Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Centerpoint CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

Centerpoint CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

The CenterPoint Illuminated Scope is a perfect device for your hunting adventure. The objective at the end of the illuminated scope is used to adjust the parallax focus between five yards to infinity, until a clear image is produced. This scope features a red and green dual illuminated Mil-Dot reticle for the ever-changing light conditions from dusk to dawn. The windage and elevation dials provide you with easy adjustment and superb accuracy, and the dial can be reset to zero with ease. The ergonomically designed scope provides superior image quality, quickly. This CenterPoint rifle scope is 100-percent water, fog, and shock proof, and delivers excellent imagery in all conditions.
Average Customer Rating:
3.982 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation81%88 out of 108reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
47 Questions | 236 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

Center point 4-16x40mm vs Hatsan 135 .22

03/26/2013
By ,
Tallahassee FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchase a Center point 4-16x40mm Adventure Class Scope and Mounted it on my Brand New Hatsan 135 .22 Springer Air Rifle. I worked great ! sited in at 16 yards it was easy to find target hold and hit off hand targets from 16 yards to nearly 60 yards. Even the milldot was handly for 100 yard shots with ease. The tree rats kill were fast and accurately executed in 20 yard to 45 yards. Then noticed that the POA was shifting to the left Elevation stayed on point. I found after mutiple times of adjustment of windage to bring the POA on it did not change. I guess Center Point testing was on lighter magnum air rifles. All though I have a same type CP on a Winchester 1000 two years back it only lasted for three shots when the windage knob got the wabbles and all most fell off in my had. This newer one was stilll clicking on turning it but no change was happening. I have mounted the replacement Great warrenties though! I never use the cross hair lighting feature. Love the very thin cross hairs. it has lots of great features for a scope of this price range. I can only hope for the replacement scope to hold up under the ultra powers of the Hatsan 135 springer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

great for beginner

01/27/2013
By ,
az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i mounted mine on a cva stalker elite .308!! this gun kicks like crazy! eye releive is close may crack u in head if not paying att. At 16 gets blury around edges but if u move head and re-adjust u can make it clear!!! only problem is it takes a little work to get used to and no one wants to do that!!! zeroed in easily and has stayed zeroed 200 rounds so far!! Hitting 2liter bottles at 420 yards cant really see them much further!!!! love this scope for the price!!! good thing it worked cuz i painted it right out of the box!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

Excellent value

02/01/2014
By ,
Hot Springs Village, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my second one today! The first one is on a .17 HMR, sighted in last weekend, and this one is going on a .22 WMR. This scope isn't perfect, but for the money, I don't think it can be beat. The illumination dial / knob on the first one was extremely hard to turn, but it does move and function and I don't expect to use it very much anyway. The knob is easier to rotate on the one I just bought. The light transmission and magnification are both good. I haven't noticed any blurring or fisheye - even at 16X. Also, the flip-up lens covers and rings are a nice bonus. With the one on my .17, I shot MOA at 100 yards.
This scope isn't perfect, but you could easily spend two or three times as much on a scope with like magnification and the other features. I can't speak to how well the scope would hold up if paired with a high recoil, i.e., centerfire rifle, but expect many years of service for my rimfires. I am very satisfied and would definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

Far exceeds performance vs cost

02/14/2014
By ,
Rock, TXT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had received one of these as part of a high-power pellet gun package. Just assumed it was cheap. When I acquired a semi-auto .308, i didn't get optics with it. In a hurry to try the .308, I mounted the 3x12x40 Center Point on it, figuring it would get trashed shortly. I was wrong. It held up to the .308 with absolutely no problems. I did a lot of reading and discovered that Crosman was getting into the affordable optics.market and not just BB and pellet guns. I settled on the 4x16x40 with red and green reticles. I just zero'd the rifle No problem and have since run over 200 rounds through it without losing zero or any other problems. I did, however, replace the factory mounts with some cantilevered Nikon mounts to get better eye relief. It seems like anyone who owns one, likes it, but those who don't are quick to slam them. Yes, they are foreign. Find me a US-made and I'll pay thrr times as much...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

Wow! For $70 this thing is amazing.

