for my son......
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

12/28/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this quad as a gift for my step-son on black Friday. He rode it twice and it will NO LONGER charge! Bringing it back to the store!!
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Horrible Mistake

01/04/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this 4 wheeler for my son for Christmas from Santa and it was a horrible mistake. We charged it over night. He was able to ride it for about 30 minutes or so that day and about 20 minutes the next day. We recharged it after he got done and when he went to ride it today it only lasted about 5- 10 minutes and it was dead. Now I have to take it back and try to explain why he can't ride his 4- wheeler anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

DO NOT BUY!!!

01/03/2012
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ugh....what a disappointment. Actually purchased on Black Friday..stood in line to for 6 hours put it together 3 days before Christmas charged over night. Got up the next morning pushed on the pedal and nothing. Called the help line to find out they were closed. REALLY? Took back to Wal mart had to hit 3 stores to find another one since this was for my 4 yr old from Santa. Got the 2nd one home put together charged all night. Son rode on it for less than an hour Christmas morning now nothing. It won't do ANYTHING. HUGE HUGE HUGE disappointment! So four wheeler #2 is going back to the store too!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

worst purchase ever!

12/26/2011
By ,
Lufkin, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this this ATV online Black Friday for $99. I thought I was getting a steal considering the pricing of the other ones I had looked at. I also purchased the Yamaha ATV also for $198 and have to say that it is a far better product. I put this ATV together on Christmas Eve with my husband, it was a lot more work than the Yamaha, more parts and poor instructions. After putting it together we charged it over night for about 12 hours. It seemed to start off pretty good going through the grass and over rough surfaces with ease, but the battery charge only lasted about 2 hours. So we charged it up again overnight and this time it was for more like 16 hours of charge. My daughter got on it and literally rode it about 3ft and it died and we havent been able to get a charge since. I am very disappointed in this product. I plan on taking it back to the store asap and will spend the extra money and buy another Yamaha for $198.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

total waste

01/03/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Like others went to Walmart Thanksgiving night. Stood for over an hour and 15 minutes untill 10 when they were unrapping it people started to swarm in. After pushing some man off my back i managed to grab one for my son. We took it home and there it sat untill christmas. On christmas eve we put it together and charged it for the next morning. The kid loved it, after the holidays were over and all family went home, we waited for a good weather day. We went outside and he got to ride it for an hour. We then took it in side and plugged it back in since it seemed that it was running slow. It has not worked since. My husband took the battery out and changed it and it still does not work. Huge waste.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great Deal

01/11/2012
By ,
Bentonville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item along with the white convertable on black friday. Both these items worked great on Christmas day. Then seemed to have a sort of charging/battery issue. I called Winston customer service and they had me go over some reset instructions. This seemed to work at first, but the representative waited on the phone to make sure this resolved my issue. When it didn't work but about 20 feet, they offered to send me a new charger to see if it would resolve my issue. It did!!!!! Customer service was on the phone with me for aver 20 minutes to make sure my issue was resolved. THANK YOU WINSTON INTERNATIONAL!!!!!! Iv'e been reading reviews of bad customer service on there part but they are calling customers back, and based on my exsperience these items are well worth the wait!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for X-Games ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great except for the battery

01/16/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I like many other reviewers bought this four wheeler on Black Friday. It seemed perfect. My two year old LOVED it. It was a great size, the wheels took him anywhere on our property - wet grass, hills, off road, etc. One of my fave things about this item is that it had rubber on the tires that helped it grip better. I liked the two speeds and the set up of the reverse and forward buttons. He was able to steer the handlebars very quickly. It seemed to have enough power for his 28 lbs or so. The battery lasted a long time. Then we came to re-charging it. The battery would not re-charge at all. I had a very upset 2 year old wanting to ride his 4 wheeler. I returned the item to Walmart. I did not call customer service because I saw where so many other people had the same issue. We have bought a John Deere Gator since then. He likes it, but not as much as his four wheeler so far. The steering wheel is a little harder for him to turn versus the handlebars. Other than the battery it seemed great, but I have to give it 2 stars, because the other features don't matter if I can't use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 95 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next