Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Zoom Telephonics Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

Zoom Telephonics Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

The Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Wireless Router with Wireless-N provides high-speed cable internet to Wi-Fi compatible wireless 802.11 b/g/n devices as well as devices with an Ethernet port, such as computers and gaming systems. This high-speed Zoom Wireless-N Router is compatible with all USB cable modem services, including DOCSIS 3.0, 2.0, and 1.1. The maximum download speed and upload speed depends on the type of cable modem service that you are using. The Zoom DOCSIS 3.0 Modem Router can support up to 253 Wi-Fi devices such as computers, tablets, e-readers, handhelds, and phones. This Wireless-N Router includes an advanced firewall and wireless security to prevent unauthorized use. The Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Wireless Router is incredibly easy to set-up and small enough to fit effortlessly in a variety of places throughout your home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation87%55 out of 63reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
45 Questions | 57 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

Very fast Internet cable modem

12/03/2012
By ,
Los Angeles,California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like my fast speed on Time Warner Internet Service. The modem they provide which is the Surf Board 6835 Wireless DOCSIS 3.0 Modem/Router with Wireless-N. Is not as fast as the Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem. I am clocking download speeds. Well over my 50Mbps download speed. It usually around 54Mbps downloads. And a 5.15 upload speed. The price of the Zoom Telephonics. Should be a little lower in prices. It is big a bulky. But it is reliable. It doesn't drop connections. Like the Motorola Surf Board 6835 Modem/Wireless Router built in. This is the fastest modem I ever used so far. I would recommend it to a friend. And all who read my recommendation. I had given it a low value. Because of the price of the modem. It should be around $85.00 to $95.00 price range. PS. It is best to purchase your own modems. Than leasing it with the cable modem. You will save a lot. Of them(Cable Companies like Time Warner). Who charge you about $4.95 a month. When you go wireless. When you can buy your own. And it will not cost you anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

Nice all-in-one device.

01/12/2013
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I research everything before I buy. Lots of mixed reviews out there on this device. Walmart.com had it on sale for cheaper than anyone else so that, plus their lenient return policy, convinced me to buy. From all the research I found the 2 big potential issues were: 1) random cutting out of internet and 2) poor wifi range. Once the modem was plugged in and registered to Comcast (more on that below) I immediately did the two suggested fixes for the above problems by 1) disabling IP flood detection and 2) selecting a wifi channel from 1-11 and not using the "auto" function. I've had absolutely no problems and am happy with my dl/ul speeds and wifi range. Registering with Comcast was simple. Plug in, wait 10 minutes, try to go to a site like Google and get redirected to the Comcast device registration page. Done deal. Worth the buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

Doesn't work on Suddenlinks network

12/17/2013
By ,
Parker, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased this product to upgrade from an older slower unit and it was a combo (modem/router) in one package. It worked fine for about 2 weeks and since then it has not been reliable - disconnects from the internet and tries to re-boot for hours. Occasionally it will stay connected for 3-4 days at most. Exchanged numerous emails with company and modified default settings per their recommendations - did not resolve the problem though. Originally they were going to replace my unit but upon follow-up emails company advised that Suddenlink no longer supports their product and thus would not replace my unit nor give a refund. Will now purchase a more reliable product from a more established company.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

This device will save you money and space!

11/04/2012
By ,
GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It worked right away with easy to set up security features. Network is password protected and you can make the network invisible. You can name your own network, set up your own password. I got this to save space and money at the same time. Instead of having a router and modem (2 devices), i got this because its a modem with built in router (wireless-N, 802.11 N-G-B compatible). On top of that, It works with the new Docsis 3.0 services in the US. Now having this device will also save me about $85 per year from having to pay the modem rental fees from my cable company. Also, this model has a 2 yr warranty and support. Most companies only offer 1 yr.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

Exactly what I wanted.

11/30/2013
By ,
Columbia, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With cable companies charging a monthly rental fee I wanted to find a reliable, middle of the road, router and modem in one. When I initial set the router up I had connectivity issues but followed another reviewers directions of disabling the overflow and setting the wifi to a set channel. Since I did that I have had no issues (my last router had connectivity issues). Already recommended it to a friend who is about to get internet in his new condo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N
05/25/2012
By ,
St. Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I upgraded from separate Lynksys cable/modem and router and the Zoom combo is very easy to set up and works with Comcast. 1st product had its id in use in comcast system so I had to return for another, and Walmart prepaid return and shipped me another very quickly without waiting to receive the return--excellent service.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

works fine, few specs I don't like

04/15/2012
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just got mine all hooked up. Works great and easy to set up! I only have a few complaints. It won't let me change the DNS servers so I would use a parental control site, and I prefer to not broadcast my SSID but it won't let me accomplish that either (make my network invisible to the random search).
Otherwise it is working well, and I will probably end up keeping this modem. Just be aware of these few issues if you plan on using them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

Great idea & easy!