07/01/2012
By ,
Costa Mesa CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off. I buy stuff online all the time but never take time to review products. This scope is an exception! I have used and owned many different scopes all ranging in price and quality but this Centerpoint is amazing for the money. It really went way beyond my expectations. The optics are really clear and it holds zero after months of shooting. The illuminated Mil Dot reticule works well and I have used it on a few occasions. The one thing that you should know is that the picture on the website isn’t the same scope. Its close but the turrets are not the locking ones shown. They have caps that cover them after adjustment. The turrets have good feel and audible clicks that let you know you have moved them. Also you can rest them to zero after you have it set for your shooting distance. If you’re on the fence about getting this… don’t be! Just order it. For $70.00 you can’t beat it. I just got another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

Stripped out

10/29/2013
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I mounted this on a Mossberg 100 ATR in a 30-06 caliber. I bought the gun cheap and didn't want to spend a whole lot on a scope, so I thought I would try this one. My only real concern with this scope was whether the rings and mounting would be an issue on a 30-06 rifle. I was surprised at how well they mounted and didn't move. I was able to sight the gun in at 100 yards after only 7 rounds threw the gun. I thought it would take longer. Great adjustments and I really liked the illumination feature. My only complaint would be that I stripped one of the screws on the mounting rings when I went to clean the gun and tighten everything down. I took it back to Walmart and replaced it with a new one. I have yet to mount the new Scope but I am confident that it will mount and be sighted in quickly. If you want an inexpensive scope to mount to your rifle, this is the one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

Good for sunny day at the range

06/09/2013
By ,
Seattle wa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This scope performs at its price level. It holds zero and adjusts well, but should be a 1/8moa per click at this magnification. It works well at the range on a sunny day, but on an overcast day, not good at all. For $70 you get a $70 design and optics. There is too much trash light inside the scope to give a clean image in overcast conditions. I recommend it only for the range, not for hunting. Why? The parallax adjustment is critical to hit what you are aiming at. A 25 yard missadjustment can move your shot up to 9 inches. I own 3 Centerpoint scopes and they are all the same, and I will buy again. But not for hunting. At the range I can wait for the cloud to pass, not so when I'm hunting. Strange I put a $70 scope on a $1400 range gun and a $1400 scope on a $700 hunting rifle. It meets my expectations, but I already owned 2. Yes it is a good value for what it does. It just not for hunting in the woods on an overcast fall day. Prairie dogs on a sunny day, good for that, upto 400 yards. Hope this helps
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

Fantastic for the price!

07/19/2012
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a cheap, 4-16 scope with a decent size objective to put on some of my .22s when I want to shoot at distance. This scope really did exceed my expectations.
First of all, it *is* large and heavy, the turrets do have the screw off type caps, they are not the locking type. However, I knew this prior to buying so it wasn't really a negative. The only real negative is that the rings are absolute garbage, and that they even came with the scope (Should have made it $5 cheaper and shipped without them).
A few things I noticed while shooting with it: The parallax isn't really 'accurate' for the distances they have marked on it (not that those numbers really matter). The eye relief isn't the best (but much better than expected for the price). I have trouble getting the sight picture and reticle in focus at the same time (might just be me).
Overall, outstanding for the price, if it lasts more than a year or 2, I will buy another if it breaks. Assuming they still make them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

Great for the price

02/18/2012
By ,
St. Louis, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son's .17 HMR. I bought cheap and expected an average or less quality as this was a beginner for my son. We have now had it two years, have used it in all climates from 8 degrees to 95 degrees, and have had no hangups. If has outperformed my $200 Bushnell and my dad's even more expensive Redfield. The illumination options of red and green in different levels or no illumination was a plus for my son as it got him more interested in target shooting and shooting in general. It is waterproof and can take bumps typical of hunting pretty well. There are better scopes but at a much steeper price. I used this at 600 yards to see if it was capable and was really amazed. I now have one on my 300 Remington Ultra Magnum and it seems to take the shock quite well after a day at the range.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

Nice looking scope

03/18/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a nice looking scope, a little on the heavy side but not to bad.
The scope I received focused well at all powers. The AO works okay
but not all yardage marks are precise. You will have to adjust the ring
around the correct yardage. Example, at 10 yards with power up to 15x
and 16x you may have to go past the 10 spot a little to clear it up. I think
the glass is okay for the price, not great. The illumination worked okay but there was a
little bit of glow inside the tube. All the adjustment knobs worked well.
I would NOT count on this scope for that big game hunt or to a police/military
sniper but it's okay for airgun, rimfire, plinking, target, and maybe a Deer stand hunt.
However I returned mine as there was something loose inside the tube that obscured part
of the glass. I may try another one. I never mounted it and shot with it. Walmart refunded.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

JUNK JUNK JUNK. DON'T WAIST YOUR TIME/MONEY!