11/01/2012
By ,
Voorhees, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the idea of a modem & router in one device, and can't believe they are so rare. This was delivered within 24 hours, and despite some of the reviews I had read, it was virtually attach cable, push a button and everything was up & running, including laptop, printer & Kindle. The only issue I had was with the Kindle, which recognized the device, but I couldn't access, since I thought the password was in caps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

Great product

06/02/2012
By ,
Ponce, PR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product does all, and do it right. It does internet fast, it works with several devices at once beautifully, has a great wireless signal and conectivity. The UpNp which stands for universal plug and play its a plus for it's versatility and the router function like the DHCP couldn't been better. You should buy this baby...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

a quality product - works perfectly

03/09/2012
By ,
East Burke, VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this modem/router to to avoid paying monthly rental fees. It works great, was very easy to set up, and will pay for itself in a few months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

Combo works great, after a little tweaking...

10/26/2012
By ,
Somerset, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My new Zoom model 5350 cable modem/wireless router works great with Comcast and is on their approved modem list. The box includes a number to call for free technical assistance that I used after discovering that my wireless home phone seemed to interfere with the modem's wireless ability. The techie had me log in to the modem from my PC and switch to a different wireless channel (I think there are 12 choices) and everything is now working perfectly. My Comcast high speed Internet service promises up to 15 Mbps download speed, which is still 10 times faster than my previous Verizon DSL service. FIOs is not available in my neighborhood. However, with this modem my hard-wired PC speed tests have consistently clocked in at over 25 Mbps download speed and my Samsung Galaxy Exhilarate Smart Phone Wi-Fi speed tests measure in at slightly less, around 19 Mbps. I'm very satisfied so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

Zoom Modem/Router

05/31/2012
By ,
Fenton, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Modem Router was easy to install and works without any issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

So far so good...

11/09/2012
By ,
New Mexico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this modem/router for use with Comcast Xfinity. The services were already installed when the modem was shipped to me, so all I had to do was hook it up (very easy) and call Comcast to activate it. Comcast informed me that I would have to send it back to Wal Mart because the modem was already registered to another customer of theirs in California (I live in NM). Obviously it had been returned after being used, but it was in good shape physically, so I decided to follow a prompt online to activate it myself, and it worked perfectly. So, like I said... So far, So good. Wal Mart, just make sure that you're resetting these or something so people don't have problems like this in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

I have had this router for over a year. BAD

11/20/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this router for over a year. At 3 months it started having issues. It would disconnect 4 times a week at random. Now I cannot even watch a movie on the xbox because it drops the signal 5-8 times a day. Would not recommend. I would recommend a cisco all in 1.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

Comcast/Xfinity users break free and save $$$$!!

02/12/2014
By ,
germantown tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this modem/router because it was recommended on the Xfinity website. Very easy set up and works well. The only issue I had was the 1 hour and a half phone call I had with my internet provider to activate the authorization to use the product. I was transferred about 5 times so be ready to be on hold a lot if you are with Comcast/Xfinity . Otherwise buying this was worth the price because now I don't have to pay the $7 a month rental fee for use their modem. If it lasts a year or longer I would saved what would have paid them or more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

Very low Wifi Range

12/20/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought this is a great option to save me from having a cable modem and a wireless router, however unfortunately the wifi range is very limited. I can get barely get a Wifi signal in the next room and nothing anymore in the room beyond. So I had to buy a Wifi Range Extender to have the Wifi signal in every room (and we have a small apartment). I never had that issue when I had a separate wireless router. Needless to say that this defeated the purpose of only having one device.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

Easy set up ... and so far flawless operation

12/22/2012
By ,
Atlanta DMA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I remember the first zoom modem I ever had - it was a 14.4 bps telephone device from back in the 1990's. When I got it, it was one of the first of that speed. Anyway, the memory of that "zoom" modem gave me confidence of the zoom brand for this new DOCSIS 3.0.
I haven't been disappointed and while there are some less expensive devices, this zoom was competitively priced so I got one for my daughter for her new house.
I did check issues of compatibility and while some earlier versions of the modem internal program had experienced issues with network updates, I was also comforted by the sticker on the bottom that showed the version number of the update.
In fact the only real issue I had was that my Comcast region was having high call volume support and the overflow was to a region far away. So far that accomplishing the switch from the old cable modem I was replacing, would have to go to a supervisor. I asked if I could get a local number for support and was given that number. The connection was forwarded but the attempt failed and I was looped to another out-of-area call center. The third call each of which did require the challenge of identifying user name and account number before talking to a human.
The setup took just over 20 minutes once I got a technician that could do the provisioning and it has worked flawlessly since then.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

Would not connect

02/21/2014
By ,
Apache Junction AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This item would not connect at my residence however I must compliment Walmart.com on excellent communication, on time delivery and no hassle return.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

Zoom Modem Works fine, *****stars

02/18/2014
By ,
Lowell
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
doubled my speed compared to docsis 2 modem,
Was plug and play for me, Already had comcast internet so all i did was take this out of the box plug it in and hook it up, No calling comcast or instructions needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Zoom Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem/Router with Wireless-N

Great modem/router.

02/14/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had the modem very long but so far I am extremely satisfied and would recommend it to my family and friends.gamalot
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1 2 3 Next