02/10/2014
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this JUNK for my SKS and was excited to sight it in at the range. It would not sight in for anything. every time I got it zeroed the next shot would be off. It wouldn't put 2 shots in the same place on the target. Tried sighting it in at 100 yds and 200 yds with no luck. Took it back for an exchange and went back to the range for another try. This time I got it zeroed but the next time I went shooting it was once again all over the place like the first JUNK never hitting the same area of the target twice. I took off one of the adjustment caps to try and fix the problem and the screws hold the adjustment knob where backing out on there own. Recoil was literally rattling this JUNK apart. The package indicated that this scope is "toucher tested". I guess there idea of a toucher test is hitting it with a soft bag of feathers. I just returned my 2nd one for a refund. I guess it's true when they say you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
kentucky
to the person who says its junk junk junk
Posted 03/02/2014
i am an x marine sniper and i am going over the reviews i will buy this scope and try it my self and rate it to mil-spec standards and write my own option but the reason i picked you out of the rest you say you have a sks a 7.62 x 39 one of the most inaccurate weapon systems there is in less it is a fully custom build i believe your weapon is to blame not the scope i will try it out on a 7 mm mag rem adl and see just how it works i will post on here again around mid April in to may 2014 and let you know
+3points
Customer Avatar
Seattle, Wa
Sks scope mounts
Posted 02/14/2014
Often sks scope mounts are not stable. The problems you describe are rarely-never due to the scope. Get a better scope mount and lock it down -or else it won't mater what scope you try, you'll keep having the same issue.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

GREAT SCOPE!

12/30/2013
By ,
Arlington, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had NO idea that 70 bucks could get a scope of this quality. I originally bought it because I needed a scope the very next day for my new .308. This year I've taken out 4 deer and the scope is still spot-on perfect. I would DEFINITELY buy another one if I get another rifle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

I actually used mine before I wrote a review!!!

03/10/2012
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the scope having never used anything other than iron sights. I put the scope on my DPMS oracle 5.56 had it zeored at 25 yards after five shots. shoots quater size groups at 25 yards.
The only negative thing I could say about the scope is that the elevation is not accurate. Each click did not move the impact of the round the specified distance depending on how far you are away, but once I figured out how many clicks I needed to go I could move between diffrent distant targets and be deadly accurate. In all I put about fifty rounds through my rifle with this scope. Definetly recommend locktite on the weaver bolts or tighten the bolts good cause mine came loose but tightened it real good and it isn't going anywhere.
I am sure this scope will not last as long as a high end model will, but I will get my moneys worth out of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

If your hunter this is a great scope!!

10/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this scope. This is my second one, the first I put on my 30 06 zeroed it in and it performs perfectly. My wife had NEVER shot a large caliber rifle. I took her to the range told her what to do and she hit the target dead on at 100 yards. I bought the second one to put on my 7mm mag and cant wait to site it in. Bottom line if you shoot paper alot, go buy a higher end scope.
If your a hunter this scope will be more than enough at a great price!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+122points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ala Gulf Coast
Great Scope.....
Posted 10/30/2011
For the money, hard to beat. Have it mounted on a very powerful break barrel spring rifle and is the only scope that I have put on this gun that takes the torture and holds accuracy.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

This scope is worth twice the money .... unless

10/20/2013
By ,
Arkansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This scope is worth twice the money .... unless you get a lemon. ... Which I have gotten a few times. I have 6 rifles ... I have now bought this scope for each rifle and have had to return 2 of them because they were lemons .... something was broken inside each of those two and I was not able to adjust the sights ---
So here is what I suggest ... buy this scope .... test it immediately .... if it works, you are one lucky person ... The scope is well worth the money ...... If it doesn't work -- ie if you cannot adjust it, or it flips and loses its zero point then take it back to Walmart ... and order another one until you get one that works.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

Great Scope

01/05/2012
By ,
WA State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one of these on my .17HMR and it shoots amazingly well and will hold zero. I am shooting sub-MOA at 150yds and same hole at 25-100yds with this scope. The rifle and shooter also have something to do with sub-MOA, but the scope does as well. The lighted cross hair is awesome for evening varmint hunting. I mounted a BSA laser and high power light on mine and use the red for night time shooting/hunting. The green is really nice for day time shooting as well. I am planning on getting another one of these for my .308 soon as well. Great scope, and not a lot of money. You can spend $1000+ on rifle optics, and I have several +$1000 scopes. This one definitely is right up there in terms of zero, optics and features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

Great Scope

04/10/2014
By ,
Ironton, OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great and looks good on my Gun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

worth the money

12/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am using this on a target rim-fire 22 rifle. I manage 1" 10shot groups at 100yrds and at 50 yrds, the size of a dime. The adjustments stay put no matter how much rough handling the gun takes. I have had it for a year now and would consider another one for other long guns. I have not tested it for hunting or in less than optimal moisture or temperature conditions. The illumination is nice as the sunlight fades or on cloudy days.
Recommends this product? Yes
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

great scope for the money

10/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this scope is great for the money , it has great zoom i put it on my savage .243 shoots great at 100 yrds. i will buy again
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for CenterPoint Illuminated 4-16x40mm Scope

I LIKE IT!!!

03/22/2014
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked the fact that it is a complete kit, came with scope mounts, lens covers, battery and allen wrenches. Sighted in easily on my 30-06. And the red/green illuminated reticle is cool. Will come in handy for that early morning shot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next